Africana Studies - Research Guide- Under Construction
This special bibliography concentrates on reference materials in the area of Africana Studies that can be found in the Van Pelt Library. Departmental Libraries should also be consulted for special subject related materials. See also: All E-Resources in Africana Studies
I. Library Catalogs VI. Directories II. Bibliographies VII. Dissertations III. Indexes and Abstracts VIII. Biography IV. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries IX. Statistical Sources V. Handbooks X. Periodicals XI. Research Centers and Collections
I. Library Catalogs
Franklin, the Penn Library's online catalog, lists more than two million books, journal titles, and other materials contained in campus libraries. You may search Franklin by author, title, journal title, subject, or call number, as well as several keyword options. For information on searching, consult the available Search Help.
Franklin uses Library of Congress subject headings. A selection of both general and more specific education related subjects is provided below. For additional subject headings, see the Library of Congress Subject Headings, located near the reference desk on the first floor of the Van Pelt Library. Also, when looking at Franklin records of interest, chose the "full view" and note the subject headings assigned to these works. Many subjects are subdivided by such standard forms as bibliography, collections, dictionaries, periodicals, research, statistics, or by the names of places. LC Subject Headings must be entered in Franklin without the dashes.
LOLA is the catalog of the Biddle Law Library.
You may access the catalogs of other area libraries, as well as libraries throughout the
United States and the world, via the Internet. Access to addresses
of most internet accessible
is provided via the Penn Library Web.
National Bibliographic Files
- Research Libraries Group Catalog (RLIN).
- RLIN contains information about books,periodicals, recordings, scores, archival collections, and other kinds of material held in major research libraries, museums, and archives. Each record describes an item or collection; most give local holdings information at other libraries. RLIN is useful for verifying citations for possible request via inter-library loan.
- WorldCat consists of over 30 million records that cite material owned by libraries around the world. Books, magazines, recordings; virtually any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries is included. WorldCat is useful for locating materials at other libraries and verifying citations for possible request via inter-library loan.
Guides to the field that provide a systematic introduction to the literature of Africana Studies and identify basic reference sources useful in Africana Studies, such as bibliographies, dictionaries, and indexes.
- Abajian, James. Blacks and their contributions to the
American West; A Bibliography and Union list of Lxibrary holdings through
1970. Boston, G. K. Hall, 1974.
A bibliography of materials relating to the African American experience in the West.
- [Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): Z1361.N39 A27]
- African-American Newspapers and Periodicals : A National Bibliography. James P. Danky,
editor ; Maureen E. Hady, associate editor. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1998.
A comprehensive guide to African American Newspapers and periodicals.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN4882.5 .A47 1998]
- Bassett, John Earl. Harlem in Review : Critical Reactions to Black American writers, 1917-1939.
Selinsgrove : Susquehanna University Press ; London ; Cranbury, NJ : Associated University Presses, c1992.
A bibliography of the work of Harlem Renaissance writers along with an index of criticism relating to their writings
- Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS153.N5 B37 1992]
- Brignano, Russel. Black Americans in Autobiography: An Annotated Bibliography of Autobiographies and Autobiographical Books Written since the Civil War. Rev. ed.
Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press, 1984.
A bibliography of African American bibliographies.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.96 .B84 1984]
- Black Access: A Bibliography of Afro American Bibliographies.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984.
A book of bibliographies that list resources in Africana Studies.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185 .N48 1984]
- Campbell, Georgetta Merritt. Extant collections of early Black newspapers :
A Research Guide to the Black press, 1880-1915, with an index to the Boston Guardian, 1902-1904. Troy, NT:
Whitston Pub. Co., 1981.
A bibliography of African American newspapers from 1880-1915.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: Z6944.N39 C28]
- Davis, Lenwood G. A Bibliographical Guide to Black Studies Programs in the United States :
An Annotated Bibliography Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1985.
A list of Africana Studies programs in the United States along with
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E184.7 .D353 1985]
- Davis, Lenwood G. Black-Jewish Relations in the United
States, 1752-1984: A Selected Bibliography Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1984.
A list of resources examing African American and Jewish relations in the United States.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.615 .D39 1984]
- Davis, Nathaniel. Afro-American reference : An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Resources.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1985.
A list of reference sources useful to Africana Studies.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185 .D257 1985].
- Henritze, Barbara K. Bibliographic checklist of African American newspapers.
Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., c1995.
A list of 5,539 newspapers and periodicals for African Americans.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN4882.5 .H45 1995]
- Images of Blacks in American culture : A Reference Guide to Information Sources.
ed. Jessie Carney Smith. New York : Greenwood Press, c1988.
A list of art resources relevant to African Americans and African American Studies.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: NX652.A37 I43 1988]
- Joyce, Donald F. Blacks in the Humanities, 1750-1984 : A Selected Annotated Bibliography.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1986.
A list of African American resources in the humanities from 1750-1984.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E185 .J92 1986]
- Joyce, Donald F. Rooted in the Chants of Slaves, Blacks in the Humanities, 1985-1997 :
A Selected Annotated Bibliography.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
A list of African American resources in the humanities from 1985-1997.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E185 .J694 1999]
- Library Company of Philadelphia. Afro-Americana, 1553-1906: author catalog of the Library Company of
Philadelphia and the Historical Society of Pennsylvania. Boston, G. K. Hall, 1973.
A bibliography of authors of Afro-Americana materials held in the Library Company
- [Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): Z1361.N39 P48 1973]
- Potter, Vilma Raskin. A Reference Guide to Afro-American Publications and Editors,
1827-1946. Ames : Iowa State University Press, 1993.
A bibliography of African American publications and editors.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: PN4882.5 .P63 1993]
- Walters, Ronald W. Bibliography of African American Leadership:
An Annotated Guide. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
A compilation of works on the subject of African American leadership.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.61 .W258 2000]
- Williams, Ethel L. Afro-American religious studies: A comprehensive bibliography with locations in
American libraries. Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1972.
A bibliographical guide for sources in the area of African and Afican American religious studies
- [Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): Z1361.N39 W55]
- Williams, Ora American Black women in the arts and social sciences: A bibliographic survey.
Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1973.
A collection of resources pertaining to African American women in the arts and social sciences
- [[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): Z1361.N39 W56 1973]
- Young, Tommie M. Afro-American Genealogy Sourcebook. New York : Garland Pub., 1987.
A handbook of a list of archival resources and resources in African American genealogy.
- [Van Pelt Referece Stacks: E185.96 .Y67 1987]
III. Indexes and Abstracts
The following indexes are used to locate journal articles. Some indexes cover additional
types of works too.
- Accessible Archives
- Accessible Archives offers five separate web-based resources, four of which are collections of historic American Newspapers and one of which is a genealogical source. African American Newspapers include: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star and The National Era.
- African American Biographical Database
- This collection contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, govern ment workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more--both the famous and the everyday person.
- America History and Life
- Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including most English-language historical journals and selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Covers African American History.
- An index of literature published in the Caribbean. Prepared and maintained by the University of the West Indies Library. CARINDEX contains two separate databases, one for literature in the social sciences and humanities (sah) and the other for science and technology (sci).
- EBSCO MegaFILE.
- EBSCO MegaFILE's subject strength is its wide coverage, providing indexing and fulltext for scholarly journal articles on every topic, in addition to general and popular magazines and business-related periodicals..
- Ethnic Newswatch
- Ethnic NewsWatch is a full text, comprehensive archival database providing access to more than 400,000 articles in nearly 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Covers 1990 to date.
- Index to Black periodicals. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall & Co.1988-
An index to African American periodicals from 1973-1997.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: AI3 .O4 vols. - 1973-1997]
- International Index to Black Periodicals
- International Index to Black Periodicals is a database that indexes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. See Full Text Title List.
- Primary sources in African American history
- Provides access to the full-text of selected primary sources (including autobiographies, speeches, legislation, Supreme Court decisions) and secondary sources (articles from reference books and scholarly journals). Includes prints and photographs.
Jacobs, Donald M. Antebellum Black newspapers : Indices to New York Freedom's journal, The Rights of All, The Weekly Advocate, and The Colored American Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1976
"Contains references to articles in four nineteenth-century newspapers published by African Americans in the United States."
- Spradling, Mary Mace. In Black and white : A guide to
magazine articles, newspaper articles, and books concerning more than 15,000
Black individuals and groups. 3rd ed. Detroit, MI : Gale
Research Co., c1980.
This indexes magazine articles to African American persons and groups
- [Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): E185.96 .S75 1980]
IV. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide background information and a general overview of a field, specific facts and dates, and basic bibliographic references. The entries in an encyclopedia are usually longer than those in dictionaries, and often include bibliographies. Below are dictionaries and thesauri devoted to the terminology of African American Studies.
- The African-American Almanac. Detroit : Gale Research, c1994.
This resource provides insight into the history, growth, and achievements of black americans.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: E185 .N385]
- Africana : The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience. editors, Kwame Anthony Appiah, Henry Louis Gates. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
An encyclopedia detailing the African and African American experience througout the world.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: DT14 .A37435 2005 v.1-5]
- The African American Encyclopedia. edited by Michael W. Williams. New York : Marshall Cavendish Corp., 1993-1997.
An overview of the lives of African Americans.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185 .A253 1993 v. 1-6,
- African-American Writers: A Dictionary. edited by
Shari Dorantes Hatch and Michael R. Strickland. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2000.
An examination of a of black cultural leaders from the eighteenth century to the present as it focuses on novelists, essayists, scholars, activists, critics, teachers, poets, playwrights, and songwriters.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS153.N5 A3444 2000]
- Altman, Susan. The Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage. New York : Facts On File, c1997.
A survey of the contributions of blacks to American society.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185 .A455 1997]
- Bogle, Donald. Blacks in American Films and Television : An Encyclopedia. New York : Garland Pub., 1988.
This resources provides an encyclopedic view of African Americans in film and television.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN1995.9.N4 B58 1988]
- Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery. edited by Randall M. Miller and John David Smith. Westport, Conn.: Praeger, 1997
This resource provides essays on the social, institutional, intellectual, and political aspects of slavery.
- [Van Pelt Reference Stacks: E441 .D53 1997]
- Encyclopedia of African American Business History. edited by Juliet E.K. Walker. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
This resource analyzes the African American business experience from the 1600s to the present through three main types of entries: biographies, topics in black business history, and black participation in selected industries.
- [Lippincott Library Reference Stacks: HD2344.5.U6 E53 1999]
- Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights. edited by Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek. New York : Greenwood Press, 1992 A volume of "over 800 short articles on a wide variety of individuals, organizations, events, and court cases focusing on the period since emancipation.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.61 .E54 1992]
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History. edited by Jack Salzman, David Lionel Smith, Cornel West. New York : Macmillan Library Reference; London : Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1996.
This reference work provides over 400 entries on the lives and significance of African Americans.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185 .E54 1996 v.1-5]
- Encyclopedia of African-American
Education. edited by Faustine C. Jones-Wilson ... [et al.].
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
This source provides information on significant issues, policies, historical events, laws, theories, organizations,institutions, and people incident to the education of African-Americans in the United States.
- Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: LC2717 .E53 1996
- Encyclopedia of Black America. edited by W. Augustus Low.
New York : McGraw-Hill, c1981.
An overview of African Americans' experiences in America.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185 .E55]
- Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America. editors, David Bradley, Shelley Fisher Fishkin.
Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, c1998.
A three volume resource detailing both major and minor events in the Civil Rights Movement.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.61 .E544 1998, vol. 1-3]
- Haskins, James. Distinguished African American Political and Governmental leaders.
Phoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, c1999.
A directory of important and noted African American political and governmental leaders.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.61 .H359 1999]
- Microsoft Encarta Africana 2000 [computer file]. edited by
Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates, Jr. [Redmond, WA] : Microsoft Corp., c1993-c1999.
An interactive version of the print Africana encyclopedia
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Moelis CD Area: DT14 .M527 1993a disc 1-2]
- This CD can only be used in select areas of the library. Please see a reference librarian for assistance.
- The New York Public Library African American Desk Reference. New York : Wiley, c1999.
This resource provides tables, charts, timelines, and summaries devoted to examining the African American experience.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185 .N487 1999]
- Reference Library of Black America. edited by Kenneth Estell. Detroit, MI : Gale Research 1994.
A list of reference resources related to African Americans.
- [Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): E185 .R435 1994]
- The Handbook of Historically Black colleges & Universities. Wilmington, DE :
Jireh & Associates, 1994-.
A comprehensive catalogue of profiles of over 100 historically Black colleges and universities.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: C2781 .H363 2nd ed. (1995/1997)]
- Peterson, Bernard L.The African American Theatre Directory, 1816-1960 :
A Comprehensive Guide to Early Black Theatre Organizations, Companies, Theatres, and
Performing Groups Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997.
A directory of early African American theater groups and organizations.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PN2270.A35 P48 1997]
This reference provides an all-inclusive national directory of associations, businesses, publications, organizations, services, and other listings of interest to African Americans.
- Black firsts : 2,000 Years of Extraordinary Achievement edited by essie Carney Smith,
with Casper L. Jordan, Robert L. Johns. Detroit : Visible Ink, c1994.
A resource that chronicles African Americans achievement in different areas.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185 .B574 1994]
- Directory of African American Religious Bodies : A Compendium by the Howard University
School of Divinity.. edited by Wardell J. Payne. Washington, DC : Howard University Press, 1995.
This resource lists 1,000 entries that provide information on contacts, key personnel, membership, and publications of churches belonging to African American denominations.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: BR563.N4 D57 1995]
- Jerrido, Margaret. Directory of African American Collections in Greater Philadelphia and Selected
Suburban Areas . Philadelphia, Pa. : Temple University, Samuel Paley Library, Urban Archives, c1998.
A directory of African American library and archival collections in Philadelphia.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E184.6 .J477 1998]
- Peterson, Bernard L. Early Black American Playwrights and Dramatic Writers : A Biographical Directory and Catalog of Plays, Films, and Broadcasting Scripts. New York : Greenwood Press, c1990.
A bio-bibliographical directory of early African American playwrights and dramatic writers.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS153.N5 P44 1990]
- Peterson, Bernard L. Contemporary Black American Playwrights and Their Plays : A Biographical Directory and Dramatic Index.. New York : Greenwood Press, 1988.
A directory of contemporary African American playwrights along with their plays.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS153.N5 P43 1988]
- Who's Who Among African Americans. New York : Gale Research, c1996-
A directory of significant individuals in the African American community.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: E185.96 .W52]
- Research in Black Child Development : Doctoral Dissertation Abstracts, 1927-1979.
compiled by Hector F. Myers ... [et al.] Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1982.
A bibliography of doctoral disseration abstracts related to African American child development.
- [Van Pelt Library: E185.86 .R44]
- African American Theses and Dissertations,
A comprehensive bibliography of all theses written at the University of California, Berkeley on African American themes covering the years from 1907 to 1997.
- African American Authors, 1745-1945 : Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook.
edited by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
This reference book provides alphabetically arranged entries for 78 African American writers active between 1745 and 1945.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS153.N5 A32 2000]
- Ingham, John N.African American Business Leaders: A
Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press 1994.
A biographical dictionary on African-American business leaders that provides biographies on 123 individuals.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HC102.5.A2 I52 1994]
- African American Women: A Biographical Dictionary.
edited by Dorothy C. Salem. New York : Garland, 1993.
Selection of biographies of living or dead African American women who have contributed to politics, arts and entertainment, religion, business, education, etc. from the Colonial era to the present.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.96 .A45 1993]
- Contemporary African American Novelists : A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook.
edited by Emmanuel S. Nelson. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.
A resource offering biographical, critical, and bibliographical material on 79 African American writers.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS374.N4 C658 1999]
- Hawkins, Walter L. African American Biographies 2:
Profiles of 332 Current Men and Women. Jefferson, NC:
McFarland & Co. 1994.
Biographies of contemporary African American men and women.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.96 .H38 1994]
- Hawkins, Walter L. African American Generals and Flag
Officers : Biographies of over 120 Blacks in the United States
Military. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1993.
Biographies of famous African Americans in the military.
- [Van Pelt Library: E181 .H38 1993]
- Hawkins, Walter L. African American Biographies:
Profiles of 558 Current Men and Women. Jefferson,
N.C.: McFarland 1992.
Biographies of current African American men and women.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.96 .H38 1992]
- International Dictionary of Black
Composers. edited by Samuel A. Floyd Jr.
Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1999.
This resource provides information on composers of African descent worldwide.
- [Van Pelt Library Marian Anderson Music Study Center: ML390 .I58 1999 v.1-2]
- Logan, Rayford Whittingham. Dictionary of American Negro
Biography. New York: Norton 1982.
Biographies of African Americans.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: E185.96 .L6 1982]
- Black Americans : A Statistical Sourcebook.
Boulder, Colo. : Numbers & Concepts, c1990-
An extensive collection of tables displaying information on a wide variety of topics.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: E185.5 .B512 2000 ed. vols. -1990 ed.,1992 ed. -stacks]
- Black Elected Officials. A Statistical
Summary. Washington, D.C.: Joint Center for Political and
Economic Studies, c1998-
A statistical account of the trend and status of black elected officials in the United States between 1993 and 1997.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.615 .B543]
- Cramer, Clayton E. Black Demographic Data, 1790-1860 : A Sourcebook. Westport, Conn. :
Greenwood Press, 1997.
A volume of tables and graphs of African American demograhic data from 1790-1860.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.18 .C73 1997]
- Historical Statistics of Black America. compiled and edited by Jessie Carney Smith and
Carrell Peterson Horton.
Tables and text reports of demographic data from the eighteenth century until 1975.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: E185 .H543 1995 v.1-2]
- Momeni, Jamshid A. Demography of the Black Population in the United States : An Annotated
Bibliography with a Review Essay. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1983.
A comprehensive compilation of African American demographic data
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: E185.86 .M58 1983]
- Statistical Record of Black America. compiled and edited by Carrell Peterson Horton and
Jessie Carney Smith. Detroit, MI : Gale Research, Inc., c1990.
Tables and graphs of demographic data on African Americans
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: E185.86 .S74 1990]
- United States. Bureau of the Census. The Social and Economic Status of the Black population in
the United States : An Historical View, 1790-1978. Washington : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the
Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1979.
Data reflecting U.S. African Americans' historical social and economic status.
- [Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: HA203 .A218 no.80]
An online periodical that provides cutting-edge information on career resources for Black collegians. Back issues of this periodical are not held at the library.
- Black Scholar
This journal includes articles concerning African American political and cultural thought.
- [Van Pelt Library: E185.5 .B575/ Current Periodicals], 1969-1987, 2001 - present.
- [Van Pelt Library Microforms: Microfilm cont 307], 1969 - present.
- black issues: Book Review
This periodical provides book reviews of African American books along with articles featuring African American authors. Full text articles are unavailable electronically. Please check Current Periodicals for print issues.
- Black Issues in Higher Education
Black Issues in Higher Education provides current issues in education that are related to African Americans. Up to two back issues of this journal can be searched online.
- [Van Pelt Library: LC2781 .B455/ Current Periodicals]
- Ethnic & Racial Studies Ethnic and Racial Studies is the leading international journal for the analysis of race, ethnicity, and nationalism in the present global environment.
- FOCUS magazine
FOCUS magazine features articles on politics as well as a broad range of economic, social, and health issues affecting African Americans.
An electronic journal published by the Moreland-Spingarn Research Center at Howard University, it offers scholarly articles examining a variety of issues as they relate to African Americans.
- Journal of African American Men
Journal of African American Men (JAAM) is the first refereed journal on African American male issues in the United States.
- [Van Pelt Library: E185.86 .J687/ Current Periodicals]
- Journal of the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical
This journal provides a medium for the publication of original material, articles, and news on African American history and genealogy.
- [Van Pelt Library: E185.96 .A46a/ Current Periodicals]
Specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines including African American journals. Please note that JSTOR provides limited coverage of these journals. For issues not found in JSTOR please use Franklin to search for the journal's location in the library. Titles in JSTOR:
- African American Review
- Black American Literature Forum
- Journal of Black Studies
- Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
- Journal of Negro Education
- Journal of Negro History
- Negro American Literature Forum
- Lenox Avenue
Lenox Avenue is devoted to exploring inquiry into the black expressive arts.
- [Van Pelt Library: ML3556 .L466 v.1 (1995)-v.4 (1998)]
- Negro periodicals in the United States
An annotated bibliography of African American periodicals
- North Star
This journal provides information on events, new publications, research collections, and other resources in the field of African-American religious history. Peer-reviewed articles based on historical research that explore the religious cultures of people of African descent in the United States are included also.
- Quarterly Black Review
This journal provides review of books by and about African Americans.
- [Van Pelt Library: Z1229.N39 Q378/ Current Periodicals]
- Vital Issues: The Journal of African American Speeches. Washington, D.C. : Bethune-DuBois
Publications, [1991 -
A publication devoted to covering the political process as it relates to African Americans.
- [Van Pelt Library: E185.5 .V58/ Current Periodicals]
- Western Journal of Black Studies
A leading interdisciplinary journal that is devoted to publishing scholarly articles, from a wide range of disciplines, that focus mainly on the experience of African Americans in the United States of America.
- [Van Pelt Library: E185.5 .W54/ Current Periodicals]
- The Afro American. Baltimore, MD : Afro-American Co.
- [Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 406 1893-1971]
- Baltimore Afro-American. Baltimore, Md. : Afro-American Co.
- [Van Pelt Library Current Periodicals: Latest 6 months only]
- The Chicago Defender Chicago, Ill. : Defender Co., 1905-1966.
- [Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 497 1921:Apr.2-1957:Dec.]
- The Cleveland Gazette Cleveland, Ohio : Gazette Pub. Co., 1883-1892.
- [Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 327 Aug.25,1883-Nov.5,1892]
- Freedom's Journal (Rights of All). [microform] New York : Cornish & Russwurm.
- [Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 271. volumes: no.1(Mar.16,1827)-no.104(Mar.28,1829) (no.1-104 16 Mr 1827-28 Mr 1829 1 reel)]
- The National Era. ( Daily National Era) Washington, D.C. : L.P. Noble, 1847-1860.
- [Van Pelt Library: Microfilm APS II (18001850)]
- [Van Pelt Library: Microfilm news 407 Currently received. Current issues in periodicals until microform copy received. volumes: 1912-1938:Oct.; 1939:Dec.-1993:Sept.; 1994:Jan./Mar.-1999:Jan./Mar.; 1999:July/Sept.-1999:Oct./Dec.]
- The Pittsburgh Courier Pittsburgh, Pa. : Pittsburgh Courier Pub. Co., 1910-1950.
- [Microfilm news 498: 1911:Mar.25-1956:Dec.29]
- New York Public Library. Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world.
- The African
American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black
History and Culture
Some good examples of the kinds of documents that might be available.
- Philadelphia Tribune. Philadelphia [Pa.] : C.J.
- Amistad Research Center
The Amistad Research Center Inc. on the Tulane University campus is a manuscripts library for the study of African American history, ethnic history, culture and race relations in the United States. Holding over 10 million manuscript documents, the Amistad Research Center is one of the most important African American collections in the world. Digitization has begun with the project "American Mission Association and the Promise of a Multicultural America, 1839-1954 "
- The John Hope Franklin Collection of African and African-American Documentation
The John Hope Franklin Collection is a repository for African and African-American studies documentation and an educational outreach division of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University.
- African American History from the Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning. .