Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Africana Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

African Americans in Philadelphia - Research Guide- Under Construction

This special bibliography concentrates on materials relating to the African American experience in Philadelphia that can be found in the Van Pelt Library and other institutions. Departmental libraries should also be consulted for special subject related materials.


CONTENTS

I. Library Catalogs
VII. Medicine
II. Autobiography/Biography
VIII. Dissertations
III. Business
IX. Law
IV. Religion
X. Statistical Sources
V. Literature
XI. History
VI. Education
XII. Web Resources

I. Library Catalogs

University of Pennsylvania

Franklin, the Penn Library's online catalog, lists more than two million books, journal titles, and other materials contained in campus libraries. You may search Franklin by author, title, journal title, subject, or call number, as well as several keyword options. For information on searching, consult the available Search Help.

Franklin uses Library of Congress subject headings. A selection of both general and more specific education related subjects is provided below. For additional subject headings, see the Library of Congress Subject Headings, located near the reference desk on the first floor of the Van Pelt Library. Also, when looking at Franklin records of interest, chose the "full view" and note the subject headings assigned to these works. Many subjects are subdivided by such standard forms as bibliography, collections, dictionaries, periodicals, research, statistics, or by the names of places. LC Subject Headings must be entered in Franklin without the dashes.

LOLA is the catalog of the Biddle Law Library. You may access the catalogs of other area libraries, as well as libraries throughout the United States and the world, via the Internet. Access to addresses of most internet accessible Library Catalogs is provided via the Penn Library Web.

Temple University

Diamond is the catalog of the Temple Universities Library. You may use this catalog to search for books in the Charles Blockson Collection, a premier collection of African American studies materials.

Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies

Emily is the catalog of the Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies. It is useful for searching for books and other materials in the Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies concerning African Americans in Philadelphia.

Library Company

WolfPac is the online catalog for The Library Company of Philadelphia. This catalog is useful for identifying historical information relating to the African American experience in Philadelphia.


II. Autobiography/Biography

Blockson, Charles L. "Damn Rare" : The Memoirs of an African-American Bibliophile. Tracy, CA : Quantum Leap Publisher, c1998.
The experiences of Charles Blockson, curator of the Blockson collection at Temple University library, is provided here.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: Z989.B6 A3x 1998]
Goode, W. Wilson. In Goode faith : Philadelphia's first Black mayor tells his story. Valley Forge, Pa. : Judson Press, 1992.
The autobiography of Wilson Goode, Philadelphia's first African American mayor.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F155.3.G66 A3 1992]
Hayre, Ruth Wright Tell Them we are Rising : A Memoir of Faith in Education. New York ; Chichester, [England] : John Wiley & Sons, c1997.
The autobiography of a Philadelphia school teacher
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): LA2317.H49 A3 1997]
White, Charles Frederick. Who's Who in Philadelphia: A Collection of Thirty Biographical Sketches of Philadelphia Colored People ... together with cuts and information of some of their leading institutions and organizations. Philadelphia : A.M.E. Book Concern, c1912.
A directory of noted African American individuals in Philadelphia in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries.
[Van Pelt Library: Microfiche 847]
Who's who in Greater Philadelphia in the Negro Community. Napoleon N. Vaughn, ed. Philadelphia, Urban Market Developers, [Prining and distr.: Bricklin Press, 1968].
A directory of African American individuals in different arenas in Philadelphia in 1968.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: F158.9.N3 W55]

III. Business

Philadelphia Colored Directory. Philadelphia : Philadelphia Colored Directory Co., 1907-
"A handbook of the religious, social, political, professional, business and other activities of the Negroes of Philadelphia."
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N3 P455]
The Philadelphia Colored Business Directory. compiled by R.R. Wright, Jr. ... [et al.] Philadelphia, Penn. : Philadelphia Negro Business League, 1914.
A handbook of information concerning professional and business activities of early twentieth century African Americans in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: Microfiche 847]

IV. Religion

Beck, Carolyn Stickney. Our Own Vine and Fig Tree : The Persistence of the Mother Bethel Family. New York, NY : AMS Press, 1989.
An analysis of the role kinship played in the development of the AME church in Philadelphia is the focus of this book
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: BX8481.P526 B46 1989]
Brief historic sketch of the First African Presbyterian Church of Philadelphia, Pa. : along with Rev. Catto's History and Discourse from 1807-1940. / compiled by Arthur Truman Boyer. Philadelphia, Pa. : [s.n.], 1944.
An organizational examination of the First African Presbyterian church in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: BX8954.P3 B6 1944]
A Call Upon the Church for Progressive Action, to Elevate the Colored American People [Fall River : s.n., 1848]
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 326.2 C714]
Gregg, Robert. Sparks from the Anvil of Oppression : Philadelphia's African Methodists and Southern Migrants, 1890-1940. Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 1993.
Originally Gregg's dissertation at the University of Pennsylvania, this book examines the contributions and effects of the southern migrant on the religious culture, in the late nineteenth to early twentieth century, of the AME church in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: BX8445.P5 G74 1993]
Mother Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church Mother Bethel AME Church, 1760-1972 [Wilmington, DE] : Scholarly Resources, [1997?]
The records of the first A.M.E. church, Mother Bethel African Methodist Episcopal church in Philadelphia, in the United States.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4370]
St. Thomas' Church (Philadelphia, Pa.) Constitution and Rules to be Observed and kept by the Friendly Society of St. Thomas's African Church, of Philadelphia. Philadelphia: : Printed by W.W. Woodward, no. 17, Chesnut-Street., 1797.
Church records of the St. Thomas Church in Phildelphia
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: Microfiche 821]

V. Literature

Barnes, Marian E. The Bottom. Austin, Texas : Nortex, c2000.
[Van Pelt Library: PS3553.A683 B6 2000]
Bradley, David. The Chaneysville Incident : A Novel. New York : Harper & Row, 1990, c1981.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3552.R226 C5 1990]
Campbell, Bebe Moore. Singing in the Comeback Choir. New York : G.P. Putnam's, 1998.
This novel depicts a Philadelphia native's relationship to her husband, her career in Los Angeles, and her ailing Grandmother still living in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3553.A4395 S56 1998]
Cary, Lorene. The Price of a Child : A Novel. New York : A.A. Knopf, 1995.
Acclaimed author and University of Pennsylvania instructor depicts the lives of free blacks in nineteenth-century Philadelphia in this book.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3553.A78944 P75 1995]
Cary, Lorene. Black Ice. New York : Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 1991.
Acclaimed author and University of Pennsylvania instructor writes about her experiences growing up in Philadelphia and her attendance at an elite private school in New Hampshire.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F44.C7 C35 1991]
Fauset, Jessie Redmon. Plum Bun. New York : F. Stokes 1929.
A Harlem Renaissance novel in which Philadelphia is the center of an African American female protagonist's early experiences in the 1920's and 1930's.
[Van Pelt Library: PS3511.A864 P5 1929]
Johnson, Mat. Drop. New York : Bloomsbury : distributed to the trade by St. Martins's Press 2000.
This is a popular and contemporary novel that features West Philadelphia as the main protagonist's hometown in which he wishes to escape.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3560.O38166 D76 2000]
McKinney-Whetstone, Diane. Blues Dancing : A Novel. New York : W. Morrow, c1999.
A love story that spans twenty years from the 70's to the 90's, this novel captures the essence of these years with Philadelphia as the setting of the story.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3563.C3825 B58 1999]
McKinney-Whetstone, Diane. Tempest Rising : A Novel. New York : William Morrow, c1998.
A novel set in the 1960's in Philadelphia, the lives of a middle-class African American family's trials and tribulations are featured.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3563.C3825 T46 1998]
McKinney-Whetstone, Diane. Tumbling. New York : Morrow, 1996.
A novel featuring an African American South Philadelphia community and individual characters' relationships amongst themselves and to their environment in the 1940's and 50's.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3563.C3825 T86 1996]
Robotham, Rosemarie. Zachary's Wings. New York : Scribner, c1998
A love story set in Philadelphia that features class conflicts, race, and sexuality issues.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3568.O3177 Z24 1998]
Tyree, Omar. For the Love of Money : A Novel New York : Simon & Schuster, c2000.
Written, by a noted author from Philadelphia, this book is the sequel to the author's previous work, Flyy- Girl, which depicts the main character's transition to adulthood.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3570.Y59 F67 2000]
Tyree, Omar. Flyy-Girl. Washington, D.C. : Mars Productions, 1993.
A coming-of-age story depicting the childhood and adolescene experiences of a young girl in Germantown, Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3570.Y59 F58 1993]
Wideman, John Edgar. The Cattle Killing. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1996.
Written by the noted author and first director of the Afro American Studies program at the University of Pennsylvania, this novel is set in late-eighteenth-century Philadelphia in the midst of a plague. The complex lives of the novel's characters are revealed through the narration of an unnamed preacher.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3573.I26 C38 1996]
Wideman, John Edgar. Philadelphia Fire: A Novel. New York : Holt, c1990.
This novel centers aroung the 1985 MOVE bombing in West Philadelphia as an African American expatriate writer returns to Philadelphia from Greece to write a novel about the incident.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: PS3573.I26 P48 1990]

VI. Education

Boyer, Philip Albert. The Adjustment of a School to Individual and Community Needs. [Philadelphia], 1920.
A dissertation discussing a Philadelphia school system's adjustment to fit the needs of an Afican American community in Philadelphia in the early part of the twentieth century.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 371.2 B699]
Carter, Richard Steven. Understanding and Improving Collaborative Relations between an Urban Middle School and a University: Mayer B. Sulzberger - Center for Community Partnerships Experience. 1998.
A dissertation that examines the collaboration between the University of Pennsylvania and a middle school in Philadelphia, serving African American students.
[Van Pelt Library: L002 1998 .C324]
Decker, Sunny. An Empty Spoon. New York, Harper & Row, [1969].
The North Philadelphia teaching experiences of an University of Pennsylvania graduate are provided in this book.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: LC2803.P5 D4]
Franklin, Vincent P. The Education of Black Philadelphia : The Social and Educational History of a Minority Community, 1900-1950. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, 1979.
The educational experiences of African Americans in Philadelphia between 1900-1950 are the focus of this text.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): LC2802.P4 F72]
Howard, Curtis D. Career paths of African-Americans who were promoted to upper echelon positions in the School District of Philadelphia, 1964-1974. 1989.
A dissertation examing the careers of African American Philadelphia school officials.
[Van Pelt Library: L001 1989 .H83]
Phillips, Anne Ellen. The Struggle for School Desegregation in Philadelphia 1945-1967. 2000.
A doctoral dissertation that examines the segregation issue in Philadelphia public schools.
[Van Pelt Library: L001 2000 .P558]
Shedd, Mark R. Recreating the City Schools. Philadelphia, 196 ?].
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: LC5133.P4 S4]

VII. Medicine

Alexander, Sadie Tanner Mossell. A Study of the Negro Tuberculosis Problem in Philadelphia. Philadelphia, Henry Phipps Institute, 1923.
A study of African Americans' Tuberculosis affliction conducted by Sadie Tanner Mossell, first African American woman to graduate from the University of Pennsylvania law school.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): RC313.A57 M6 1923a]
Frankel, Barbara. Childbirth in the Ghetto : Folk Beliefs of Negro Women in a North Philadelphia Hospital Ward. San Francisco : R & E Research Associates, 1977.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: GR103 .F7 1977]
Mercy-Douglass Hospital Records, 1896-1977
The records of the Mercy-Douglass, a hospital primarily serving the African American community in Philadelphia. The collection consists of hospital and nursing school records and over 200 photographs relating to the school and hospital.

VIII. Dissertations

Dayton, Elizabeth. Grammatical Categories of the Verb in African-American Vernacular English. 1996
The speech patterns of African Americans in Philadelphia are discussed in this dissertation.
[Van Pelt Library: P001 1996 .D276]
Goldberg, Robert. Party Competition and Black Politics in Baltimore and Philadelphia. 1984.
A thesis examining political party relationships in African American politics in Philadelphia and Baltimore.
Van Pelt Library: Microfilm 3849]
Gross, Kali Nicole. The Dismembered Body of Wakefield Gaines : And Other Tales of African-American Female Criminality in Philadelphia, 1880-1910 1999.
[Van Pelt Library: D002 1999 .G878]
Jubilee, Vincent. Philadelphia's Afro-American Literary Circle. [Philadelphia], 1980.
A University of Pennsylvania dissertation that examines the African American literary tradition in Philadelphia along with a focus on Arthur Huff Fauset and Mae. V Cowdery.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: E001 1980 .J91]
Porter, Aaron C. The Career of a Professional Institution : A Study of Norris, Schmidt, Green, Harris, Higginbotham, and Associates. 1993.
A sociological analysis of specific African American lawyers in Phildelphia and and their law firm.
[Van Pelt Library: HM001 1993 .P844]

IX. Law

Brown, G. Gordon. Law Administration and Negro-White Relations in Philadelphia : A Study in Race Relations. Philadelphia : Bureau of Municipal Research, 1947.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 326.84 B896]
Segal, Geraldine. Blacks in the Law : Philadelphia and the Nation. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1983.
This text closely examines African Americans' role in all areas of law in Philadelphia along with their presence in law in other cites in the United States.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: KF299.A35 S43 1983]

X. Statistics

Kleiner, Robert Jacob. Social Status and Aspirations in Philadelphia's Negro Population. Philadelphia, Commission on Human Relations, 1962.
Statistical data along with summaries and conlclusions concerning the social status and aspirations of African American Philadelphians in 1962 is offered in this book.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N3 K4]
The New Philadelphia Story, A Report on the Characteristics of the Philadelphia Negro Market ... its Buying Habits and Brand Preferences in 1945. From a survey by the Research Company of America, N.Y., analyzed and projected by the Harry Hayden Company, N.Y. / compiled and published by the Philadelphia Afro-American. [Philadelphia], c1946.
[LIBRA: 385.09C P5P5]
Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery. Board of Education. Statistics of the Colored people of Philadelphia. taken by Benjamin C. Bacon, and published by order of the Board of education of "The Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery," etc. Philadelphia : reprinted by order of the Board of Education, 1859.
A brief compilation of statistical population, criminal, and educational data in relation to African Americans from the nineteenth century.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: E185.93.P41 P44 1859a]
Simpson, George Eaton. The Negro in the Philadelphia Press. [Philadelphia], 1936.
"An analysis of Negro material published in the Philadelphia record, Public ledger, Evening bulletin and Philadelphia inquirer during 1908-1932."
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 378.748 POP1934.45]
State of Black Philadelphia. Philadelphia : Urban League of Philadelphia, 1981-
A serial publication of the Urban League of Philadelphia that provides statistical information on African Americans in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N3 S83]
United States. Work Projects Administration. Pennsylvania. Report of Philadelphia Real Property Survey, 1934. Colored housing. [Philadelphia, 1934?]. Tables of statistics detailing Philadelphia African Americans' housing conditions in 1934.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: HD268.P5 A5 1934b v.1-3]

XI. History

Alexander, Sadie Tanner Mossell. Standard of Living Among One Hundred Negro Migrant Families in Philadelphia. [Philadelphia], 1921.
A thesis for the Ph.D. in Economics by Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander, first African American women to obtain a law degree from the University of Pennsylvania.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: HD6994.P5 M6]
American Negro Historical Society Collection, 1790-1905. [Wilmington, DE] : Scholarly Resources [1997?]
A compilation of historical records concerning African American organizations in Philadelphia from 1790-1905.
[Van Pelt Library Microtext: Microfilm 4367]
Anderson, Dorothy Pauline. The History of the Tribune. Philadelphia, [1959].
A brief but illustrative history of Philadelphia's first (and still present) African American newspaper, The Philadelphia Tribune.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): PN4899.P5 T7]
Armstrong Association of Philadelphia. Comparative Study of the Occupations of the Children of Working age in the Potter and Durham Schools.
[1913] A study of a set of African American and white children attending two different schools in Philadelphia in the early twentieth century.
[[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): 326.84 P535.2]
Armstrong Association of Philadelphia. Annual Reports of the Armstrong Association of Philadelphia.
The annual reports of the Armstrong organization, an organization committed to uplifting early twentieth African Americans in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302) : 326.84 P535.4 v. 6, 8, 10, 12]
Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies. Philadelphia African Americans : Color, Class and Style, 1840-1940. Philadelphia, Pa. : Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies, c1988.
This book reflects the Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies's exhibit of the social and economic lives of African Americans in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N4 B33 1988]
Ballard, Allen. B. One More Day's Journey : The Story of a Family and a People. New York : McGraw-Hill, c1984.
A history of a South Carolina and Philadelphia African American family.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N4 B34 1984]
Banner-Haley, Charles Pete T. To Do Good and To Do Well : Middle-class Blacks and the Depression, Philadelphia, 1929-1941. New York : Garland Pub., 1993.
A history of middle-class African Americans in Philadelphia from 1929-1941.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N4 B36 1993]
Berson, Lenora E. Case Study of a Riot : The Philadelphia Story. New York : Institute of Human Relations Press, American Jewish Committee, [c1966]
A book that offers an in-depth analysis of the Columbia Street riots in North Philadelphia in 1964.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N3 B4]
Bureau of Municipal Research, Philadelphia. Recreational facilities and Negro-White relations in Philadelphia. Philadelphia : Bureau of Municipal Research, 1947.
A report of the Bureau Municipal Research investigating the recreational facilities avaliable to African Americans in Philadelphia during the summer of 1946.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N3 B82]
Du Bois, W.E.B. The Philadelphia Negro : A Social Study. Philadelphia : Published for the University, 1899.
One of the most noted sociological studies on African Americans in Philadelphia.
Van Pelt Library: F158.9.N3 D8 1999]
Ershkowitz, Miriam. Black Politics in Philadelphia. New York, Basic Books [1973].
An examination and discussion of African Americans' contributions to politics in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N3 E77]
Gaines, William A. A Study in the Population Movement, University Settlement House Area, 1921-1936.. [Philadelphia, 1937?].
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.68.S39 G33]
Hardin, Clara Alberta. The Negroes of Philadelphia: The Cultural Adjustment of a Minority Group. Bryn Mawr, Pa., 1945.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N3 H3]
Lane, Roger. William Dorsey's Philadelphia and Ours : On the Past and Future of the Black City in America New York : Oxford University Press, 1991.
This book details the history of nineteenth and early twentieth century Philadelphia African Americans through the collection of William Dorsey, custodian of the American Negro Historical Society.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N4 L36 1991]
Ley, David. The Black Inner City as Frontier Outpost : Images and Behavior of a Philadelphia Neighborhood. Washington : Association of American Geographers, [1974]
An empirical study of African American identity and behavior in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N3 L49]
Mosley, John W. The Journey of John W. Mosley. Philadelphia : Quantum Leap Publisher, c1992.
An African American photographer's photos of black Philadelphia is displayed in this book.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N4 M68 1992]
Nash, Gary B. Forging Freedom : The Formation of Philadelphia's Black Community, 1720-1840 Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, c1988.
This book explores the creation of a collective African American identity in, among other things, spiritual and industrial culture in organizations in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N4 N37 1988]
Norwood, Alberta S. Negro Welfare Work in Philadelphia : especially as illustrated by the career of William Still, 1775-1930. 1951.
The social work of African Americans from the eighteenth to the twentieth century in Philadelphia is provided through the letters of William Still, a clerk in the Pennsylvania Abolition Society in this text.
[Van Pelt Library: 326.84 N835]
Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery. The Present State and Condition of the Free People of Color, of the City of Philadelphia and Adjoining Districts, as Exhibited by the Report of a Committee of a Committee of the Pennsylvania Society for Promoting the Abolition of Slavery. Philadelphia, The Society, 1838.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: 326.84 P388]
Philadelphia : A 300 Year History. New York : W.W. Norton, c1982.
A comprehensive history of Philadelphia that includes an extensive treatment of African Americans' role and position in the city in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
[Van Pelt Library Reference Desk: F158.3 .P5664 1982]
Philadelphia's Guide : African-American State Historical Markers. Philadelphia, Pa.] : The Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection/The William Penn Foundation, c1992.
A guide to African American Pennsylvania and Philadelphia historical markers.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.37 .P58 1992]
Pollard, Leslie James. Complaint to the Lord : Historical Perspectives on the African American Elderly. Selinsgrove, PA : Susquehanna University Press ; London : Associated University Presses, c1996.
A historical analysis of the African American elderly population along with a discussion of the Home for Aged and Infirm Colored Persons, a Philadelphia institution for the aged found in 1864.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: HQ1064.U5 P65 1996]
Rankin-Hill, Lesley M. A Biohistory of 19th-century Afro-Americans : The Burial Remains of a Philadelphia Cemetery. Westport, Conn. : Bergin & Garvey, 1997.
This book provides the health and vital records of the church members of the First African Baptist Church of Philadelphia from 1822 to 1843.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N4 R36 1997]
Roberts, John W. ODUNDE presents from hucklebuck to hip-hop : Social Dance in the African American Community in Philadelphia. Philadelphia, PA : ODUNDE, Inc., c1995.
The history of social dance in Philadelphia is extensively treated in this book.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: GV1624.7.A34 R627 1995]
Rose, Dan. Black American Street Life : South Philadelphia, 1969-1971. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, 1987.
An ethnography of African American street life in South Philadelphia from 1969-1971.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N4 R67 1987]
Sabbath, Tawana Ford. "African Americans and Social Work in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1900-1930." African American Leadership: An Empowerment Tradition in Social Welfare History. Edited by Iris B. Carlton LaNey. Washington, D.C.: National Association of Social Workers Press, 2001.
An article detailing a thirty year period of social work in the African American community in Philadelphia.
Strange, John Hadley. The Negro in Philadelphia Politics: 1963-1965. 1966 [c1967 ; Ann Arbor, Mich., University Microfilms, 1972]
An examination of African Americans' role in politics in the years, 1963-1965 in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Stacks: F158.9.N3 S87 1972]
Sullivan, Leon Howard. Build, Brother, Build. Philadelphia, Macrae Smith, [1969].
This book looks at a variety of African American self-help programs in Philadelphia and the United States.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N3 S8]
African Americans in Pennsylvania : Shifting Historical Perspectives. edited by Joe William Trotter, Jr. and Eric Ledell Smith. Harrisburg, Pa. : Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission ; University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State University Press, c1997.
A considerable portion of this book is focused upon the history of Philadelphia's African American community.
[Van Pelt Library: F160.N4 A37 1997]
W.E.B. DuBois, Race, and the City : The Philadelphia Negro and its Legacy/ edited by Michael B. Katz and Thomas J. Sugrue. Publisher: Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, c1998.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N4 W16 1998]
Willis, Arthur C. Cecil's City : A History of Blacks in Philadelphia, 1638-1979. New York, N.Y. : Carlton Press, c1990.
A history of Philadelphia African Americans along with a biography of Cecil B. Moore, lawyer, councilman, and president of the Philadelphia NAACP.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N3 W54 1990a]
Winch, Julie. The Elite of Our People : Joseph Willson's sketches of Black upper-class life in antebellum Philadelphia. University Park : Pennsylvania State University Press, c2000.
A new edition of Joseph Willson's text, originally published in 1841, that is concerned with the plight of upper class African Americans in Philadelphia in the mid-nineteenth century.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N4 W54 2000]
Winch, Julie. Philadelphia's Black Elite : Activism, Accommodation, and The Struggle for Autonomy, 1787-1848. Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 1988.
A treatment of eighteenth and nineteenth century elite African Americans in Philadelphia.
[Van Pelt Library Africana Studies Seminar (Rm. 302): F158.9.N4 W56 1988]

XII. Web Resources

African American Museum in Philadelphia
A museum devoted to preserving the history and culture of Philadelphia African Americans along with African Americans throughout the United States.
Founding of the African Methodist Episcopal Church
A brief essay on the founding of the AME church in Philadelphia.
Richard Allen and African-American Identity
A site detailing the events in the life of Richard Allen, founder of the AME church.
A Statistical Inquiry into the Condition of the People of Colour, of the City and Districts of Philadelphia.
"A discussion and statistics on the occupations, means of livelihood, real estate owned, rate of population increase since 1837, schools, beneficial societies, penitentiary inmates, and churches of Philadelphia's African American community."
Statistics of the Colored People of Philadelphia
"Statistics on African American education (history, enrollment, and physical facilities of various types of schools for blacks in 1854), adult literacy and occupations, crime and criminals from 1835 to mid-1850s, etc., collected to establish a bench mark by which to judge further improvements in condition of Philadelphia's African Americans."
*