Sidebar
Main Content
Ethiopia: Resources for K-12 Readers
This guide presents some useful electronic works and databases for learning about Ethiopia. It is intended to support the K-12 outreach activities of the University of Pennsylvania's African Studies Center.
The POWER Library - Pennsylvania Online World of Electronic Resources
As a Pennsylvania resident or school student, you have access to the POWER Library, a wonderful collection of online databases. Individual e-resources accessible through POWER Library will be identified below.
Access to POWER Library is provided through Pennsylvania public libraries and Pennsylvania public school districts. Within Philadelphia, there are three ways to access Power Library:
- Get a Free Library of Philadelphia library card! Use your library card barcode number and PIN at home, classroom, or workplace to login to Power Library e-resources from the Free Library's Advanced Search: Databases web page.
- Visit your local Free Library branch.
- Visit your Philadelphia public school library.
There is no excuse for being ignorant! Taxes and donations pay for POWER Library and other e-resources offered by the Free Library. Use these e-resources, and require your students to use them, too.
Getting Started
These e-resources provide overviews of Ethiopia, its geography, its history, its social and political characteristics, and other information.
- Ethiopia: A Country Study / Thomas P. Ofcansky and LaVerle Berry, eds. Washington, DC: Federal Research Division, Library of Congress, 1991. With 21-page country profile, updated April 2005.
- A great book-length overview of Ethiopia's history, environment, society and economy, and government, politics, and national security issues. The Country Study series ceased in the earlly 1990s, but the Library of Congress has been providing recent article-length updates.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Free Library access
- This collection of online editions of familiar reference works includes:
- Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
- Countries of the World and Their Leaders
- Cities of the World
- Countries of the World and Their cultures
- Oxford Research Online - POWER Library access
- This collection, similar to the Gale Virtual Reference Library, provides online editions of Oxford University Press reference works. See especially:
- A Guide to Countries of the World
- A Dictionary of Contemporary World History
- The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World
- Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Profile: Ethiopia. Annual. 2003-present.
Available through InfoTrac OneFile - Free Library access - The EIU's annual country profiles are essential reading for political leaders, business people, and scholars. They typically provide a narrative account of the past year's current affairs and economic developments, and they present many tables of useful statistics.
Special Topics
Biography
SEARCH TIP! Use Advanced Search: Nationality = Ethiopian
- A Dictionary of Political Biography
Literary Criticism
SEARCH TIP! Use search key Nationality = Ethiopian
- Literature Resources from Gale - Free Library access
- Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale) - Free Library access
- Humanities Full Text (WilsonWeb) - Free Library access
- InfoTrac OneFile (Gale) - Free Library access
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost Web) - POWER Library access
Art and Archaeology
- Oxford Art Online - POWER Library access
- The online version of the famous Grove Dictionary of Art. This recently-updated version of the enormous, authoritative encyclopedia expands to include non-Western art, architecture, and antiquities.
- Sample entries include: "Ethiopia and Eritrea", "Rock church", "Aksum"
- Online exhibits and Image collections
- Cultural Traditions and Religion in Ethiopia: A Celebration for Black History Month - Hill Museum & Manuscript Library, Saint John's University.
- An online exhibit of Ethiopian illuminated manuscripts. The HMML's Ethiopian Manuscript Imaging Project reproduces complete manuscripts.
- Ethiopia: Traditions of Creativity: Artist Profiles - Michigan State University
- Art Resources: Fine Art Stock Licensing
- A very large collection of art and architecture images gathered from museums worldwide.
SEARCH TIP Use Advanced Search: Text Search = Ethiopian
- A very large collection of art and architecture images gathered from museums worldwide.
Journal articles and magazine articles



