"Persistent hunger: perspectives on vulnerability, famine, and food security in Sub-Saharan Africa" / Mamadou Baro and Tara F. Deubel.
vol. 35 (2006): 521-538.
"The relationship between economic growth and HIV/AIDS in Southern Africa: a review of the literature" / Patricia R. Costa. Ufahamu vol. 32, no. 1-2 (2005-2006): 171-190.
"'Sincedisa - we can help!': A literature review of current practice involving traditional African healers in biomedical HIV/AIDS interventions in South Africa" / Jo Wreford. Social Dynamics vol. 31, no. 2 (December 2005): 90-117.
"Mainstreaming HIV/AIDS in development sectors: have we learnt the lessons from gender mainstreaming?" / H. Elsey, R. Tolhurst, and S. Theobald. AIDS Care vol. 17, no. 8 (November 2005): 988-998.
"Fertility's fires and empty wombs in recent Africanist writing" / Nancy Rose Hunt.
Africa vol. 75, no. 3 (2005): 421-435.
HIV/AIDS, gender and rural livelihoods in sub-Saharan Africa: an overview and annotated bibliography / Tania R. Muller. (AWLAE Series 2) Wageningen: Wageningen Academic Publishers, 2005.
On order.
HIV/AIDS and human development in sub-Saharan Africa: impact mitigation through agricultural interventions: an overview and annotated bibliography / Tania R. Muller. (AWLAE Series 3) Wageningen: Wageningen Academic Publishers, 2005.
On order.
HIV/AIDS and agriculture in sub-Saharan Africa: impact on farming systems, agricultural practices and rural livelihoods" / Tania R. Muller. (AWLAE Series 1) Wageningen: Wageningen Academic Publishers, 2004.
On order.
"Medical genetics in developing countries" / Arnold Christianson and Bernadette Modell. Annual review of genomics and human genetics vol. 5 (2004): 219-65.
Literature review on inequity between medical research and services in lower-resource countries. Based in part on research into community genetics services in rural South Africa.
Location: Annual Reviews via Penn Library Web
"Anthropology and circumcision" / Eric K. Silverman. Annual review of anthropology vol. 33 (2004): 419-445.
Recent literature review on anthropological research on male and female circumcision. Includes relationship between male circumcision in Africa and reduced rates of HIV, and controversies regarding female circumcision.
Location: Annual Reviews via Penn Library Web
Governing the African health system: bibliography = Gerer le systeme sanitaire africain: bibliographie. CODESRIA Documentation and Information Center, 2004.
Identifies approximately 400 books, articles, and web documents relating to health, politics, and society in Africa. Produced in conjunction with the inaugural session of CODESRIA's Institute on Health, Politics and Society in Africa. Bibliographic information only is presented, with no subject indexing.
Location: CODESRIA web
Gender and the economy of care: bibliography. CODESRIA Documentation and Information Center, 2004.
Identifies approximately 300 books, articles, and web documents relating to African women's access to health care and to development organizations. Produced in conjunction with the tenth meeting of CODESRIA's Gender Institute. Bibliographic information only is presented, with no subject indexing.
Location: CODESRIA web
"Drugs, sex, and HIV/AIDS in contemporary South Africa" / Catherine Higgs. African Studies Review vol. 47,no. 2 (September 2004): 124-130.
"Poor people's experiences of health services in Tanzania" / Masuma Mamdani and Maggie Bangser. Reproductive Health Matters vol. 12, no. 24 (November 2004): 138-153.
Dossier HIV/AIDS in Africa. African Studies Centre, Leiden, 2003.
A very fine, long list of works from diverse sources published in 1999-2003 and held at the African Studies Centre's library. Hyperlinks into the ASC library catalogue provide abstracts. Hyperlinks to web sites identify leading organizations active in HIV/AIDS work in Africa.
Location: ASC Library web
"Debates: HIV/AIDS in Africa." CODESRIA bulletin, 2003, nos. 2-4: 44-106.
Not strictly a literature review or bibliography, this collection of articles celebrating CODESRIA's 30th anniversary, provides articles with rich bibliographies on many topics, including: social science and HIV/AIDS policies; corporate responses to the HIV/AIDS crisis; pharmaceutical economics, marketing, and policies; HIV/AIDS-related human rights litigation. Contributors are mostly Africa-based.
Location: CODESRIA web
"Population and African society" / Tukufu Zuberi, Amson Sibanda, Ayaga Bawah, and Amadou Noumbissi. Annual review of sociology vol. 29 (2003): 465-86.
Recent literature review on significant factors encouraging and constraining population growth that are unique or exceptionally significant to Africa.
Location: Annual Reviews via Penn Library Web
"Anthropology, inequality, and disease: a review" / Vinh-Kim Nguyen and Karine Peschard. Annual Review of Anthropology vol. 32 (2003): 447-474.
Annotated bibliography on gender and AIDS / Marita Eibl and Valerie Foster. Women and International Development Program, Michigan State University, (2003).
A very fine, highly selective, well-annotated bibliography relating gender and AIDS to development issues.
Location: MSU web
"HIV/AIDS in South Africa: a select bibliography" / Peter Limb. Society in transition vol. 33, no. 3 (2002): 455-469.
"Recent research on the social history of medicine in Africa" / Elizabeth van Heyningen. South African Historical Journal vol. 45 (2001): 178-190.
Part of a special issue on "Histories of Reproductive Health and the Control of Sexually Transmitted Disease in Southern Africa: A Century of Controversy". Reviews five recent books.
"International AIDS research in anthropology: taking a critical perspective on the crisis" / Brooke G. Schoepf. Annual review of anthropology vol. 30 (2001): 335-361.
"Healthy cities: a guide to the literature" / Marina Kenzer. Environment and Urbanization vol. 11, no. 1 (April 1999): 201-220.
Gives examples of African participation in the Healthy Cities program.
Location: Penn Library Web
"Medical / health periodicals and books on Africa" / John Bruce Howell. Electronic Journal of African Bibliography no. 3 (1997).
Merely a very broad checklist of titles. Try to use your browser's "Find" command in lieu of browsing the list.
Location: EJAB web
"The public health aspects of complex emergencies and refugee situations" / M.J. Toole and R.J. Waldman. Annual review of public health vol. 18 (1997): 283-312.
Literature review on issures affecting populations in areas undergoing armed conflicts, including public health consequences of population displacement and the prevention of public health effects of complex disasters.
Location: Annual Reviews via Penn Library Web
Family planning and reproductive health services in Ghana: an annotated bibliography" / Yaw Oheneba-Sakyi, comp. (African special bibliographies series, no. 18) Westport: Greenwood Press, 1994.
Location: Van Pelt stacks: HQ766.5 .G5 O44 1994
Health in Botswana: an annotated bibliography / M. Mugabe and K. Moahi. Gaborone, Botswana : Published on behalf of the National Institute of Development Research and Documentation, University of Botswana, by Lentswe La Lesedi (Pty), 1994.
Location: Van Pelt Library: RA552 .B55 M84 1994
Mental health and psychiatry in Africa: an annotated bibliography / David Westley. New York: Hans Zell, 1993.
Brief abstracts covering English- and French-language articles and books from 1936 to 1993. Emphasizing traditional healing. Subject index.
Location: Van Pelt Library: RC451 .A4 W47 1993
Sexuality and health in sub-Saharan Africa: an annotated bibliography / Thomas George Barton. Nairobi: African Medical and Research Foundation, 1991.
Location: Van Pelt Library: RA644.V4 B37 1991
Health, disease, medicine, and famine in Ethiopia: a bibliography / compiled by Helmut Kloos and Zein Ahmed Zein. (African special bibliographic series; no. 13.) New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
Large unannotated bibliography, 4614 citations, covering infectious and non-infectious diseases, food, malnutrition and nutrition rehabilitation, mother and child health, accidents, injuries, poisoning and intoxication, mental health, health services, traditional medicine, famine, and resettlement and refugees. Non-English Western-language titles appear to be translated; Amharic and other Ethiopic-language titles appear to be omitted.
Location: Van Pelt Library: RA552 .E8 K56 1991
Bibliography of health and disease in East Africa / editors, A.S. Muller ... [et al.]. New York: Elsevier, 1988.
Location: Van Pelt Library: RA552 .A353 B53 1988
Child health and mortality in Sub-Saharan Africa: an annotated bibliography from the 1975-1986 literature = Sante et mortalite infantiles en Afrique subsaharienne: bibliographie annotee de la documentation de 1975 a 1986 / compiler, Fiona Mackenzie. Ottawa, Ont.: International Development Research Centre, c1987.
Location: Van Pelt Library: RJ103.A4 M15 1987
Famine in sub-Saharan Africa: a select bibliography (excluding the Sahel) from 1978 / J.A. Seeley. (cite>Cambridge African Occasional Papers, no. 3) Cambridge: African Studies Centre, University of Cambridge, 1986.
Location: Van Pelt stacks: HC800 .Z9 F385 1986
Traditional medicine: implications for ethnomedicine, ethnopharmacology, maternal and child health, mental health, and public health: an annotated bibliography of Africa, Latin America, and the Caribbean / Ira E. Harrison and Sheila Cosminsky. 2 volumes. New York: Garland, 1976-1984.
For Africa, almost 1,000 citations with abstracts, 1950-1981. Each volume arranged by broad topical areas (general, ethnomedicine, ethnopharmacology, health care delivery systems, maternal and child health, mental health, public health) for individual continents. Each volume includes a country index. Vol. 1 covers 1950-1975, vol. 2 covers 1976-1981.
Location: University Museum Library: GN477 .H37
"The illegal distribution of western medicines in developing countries: pharmacists, drug pedlars, injection doctors and others: a bibliographical exploration" / S. van der Geest. Medical Anthropology vol. 6 no. 4 (1982): 197-219.
Location: Museum Library: GN296 .M435
"The anthropologies of illness and sickness" / Allan Young. Annual review of anthropology vol. 11 (1982): 257-285.
One of two classic literature reviews from this annual volume. Surveys medical anthropological literature and general ethographic literature. The author's expertise treates Ethiopia.
Location: JSTOR via Penn Library Web
"Non-Western medical systems" / P. Worsley. Annual review of anthropology vol. 11 (1982): 315-48.
Cross national study of health systems, countries, world regions, and special problems: a guide to information sources / Ray H. Elling. (Gale information guide library. Health affairs information guide series. vol. 3.) Detroit: Gale, 1980.
Old but very good bibliography with informative abstracts. "Africa" chapter, 417-61.
Location: Van Pelt Library: RA394 .E442. Biomedical Reference: Z6673.4 .E42 1980
Resources for Third World health planners: a selected subject bibliography / compiled with an introduction by Philip Singer & Elizabeth A. Titus. Owerri [Nigeria]; [Buffalo], N.Y.: Trado-Medic Books, 1980.
Location: Van Pelt Library: GR880 .S55
Health and society in Africa: a working bibliography / Steven Feierman, comp. Crossroads Press, 1979.
A major survey of the literature, somewhat superseded by the bibliography of The Social basis of health and healing in Africa / Steven Feierman and John M. Janzen, eds. Univ of California Press, 1992. [Van Pelt Library: RA418.3 .A35 S63 1992]
Location: University Museum Library: RA418.3 .A34 F44
"Disease and medicine in African history: a bibliographical essay" / K.David Patterson. History in Africa vol. 1 (1974): 141-148.
An early, very good precis of the literature on the topic.
Location: Penn Library Web
"Medical anthropology" / A.C. Colson and K.E. Selby. Annual review of anthropology vol. 3 (1974): 245-262.
Medical behavioral science: a selected bibliography of cultural anthropology, social psychology, and sociology in medicine / Marion Pearsall. Univ of Kentucky Press, 1963.
Unannotated, covers up to 1961.
Location: Storage: 610B .P312
4. Bibliographic indexes and abstracts -- the third step
General indexes and abstracts with strong African coverage
Several general tools do a good job of covering the scholarly and technical journal literature on health and society in Africa. Each one, however, has its own specialization, and Africa will be only a small part of its coverage. DO NOT RELY UPON ONE TOOL ALONE!
Popline. 1970-present.
The principal abstracting service for population studies, applied demography, family planning and related topics. Produced by Population Information Program, the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health.
Location: JHU web
IBSS = International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. 1951-present.
A major index, very large, focusing on anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Its strength is its coverage of publications outside North American and western Europe. Sponsored by UNESCO, produced by British Library of Political and Economic Science, London School of Economics and Political Science.
Location: CSA via Penn Library Web
EMBASE (complete file). 1980-present.
MEDLINE (complete file). 1966-present.
The enormous medical abstracting services, with solid coverage of health policy and public health. EMBASE appears to do a better job of covering the medical literature published in Africa, although you'll find lots of overlaps. Using this OVID version makes subject searching very simple, and if you're really obsessive the interface permits simultaneous searching of both databases. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine.
EMBASE - Location: OVID via Penn Library Web
MEDLINE - Location: OVID via Penn Library Web
Global Health Archive. 1908-present.
Bibliographic citations with abstracts for historical book and journal literature on public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology, and mycology.
Location: OVID via Penn Library Web
Population Index. 1935-present.
Abstracting service for scholarly materials in demography, including including fertility, mortality, population size and growth, migration, nuptiality and the family, research methodology, projections and predictions, historical demography, and demographic and economic interrelations. Online interface (1986-2000) allows for easy country name searching. JSTOR version provides clumsy search interface to complete contents, 1935-1985. Produced by the Office of Population Research, Princeton University.
Location: Princeton web (1986-2000)
Location: JSTOR via Penn Library Web (1935-1985)
CAB Abstracts. 1910-present.
A very large abstracting service covering an enormous range of topics, two-thirds relating to agriculture and veterinary and animal sciences. The remaining third however, covers human health, rural sociology, and other development-related topics. Its emphasis on applied subjects makes it particularly useful for finding case studies. Particularly strong on English-speaking countries worldwide, as it was formerly produced by the Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux.
Location: OVID via Penn Library Web
International Development Abstracts. 1982-present.
Excellent, print-only, abstracting service covering all aspects of development studies.
Location: Van Pelt Reference: HC59.69 .I57
Anthropology PLUS. Late 19th century-present.
By combining the two preeminent indexes for anthropology, Anthropological Literature (Tozzer Library, Harvard University) and Anthrological Index (Museum of Mankind, British Library), this large database provides near-comprehensive coverage of sociocultural anthropology, ethnology, and material culture publications, especially for Commonwealth countries and Africa. AnthroLit's enormous backfile begins in the late 19th century.
Location: OCLC FirstSearch via Penn Library Web
Historical abstracts. 1974-present.
Bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts covering periodical literature on world history outside North America, 1450-present. Subject headings include countries and some placenames, also chronological subject searching by decade or century.
Location: Clio via Penn Library Web
Francis. 1984-present.
The French-language index for social sciences and humanities journal articles. Offers excellent coverage of languages other than English. Disciplinary coverage is oddly uneven: for the social sciences, strengths are in public administration, health, ethnology, and sociology. Some duplication occurs across subfiles, and citation errors may require creative locating. Produced by CNRS.
Location: OCLC FirstSearch via Penn Library Web
General African studies indexes and abstracts
African studies, especially for medicine and the social sciences, remains based in research centers and academic centers that often focus on specific issues. Many African studies bibliographic indexes and abstracts originate in the libraries or reading rooms of these centers, and so they reflect the strengths and weaknesses of their parents. DO NOT RELY UPON ONE TOOL ALONE!
African Studies Centre Catalogue (Leiden) = African Studies Abstracts.
Use the "Expert Search" mode. Searching this abstracting database has been made much friendlier through converting its old "(Country / subject code(s))" into actual words and phrases.
Location: ASC Library web
Bibliography of African Periodical Literature = Bullwinkle
By indexing complete runs of Western and African periodicals, Bullwinkle covers a lot of ground. However, as bibliographic citations display without subject indexing, this database can be overwhelming.
Location: University of Arkansas web
International African bibliography. London: K.G. Saur. 1971-present. Quarterly.
Indexes books, articles, and other materials, largely based upon the library holdings of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Presents a section on Africa in general, arranged topically (e.g., "Agriculture and nutrition," "Social studies"), followed by sections on individual countries. Issues include subject index; annual indexes for subjects, authors and personalities, ethnic groups, and languages.
Location: Van Pelt Library: DT1 .I574 (latest five years at Van Pelt Reference Stacks)
Current bibliography on African affairs. Amityville, NY: Baywood Publishing. 1962-present. Quarterly.
The only major African studies bibliographic serial to include a topical section on "Medical studies," citing the life sciences literature.
Location: Van Pelt Library: DT1 .I574 (latest five years at Van Pelt Reference Stacks)
Africa south of the Sahara, index to periodical literature, 1900-1970 / African Section, Library of Congress. 4 vols. (with supplements to 1977). Boston: G.K. Hall, 1971
An important journal article index covering many years of English- and French-language publications, mandatory for colonial-era research. Arranged by topics within individual country sections: see especially the topic subheading, "Medicine and health." Card-catalog reproductions may be difficult to read.
Location: Van Pelt Reference: shelved at west end
Specialist African studies indexes and abstracts
African Index Medicus. 1961-present
Bibliographic citations to medical and public health journal literature published in Africa. The web site was frequently down, but now runs fast and includes recent citations. Produced by Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa with assistance from the WHO.
Location: AIM web site
AJOL: African Journals Online
NOT A FULLTEXT E-JOURNAL COLLECTION! AJOL provides tables-of-contents service for a large number of scholarly journals - especially life sciences journals - published in Africa. Use Franklin, the PennText article finder, and Interlibrary Loan to locate or request individual articles.
Location: AJOL web site
Index to South African Periodicals. 1942-present.
Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
Covers East and Southern Africa-published periodicals. Based upon regular acquisitions by the Library of Congress Field Office, Nairobi. The Penn Library will have many of these periodicals, 2000-present, but be prepared to use
Interlibrary Loan to request article copies.
Location: LC web
5. Grey literature and other fulltext collections
eHRAF collection of ethnography.
Fulltext collection of published ethnographic monographs on individual cultures worldwide. Sophisticated indexing for cultural materials makes reading the "help" pages mandatory.
Location: University of Michigan web via Penn Library web
International Documentation Network on the Great African Lakes Region
Fulltext documents on social, political, and economic current history of the African Great Lakes Region (Burundi, Rwanda and the surrounding countries -- Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Democratic Republique of Congo or Congo-Kinshasa).
Location: IDN web
Kwetu.net
Searchable fulltext (PDF-format) documents on a wide range of social, economic, political, and health topics from African research organizations, NGOs, educational institutions, and government agencies. Focused primarily on East Africa and Kenya in particular.
Location: Kwetu.net via Penn Library Web
Collection Charles Becker: recherches et documents sur le Sida. African Digital Online Library: Collections
PDF-format fulltext documents on AIDS research and the history of medicine, gathered by Charles Becker. Includes programs, abstracts, and other materials from professional meetings held in Africa and other locations.
Location: AODL Web
Development Experience Clearinghouse
Fulltext collection of USAID technical and program documents on international development projects funded by USAID.
Location: USAID DEC web
FAO Corporate Document Repository
Documents from the Food and Agriculture Organisation
Location: FAO web
UN ODS
Fulltext repository for United Nations official documents. Updates daily. When using, remember that the Secretary General presents reports to the General Assembly or Security Council through cover letters: very long documents may be presented as a one-sheet letter!
Location: UN web
AccessUNDP: United Nations Development Programme Project Reports. 1972-1998.
Bibliographic descriptions of UNDP-funded project reports. Documents are included in
UNDP Project Reports collection [Van Pelt Microtext: Microfiche 1100].
Location: Readex/Newsbank via Penn Library Web
UNDP Programme Documentation Library. Late 1990s-present.
Continues AccessUNDP and the microfiche UNDP Project Reports collection. This web site appears to have been killed in mid-2005.
WHOLIS (WHO Library Catalog)
Provides links to some fulltext WHO reports.
Location: WHO LNK web
World Bank Documents & Reports
Very large collection of World Bank working papers, project reports, country studies, and other materials.
Location: World Bank web
World Bank E-Library
Fulltext PDF-format collection of books -- not grey literature -- published by the World Bank beginning in 1984.
Location: World Bank web
HSRC Press
Fulltext PDF-format collection of books published by South Africa's principal applied social science research agency. HSRC research extends to other southern African countries. Reports include the
Nelson Mandela HSRC study of HIV/AIDS (2002) and the
National household HIV prevalence and risk survey of South African children (2004).
Location: HSRC Press web
6. Video and image resources
Penn Library videos
The Penn Library holds approximately 100 VHS videotapes, DVDs, and VCDs dealing with health in African societies. The primary collecting focus is on HIV and AIDS, with the centerpiece of the collection being a VHS series from Southern Africa,
Steps for the future, that includes documentaries, short fiction films, public service announcements, and instructional videos on HIV/AIDS. Documentaries, ethnographic films, fiction shorts, and feature films cover a wide range of topics: hospitals, hygiene and access to water, traditional healing and folk medicine, famine, refugee health, sexual violence, circumcision, sexually transmitted diseases, sexuality, family planning, and popular conceptions of health, illness, and witchcraft.
Location: Hyperlink into VCaT (Penn Library video catalog)
Kwetu.net
Includes a large collection of photos, many on food relief activities, in addition to searchable fulltext (PDF-format) documents on a wide range of social, economic, political, and health topics from African research organizations, NGOs, educational institutions, and government agencies. Focused primarily on East Africa and Kenya in particular.
Location: Kwetu.net via Penn Library Web
HIV/AIDS in Africa virtual exhibit. Herskovitz Library, Northwestern University.
Curated web exhibit illustrating realia and print materials including posters used to inform some African communities about HIV/AIDS.
Location: Northwestern University Library Web
Africa Focus: sights and sounds of a continent. University of Wisconsin Digital Collection.
Large online collection of images and sound recordings. Health-related materials cover health advertisements, traditional healing and ritual.
Location: Africa Focus Web