Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Science, Technology & Medicine Alerting Services

Staying on top of the current clinical and research literature can be difficult and time consuming. In order to simplify the process, consider taking advantage of the many alerting services available through journal vendors and article databases. Alerting services will automatically email Table of Content's (TOC) and Saved Searches directly to you. Below are different types of alerting services, choose the service that best fits your needs:

  1. TOC/Table of Contents Alerting: This service, offered by most journal publishers and journal vendors, enables you to receive the TOC of your favorite journals as soon as they are published online.
  2. Saved search/Keyword alerts: Develop a keyword search and all articles matching your keywords will be sent automatically to you in an email. This can be set up in an article database, i.e. MEDLINE, or journal database, i.e. ScienceDirect.
  3. Citation alert: Some journal vendors and databases will alert you when a chosen author/article has been cited by another.

As with all alerting services you will have to establish a personal account first. Personal accounts are free, and take only a few moments to complete; follow the directions closely, they will differ from service to service. Be sure to remember your account passwords, you will need them to access your alert results and make any changes to your account.

**Please be aware that when setting up a TOC account many journal vendors will allow you to receive the TOC's of journals not subscribed to by the University of Pennsylvania. Although you can view the TOC you will not be able to access the full-text of those journals. The same goes for keyword and database searches. Your keywords may pull articles from journals to which we do not subscribe. If you would like an article from a journal not available at the University, please use the Interlibrary Loan article request form. For more information, please contact Melanie Cedrone at 215-898-1862 or email at mcedrone@mail.med.upenn.edu.**

Listed below are Journal Vendors and Databases that offer the above services. Click on the link to be taken to the registration page. Click this link for instructions on how to save a search alert in the OVID databases, PubMed, ISI Web of Science and Compendex/Inspec.

Database/Journal Vendor Type of Service
Tips & Features
AGRICOLA Saved Search
Access the database and click on the button labeled "My Account". Proceed to "Create an Account".
American Chemical Society ASAP and TOC
ASAP is for individual articles As Soon As Published.
American Geophysical Union TOC and Subjects
Straightforward registration, option for weekly alerts.
American Mathematical Society TOC and Subjects
Sign up for Issue notification or Article notification by subject area
Annual Reviews TOC, Citation, and Saved Searches
Register, then select the Profile tab to set up TOC alerts and citation alerts. To set up a saved search, on the results page of any search in the "Save Search" area enter a "Saved Search Name" and select Monthly, Weekly, or Daily from the "Alert me" drop-down menu. Use the 'Save' button to save the alert.
American Institute of Physics TOC
Go to the homepage of your favorite journal to select the TOC alert feature
American Physical Society TOC
Straightforward registration, option for html or text email delivery
TOC
JAMA & Archives Journals
American Society of Mechanical Engineers TOC
Select the journal you want alerts for from the alphabetical listing.
Assocation for Computing Machinery TOC
Login, Click on TOC Service, then select the journal you want alerts for from the listing.
BioMed Central TOC/Saved Search
Great source of "Open Access" journals
BioOne TOC
Sign up for issue notification.
BIOSIS Saved Search
Access the database and click on the button labeled "Personal Account". Proceed to "Create an Account".
CAB ABSTRACTS Saved Search
Access the database and click on the button labeled "Personal Account". Proceed to "Create an Account".
Cambridge University Press TOC
Select the journal you want alerts for from the alphabetical listing. Can register for email alerts or subscribe to RSS feeds.
CINAHL Saved Search
Access the database and click on the button labeled "Personal Account". Proceed to "Create an Account".
Compendex/ INSPEC TOC/Saved Search/Citation
Best accessed AFTER you have completed a search. To use this feature, you must sign in or register. Instructions
Ebsco Megafile Saved Search
Access the database and carry out your search. Click on the Search History/Alerts tab and set up your alerts using the Save Searches/Alerts link.
Highwire Press TOC/Saved Search/Citation
Can create a PDA channel.
IEEE TOC
Simple sign up, can receive alerts from any IEEE journal or magazine.
Ingenta TOC/Saved Search
Choose Personal. After registering, select the choices on the left hand side of the page.
ISI Science Citation Index Saved Search/Citation Best accessed AFTER you have completed a search. To use this feature, you must sign in or register. Click on the "Save History" button in the Advanced Search section. Instructions
Institute of Physics TOC/Keyword
Need to create an IOP account to use their keyword alerting facility..
MRS Material Research Society TOC
Register to get TOC from the JMR and the MRS Bulletin
Nature Publishing TOC
Set up alert by TOC or by subject across all Nature Publishing journals.
Optical Society of America TOC/ Saved Searches
Registration required for Saved Searches. Set up alert by TOC or by subject for all OSA journals.
OVID MEDLINE Saved Search
Access the database and click on the button labeled "Personal Account". Proceed to "Create an Account". Instructions
PubMed Saved Search
My NCBI is the Saved Search feature for PubMed; it is best accessed AFTER you have completed a search. Find it on the left hand side of the page. Instructions
Royal Society of Chemistry TOC
Select the journal you want alerts for from the alphabetical listing.
Science TOC and others
Requires registration
ScienceDirect/Elsevier TOC/Saved Search/Citation
Don't miss the Citation alerting feature!
SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) Paper notification
You will receive a message when new papers are posted to SIAM Journals Online
Spin Funding Database Saved Search/Alerting Features
Create a keyword search for daily funding opportunity alerts. Under the "PennERA" menu, select "Research Profiles-GENIUS/SMARTS" and click the "Logon" link. Authenticate with your PennKey, click "Find Funding" in the left menu, then click "SMARTS".
Springer TOC/Saved Search
Can create a Favorite Journal list for your searches.
Taylor and Francis (InformaWorld) TOC/Saved Search
Customization and delivery options.
Wiley TOC/Keyword
Additional features available to registered users.
World Scientific TOC
Select the journal you want alerts for from the topical listing.

 


For assistance, please contact:

Melanie Cedrone, Biology/Biomedical Graduate Studies Liaison
mcedrone@mail.med.upenn.edu
215-898-1862
Biomedical Library
AIM: melaniecedrone

*