Sidebar
Main Content
Environment and Business
Contact: Karen Anello |
| BOOKS & DATABASES | TRADE PUBLICATIONS | DIRECTORIES |
| WEBSITES | ALTERNATIVE FUELS | CLIMATE CHANGE & THE CORPORATE RESPONSE |
Our Research Guide on Energy.
Conference Board. Use the dropdown menu to view research reports on Sustainability.
LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE.
Environmental-> News, Journals & Commentary.
MINTEL. Find valuable Market Research Reports by searching on "eco" in the "Quick Search" field. (This database requires you to create a free account.)
PROMT. Contains trade publications and new sources. Search for "environmental impact" or "environment AND corporations."
SOURCEOECD. Organization for Economic Cooperation & Development. Search on title in Advanced. Environmental Performance Reviews. (For 27individual countries.)
STANDARD & POOR'S MARKET INSIGHT. Compustat Reports: Environmental & Facilities Services. S&P Industry Surveys: Environmental and Waste Management.
Search Franklin, Penn Libraries' Online Catalog
- Type industries environmental aspects or green marketing. Select LC Subject Heading from the "Search by" list.
American Metal Market. Covers recycling, metals pricing.
In PROMT database, from 1999.
TD 194 T68 (PER)
Business Strategy and the Environment. Bimonthly, from 1996.
Also in print: HD 69.P6 B877 (PER), from 1995-
Environment Today. Monthly, from 1995.
(BPOD [Business Periodicals On Disc] in Lippincott Library Class of 1956 Computer Area)
Environmental Yellow Pages. U.S.
www.enviroyellowpages.com/
Global Recycling Network. Global. Waste Collection, Disposal and Recycling. Directories, product specifications and industry links.
www.grn.com/
The Green Pages. Directory of U.S. products and services judged socially and environmentally responsible; provided by a private Washington, D.C. foundation.
www.coopamerica.org/
Recycler's World Buy, Sell, Trade all materials.
US ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY. EPA. A page of links to transport & air quality internet resources.
International Institute for Sustainable Development. IISD champions sustainable development around the world through innovation, partnerships, research and communications. Use the tabs for Publications and Our Knowledge.
CERES Investors & Environmentalists for Sustainable Prosperity.
EMPRESAINFORMA Yale U. Links to the latest surveys, analyses, and brief articles on global sustainability reporting trends. Also links to the main organizations around the world that work on sustainability reporting.
Environmental Economics & Indicators. World Bank
48 indicators in 222 countries, territories, and regions.
The European Environment-State and outlook 2005
GREENBIZ. "Resource Center on Business, the Environment and the Bottom Line." News, links, company reports and directories.
2006 Index of Leading Environmental Indicators. The Nature and Sources of Ecological Progress in the U.S. and the World. A detailed research report from Pacific Research Institute.
ONEREPORT-The Sustainability Reporting Network Global.
Earth Trends. World Resources Institute. Sponsored by U.S. Dept. of Energy, World Bank and U.N. Includes "Economics, Business and the Environment," a database of 60 countries with about 70 variables, including foreign direct investment.
http://earthtrends.wri.org/
UNITED NATIONS. U.N. Environment Program (UNEP).
- Global Outlook. Country profiles. www.unep.org/GEO
World Business Council for Sustainable Development. "The World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) is a CEO-led, global association of some 200 companies dealing exclusively with business and sustainable development. The Council provides a platform for companies to explore sustainable development, share knowledge, experiences and best practices, and to advocate business positions on these issues in a variety of forums, working with governments, non-governmental and intergovernmental organizations." Find a list of case studies, including reports on DuPont, Unilever and more.
Energy, Transport & Environment Indicators.
In Eurostat Select Themes, then Environment & Energy
U.S. ENERGY INFORMATION ADMINISTRATION.
www.eia.doe.gov/environment.html
Alternative Fuels Data Center. From the U.S. Department of Energy.
History of Fuel Cells. The Natural Gas Vehicle Coalition.
Climate Change
The Environmental Protection Agency's resources on Climate Change. Find Greenhouse Gas inventories and much more.
Stern Review on the Economics of Climate Change. Download the full article here.
The World in 2050: Implications of global growth for carbon emissions and climate change policies. A Price Waterhouse Coopers Report.
The Corporate Response
Green Power Market Development Group. Find the full text of publications, as well as Corporate Guides to "going green."
The Green 50, from Inc.com, a guide to 50 companies that have made money while remaining eco-friendly. And, find tips for making your business "greener."
United States Climate Action Partnership. A coalition of corporations, including GE and Lehman Brothers, and leading environmental groups to help create national legislation to reduce the emissions of greenhouse gases. Read their report A Call for Action.
The UN's Global Compact. "In an address to The World Economic Forum on 31 January 1999, United Nation Secretary-General Kofi Annan challenged business leaders to join an international initiative the Global Compact that would bring companies together with UN agencies, labour and civil society to support nine principles in the areas of human rights, labour and the environment. The Global Compacts operational phase was launched at UN Headquarters in New York on 26 July 2000." The more than 2,000 members are listed here.




