Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Hedge Funds

Contact: Karen Anello
Lippincott Library

DATA TRADE PUBLICATIONS & ARTICLES DIRECTORIES BOOKS
ASSOCIATIONS INDICES WEBSITES CAREERS & NETWORKING


Data

Morningstar Direct. Available at Lippincott Library Only. Morningstar Direct provides complete coverage of Morningstar's global investment database and analytics, including worldwide investment data and global market indexes. Screen for funds by strategy, performance and size. Select "New," "Search," and then "Hedge Fund."

Bloomberg - terminals are available in the Lippincott Library and Huntsman Hall. Try the following commands:
HFND -- for the Hedge Fund homepage (from here you can get access to tables and indices).
NI HEDGE -- for Hedge Fund News.
FSRC -- to screen for a set of funds based on criteria of your choosing.
FBC -- for Rankings and Performance measures.
STAT -- for Ranking tables, select #22.

WRDS - choose CISDM Hedge Fund - information on thousands of active and inactive Hedge Funds and hundreds of active Commodity Trading Advisors (CTA) and Commodity Pool Operators (CPO). Coverage includes strategy, style, returns, assets under management, leverage, minimum initial investment and fee structure. Data cutoff date currently 12/31/2005.



Trade Publications & Articles

ABI/Inform - search "hedge funds" and review the suggested topics to narrow your search. Also, use the document tabs to restrict results to scholarly articles, trade publications, etc. Under publications find Futures: News, Analysis and Strategies for Futures, Options & Deritive Traders.

Business Source Premier - Search: "hedge funds". On the results screen, select Trade Publications, or Academic Journals, or Country Reports. Also, search "hedge fund 100".This is a Penn restricted database.

Factiva - Here you can search the publication Private Banker International by typing "sn=PRIVBI" in the search box provided. Or, use the Source box to search for Infovest21. You'll find news, white papers - including outlook and valuation- and hedge fund strategies.

Institutional Investor. Here you will find the Hedge Fund Compensation Report. Also, select Publications on the left and then click Alpha Magazine. Here, you will get bi-monthly coverage of the Hedge Funds sector. The April issue contains data and rankings on hedge fund compensation, including the Top 25 Moneymakers and a hedgefund compensation survey.

Consult the print copy of Instituational Investor for rankings. Here you can find:

  • Hedge Fund Top Analysts
  • The Europe Hedge Fund 25 (March)
  • The Fund of Hedge Funds (December)
  • The Hedge Fund 100 (May)
  • The Top 25 Moneymakers (April)
Current copies are located in the Lippincott Library Periodicals Desk.

Financial Analysts Journal - from Business Source Premier. Select a year, volume of interest or choose the Search within this Publication feature.

Hedge Funds World. Free publication with online subscription.

Journal of Alternative Investments made available by Business Source Premier. Select a year, volume of interest or choose the Search within this Publication feature.

The Mar/Hedge Newsletter is available online in LexisNexis Academic. Click on Sources, then enter "Hedge". Here you will find the latest on funds and managers as well as performance rankings for up to 10 years.



Directories

Hoover's - Select the Build a List tab. In Specialty Criteria enter company keyword: hedge fund. This will generate a list of hedge funds.

Nelson Information's Directory of Investment Managers -- on CD or in print -- HG4907 .N428. Latest edition at the Lippincott Library Reference Desk.

The Directory of Alternative Investment Programs. In print, HG 4509 D574 2008 -- available at the Lippincott Library Reference Desk.



Books

Franklin, Penn Libraries' Online Catalog

Sample Search:
  • Type "hedging" (use quotes to search for phrases). Select Subject Heading (Library of Congress) from the "Search by" list.
  • Sample title: Evaluating and implementing hedge fund strategies . Edited by Ronald A. Lake. London : Euromoney, 1996.
  • Or, type "hedge funds" (use quotes to search for phrases). Select Subject Heading from the "Search by" list.
  • Sample title: Hedge funds : courtesans of capitalism . By Peter Temple. Chichester ; New York : J. Wiley, c2001.
  • Or, type "hedge fund" (use quotes to search for phrases). Select Keyword from the "Search by" list.
  • Sample title: Running money : hedge fund honchos, monster markets, and my hunt for the big score . By Andy Kessler. New York : HarperBusiness, c2004.
  • Other titles include Marketing of Hedge Funds. By Matthias Bekier. Bern ; New York : P. Lang, c1996.
If Penn does not own a particular title or if a book that you want is checked out, search the BorrowDirect or E-ZBorrow catalogs. Books requested from one of our partner institutions generally arrive within 3-5 business days.



Associations

Asia Hedge Fund Association. Select the Hedge Fund Universe tab at the left for in-depth information.

Alternative Investment Mangement Association.

Alternative Investment Research Centre.

The Hedge Fund Association.

The Hedge Fund Group."The Hedge Fund Group (HGF) is a network of over 1,500 hedge fund industry professionals who actively network, partner, and refer resources and leads to each other." Use the tabs for access to the Hedge Fund Blog; an information center created and maintained by a hedge fund consultant.

The Hedge Fund Marketing Alliance.

Investment Advisor Association.

Managed Funds Association.

The Mid-Atlantic Hedge Fund Association.

National Futures Association. Find Investor Information, and News.



Indices

Credit Suisse First Boston/Tremont Hedge Fund Index. Find benchmark performance summaries.

Greenwich Alternative Investments. Find performance indices for various markets. Use the Hedge Fund link on the left.

HedgeFund.net. Use the Funds tab to select custom Search or Rankings.

Hedge Funds Research. Select HFR Indices for monthly performance data. Most other data is fee based.

Hedge Fund Consistency Index. This site profiles 2700 hedge funds.

Hennessee Hedge Fund Indices. Find returns and summary statistics going back 10 years.

MSCI Hedge Fund Indices.

Websites

A Practical Guide to Hedging. Find a nice tutorial on hedge funds by NYMEX.

Hedge World. News, articles and data.

Hedge Fund Alert.

Hedge Fund Center. This site is not affiliated with any investment manager or consulting firm. Use the links for Basics, Industry News and Hedge Fund Facts.

HedgeFundnews.com. Basic registration is free. Find fund information and tracking, or select from news stories and industry analysis.

Hedging Your Bets - an online publication by the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Magnum Funds. Find newsletters and reports on Hedge Funds.

Search Hedge Funds. A search engine for Hedge Fund news, events, jobs and more.



Careers & Networking

The Hegde Fund Consulting Blog has a section for finding jobs, career tips and for preparing for interviews.

Wharton Investment Club.

Wharton MBA Career Management (available to Wharton MBA students only).

Glocap Search lists investment positions in the U.S., Canada and in major European cities.

*