Sidebar
Main Content
MANAGEMENT 235 - Technological Innovation and Entrepreneurship - Course Guide
Contact Cynthia Kardon
Lippincott Library
| News | Companies/Competitors/Suppliers | Industry Information |
| Financial Ratios/Business Plans | Funding/VC Sources | Patents |
| Product Development | Print Resources | Library Contacts |
Articles/Scientific Literature
Compendex The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.
INSPEC. Covers physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, robotics, and information technology. Scopus . Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine.Pubmed Plus. Biomedical journals.
Clinical trials, product announcement, regulations
FDA Center for Devices and Radiological Help (CDRH). CDRH reviews requests to research or market medical devices; collects and analyzes data about injuries and other experiences in the use of medical devices and radiation-emitting electronic products; it sets and enforces manufacturing practice regulations and performance standards; monitors compliance; and provides technical and other nonfinancial assistance to small manufacturers of medical devices.
It provides a number of databases including Device Listings and Premarket Approval.
Biospace. Provides links and information covering the Pharmaceutical and Life Science industry. Includes BioPenn.
CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service
PhRMA.org. Includes new drugs in development and cost of prescription drugs.
Product Reports: Adverse Effects, Limitations
Medical Device Safety Reports (MDSR)
Manufacturing and User Facility Experience Database (MAUDE)
EBSCO Megafile.Industry Overviews and Market Research Reports provide detailed information about market share, trends, leading companies and new product developments. Industry Classification is one way to begin a search.
Industrial Classification Codes
NAICS
The industry classification system used by the statistical agencies of the United States.
Sample Search: Do a keyword search: electromedical.
Analyst Reports
Although meant for Investors, Analyst reports are a good way to get information about companies and industries.
Investext/Thomson One Banker.
Click on Research, then Conduct Research Report Search.
Sample Search: Select industry by typing a term such as biotechnology (or a NAIC code) into the industry search box. Highlight and click Include. Select date range. Select Industry Reports.
Market Research/Industry Surveys
Industry Reports can be found in several databases above, including Business Source Complete, Orbis (Datamonitor) and Mergent Manuals.
Bizminer. Small business statistics. Failure Rates.
BCC Research. Covers Biotechnology, Healthcare, Pharmaceuticals and Energy
Datamonitor 360.Market research reports emphasizing pharmaceuticals, biotech and technology.
Sample Search: In Search box, type: Drug Delivery.
Passport GMID from Euromonitor provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers. It is an integrated on-line information system covering over 350 markets and 207 countries.
Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies
Reports on areas of interest to IT, communications managers, and specialists in the areas of computer and
communications technologies.
Sample Search: Click on Healthcare IT. Select RFID. Review articles and product reviews.
Forrester
Requires registration. The first time used, you must register from this Library link. After that, go to
Forrester.com and log in. Technology and market research company that provides information on technology's
impact on business and consumers.
Sample Search: Keyword Search: RFID. Narrow results by topic or industry.
IBIS World Industry Reports. Covers over 700 U.S. Industries and 300 China Industries.
IDC. Information technology, telecommunications and consumer technology markets.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Good coverage of biotech industry
Mergent Manuals.
Global Industry Overviews.
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
Industry reports and more.
Sample Search: Click on Industry. Use alphabetical hierarchy. Select Biotechnology.
ABI/Inform Proquest
Sample Search: First search box: Adhesives. Second search box: (trends or outlook). Look at Suggested
Topics for additional search terms.
Business and Industry
Good place to find new product introductions and industry trends. Use the Advanced Search options to set up your query.
Product Codes let you search by the product. Use the Look Up feature to locate the correct code. Use the
search menus.
Sample Search: Title Words: drug delivery.
Business Source Complete
This is a good place to find trade and industry publications, including product reviews (use Document Type to
limit to this.) Use the Subjects Tab to look up database specific descriptors.
Sample Search: RFID OR Radio frequency identification systems
Dow Jones Factiva
Covers news as well as company information. You can search for articles back to the early 1980's.
Sample Search: Click on the "Search" tab. Select the company tab to limit search to a company. Change the date range to "all dates". Add a keyword.
Sample Search: Sample Search: Click on the "Company Markets tab". Search by a company name or ticker.
Promt
Includes many trade publications; covers new product announcements, marketing strategies, and other
information.
Sample Search: Search by a company name, such as Imaging Dynamics.
Directories
Hoover's Online (International Company Director). Search by company name, build a list of competitors, or search by industry.
LifeSciences World. Click on Directory tab.
Medical Device Register
Dental Library Reference R856.48 .M42.
Reference USA. Search by company, industry, executive name and more. Discover neighboring business and competitors.
THOMAS REGISTER.
Also in print. Lippincott Library Reference Stacks. T 12 T6
Distributors/Chain Supply - American Wholesalers & Distributors.
Lippincott Reference Stacks HF 5419 A647
Public filings/Financials
Use these databases to find SEC Filings (Required by the SEC for publicly traded companies) and financial data. Filings will offer company assets and liabilities in dollar figures, income data, operating expenses, sales, etc. S-1s will give you prospectus/founder information; 10-Ks offer annual accounting; proxy statements include executive compensation; annual reports often include management discussion.
These are an excellent source of information for production costs, litigation, licensing agreements.
Thomson One Banker. Provides access to Filings, Financials and Analyst Reports.
Business Law Research/Thomson Accelus. Click on LivEdgar for filings. Search by company or do a keyword search to look for joint ventures or licensing agreements.
Top
Financial Ratios
Business Expense Report. U.S. Census. Updated every five years.
BizRatios.com. Small business ratios.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
Lippincott Ref Desk HA 214. D815
Troy's Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios.
Lippincott Library Reference Desk. HF5681 R25 T68.
Business Plans
Business Plans Handbook. Examples of real business plans
Also in print.
Business Plans Handbook.
Lippincott Library Reference Desk HD62.7 B865.
Small Business Administration. Includes Small Business Planner.
BPlans.com. Free resources.
Top
Business Law Resources
Entrepreneur.com's Small Business Legal Center.
THE ENTREPRENEUR'S GUIDE TO BUSINESS LAW. This is a great overview of many legal issues faced by entrepreneurs, yet it also provides many common problems faced and the ways in which they can be solved.
Lippincott Library. KF390.B84 B34.2008.
Thomson One Banker.
Sample Search: Choose Private Equity from the lefthand menu. Search by Funds or Firms and Industry Focus.
Note: this resource only works in Internet Explorer.
Private Equity Info. Directory.
Business Law Research/Thomson Accelus. Click on the Private Equity tab. News, deals, forms.
SDC Platinum. Another option for searching Thomson Private Equity. Available in Lippincott Library.
Additional resources available in Lippincott Library Venture Capital and Private Equity Research Guide.
TopThe following are just a handful of the print resources available in the Penn Libraries. If you need something more specialized, please contact the subject Librarian.
The business of bioscience : what goes into making a biotechnology product. Craig D. Shimasaki.
Engineering Library HD9999.B442 S556 2009
The Engineer Entrepreneur. Daniel T. Koenig.
Engineering Circulation Desk TA 190 K63 2003
Engineering Your Start-Up: A Guide For the Hi-Tech Entrepreneur. Michael L. Baird.
Engineering Reserve HD 62.37 B35 1992
A useful guide which includes a section on defining your product and marketing and competitive analysis.
Entrepreneuring: The 10 Commandments for Building a Growth Company. Steven C. Brandt.
Engineering Reserve EAS 345 PER
Entrepreneurship. Hisrich & Peters.
Engineering Reserve EAS 345 PER
Entrepreneurship for scientists and engineers. Kathleen Allen
Engineering Library TA190 .A524 2010. Temporarily Shelved at Engineering Library New Book
The entrepreneur's information sourcebook : charting the path to small business success. Susan C. Awe.
Lippincott Library HD62.5 .A96 2006
From concept to consumer : how to turn ideas into money. Phil Baker
Lippincott Library HF5415.153 B35 2009. Temporarily Shelved at Lippincott Library Reserve
New Venture Creation: Entrepreneurship for the 21st Century. Timmons & Olin.
5th Edition (1999) Engineering HD 62.5 T55 1999
Ten rules for strategic innovators : from idea to execution. Vijay Govindarajan and Chris Trimble.
Engineering Library TA403.6 .G468 2009
Essentials of Patents. Andy Gibbs and Bob DeMatteis.
Engineering T211 G53 2003
Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers. Thomas T. Gordon and Arthur S. Cookfair.
2nd Edition (2000) Engineering Reserve T339G67 2000
Searching the current patent literature will give you an idea of similar technologies in existence and the companies that produce them. If there are several patents in existence for related technologies, then maybe your idea is not new. Check the claims information in existing patents to make sure your idea is not infringing on those patents.
Patents also give you a large amount of technical information, with detailed descriptions and diagrams. Operational information, along with names of founders and competitors, can often be gleaned from patents.
If you are doing a patent search as preparation to filing a patent application, it is critical to consult a patent attorney and not just rely on searching the following resources.
-
Derwent Innovations (DII).
DII allows you to search against enhanced titles and abstracts, as well as the Derwent Manual and Derwent and International Patent Classification (IPC) codes for patents from 1963 to the present from 40 major patent-issuing authorities. You can use the assignee field to search for a competitor's patents.
Sample Search: (RFID or radio frequency identification) AND drug test* in Topic.
Sample Title: Disposable container maintenance/tracking/identification method in drug testing industry, involves separating radio frequency identification device from vial for reuse, after scanning RFID.
Sample Search: Assignee Search: IBM or International Business Machines in Assignee field.
Sample Search: Inventor Search: Gorte RJ in Inventor field.
Alternative Inventor Search: Gorte R* in Inventor field - broadens search to include any or no middle initial. - Derwent Innovations Index Tutorials & Guides
- Patent Term Guarantee Overview.
- FAQ: Are Patents Renewable?
- FAQ: How long does patent protection last?
-
Thomson Guide to Kind Codes
Status of the patent (application, examined, granted, etc.) -
Delphion Guide to Kind Codes
Includes EP and WO codes. -
Patent Kind Codes
The letter or letter-number code that appears after the Patent number indicates whether the patent is at the application, examination or granted (issued) stage. -
http://www.uspto.gov/patft/.
Search for patents from the USPTO from 1790 onward. Pre-1976 you can only search by patent number or class and patents are only available in TIFF page image format. Patents from 1976 - present can be searched in a variety of ways including full-text and are available full-text. Please note that there are 2 separate databases here, one for Issued (granted) patents and one for Applications (from Mar 15, 2001 forward.) Information and a link to download the TIFF Viewer (http://www.uspto.gov/patft/help/images.htm#not) required to view all images.
Sample Search: (RFID or "radio frequency identification") and drug test$ in All Fields. -
esp@ce.net
This worldwide database enables you to search for information about 60 million published patent applications from over 80 different countries and regions. - British Library patent searching guide
| Business | Engineering |
| Cynthia L. Cronin-Kardon | Douglas McGee |
| Resource Development and Reference Librarian, Lippincott Library | Assistant Director for Engineering and Physical Science Libraries |
| croninkc@wharton.upenn.edu | dmcgee@seas.upenn.edu |
| 215-898-5927 | 215-898-8170 |
| AIM: cycrok | AIM/MSN/Yahoo: PennEngSciDir |



