Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Automobile Industry

Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library

See also Lippincott Research Guides: Business History         Industry Studies.

 INDUSTRY PROFILES and SURVEYS  PERIODICALS
 STATISTICS  ALTERNATIVE FUEL VEHICLES
LOCATION CODES

INDUSTRY PROFILES AND SURVEYS

THE AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY, 1896-1920. HD 9710 U52 A815 (RS)
THE AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY, 1920-1980. HD 9710 U52 A79 (RS)

AUTOS & AUTO PARTS INDUSTRY RESEARCH MONITOR    Quarterly. | GE Commercial Finance

Global Auto Executive Survey.    KPMG.    Annual, 2005 - current
   (Change date in URL to see earlier surveys) See also other auto industry reports listed on this site. | kpmg.com/Industries/IM/AUTO/

GLOBAL AUTOMOTIVE FINANCIAL REVIEW. (1.5 MB) PriceWaterhouseCoopers.   Free registration required.

Mergent Automotive Industry Reports.    Asia Pacific, Europe, N. America.    in: FACTIVA database. Search on: sn=mergent and hd=automotive

Automotive Company Profiles    2003 - current.     in ABI/Inform database.    Search on just-auto
On results page, Click: View the publication: Just-Auto:Bromsgrove

OFFICE OF AEROSPACE/AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRIES. U.S. Dept. of Commerce.

  1. Domestic Industry: industry analysis with forecasts and company strategies.
  2. Industry Data: trade, economic and financial data.

WARD'S AUTOMOTIVE YEARBOOK. 1960-current. Market overviews, world vehicle registrations and industry trends.
HD 9710 U5 W3 (RS)

WARD'S MOTOR VEHICLE FACTS & FIGURES. Annual. Includes international data. Continues AAMA Facts & Figures.
HD 9710 U5 M6 (RD)

NOTE: The following comprehensive resources contain substantial Auto Industry information.

BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL.        News, Trends Analysis, Forecasts.

ORBIS.        Expert Search->       Click in orange chevron in tool bar for Datamonitor Industry Profiles. Select Industry-> Alphabetical List.

FACTIVA. More than 10,000+ full-text publications, including Wall Street Journal and 40+ Automobile titles.

HOOVER'S ONLINE .      Browse Industries-> Auto Manufacturing Industry Overview

INVESTEXT PLUS. Investment analyst reports.       Search on: (auto or motor vehicle) and industry

MERGENT INDUSTRY REVIEW (formerly Moody's). Comparative financial data of leading companies. Rankings.        HG 491 M68 (SS)

STANDARD & POOR'S MARKET INSIGHT. Industry and company reports.        Compustat, S& P Stock Reports, S&P Corporation Records, EDGAR, Excel Analytics.

STANDARD & POOR'S NET ADVANTAGE    .     S&P Industry Surveys (US) and S&P Global Industry Surveys. (Asia, Europe, Latin America)
Auto Parts & Equipment;      Automobile Manufacturers;      Automotive Retailers.
Print: 1941 - 2003.     HG4921 .S672 (PC)

PERIODICALS

AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRIES. Monthly, 1999 - current.     Global industry news.         Print: 1927 - current.     TL 1 A6 (PER)

AUTOMOTIVE NEWS . Weekly, 1993 - current.          Print, 1961 - current.      (PER-Oversize)      Microform from 1980.

+ AUTOMOTIVE NEWS CHINA        Register for free weekly newsletter.         autonewschina.com/

AUTOWEEK      1993 - current.

WARD'S AUTO WORLD. Fortnightly, from 1994.
Print, from 1965: HD 9710 U5 W33 (PER)

Ward's Quarterly 1965 - 1968. 337.5414 W24 (Request from Storage)

STATISTICS

AAA (American Automobile Association). Retail gasoline prices by state and metro area.       fuelgaugereport.com

AMERICAN AUTOMOBILE MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION. The AAMA no longer exists. Its extensive collection of industry data (1975-1997) is now at:    ECONOMAGIC   economagic.com/aama.htm/

AUTO SITE. New car prices, performance rankings and more.       autosite.com/

CEIC      The Sector Database holds a vast collection of global, country, model and company automotive statistics for the last 4 - 10 years.
The China Premium Database has even more detailed automotive statistics.          The CEIC database Search Aid.

GLOBAL MARKET DATA BOOK. - AUTOMOTIVE NEWS.     Annual.      Monthly and year-to-date statistics, history & forecast for Americas, Europe, China.    Detailed sales, production, inventories, partnerships and more.      Guide to Industry Executives.
[available in Lippincott Library -- ask Librarian to log you on]
Print: HD 9710 A88 (RS)   Earlier annual editions, from 1934, are in Lippincott 3rd Floor Stacks>

GLOBAL MARKET DATA BOOK. - AUTOMOTIVE NEWS. 1934 - 2005 (Ceased publication) HD 9710 A88 (RS)

EDMONDS. Car ownership costs, by zip code.       edmunds.com/

EUROPEAN AUTO MANUF. ASSOC.     Industry report,   Detailed sales, production , trade, accidents and economic data.     Country Profiles   acea.be/

FUEL ECONOMY: DOE & EPA. Database of MPG, fuel cost and air pollution scores for virtually every car on the road.    fueleconomy.gov

HIGHWAY STATISTICS. Annual. Car registrations, Highway use, finance, fuel use, driver demographics, international data.     fhwa.dot.gov/policy/ohpi/

LIGHT-DUTY AUTOMOTIVE TECHNOLOGY AND FUEL ECONOMY TRENDS. 1975-2006.    epa.gov/otaq/fetrends.htm

NADA DATA. National Automobile Dealers Association. Annual, 2002 - current      Advertising, used cars, registrations and more.    nada.org/
Print: 1979-1997.     HD 9710 U52 N383 (ST)

National Center for Statistics & Analysis. . US Dept. of Transportation. Includes state database.

OICA. International Organization of Motor Vehicle Manufacturers. World production, by type, manufacturer, country and make.    oica.net/

STAT-USA         State of the Nation.      (US Bureau of Economic Analysis)       
Sales - Domestic & Foreign Autos & Trucks, Monthly, 1967 - current .          Foreign Light Trucks,Monthly,1976 - current.

SURVEY OF BUYING POWER & MEDIA MARKETS. Annual, 1997 - 2005. Ceased publication.      By Sales & Marketing Management magazine. Includes car sales by metro area and dealer rankings.
Print: HF 5438 A34 Supp (RS)

UK SOCIETY - MOTOR MANUFACTURERS-TRADERS       smmt.co.uk/

WORLD AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRY TRENDS..YEARBOOK   (WAIT Yearbook)   1996, 1998 - 2001.    2001 includes a CD-Rom. HD 9710 A1 W675   (3rd Flr Stacks)

WORLD AUTOMOTIVE MARKET REPORT   1937 - current. MEMA.   Motor & Equipment Manufacturers Assoc.
HD 9710 A1 A98;    Latest edition is at Lippincott Reference Desk

ALTERNATIVE FUEL VEHICLES

ALTERNATIVE FUEL VEHICLE BUSINESSES IN THE WORLD. Directory of EV makers, suppliers and dealers.
Search by country, product, business type or U.S. state.    energy.sourceguides.com/

ALTERNATIVE FUELED VEHICLES. Data, charts and tables.     eia.doe.gov/fuelrenewable.html

ELECTRIC DRIVE TRANSPORTATION ASSOC. Market and sales data. Select Technology & Products.    electricdrive.org/

ELECTRIC VEHICLE HISTORY. Online Archive. Stanford University.    sloan.stanford.edu/EVonline/

HISTORY OF FUEL CELLS. The Smithsonian Institution.     fuelcells.si.edu/

MARKET DATA BOOK. AUTOMOTIVE NEWS. Monthly and year-to-date statistics, history & forecast for North America.    Detailed sales, production, inventories and more.
Annual: Global : Sales. Production, Partnerships. Guide to Industry Executives.
Print: MARKET DATA BOOK    Annual. HD 9710 A88 (RS)   Earlier editions, from 1934, are in Lippincott 3rd Floor Stacks.

LOCATION CODES

RD = Reference Desk WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals PC = Peck Collection
*