Sidebar
Main Content
Advanced Business Intelligence Tutorial
Prepared by Terese Terry |
Use this sampler to get acquainted with Lippincott's online resources.
What you type is in lower case bold. Clicks are underlined
You will be asked to enter your Penn Key and Password at least once to enter Penn databases.
START at the Lippincott Library Homepage.
Your assignment -- A report on MTV
I. COMPANY (MTV)
- Get the company structure in CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS database.
- In FindIt!, type: corporate affiliations [Do the same with the other databases on this page]
- Type: mtv Search
- Double Click: MTV Networks
- Personnel, Outside Service Firms OR Hierarchy have more company information. [In FILE: save, email or print this profile.]
Return to Lippincott Homepage
- Get a profile of MTV's ultimate parent company [National Amusements]
in ORBIS database.
- Company Name national amusements Search
- National Amusements Note availability of other reports in left frame.
Return to Lippincott Homepage
- Get SEC filingsfor MTV's immediate parent [Viacom] in THOMSON RESEARCH database.
- Enter ticker symbol: via 10k
- Get MTV news in
FACTIVA database [Wall St. Journal, Financial Times + 90 thousand publications]
- Enter: revenue and hl=mtv (Limit to articles with MTV in the headline or lead paragraph.)
- Get the US ECONOMIC CENSUS.
- http://www.census.gov/ | Select Economic Census
- Enter Keyword: cable television NAICS Search
- Select 515210 {Cable Networks)
- Now scroll down to see all the economic census information for this industry sector
Return to Lippincott Homepage
- Scroll down and select Broadcasting & Cable TV
- Enter: cable tv and industry report (This retrieves industry reports only -- not any company reports)
- Click PDF Document in left frame for full text of report.
- A. Get current business, economic and socio-demographic indicators. in STAT-USA database
-
- Return to Lippincott Homepage
- Select State of the Nation
- Select General Economic Indicators
- Return to Lippincott Homepage
- Type movie theaters in Search box.
Return to Lippincott Homepage
II. INDUSTRY
Use NAICS codes to get industry statistics.SIC = Standard Industrial Classification Code. Replaced in 1997 by NAICS. Some publishers still use SIC codes.
NAICS =North American Industrial Classification Code System. The new system replacing the SIC codes, starting with the 1997 Economic Census.
-
B. Get Standard & Poor's Industry Reports in NET ADVANTAGE database.
Return to Lippincott Homepage
-
C. Get Analysts' Reports -- INVESTEXT database.
III. THE ECONOMY / MARKET
B. Get Market Research Reports: MINTEL database.
-
(Requires a one-time profile setup)




