Sidebar
Main Content
Advertising and Marketing Industries
| INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS | DIRECTORIES | HANDBOOKS / RANKINGS | ADS |
| BRANDS | AD EXPENDITURES | AD RATES | STATISTICS |
| SELECTED PERIODICALS | DICTIONARIES | JOBS / NEWS | LOCATION CODES |
See also : BUSINESS FAQ
See also Lippincott Research Guides:
-
Market Research / Consumer Behavior Media: Publishing Market Intelligence: Secondary Sources
Marketing: the Smart Interview. Media/Entertainment Industries
See also Lippincott Selected Business Websites: Marketing and Advertising
INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS
The 2007 ENTERTAINMENT, MEDIA & ADVERTISING MARKET RESEARCH HANDBOOK Richard Miller & Associates. 239 pages. GV174 .E58 (RD) Also in Annenberg Library.
AD AGE ADVERTISING CENTURY 1900 - 1999. Top Ads, Campaigns, People.
BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER Search on:advertising industry profile
FUTURE OF ADVERTISING. Wharton SEI Centers Future of Advertising Project and Empirical Generalizations Conference. 2008. futureofadvertising.wordpress.com
HOOVER'S ONLINE. Includes key companies and people.
IAB INTERACTIVE ADVERTISING BUREAU Research. Includes PW Internet Advertising Revenue Report, Industry Stats & Data by eMarketer, Digital Video Ad Effectivenes
OUTDOOR ADVERTISING ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA, INC. Facts & Figures. oaaa.org/
RESEARCH on DEMAND Investment analyst reports. Limit to "Industry Reports Only."
STANDARD & POOR'S NET
ADVANTAGE. Industry Surveys (US)
Global Industry Surveys (Asia & Europe)
S&P Print Surveys 1941-2003: HG 4921 S672 (Peck Collection, 2nd floor)
VALUE LINE Research Center..
Investment Analyst Reports for advertising
industry and component companies
Logon (tool bar) Plus Edition
Look Up
Industry.
(Also MicroText and CD) #160; Value Line
Database Search Aid
DIRECTORIES
ADVERTISING RED BOOKS. Annual. 5 Volumes (RD) (Also
online in Lippincott Library via LEXIS NEXIS
TOTAL RESEARCH database)
ADVERTISERS. HF 5805 S712 ADVERTISERS INDEX.
HF 5805 s722
AGENCIES. HF 5805 S72
INTERNATIONAL ADVERTISERS & AGENCIES. HF 5804 S73
ADVERTISERS & AGENCIES. Supplement. HF 5805 S724
AGENCY COMPILE. N. America. Free registration required. agencycompile.com
AGENCY FAMILY TREES Agency Report 2009 Index. Facts, figures and analysis from Ad Age's 65th annual agency report Multiple global directories.April 27, 2009 (Lippincott Periodicals)
AGENCY SEARCH.
American Ass'n. of Advertising Agencies. Annual. Agency profiles.
Search by Name, Geography, Billing, Client, Brand. aaaagencysearch.com/
ALL ADVERTISING AGENCIES. US Screen for specialty, budget and location. Links to agency websites. AllAdvertisingAgencies.com
ASIA-PACIFIC AGENCY DIRECTORY. Advertising, Marketing, Media, PR + more.
AHAA Association of Hispanic Advertising Agencies. Directory of Members. ahaa.org/
B to B ONLINE . Media Business. Multiple directories, 18 ranked lists for agencies, advertisers, brands + more. btobonline.com/
THE DIRECT MARKETING MARKET PLACE Direct Marketing Association (DMA) Annual. N. America.
Direct Marketers, Service firms & Suppliers. Industry statistics. Extensive bibliography. HF 5415.1 D57 (RS)
DIRECTORY OF RESEARCH ORGANIZATIONS Global. ESOMAR. directory.esomar.org/
GREENBOOK. Annual. Market research firms. Global. | greenbook.org/
IMRI'S INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORY OF MARKET RESEARCH AGENCIES. | imriresearch.com/
MRA BLUE BOOK RESEARCH SERVICE DIRECTORY. Marketing Research Association. Annual. US. bluebook.org/
O'DWYER'S DIRECTORY OF PUBLIC RELATIONS FIRMS Annual. | HM263 .O37 (RD)
QUIRK'S Ten specialized directories of research companies. | quirks.com/
RED BOOKS ONLINE (Not identical to print Red Books) "Agency Showcase" and "Service & Suppliers" databases. redbooks.com/STANDARD RATE & DATA SERVICE (SRDS)
Also in print at the Lippincott Reference Desk:
- BUSINESS PUBLICATION ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S723
- SRDS CONSUMER MAGAZINE ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S725
- DIRECT MARKETING LIST SOURCE. HF5861 D54
- SRDS INTERACTIVE ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF5905 S727
- NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF5905 S73 Includes market data.
- RADIO ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S74 Includes Arbitron data.
- TV & CABLE SOURCE. HF 5905 S745 Includes demographics, Nielsen, DMA data and market profiles.
HANDBOOKS / RANKINGS
100 LEADING NATIONAL ADVERTISERS. AD AGENCY FAMILY TREES Annual. by Advertising
Age. Profiles.
HF5801 .A2763 (RD)
ADResource The fundamentals of digital advertising & marketing. clickz.com/
MULTICHANNEL MERCHANT. Direct marketing. Handbook-type content. | multichannelmerchant.com/
PRINCIPLES OF MARKETING. Kotler. 11th ed. w/CD. HF 5415 K636 2006 (Lippincott Reserve)
Promo magazine. Rankings of top advertising and marketing agencies. Search on: rankings and business in SUBJECT TERMS
BRANDS, TRADE NAMES and TRADEMARKS
Search in Franklin card catalog on SUBJECT: brand
Advertising Age Search on: megabrands
AD $ SUMMARY. US media use and expenditure by Brand / Parent Company (including individual commercial films) Industry,
Type of media used (Magazine, Sunday Magazine, Newspaper, Outdoor, Spot & Network Radio,Network, Spot, Syndicated & Cable TV.) Advertiser rankings by media spending.
HF 5802 N312 (RD)
ADVERTISING "RED BOOKS."
Advertisers Brand Name Index.
HF 5805 S722(RD)
International Brand Name Index. HF 5804 S73 (RD)
RedBook Online Brand Lookup.
BRANDS & THEIR COMPANIES. 2 vols. with supplement. Gale. Bienniel, 1990 - current. T 223 V4 A 22 (RD)
BRANDZ TOP 100 BRANDS. Global. brandz.com/output/
BrandWeek. 1994 - current. Print: 1987 - current.
CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS Select: advanced search
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CONSUMER BRANDS. 1994. 3 vols. Brand history, market data, bibliographies. | HF 5415.3 E 527 (RS)
EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION. Market share by product and region.
Company profiles include profit and sales figures. (For best results, use SEARCH in top bar and search on brand name in body of document, not title).
"Global Brands" Special Report. Financial Times Annual. ft.com/reports/global-brands-2009/
GLOBAL BRANDS SCORECARD. by Interbrand in:
Business Week Annual Top 100. Includes corporate snapshots.
Search on:best global brands businessweek.com/
To view earlier editions, (2001 - 2002; 2006 - current) search on: best global brands in: Business Week in Business Source Premier database/
HOUSEHOLD PRODUCTS Database. National Institutes of
Health. Although the focus is health/safety, this database is useful for identifying manufacturers by brands.
Includes 4,000 consumer brands. | householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov/
Journal of Product & Brand Management
MRI+ . MediaMark.
Part I -- Magazine, Cable and Web statistics.
Part II -- Detailed consumer product and media preferences statistics. One-time registration required.
How to Read an MRI Report
MARKETER'S GUIDE TO MEDIA Semi-annual. Trends, demographics & rates. Ad costs. Covers all media. HF5826.5 .M45 (Annenberg Library Reference)
MARKET SHARE REPORTER. Global. Print:1991-2010 .HF5410 M375 (RS)
MARKETING FACTBOOK. Scanned grocery store purchases. 1982-1997. | HF 5413.33 U6 M375 (Lippincott Stacks . 3rd floor)
REBRAND. Global case studies and programs on effective brand transformations" rebrand.com
STICKIEST BRANDS on the WEB Monthly. Type: stickiest brands See other Internet metrics on this page, e.g., Top 50 Internet Advertisers by Media Value (TNS Media) | clickz.com/
SUPERBRANDS. from Brandweek. Annual. America's top 2000 brands. Includes ad expenditures.
HF 5801 S77 (RD)
TRADEMARKS ISSUED. U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. | patft.uspto.gov/
ADS
ADS of the WORLD. Search on Media, Region, Country, Industry. | adsoftheworld.com/
ADVERTISING COMMUNITY TOGETHER. database of responsible ads featuring the best work for Charities, Public service and Commercial. Focus on environmental and social issues. | act-responsible.org/
ADCRITIC. Searchable database of TV and Internet ads and commentary. Annenberg Library only.
THE AD COUNCIL Public service campaigns. All media, from 1942 - current. adcouncil.org/
ADVERLICIO.US Online advertising archives. 2006 - current. | adverlicio.us/
The ADVERTISING SLOGAN HALL of FAME adslogans.co.uk/
CLASSIC TELEVISION COMMERCIALS. Search:advertising archive.org/details/prelinger
Duke U. Digital Collections. AD*ACCESS 7,000+ N. American ads covering: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - 1911 - 1955.
EMERGENCE OF ADVERTISING IN AMERICA. 9,000+ advertising items and publications, 1850 - 1920 | duke.edu/digitalcollections/
GALLERY of GRAPHIC DESIGN A browseable and searchable collection of images of hundreds of full-page advertisements placed in popular consumer magazines. 1932 - 1969.
HISTORICAL ADVERTISEMENTS RESEARCH GUIDE
I-FILM TV Commercials. 2000+ commercials (not searchable) ifilm.com/
AD EXPENDITURES
100 LEADING NATIONAL ADVERTISERS Annual. Global. Advertising Age HF 5801 A2763 (RD)
Top 500 National Advertisers Ranked by Total Hispanic Spending for 2006 & 2007. AHAA Association of Hispanic Advertising Agencies. ahaa.org/
AD $ SUMMARY. US media use and expenditure by Brand / Parent Company (including individual commercial films), Industry and Type of Media Used: (Internet, Magazine, Sunday Magazine, Newspaper, Outdoor, Spot & Network Radio and Network, Spot, Syndicated & Cable TV.)
Advertiser rankings by media spending.
Books I & II. 1980, 1983, 1985-1989, 1998-2006 [Print version ceased ] HF 5802 N312 (RD)
Advertising Age June and November issues rank top advertising spenders. (Lippincott Periodicals, 2nd flr) | Oversize Shelves.
ADVERTISING RATIOS & BUDGETS. Covers 5,000+ companies and 300
industries with advertising budgets,ad-to-sales ratios and ad-to-gross margin ratios, as well as budget forecasts and growth rates. Includes major foreign companies. (CD Ask at Lippincott Reference Desk)
Print: 1999 / 2007; 2003-2010 HF 5801 A344 (RD)
Advertising-to-Sales-Ratios. Annual, 1997 - current. Advertising Age.
http://www.btobonline.com/">B-TO-B 100. Top Advertisers, with media breakdown. Media Categories ranked by revenue. (Download the PDF )BIZMINER Search by Industry.
ABI/INFORM Search on: Subject: #160; advertising expenditures for articles in Ad Age, AdWeek, Brandweek, Media Week, Wall St. Journal and other periodicals.
THE EUROPEAN ASSOCIATION OF COMMUNICATIONS AGENCIES. Facts & Figures. Ad spending by country, media and industry sector. | eaca.be/ff/
EMarketer Market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. Search on: Online Advertising Spending & Revenues
EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION. Statistics. Historical and forecast ad spending by countries and media type. Search on: adspend .
NEWSPAPER ASSOCIATION OFAMERICA. Newspaper advertising expenditures, from 1950-current. Select Research
Online Advertising Expenditure Forecast, 2009-2010 ClickZ www.clickz.com/3633673/
ROBERT COHEN'S INSIDER'S REPORT ON AD EXPENDITURES Twice yearly. Global. McCann Ericson.
Select About Us -> News -> WorldGroup Insights | mccann.com/
AD CAMPAIGN ANALYSIS SuperBowl, Academy Awards, March Madness, US Advertising Spending. TNS Media Intelligence. Select News & Resources | tns-mi.com/
SUPERBRANDS. Annual. from BrandWeek Print : HF 5801 S77 2001 (RD)
TNS MEDIA INTELLIGENCE REPORTS. Summary ad spending data for top ten advertisers, categories.
Select: News tns-mi.com/
TOP 50 INTERNET ADVERTISERS ClickZ Stats.
US ECONOMIC CENSUS 2002 Issued August 2006. . In the left frame, select Business Expenses
Includes advertising expenditure for selected NAICS Codes. | www.census.gov/csd/bes/
AD RATES
Note -- TV ad rates are rarely listed publicly. Media buyers negotiate based on current viewer statistics.Many publishers offer media kits (ad rates, circulation/demographics) on their Website. Example: fairchildpub.com/
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. GALE'S READY REFERENCE SHELF. Global.
Some entries include ad rates (except for broadcast media) and circulation.
Print: Z 6951 A97 Annual, with supplements (Van Pelt Library RD)
Also online (in Library) on LexisNexis Classic (BUSREF; PUBBRD). Ask at Lippincott Reference Desk.
MARKETER'S GUIDE TO MEDIA Semi-annual. Trends, demographics & rates. Ad costs. Covers all media. HF5826.5 .M45 (Annenberg Library Reference)
MEDIAMARK (MRI+). Magazine database. Includes ad rates. Use "Topline Reports" for details. (One-time registration required)
STANDARD RATE & DATA SERVICE (SRDS) Also in print at the Lippincott Reference Desk:
- BUSINESS PUBLICATION ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S723
- SRDS CONSUMER MAGAZINE ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S725
- DIRECT MARKETING LIST SOURCE. HF5861 D54
- SRDS INTERACTIVE ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF5905 S727
- NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF5905 S73 Includes market data.
- RADIO ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S74 Includes Arbitron data.
- TV & CABLE SOURCE. HF 5905 S745 Includes demographics, Nielsen, DMA data and market profiles. Online TV & CABLE SOURCE -- Select a Market (Amarillo, e.g) , then the Market Profile to see averaged TV / Cable rates for time frames.
THIRTY SECOND AD COSTS. In Google, type: "30 second ad costs"
STATISTICS
2009 AD EFFECTIVENESS SURVEY. Topline and $1MM+ Digital Spender Results Forbes forbes.com/adinfo/research.html/
Advertising Media Internet Center (AMIC). Ad Info Website advertising pricing guide. ; Media Planning Guide. Glossary. | amic.com
ADVERTISING RATIOS & BUDGETS. 2001 / 2008.
Covers 5,000+ companies and 300 industries with advertising budgets,ad-to-sales ratios and ad-to-gross margin ratios, as well as budget forecasts and growth rates. Includes major foreign companies.
(CD Ask at Lippincott Reference Desk)
Print, 1999 / 2006. HF 5801 A344 (RD)
CLICKZ Select Stats
Statistics for Ads, Traffic, Demographics, E-Commerce, Connection and Usage, Brands + more. Monthly, 2003 -
current.
INTERACTIVE ADVERTISING REVENUE REPORT. Quarterly, 2001 - current. by PriceWaterhouseCoopers. Interactive Advertising Bureau | iab.net/insights_research/
MAGAZINE HANDBOOK Annual. Magazine Publishers Assoc. Industry and ad statistics. magazine.org/
MediaPost Publications About 50 useful periodicals covering: Media, Online, Mobil Marketing and Marketing.
MARKET SHARE REPORTER. ; Annual. | Global.
Millennial Media's S.M.A.R.T. report (U.S. Scorecard for Mobile Advertising Reach and Targeting) Quarterly. Mobile Advertising AssociationSTATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE US. Section 24. Information & Communications. Print: HA 202 (RD)
STATISTICAL FACT BOOK Direct Marketing Assn. Annual. Projections, trends, ad costs, purchase habits + more. HF5410 .S738 (RD)TV BUREAU OF ADVERTISING. US. Ad revenue, audience analysis, program ratings, market demographics.
(Some data is for members only.) Select Research Central | tvb.org/
US ECONOMIC CENSUS (Search on: NAICS code 5418) census.gov/econ/census02/
DICTIONARIES
ADVERTISING AGE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ADVERTISING HF 5803 A382 2003. (Annenberg Reference)
DICTIONARY OF ESSENTIAL MARKETING AND ADVERTISING. Rosenberg. HF 5415 R577 2009 (RD) On order 1-09
DICTIONARY OF MARKETING TERMS. Barron's. HF5803 .T56 2008 (RD)
ENCYCLOPEDIC DICTIONARY OF MARKETINGKahn. HF5412 .K43 2006 (RD)
GLOSSARY OF ADVERTISING / MEDIA TERMS.INTERNATIONAL DICTIONARY OF MARKETING. HF 5415 Y33 2002 (RD)
MARKETING DICTIONARY. American Marketing Association. Select Resource Library marketingpower.com/
SELECTED PERIODICALS
NOTE: Unless otherwise noted, the current print issue is in Lippincott Periodicals.
Links to all Penn E-Journals.
Advertising Age. Weekly, 1996 - current. Print: (Oversize) 1955 - current.
AdWeek Weekly, 1993 - current.
B to B Media Business
Creativity by Ad Age. Monthly, 1996 - current.
Industrial Marketing Management. European. Quarterly, 1995 - current. Print: 1971 - current. HF 5415.13 I53
Journal of Advertising Research Advertising Research Foundation. bimonthly, 1965 - current.
Journal of Consumer Research 1974 - current. Print: HF 5415.3 J687 (Also CD, MT)
Journal of Global Marketing.. Quarterly, 1993 - current. | HF 1009.5 J68
Journal of Interactive Marketing.. Quarterly, 1999 - current. | HF 5415.126 J687
Journal of International Marketing. 1993 - current. Print:HF 5410 J678
Journal of Marketing.American Marketing Ass'n. 1999 - current. Print: 1936 - current. HF 5415 A2 J6 (ST)
Journal of Marketing Research. 1964 - current. ;Print: HF 5415.2 J66 (ST) [Also CD, MT]
MediaWeek Weekly, 1994 - current. Print: 1991 - current. HF 5801 M435
PsycINFO. Abstracts of scholarly periodicals, many of which cover advertising / marketing topics. Use PennText to retrieve the full text of article.
Sales & Marketing Management. Monthly, 1997 - current. Print: 1927 - current. HF 5438 A34
JOBS
AAAA CAREER CENTER.American Ass'n of Advertising Agencies. | careercenter.aaaa.org/
AMERICAN ADVERTISING FEDERATION Job Bank. | aaf.org/jobs/
AMIC Media, Ad jobs. amic.com/adjobs/
AMERICAN MARKETING ASSOCIATION. Marketing jobs. | marketingpower.com/
CAREER LINK Business Marketing Association. | careerlink.marketing.org
CLICKZ JOB BOARD Professional marketing jobs. | clickz.com/
IAB JOB BOARD Interactive advertising / marketing jobs. | iab.net/jobs
MARKETING CAREER NETWORK jobs.effie.org
PROMOTION MARKETING ASSOCIATION. JOB BANK.
QUIRK'S JOB MART. quirks.com/
TALENT ZOOAdvertising, Marketing jobs. talentzoo.com/
VAULT ONLINE CAREER GUIDES. MARKETING & BRAND MANAGEMENT ADVERTISING GUIDE to the TOP ADVERTISING & PR EMPLOYERS.
NEWS
AdAge CHINA. 1992 - current
KNOWLEDGE@WHARTON. | Choose Marketing.
New York Times on | LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE
PROMT. Summaries of market research reports.
Wall Street Journal on DOW JONES FACTIVA + About 130 Advertising / Public Relations publications.
LOCATION CODES
| CD = CD-ROM database. | |||
| RD =Lippincott Reference Desk, 2nd floor | ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor | RS = Lippincott Reference Stacks, 2nd floor | MT = Lippincott Microtext, 2nd floor |




