Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Corporate Responsibility Databases: Search Aid

Questions? Email Lippincott Library

Innovest i-Ratings Ethical Corporation KLD

Innovest i-Ratings

Updated weekly, is a social responsibility investment portal.

This database is the product of Innovest Strategic Value Advisors, an internationally recognized investment research and advisory firm specializing in analyzing companies' performance on environmental, social, and strategic governance management, and how such factors impact competitiveness, profitability, and share price performance.

Innovest I-Ratings can be used to obtain individual company ratings and profiles, industry overviews, and in-depth, custom industry sector reports.

Company Index

The Company Index provides alphabetical access to the full listing of companies included in the database. Company lists may be sorted according to their country of origin, their social rating, their environmental rating, or their overall rating by clicking on the arrows provided. Example:

Company Index

Company Search and Filter

To search for companies by sector, leave the ratings drop-down boxes on the default "any" and highlight the desired sectors. To select more than one sector, hold down the Ctrl key and make additional selections. To search by country, follow the same procedure. You may also combine queries among ratings, sector and country. Example:

Search and Filter

Industry Sector Index

From this view, you may select (by clicking on the title) a specific Industry to see a description of the sector including a list of companies in the industry and all of their ratings. You may also go directly to the Industry Sector Overviews or Industry Sector Reports by clicking on the PDF symbol. Example:

Industry Sector Index

Weekly Stock Monitor

This view allows you to search the weekly updated articles on stock performance across several industries, or a specific corporation. Select "Weekly Stock Monitor" and view the articles by publication date, or perform a keyword search in the box provided.

Ethical Corporation

A monthly periodical including expert analysis, contains access to the monthly print magazine, a daily website, conference details from around the world, and occasional reports on business ethics in big firms.

This online archive contains more than 3,500 items on corporate responsibility and is still growing.

Searching in Ethical Corporation

There are two ways to find articles, news and reports in this database. You may first choose from specific Contents and Categories provided. The Contents section includes access to special sections and archived editions of the publication, while Categories include topical concepts such as Socially Responsible Investing. Choosing a phrase from either the contents or categories sections will retrieve all available reports, articles, press releases and news pieces on the phrase or term selected.

You may also use the search box pictured below, by typing in a company name or concept term. This will retrieve results from all News Contents (including special reports) and Categories sections.

Example: Find Microsoft

Searching

Alternatively, you may select article titles from within the Latest Content or geographical location boxes.

KLD

A resource available in the WRDS suite of information resources, is a product of KLD Research and Analytics, Inc. (KLD) and is considered the leading authority on social research for institutional investors.

KLD created the Domini 400 SocialSM Index (DS 400 Index), a socially screened, capitalization-weighted index of 400 common stocks. The DS 400 is recognized as the first social investment benchmark.

Searching in KLD

Selecting Documentation will provide definitions of codes and ratings systems employed. Selecting Data Manual will provide detailed explanations of rating criteria and definitions. The KLD dataset provides access to either the DS 400 or Social Ratings.

DS 400 Index

To retrieve the full Domini 400 lists, simply select a date range and index return type desired.

Example: Restrict dates to Jan 1990 - Mar 2006, and return the DS400 Index (level)

DS400 Index

Social Ratings

To retrieve a specific company's social rating, simply select a date range, determine and select the proper company code, or upload a .txt file containing a vertical list of company codes, and then select the criteria desired. Note: the list of criteria presented here is only a sample; there are many more variables available.

Example: Restrict dates to 2004-2005 and find the Domini 400 Social Index Member, KLD Broad Market Social Index Member, and charitable contribution information for Microsoft.

Domini 400

*