Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Asia-Pacific Business

Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library

TOP RESOURCES FINANCE STATISTICS DOING BUSINESS GUIDES
TRADE / INDUSTRY COMPREHENSIVE LOCATION CODES

See also Lippincott Research Guides:     China Business    India Business    Japan Business    Exporting/Importing   International Statistics

TOP RESOURCES

ASIAN DEVELOPMENT BANK. (ADB)    Economics & Statistics.
ADB KEY INDICATORS of DEVELOPING ASIAN & PACIFIC COUNTRIES.     Annual, 1999 - current.
ASIAN DEVELOPMENT OUTLOOK.     Annual.    adb.org/

CEIC    Macro-economic, industrial, population and financial time-series data.     Industry sectors include Company Financials, Comparable Financial & Operational Data and Association Data.
Lippincott CEIC Search Aid.

DRI-WEFA COUNTRY REPORTS on S&P Market Insight     Quarterly, 1997 - current.
China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand + Oceania.

Dancing with Giants: China, India, and the Global Economy.    World Bank 2007.     292 pages.

EIU COUNTRY COMMERCE. Economist Intelligence Unit. Semi-annual, 1996 - current.
Commercial indicators, regulatory information and more. Corporate foreign investment.
Australia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam.

EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE.
Market research reports, Socio-economic indicators, Consumer behavior; Advertising, Media, Telecom, Financial Services + more.

DOW JONES FACTIVA.    Factiva Search Aid
Search on Source Name,e.g. sn=Business Asia
11,000 + publications, including:

  1. Asia Pulse. Real-time, Asia-based business and industry newswire.
  2. Economist, Financial Times, Wall St. Journal Asiaand numerous Asian publications.
  3. EIU. Business Asia.    Business China.   Business India.  Busines Korea. Fortnightly, 1996 - current.
  4. EIU Country Commerce. EIU Country Finance.    Monthly, 2002 - current.
  5. EIU Country Monitor. Weekly, 2002 - current.
  6. EIU ViewsWire.    Daily, from 1995-current.   Data & summaries from EIU Country Profiles.
  7. Mergent Industry Reports - Asia Pacific   Search on sn=mergent and hd=asia

GLOBAL INDUSTRY SURVEYS>    Standard & Poor's Net Advantage.

ISI EMERGING MARKETS. Analyst reports; Company, Country/Industry profiles; Demographics, Market research; Stock prices; News + more.
Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, South Korea, Taiwan and Vietnam.

LEXIS-NEXIS ACADEMIC.       Company Dossier.   Database of world companies.       Includes WorldScope, Intellectual Property, News, SEC filings and more.    Select Business

ORBIS BvD (Bureau van Dijk) SUITE. 1.3 million + Far East and Central Asia public and private companies.   Financials, filings, deals, news, rankings, peer reports,
Datamonitor company and industry market research.

WRDS   PACAP. Pacific-Basin Capital Markets.
Stock prices, indices, exchange rates. From 1990-current. Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Taiwan.

WRDS   EMERGING MARKETS DATA BASE (EMDB).     S&P/COMPUSTAT. Monthly, from 1986. 60 economies.

  1. Market performance, indicators, market cap, monthly value traded, local stock market price indices.
  2. S&P Global (S&P/IFCG) Index and IFC (IFCI) index series (reflects opportunities for investment since mid-'80s). Annual (where available) from 1975.

"DOING BUSINESS" GUIDES

ASIAN BUSINESS ETIQUETTE   Asian Pulse.

BBC NEWS. ASIA-PACIFIC.     Daily news, Country profiles (monthly) for 40+ Asian countries, plus media information.     news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/

BUSINESS-IN-ASIA.    Runckel Consulting, USA. Practical investment, location, cost info.    Industry, FDI updates + more.    Cambodia China Hong Kong Japan Korea India Indonesia Malaysia Laos Philippines Singapore Thailand Vietnam

INTERNATIONAL FINANCE CORP. (World Bank).     Doing Business in: East Asia & Pacific;     Europe & Central Asia;    South Asia.    doingbusiness.org/downloads

DOING BUSINESS IN MALAYSIA.   Malaysian Industrial Development Authority.

DOING BUSINESS IN THAILAND.   Board of Investment of Thailand.

INTERNATIONAL TAX & BUSINESS GUIDES.     Deloitte.    China, Taiwan, Macau, Hong Kong, India    Indonesia, Korea, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.   deloittetaxguides.com

US INT'L TRADE ADMINISTRATION. Asia/Pacific. Updated regularly, information needed to begin business in Asia-Pacific countries.

FINANCE

ASIA PACIFIC M&A BULLETIN.    (Year-End 2008)    76 pages.    PriceWaterhouseCoopers

ASIA PACIFIC CAPITAL MARKETS GUIDE.    Grant Thornton.     28 pages   gti.org/publications/

ASIA PRIVATE EQUITY REVIEW     Monthly, 2007 - current.     in: LEXIS ACADEMIC database    Select: Business -> Sources ->     Type the title in "Find a Source" box.

ASIA RISK.    London.   Bi-monthly.    Currencies, interest rates, equities, commodities, credit.    No call # (PER)

ASIAMONEY. Monthly, 1992 - current. Finance, banking.    Print, from 1993: HG 4523 A853 (PER)

ASIAN PRIVATE EQUITY 300. Annual, 2000 - current. A guide to venture capital.       HG 5701 G853 (RD)

THE ASIAN VENTURE CAPITAL JOURNAL. Bimonthly, 2001 - current.        HG 4503 A853 (PER)

BANK OF THAILAND    Economic & Financial Databanks.      bot.ot.th/

BANKSCOPE.    Detailed financial reports for 4000+ Far East and Central Asia, Oceania banks.

CFO ASIA.    Monthly, 1998 - current..   cfoasia.com

FACTIVA. Annual, monthly and weekly stock quotes for past 5 years. Daily quotes for past 2 years.
Select: Companies/Markets for company financial profiles in 20 Asian stock exchanges.

FINANCE ASIA    Current IPO Report, Deals, Finance League Tables.   financeasia.com/

FINANCE ASIA 100 INDEX   Includes Industry Reports.    fa100index.com

KOREA INSTITUTE OF FINANCE.   Economic & Financial Forecasts.   Topical Analysis.   kif.re.kr/

MINISTRY OF FINANCE & ECONOMY - KOREA.    Laws, policies. Monthly Economic Bulletin ( 2005 - current).   english.mofe.go.kr/

PRICEWATERHOUSECOOPERS - HONG KONG   Select Publications   M&A, Private Equity, Trade + more.     pwchk.com/

RED HERRING ASIA 100 Annual.     Most promising startups.   Search:    rh asia 100.   redherring.com/

YAHOO FINANCE. Stock quotes for 7 Asian stock exchanges. From 1997, where available.

STATISTICS

APEC  &nbsp    Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation.  &nbsp ; Economic Indicators.   Annual, 2000 - current.    Links to country investment / trade sites.   Select Member Economies  &nbsp apecsec.org.sg/

APEC ENERGY DATABASE.  &nbsp    Institute of Energy Economics, Japan.  &nbsp    Annual, 1971 - current. Monthly, 2007 - current.  &nbsp    Demand, Supply, Production + more.  &nbsp    Links to selected country energy sites. &nbsp    ieej.or.jp/egeda/

ASEAN.    Association of Southeast Asian Nations
(Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam).
Macroeconomic indicators, trade, FDI, transport, communications and tourism.  &nbsp    aseansec.org/

ASIA PACIFIC PROPERTY DIGEST.     Jones Lang LaSalle.    Quarterly.     About 75 pages .    Free registration required

ASIA PACIFIC WEALTH REPORT.     Capgemini.    capgemini.com/resources/thought_leadership/asia_pacific_wealth_report_2008__english/    Free registration required.

ASIAN HISTORICAL STATISTICS PROJECT.      Hitotsubashi University.
National Accounts.      Peoples's Republic of China,1952-1995.       Taiwan 1910 - 1990; Korea (Japanese language)

ASIAN OWNED FIRMS 2002.     US Census.       Revised August 2006.       census.gov/csd/sbo/

CEIC    Macro-economic, industrial, population and financial time-series data.     Lippincott CEIC Search Aid.

CENTRAL BANK of INDONESIA.      Economic Report.Annual 2003 - current.     Financial Report. 2006 - current.     + Extensive Economic and Financial statistics. | bi.go.id/web/en

INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL STATISTICS.    International Monetary Fund.      Lippincott IMFdatabase guide

INTERNATIONAL HISTORICAL STATISTICS: AFRICA, ASIA AND OCEANIA, 1750-2000. Economic and social indicators.
HA 4675 M552 2003 (Van Pelt Reference)

STATISTICAL YEARBOOK FOR ASIA AND THE PACIFIC.     2007. | HA 1665 U55 (RD) | (1968 - 2001 at Van Pelt Reference)

NATIONAL STATISTICAL OFFICES IN ASIA & the PACIFIC     UN Economic & Social Commission for Asia-Pacific.      unescap.org/stat/nsos.asp

SOURCE OECD.     Org. for Economic Cooperation & Development.      Economic and Environmental Surveys -- and more.     Go to Country Reports & Tables

STATISTICS INDONESIA | bps.go.id/

WORLD TRAVEL & TOURISM COUNCIL    Annual. Economic Research.       Lengthy regional and country reports.  &nbsp    wttc.org

TRADE / INDUSTRY

Asia-Pacific Food Industry     MARKET OUTLOOK.     Industry leaders' analysis.

ASIA PACIFIC JOURNAL of MARKETING and LOGISTICS     Quarterly, 1998 - current.

ASIAN SOURCES DIRECTORY.    Thousands of exporters. Brief company profiles. By country, product or supplier.     asiansources.com/

ASIAN TRADE PROMOTION FORUM   . Links to investment and trade information for 21 countries.    .atpf.org/

ASIANOW.    US Commercial Service. Information for US exporters. Industry Briefs.    buyusa.gov/asianow

ASIA'S ENERGY FUTURE:Regional Dynamics and Global Implications.     ed: Wu & Fesharaki. 2007. (RS) in process 1-29-08

CHEMPAGES.    Directory w/ links to Asian (mostly Chinese) chemical firms. Search on company or product.      chempages.com

COMMUNIST PARTY OF VIETNAM NEWSLETTER     cpv.org.vn/cpv

Far Eastern Economic Review     Monthly, 1987 -- current. Print: HC411 .F18 (Van Pelt Periodicals) | 1946 -- current.

INDONESIA. Nat'l Agency for Export Development   Trade statistics / regulations.    Exporter / Importer Directories.     .nafed.go.id/

MERGENT WEB INDUSTRY REPORTS - ASIA PACIFIC.<

SINGAPORE MINISTRY OF TRADE and INDUSTRY     Quarterly Economic Survey, from 1999-current.   Links to other country data.   app.mti.gov.sg/

SourceOECD. International Energy Administration. (IEA)   World Energy Outlook -- Insights China & India.    (Search in Advanced Search on the title.)   Print: HD9502.A2 W6694 (Lippincott Reference Stacks, 3rd Floor)

TECH On!.    Includes Nikkei Electronics Asia)     Tech industry news.   Links to US Electronics and SemiConductors New Products Announcements.    techon.nikkeibp.co.jp/english/

VOVNews.     Vietnam daily business news.    vovnews.vn/

FIND SUBSTANTIAL ASIA-PACIFIC BUSINESS INFORMATION IN:

BLOOMBERG. Lippincott's Bloomberg Help Guide Corporate and economic statistics plus news.     (Available in Lippincott Library and Huntsman)

BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL.     Country risk and forecasts, industry surveys.

CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS. Use Advanced Search to identify Asian-owned companies in other countries, and vice-versa.
Example: Parent Country=china AND Country=usa

COUNTRY ENERGY ANALYSIS BRIEFS  18 Asian Nations + Australia.  Energy Information Administration.     eia.doe.gov/emeu/cabs/

DAILY TIMES-PAKISTAN     National and business news.     Searchable by date, from 2002 - current.   dailytimes.com.pk/

DATASTREAM.    Time series, financial instruments, equities, indices, commodities and economic indicators.    Datastream Search Aid   (Available in Lippincott Library)

EMARKETER.    IT market research. Asia-Pacific E-Commerce Report.

ENTERPRISE SURVEYS.    World Bank database of economic environments in sector and country.      enterprisesurveys.org/

FDI MAGAZINE    A Financial Times publication.     Monthly.    Foreign Direct Investment. Corporate Strategy, FDI Fact File + more.     fdimagazine.com/

GLOBAL FINANCIAL DATA.    Economic, financial, business & industry.     Historical and current statistics.

GLOBAL DEVELOPMENT FINANCE.    World Bank. Annual. Also CD. Print: from 1975, HG 4517 I594    (Lippincott Reference Desk)

GLOBAL INSIGHT on WRDS    Financial, economic and industry data;     Market Indices;     International Monetary Fund data.

HOOVER'S   Company & Industry profiles

INSEAD KNOWLEDGE         Wharton-allied Business School.      Case studies, articles, book chapters.     knowledge.insead.edu/

INSTITUTIONAL INVESTOR PREMIUM CONTENT.    Asian League Tables, plus Alpha Magazine.

INVESTMENT ANALYST REPORTS:
FIRST CALL.    INVESTEXT PLUS.    BUSINESS INSIGHTS INTERACTIVE.

LEXIS ACADEMIC Bangkok Post; Business Day      (Thailand)      Jakarta Post

MERGENT INTERNATIONAL MANUAL.    Annual, 1981 - 2006. Government debt history. Major companies' financial reports.     HG 4527 M6 (Lippincott Peck Collection, 2nd flr)
      Online: MERGENT WEB REPORTS>   International Manual. Annual, 1981 - current.
       Mergent Online Weekly News/Index Updates / Dividend Record & New Listings     Select Downloads   Complete Corporate Index 2004- current is at the bottom of News reports page.    mergent.com/downloads.html

PRIVATE PARTICIPATION IN INFRASTRUCTURE DATABASE      World Bank.

Transnational Corporations     UN.      Foreign Direct Investment.      3 issues yearly, 1992 - current. (Abstracts in ABI/Inform)      (PER)

US INTERNATIONAL TRADE ADMINISTRATION.   . Covers 16 industries, by region and country.     trade.gov/

US DEPT. OF COMMERCE. COUNTRY COMMERCIAL GUIDES.    Market research.     export.gov

WORLD DEVELOPMENT INDICATORS. World Bank. Annual.       Print, from 1990: HC 59.15 W656 (Lippincott Reference Desk) Also CD.

LOCATION CODES

PER = Lippincott Periodicals, 2nd floor.
WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
*