Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Research Guide: Business Ethics

Contact Mia Wells
Lippincott Library

Ratings Articles Research Reports
Ethics Codes Associations, Organizations Company Filings
Directories Cases E-Journals
Ratings

View the Stanford Working Paper titled Rating the ratings:How Good are Commericial Governance Ratings?

Bloomberg (available at Lippincott Library or Huntman Hall). Corporate Governance Ratings from the Corporate Library & Governance Metrics International; and Institutional Shareholder Services.

Sample Search   [TICKER] US >Equity< CGOV

Business Ethics Magazine. 100 Best Corporate Citizens for 2006.

FTSE4Good Index Series. Measures the performance of companies that meet globally recognised corporate responsibility standards to facilitate investment in those companies.

Innovest i-Ratings. Includes reports analyzing companies' performance on environmental, social, and strategic governance issues, with a particular focus on their impact on competitiveness, profitability, and share price performance.

Sample Search   Limit by Company, Company Rating, Industry Index, or Carbon Analytics Platform

KDL. Available through WRDS. KDL is the leading authority on social research for institutional investors. Includes the Domini 400 SocialSM Index as well as social ratings.

Sample Search   Search by DS400 or Social Rating. Use the search menus to set up your query.
Includes several different formats for output.

Databases: Articles, news

ABI Inform. Journal articles.

Sample Search   Type: business ethics. Use the "Suggested Topics" at the top of the screen to focus your search.
Board Analyst. Available through WRDS It is a division of the Corporate Library and contains annual historical data captures for each proxy year beginning in 2001.
Sample Search   Search by company, directorships, ceos, or takeover defenses.
use the menus provided to request information.
Includes several different formats for output.

Business Source Complete. Journal articles.

Sample Search   search "corporate responsibility". Narrow your search by publication type (ie: market research, scholarly journals, etc.).

Factiva. Newspapers, journals, etc.

Sample Search   Search for articles on corporate governance or ethics. Limit subject to "Corporate Responsibility".
Use keywords such as "philanthropy" or "donations" or "gifts".
Change "date limit" to latest two years.

The Investor Responsibility Research Center, Inc. (IRRC) is part of the WRDS; available to members of the Wharton School. IRRC is the world's leading source of impartial, independent research on corporate governance, proxy voting and corporate responsibility issues.

ISI Citation Index.

Sample Search   Do a search. Select an article. Then use the "Find Related Articles" tab to redirect your search.

Lexis/Nexis. Business and Legal News.

Sample Search   Select Legal Research. Choose Legal News or Law Review.

PAIS Bibliographic citations with indexing. Covers contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide. Results include an index of Scholars who have written this topic.

Sample Search   Search "business ethics", "coporate ethics", "corporate governance", etc.

The Rock Center for Corporate Governance at Stanford. Find news and announcements relevant to corporate governance.

Social Science Research Network. Recent research results through abstracts and fulltext working papers and journal articles in economics, finance, law (especially business and economic aspects), accounting, and Latin American economics and business.

SourceOECD. Full text publications and statistics from the OECD.

Sample Search   Search: "corporate governance".
Publications include Corporate Governance Reports by country.

Research Reports

Business Ethics: A Manual for Managing a Responsible Business Enterprise in Emerging Market Economies is a complete set of guidelines from the U.S. International Trade Association.

Grant Thornton Survey of US Business Leaders. "Grant Thornton, LLP, in partnership with BusinessWeek Research Services, surveyed 510 business leaders to determine their views on corporate responsibility and the value companies derive from corporate responsibility initiatives."

Grant Thornton Report on Corporate Social Responsibility. "In this report we look at Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and what is driving privately held businesses to adopt CSR related practices. We also examine what initiatives are being adopted and which countries are adopting CSR formally."

Conference Board. Research Reports.

Sample Search   Select topic: Ethics and Compliance

Ethics Codes

Ethics Resource Center. Includes an Ethics Tool Kit and National Business Ethics Surveys.

Codes Of Ethics Online. Illinois Institute of Technology: Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions. Extensive collection. Earlier versions of codes of ethics of some organizations represented are available so researchers can study the development of codes.

Ethicsweb.ca. Chris MacDonald, Philosophy professor at St. Mary's University in Halifax, Canada. Resources to assist in writing a Code of Ethics. Also see Business Ethics.CA which includes international resources and case studies.

Society of Corporate Compliance and Ethics. Includes compliance basics, program evaluation, surveys, and professional code. Survey: Global Ethics & Compliance Programs: Best-Practices & Benchmarking.

Associations, Organizations and other Resources

Wharton School Resources for Business Ethics

Other Resources for Business Ethics

BELL: The Business Ethics Links Library. William M. White Business Library, Leeds School of Business, University of Colorado at Boulder. Resources for Research in Business Ethics and Social Responsibility.

Business for Social Responsibility

Business Ethics: Emerging Countries. U.S. International Trade Association. Guidance on how to operate in accordance with modern standards of corporate accountability and ethics. Colorado State University Business School E-Ethics Center. Includes case studies, "ethics" bookstore, Codes of Conduct and other resources. Much of this site's content is being provided by businesses, nonprofit organizations, government agencies and academics that support interactivity and accessibility of information.

Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire Service. Includes the CSR Directory Resources for Promoting Global Business Principles and Best Practices: searchable by category such as Academia; Corporate Governance Orgs and Programs.

Eldis Corporate Social Responsibility Resource Guide. Provided by the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex.

The Ethics & Compliance Officer Association. A non-consulting, member-driven association exclusively for individuals who are responsible for their company's ethics, compliance, and business conduct programs.

Financial Executives International. Detailed information on The Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002.

International Business Ethics Institute. Business Ethics Primer.

International Finance Corporation: Social responsibility Part of the World Bank.

The Social Investment Forum

Society for Business Ethics. Includes Directory of Business Ethics Professionals as well as a Directory of business ethics organizations.

Company Filings/Reports

CCH Internet Research Network Includes information on Corporate Governance: laws, rules, current awareness.

Corporate Register. World's largest online directory of corporate non-financial reports. These include Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), sustainability, environmental and social reports. Requires free registration.

LivEdgar. SEC filings. Search by keywords "business ethics", "corporate governance".

Sample Search   Search keywords: "business ethics", "corporate governance".
Directories

National Directory of Corporate Public Affairs. Locate companies and public affairs officers.
Lippincott Reference Desk. HG4028. C6 N273. Latest Only.

Conference Board. Annual. Corporate Contributions. Provides survey information from U.S. companies involved in corporate giving activities.

Case Studies

Babson College Business Ethics Program.

CasePlace.

Institute for Global Ethics. Includes corporate ethical "dilemmas".

Markkula Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University

Case studies in business ethics. Edited by Al Gini.
Location: Lippincott Library HF5387 .C36 2005

Business ethics : mistakes and successes. Robert F. Hartley.
Location: Lippincott Library HF5387 .H372 2004

Hidden financial risk : understanding off-balance sheet accounting . J. Edward Ketz.
Location: Lippincott Library HF5635 .K43 2003

Case histories in business ethics. Edited by Chris Megone and Simon J. Robinson.
Location: Lippincott Library HF5387 .C358 2002

Ethical issues in business : a philosophical approach. Edited by Thomas Donaldson, Patricia H. Werhane, Margaret Cording.
Location: Lippincott Library HF5387 .E8 2002

Beyond the bottom line : socially innovative business owners. Jack Quarter.
Location: Lippincott Library HD60 .Q37 2000

Business ethics. Edited by Milton Snoeyenbos, Robert Almeder, James Humber.
Location: Lippincott Library HF5387 .B87 2001

E-journals

Business Ethics Quarterly

Business Ethics: A European Review

Business and Professional Ethics Journal

Corporate Governance

Corporate Governance Advisor

Corporate Governance: An International Review

Ethics

Journal of Business Ethics

The Ruffin Series in Business Ethics

*