Sidebar
Main Content
Business Source Premier - Database Search Aid
Questions? Email Lippincott Library |
| Guided Search | Basic Search | Special Publications | Truncation and Wildcards |
| Publication Searching | Company Profiles | Image Collection | |
Business Source Premier, updated daily provides nearly 3,300 full text scholarly publications, including more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 4,100 journals. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, etc.
The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies.
Business Source Premier contains the full-text news wire database, Business Wire News, which incorporates business wires from all over the world. To search both Business Source Premier and Business Wire News simultaneously, check the box next to each database title and click on the "Enter" button.
Guided Search Screen
The Guided Search Window is the default search window.
- Enter your search terms in the Find field.
- Select a field from the drop down box (such as TI Title).
- Enter additional search terms in the optional text boxes.
- Select other search options to limit or expand your search (such as by limiting to a certain date).
Example:
Basic Search Screen
- Enter your search terms.
- boolean operators (and, or, not) can be used.
- Limit your search by date or by publication type.
- Field codes can also be used in this search screen. Use field codes to target your search to a specific part of an article
Useful Field Codes:
(More codes can be found by clicking on the Database Help link provided at the Basic and Expert Search Screens.)
- AU = Author
- TI = Article_title
- SU = Subject
- AB = Abstract
- SO = Journal_name
- CO = Company_Entity
Search Tips: Special Publications
Finding the Harvard Business Review:
At the Basic Search Screen enter: JN Harvard Business Review
This will return all articles from HBR with the most recent first.
To look for specific issues or articles, change the date in the Limit field or add additional keywords.
Example: JN Harvard Business Review and strategy
Finding Global Insight Industry Yearbooks and EIU Publications
Global Insight Industry Yearbooks: The Industry Yearbooks, published yearly, present analyses, forecasts and statistics on the covered countries.
A few of the industries studied are:
- Air Transportation
- Apparel
- Eating Places
- Newspapers
- Residential Construction
Guided Search Screen
Find: industry yearbook in SO Journal_name
This search will yield a list of all the Industry Yearbooks published by Global Insight
To search for specific Industry Yearbooks:
Guided Search Screen
Find: industry yearbook in SO Journal_name
and computers in All Fields
Global Insight Country Monitor Publications: The Country Monitor, published monthly, presents analyses, forecasts and statistics on the covered countries.
Guided Search Screen
Find: country monitor in SO Journal_name
This search will yield all of Global Insight's Country Monitor publications.
To search for specific countries such as Argentina:
Guided Search Screen
Find: argentina country monitor in SO Journal_name
Economist Intelligence Unit Country Profiles and Reports:
Note: The Country Profiles are annual publications that provide economic, political and basic data about the covered countries. The Country Reports are monthly publications and provide similar information.
Guided Search Screen
Find: country profile in SO Journal_name
Find: country report in SO Journal_name
These searches will yield all Country Profiles or Country Reports by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU).
To search for a specific country, such as Germany:
Guided Search Screen
Find: country report germany in SO Journal_name
Wildcard and Truncation Symbols
Use the wildcard and truncation symbols to create searches where there are unknown characters, multiple spellings or various endings. Neither the wildcard nor the truncation symbol can be used as the first character in a search term.
Wildcard Symbol
The wildcard is represented by a question mark (?).
To use the wildcard, enter your search terms and replace each unknown character with a "?."
EBSCOhost finds all citations of that word with the "?" replaced by a letter.
Example: ne?t will find neat, next or nest
The wildcard symbol can also be used for British spellings.
Example:colo?r will find colour
Truncation Symbol
Truncation is represented by an asterisk (*).
To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an "*."
EBSCOhost finds all forms of that word.
Example: comput* will find the words computer, computers or computing
Publication Searching
To search for a particular publication:
- Choose Publications
- In the Publication Search Window, enter your search terms in the Browse field.
- Select a search type. Choose one:
- Publications beginning with -
Finds journals beginning with the letters you entered. Results are displayed in alphabetical order. - Match any words -
Finds publications with one or more of the words in your terms. Results are displayed in order of relevance to your search terms. - Match exact phrase -
Finds publications for which an exact match can be found. Results are displayed in alphabetical order.
Databases within Business Source Premier
Company Profiles by Datamonitor
To search directory, click on Company Profiles. The Company Directory search screen appears.
- Enter the company name in the browse field.
- Click Search after entering your search terms. You can also use Search All Fields to search for a word or name in all the fields listed.
Image Collection
To search the Image Collection click on the Images. The Image Collection search screen appears.
*Note: Your search term must match exactly a word in the title or caption of an image.
- Enter the search terms for the image you want to see in the Find field.
Example: baseball
Example: Eleanor Roosevelt - You can use boolean terms (AND, OR, NOT) to further specify your search.
Example: Roosevelt and Delano - Select from the available specific categories to narrow the focus of your search.
If you make no selections, all categories are searched.



