Research Guides
FindIt:

Lippincott Library CD-ROMs

These databases are available in Lippincott Library only. Because of vendor restrictions or other limitations, they are not networked and consequently must be used on-site in the library. Please ask for help at the Reference Desk.

These databases are for members of the Penn Community only.

Some CDs are pre-loaded on computers at Stations 12 A,B,C,D in Lippincott Library. You need to request others at the Reference Desk

For additional information please contact Cynthia Cronin-Kardon, Lippincott Library Reference Librarian.


Advertising Ratios & Budgets: (2001/2008). . Please ask for this CD at the Lippincott Library reference desk.

Adweek Directories. Preloaded at Station 12.
The directory of U.S. advertising agencies, public relations firms, media buying services and specialized marketing companies.

Best's Insurance Reports. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
U.S. and Canada Life Health and Property Casualty

Barclay institutional report. Reference guide to hedge funds. Pre-loaded at Station 12A.

BizComps. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Sales data on over 5,000 small business transactions from across the U.S. The database is searchable by SIC code, word search, sale size, price, date and geographical area.

Business Periodicals on Disc. (BPOD). Pre-loaded at Station 5D.
Contains full text of articles from over 500 business journals. Laser printed page images are available for a fee.

COMPACT dSEC. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Abstracts of SEC filings from over 12,000 publicly traded companies. Access by company name or over 200 textual and financial variables. Updated monthly. (Historical backfiles to September 1988-ask at Reference Desk.)

County Business Patterns Ask at Reference Desk.
CD Rom holdings: 1986-2001/2002. Also available online County Business Patterns.
U.S. and State data by S.I.C. codes. Substantial economic data by industry

Directory of Alternative Investment Programs. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Provides access to over 600 institutional investors and their advisors. Gives in-depth profiles of active U.S. and international firms. Contains information on public and corporate pension funds, endowments and foundations, banks and insurance companies and others.

Economic Censuses (CD Rom holdings: 1987, 1992, 1997). Ask at Reference Desk.
Also available online Economic Censuses.

Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory . Pre-loaded at Station 12A.
Search over 1700 firms by firm name, person or investment criteria.

Global Development Finance. Preloaded at Station 12A.
Also available online to current members of the Penn Community Global Development Finance
Issued by the World Bank, this database provides more than 200 time series indicators for 138 countries plus regional and income groups. Country group aggregates data and summary tables run from 1970 to 1997 with estimates for 1998; country time-series from 1970 to 1997, plus "pipeline" projections from 1998 to 2007, for 138 World Bank borrowers. Also data on the external debt and international capital flows of developing countries.

LaserD (Global Access). Pre-loaded at Station 5C.
Historical U.S. SEC filings. Annual reports for U.S. and foreign companies, 1990-1993.

Morningstar's Mutual Funds Principia Pro. Pre-loaded at Station 12C.
Provides performance and financial data on over 10,000 mutual funds with searching and ranking capabilities.

Nelson Information's Directory of Investment Managers. Ask at the Reference Desk.
Provides performance data on over 2000 investment management firm profiles with searching and ranking capabilities.

Pennsylvania County Industry Trends.Ask at Reference Desk. Annual.

REIS (Regional Economic Information System). Pre-loaded at Station 12A.
The REIS database provides local area economic data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas for 1969-1999. Statistics in the data base include: personal income and earning variables, full and part employment variables, transfer payments variables, and farm income and expenses variables.

S&P Analysts Handbook. Preloaded at Station 12B.
Selected income statement and balance sheet items and related ratios for Standard and Poor's 500 and sub-indexes 1993-2004. Monthly updates in print (Lipp HG 4519 S772  Lippincott Reference Desk)

Simmons Markets and Media -Choices III . Pre-loaded at Station 12C.
Choices II is a consumer survey produced by the Simmons Market Research Bureau. It is used to develop profiles of consumer buying habits and usage of various products, and to detail consumer media preferences. It includes U.S. adults age 18 years and older.

Sourcebook America (Zip Code and County Demographics) (CACI). Preloaded at Station 12C. Includes demographics for Zip Codes and Counties, offering more than 150 characteristics.

UNIDO Industrial Statistics. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Global industrial statistics compiled by the United Nations.

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics. Preloaded at Station 12B.
Also available online to current members of the Penn Community UNCTAD. UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics provides a comprehensive collection of statistical data relevant to the analysis of world trade, investment and development, for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings. The time series cover periods that are as long as figures obtainable permit (going back to 1950 when data available).

Value Line. Preloaded at Station 12C.
Designed for investors, it is possible to analyze of over 1700 companies. This electronic version allows for sorting, screening, graphing and reporting on individual and groups of stocks. Access to the Web version is also available from this machine.

World Development Indicators. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Also available online to current members of the Penn Community World Development Indicators. From the World Bank, this database contains 500 time series indicators, covering 1970 to 1995, reflecting most of the content of the print versions of World Bank Atlas and World Development Indicators. Country tables cover key indicators, social indicators, economic time series and population projections. Latest disc only retained.

World Trade Atlas - Annual Summary. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.

Worldscope Global. Pre-loaded at Station 12A.
International version of Compact dSEC, this database offers financial information on nearly 9,000 international corporations in 25 countries and 24 industries.

ZipCode Business Patterns. Ask at Reference Desk.
For retail trade, service industries and manufactures, this database offers counts of establishments by zip code, by SIC code, by sales size and by employment size. There are also summary statistics by zip code.

*