Research Guides
FindIt:

China Business - Research Guide #30

Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library

OVERVIEWS NEWS STATISTICS
TRADE LAW MARKET RESEARCH
DIRECTORIES and COMPANY PROFILES FINANCE LOCATION CODES

* = Highly recommended

* ISI EMERGING MARKETS. Includes Investext analyst reports, EIU reports, company financials, industry reports, market surveys and news.

OVERVIEWS

APEC. Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation. Economic report and tariffs.
www.apecsec.org.sg/

ASIAN DEVELOPMENT REVIEW. Asian Development Bank. Semi-annual. Studies of economic issues. 1983-current.
HC 411 A7545 (PER; Also:) www.adb.org-> Select Economics & Statistics

BACKGROUND NOTES. U.S. Department of State. Current and historic political and economic overview.
www.state.gov/

BUSINESS GUIDE TO MODERN CHINA.
HF 3836.5 A47 1997 (RD)

CIA FACTBOOK. Includes country infrastructure and media data.
www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/ -> Select China from drop-down menu on left side of homepage.

CHINA AND THE WTO. Congressional Research Service. 9-21-2000. Background, outlook.
www.cnie.org/nle/crs

CHINA'S EMERGING PRIVATE ENTERPRISES: PROSPECTS FOR THE NEW CENTURY. International Finance Corporation. World Bank. 88 pages. Extensive bibliography.
www.ifc.org Search on Title.

* COUNTRY COMMERCIAL GUIDE. Annual, from 1996- Includes country background, historic trade data, current market research, country contacts and more.
www.usatrade.gov Select Market Research.

COUNTRY PROFILE: CHINA. EIU. Annual. 1988 - 2000.
HC 427.92 C67 (ST) Continued in BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER (EBSCO).

DOING BUSINESS WITH CHINA. Government policy. Industry and provincial profiles.
HF 3834 D655 2000 (RD)

THE ECONOMIST Magazine. Annual Survey.
www.economist.com/surveys

WORLD MARKETS ANALYSIS. Country analysis and forecast. Includes risk and industry reports.

DIRECTORIES and COMPANY PROFILES

10K WIZARD. Searchable SEC filings.
http://www.10kwizard.com To locate U.S. firms with China involvement, search keyword: china

AMERICAN BUSINESS IN CHINA. Annual.
HF 3128 A6 (RS)

ASIAN SOURCES DIRECTORY. A catalog of thousands of exporters. Brief company profiles. Search by country, detailed product or supplier.
www.asiansources.com

ASIA'S 7,500 LARGEST COMPANIES. Includes private companies. Ranked by sales, it shows sales per employee, profitability ratio, number of employees, assets and year established.
HF 5270 A742 (RD)

CHINA ONLINE.
www.chinaonline.com Click on Research Tools.

*CORPORATE INFORMATION. Financial profiles and analysis for about 150 Chinese companies. Search by country, industry or company name.
www.corporateinformation.com

* LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE.
Business-> Company Financials-> International Company Reports
A LIPPINCOTT DATABASE SEARCH AID is available for this database.

WORLD ACCESS NETWORK DIRECTORY. Search by country, province or city; by company, industry, product or service.
www.wand.com

NEWS

CHINA ECONOMIC REVIEW. 1989-current.
HC 426 C556 (PER) Also on LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE and FACTIVA.

CHINA BUSINESS REVIEW. Bi-monthly. U.S.-China Business Council. 1977-current. Features quarterly announcements of investments in and by China.
HF 3128 U58 (PER)
Selected articles are at www.chinabusinessreview.com

EIU COUNTRY COMMERCE. Business Asia. Biweekly.

FACTIVA. Publications Library. Includes about 50 China publications, including the Asian Wall Street Journal, Far Eastern Economic Review, AsiaMoney, Xinhua official news agency and South China Morning Post.
A LIPPINCOTT DATABASE SEARCH AID is available for this database.

HARVARD CHINA REVIEW. Quarterly, 1998-current. Investment, economy, trade, industry, finance.
DS 701 H378 (PER)

TRADE

See also LIPPINCOTT'S EXPORTING AND IMPORTING RESEARCH GUIDE.

CHINA ECONOMIC INFORMATION NETWORK. Description of investment opportunity projects in China Western Region.
www.chinawest.gov.cn/english/index.htm

CHINA GATEWAY. U.S. Int'l. Trade Commission. Pulls together government agencies' information. Includes state-by-state guide to doing business with China.
www.mac.doc.gov/china/chinagateway.html

CHINA.COM. Commodity data for China and trading partners.
www.china.com

EIU COUNTRY COMMERCE. Investing, licensing and trading.

FOREIGN DIRECT INVESTMENT AND ECONOMIC GROWTH IN CHINA. Includes trade statistics.
HG 5782 F67 (RS)

IMPORTS FROM CHINA BY INDUSTRIAL GROUPING. (SITC.) Annual from 1996; Monthly from 2000. Int'l Trade Commission.
http://ia.ita.doc.gov/monitor/china/

INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION. U.S. Dept of Commerce.
www.ita.doc.gov

CHINESE EXPORT PRODUCT CATALOG. Links to company self-profile. Some photos.
www.meetworldtrade.com

TRADE BETWEEN THE U.S. AND CHINA. USITC (U.S. International Trade Commission.) Quarterly.
Microfiche US.Doc ITC 1.13: (MF) Also 1989-current at www.dataweb.usitc.gov

TRADEPORT. International trade and export assistance. A comprehensive resource.
www.tradeport.org/ts/

LAW

CHINESE COMMERCIAL LAW. Wang.
KNQ 920 W36 2000 (RS)

EIU COUNTRY COMMERCE. Investing, licensing and trading.

MOFTEC. The Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Cooperation. Laws and regulations for trade, investment, customs, taxes and more.
www1.moftec.gov.cn

STATISTICS

*See also LIPPINCOTT'S INTERNATIONAL STATISTICS RESEARCH GUIDE.

ASIAN DEVELOPMENT BANK. Extensive tables: current, historic, forecasts. Country-specific and comparative.
http://www.adb.org Click on Economics and Statistics.

CHINA STATISTICAL YEARBOOK. National Statistical Bureau PRC. Annual. 1988- current. Content similar to U.S. Statistical Abstract, Economic Census and National Accounts Statistics. HA 4631 S728 (RS; Also on CD)
www.stats.gov.cn/yearbook/indexE.htm

THE WORLD BANK AND CHINA. Country Brief.
http://www.worldbank.org Click on Countries & Regions.

FINANCE

ASIA RISK. London. Financial Engineering, Ltd. Currencies, interest rates, equities, commodities, credit.
(PER; Latest two years only)

ASIAMONEY. 1993-Current.
HG 41 A83 (PER; Also:) euromoney.com (Free registration required.)

ASIAN DEVLOPMENT REVIEW. Asian Development Bank, Semi-annual. 1983-current. Studies of Asian and Pacific economic issues.
HC 411 A7545 (PER)

THE ASIAN VENTURE CAPITAL JOURNAL. Bimonthly.
HG 4503 A853

BANKSCOPE. Bureau Van Dijk. Financial reports of banks.

BLOOMBERG.
(ON) A LIPPINCOTT DATABASE SEARCH AID is available for this database.

EIU COUNTRY FINANCE. CHINA. EIU. Quarterly.

DATASTREAM. A numerical database of world equity and economic data. (ON)
A LIPPINCOTT DATABASE SEARCH AID is available for this database.

EMERGING STOCK MARKETS FACTBOOK. Annual.
HG 5993 E447 (RD)

FACTIVA. Companies/Markets. Detailed financial reports for traded companies.
A LIPPINCOTT DATABASE SEARCH AID is available for this database.

FIRST CALL.
Use the Advanced Search.

THE . . . GUIDE TO VENTURE CAPITAL IN ASIA. Annual.
HG 5701 G853 (RS)

IDS FINANCE. Company financials.
http://www.idsfinance.com

* LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE.
Business-> Company Financials-> International Company Reports

THOMSON RESEARCH (formerly Global Access). Financial filings for about 180 Chinese companies.
Select Databases-> Worldscope

MARKET RESEARCH

* BUSINESS & INDUSTRY. Industry overviews and market information.

COUNTRY COMMERCIAL GUIDE FOR CHINA.
www.tradeusa.gov Look under Business Center

E-BUSINESS FORUM. Doing E-Business in China.

EMARKETER. E-commerce and IT statistics.

* EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION.

GARTNER INTRAWEB. Information technology market information.

INFOTECH TRENDS. Information technology, Internet, high tech market data.

NATIONAL TRADE DATA BANK.
www.tradeport.org/ts Click on Market Research-> Country Library

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Locate other materials on this subject using the online catalog, FRANKLIN:
www.franklin.library.upenn.edu/

SUBJECT HEADINGS:

China - Economic Conditions 1976 -
China - Commerce
Investments, foreign - China
International Business Enterprises - China

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*