For Chinese-language materials in FRANKLIN, set Language limit.
Reports, Analysis & Statistics, nbsp; Meetings & Events, Directory of Major US corporations in China)
US Exports to China by State 2000 - 2007 + useful links to additional resources.
For the full text of
China Business Review cited articles, 1988 - current, open ABI/Inform
database
COMPUSTAT GLOBAL AND EMERGING MARKETS. Database. Company financials/market data.
Includes S&P Global (S&P/IFCG) Index and IFC Investible (IFCI) index series. Annual, (when available) from 1975.
Monthly, from 1986. In WRDS
DATASTREAM. Global time series database for financial instruments, equities, commodities and economic indicators. MERGENT WEB. Image version of Mergent
Manual. 1981 - current
MERGENT ONLINE NEWS/INDEX UPDATES / DIVIDEND RECORD
& NEW LISTINGS Select: Downloads
Includes
Complete Corporate Indices, 2004 - current (Bottom of News Reports page). mergent.com/
ORBIS. More than 366,000 public & private China firms.
Financials, Filings, Company & Industry market research reports, Mergers, Competitors, News and more.
+OSIRIS. Public Companies
+RANKING of CHINESE MULTINATIONAL
ENTERPRISES 2007. Columbia U.
THOMSON RESEARCH. Public companies.
Select WORLDSCOPE
+ QIN 300,000 + Public and private companies in
mainland China the coverage is predominantly private companies. Up to three years financial history.
OVERVIEWS
ASIAN DEVELOPMENT BANK: CHINA.Country Partnership Strategy: Peoples Republic of China
20082010. 146 pages. Also Economic Review, Key Indicators, Annual China Outlook.
adb.org/prc/
BRAND CHINA (National Image) 2007.
Foreign Policy Centre. a UK Think Tank. 49 pages. + other papers.
fpc.org.uk/
BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER BSP) database
Easy. Example: Find all BSP country reports for China
Type:
china or hong kong or taiwan in TI Title -> Search. Now select Country
Reports (in left frame, under Publication type)
Advanced. . Example:
Find specific BSP publications.
Type: SO (Source): country profile;
(and) TI (Title) : hong kong.
- country profile Annual, 1996 - current.
Economist Intelligence Unit. (EIU)
- country report Monthly, 1996 - current.
EIU.
- asia monitor Monthly. (Includes Risk Summary)
Business Monitor International (BMI ) 2002 - current.
- emerging markets monitor Weekly. BMI
- china business forecast report. Quarterly.
Charts annual forecasts to 2010. (No Taiwan or Hong Kong)
BMI
- country monitor . Monthly, 1998 - current. Global Insight.
- china country review. Annual, 2000 - current. (No Taiwan or Hong
Kong) CountryWatch.
- industry profile 2004, 2006. About 20 profiles per month.
Datamonitor.
- political risk yearbook PRS Group. 2003 - current.
- background notes. Annual, 2004 - current. (Includes Macau) US Dept of State.
CHINA and the CHALLENGE of ECONOMIC GLOBALIZATION The Impact of WTO Membership.
HF 3836.5 C4583 2006. (Lippincott Reserve Shelves 2nf flr.)
+ CHINA QUARTERLY UPDATE. World Bank. Recent
economic and social developments +policies.
The China Source Book by TNS
Research. "A collection of insights into Chinas consumers in the year of the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games. "
tnsglobal.com/news/key-insight-reports
COUNTRY PROFILE CHINA. EIU Economist Intelligence Unit. Annual,
1988-2000. (Continued in Business Source Premier database- 1 year delay) #160;
HC 427.92 C67 (Lippincott 3rd flr. stacks)
ECONOMIST.COM/CHINA. The Economist.
Reports, News, Features. economist.com/china
+ FITA's CHINA BUSINESS GUIDE. The Federation
of International Trade Associations.
* + THE OUTLINE of the ELEVENTH FIVE-YEAR PLAN for NATIONAL ECONOMIC &
SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT of the PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC of CHINA National Development and Reform
Commission (NDRC) en.ndrc.gov.cn/
** + PRC GOVERNMENT OFFICIAL WEB SITE Fact File, Services,
Business, Jobs. english.gov.cn/
US CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH REPORTS. .
Scroll down to :CHINA /TAIWAN. N.B.: China's Economic Conditions, 5/13/08 (Analysis and
Statistics, 30 pages) . fas.org/sgp/crs/row/
TRADE / INVESTMENT
Top Resources
ASIAN PRIVATE EQUITY 300. Annual, 1998, 2000 - current. HG5701 .G853
(Lippincott Reference Desk)
BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER
Datamonitor Industry Profiles.
Search on : datamonitor (in AB Abstract) AND china in GE Geographic Terms
Datamonitor SWOT Analyses (Company Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats)
  Search on : swot in TI Title AND china in GE Geographic Terms.
CHINA BUSINESS INFORMATION CENTER. US Gov't Export Portal.
Trade Leads, Events + much more.
Select Industry
Information for MARKET RESEARCH and COUNTRY COMMERCIAL GUIDES
Free registration may be required. China,
Hong Kong, Macau. Annual. export.gov/china/
** +CHINA INTERNET NETWORK INFORMATION CENTER.China Online Search Market
Survey. Statistical Reports on the Internet Development in China. cnnic.net.cn/
CHINA PULSE Monthly.
Current Market Research Reports. Statistics, Management briefings. export.gov/china/chinapulse/
CHINA VENTURE CAPITAL YEARBOOK by Euromoney Institutional Investor.
in ISI EMERGING MARKETS
CHINA'S INFORMATION REVOLUTION: Managing Economic & Social
Transformation. [In World Bank E-Library] Search on: Title china
AND Subject Information and Communication Technologies
+DOING BUSINESS IN CHINA. 2008. World Bank.
90 pages
Part I: Indicators, Rankings. Part II: Case Studies.
province and city statistics. doingbusiness.org/china
EIU COUNTRY COMMERCE. CHINA. Annual, 1996 -
current. Comprehensive. Legal, Regulatory, Investment, Market conditions + more.
EIU COUNTRY FORECAST. CHINA Quarterly, 1996 - current.
(Sometimes reload is neccessary to access premium edition of EIU Commerce and Forecast reports.)
FDI.NET Foreign Direct Investment, Privatization, Industry Reports. Market
Research. + more.
Highly recommended gateway to in-depth reports from agencies and prominent consulting firms.
fdi.net/
+ DOW JONES FACTIVA (Select Search --> Search Builder from the top tool bar.)
- EIU Viewswire. Daily, from 2005-current. Finance, Economy and Business analyses.
Forecasts, Statistics.
Search on:
sn=viewswire and re=china (Source Name; Region)
- EIU Business China. Newsletter for foreign managers in China. Fortnightly, 1996-
current.
Search on: sn=business
china Print, 1983-1998: HD 69.I7 B833 (ST)
- Daily stock prices, from 2 years back. Select COMPANIES / MARKETS in tool
bar.
Investment Analyst Reports. Company & Industry reports
FIRST CALL. [In left panel, scroll down to
"Screening."]
INVESTEXT on Thomson Research. RESEARCH ON DEMAND
Trade / Investment -- Continued
** + APPAREL & TEXTILES - CHINA BUSINESS RESOURCES.
Posted by American Apparel & Footwear Assoc. Industry Reports are in Chinese
language only. apparelandfootwear.org/Resources/
+ CAIJING. Biweekly, 2004 - current.
Independent? Chinese business journal. caijing.hexun.com/
** + CHINA BANKING REGULATORY COMMISSION. News, Rules, Statistics.
cbrc.gov.cn/
CHINA BUSINESS PARKS. Jones, Lang,
LaSalle. 18 pages.
** + CHINA COUNCIL FOR PROMOTION OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE (CCPIT) 1.) Industry
reports: Auto, Electronic, Machinery, Mining, Textile.
About 300 pages each.
Scroll down Left Frame to Publications. Select
China Business Guide (All reports will be downloaded together [be patient] but can be viewed
separately.)
2) China's Energy Conditions & Policies 2007 23 pages.
bizchinanow.com/
China Business Review.. Bi-monthly, Abstracts: 1981 - current.
Full Text: 1988 - current. US-China Business Council.
Print: 1977-current: HF 3128 U58 (Lippincott
Periodicals,2nd flr)
China Economic Review. Quarterly, from 1995-current.
Print ; 1989-current: HC 426 C556 | (Lippincott Periodicals)
** + CHINA INTERNATIONAL ELECTRONIC COMMERCE NETWORK Trade,
Industry, Investment data and news. + Government official business policy announcements and news. | ec.cn/
+ THE CHINA INTERNET REPORT. May, 2004.
Morgan Stanley. The famous Mary Meeker report. 217 pages.
morganstanley.com/institutional/techresearch/
** + CHINA MINISTRY OF COMMERCE . Trade and investment regulations, taxation,
statistics, banking/finance description. Export/import data, daily news.
english.mofcom.gov.cn
** + CHINA MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY. Statistics Data Book. Annual,
from 1998. Also laws for patents, copyright, trademarks, and contracts.
Programs, projects, newsletters. Links to China tech sites.
most.gov.cn/
** CHINA STATE POWER INFORMATION NETWORK | sp-china.com/
** + CHINA STOCK MARKETS WEB [in left
frame] Fact books, Rules, Prices, History, Member lists Hong Kong,
Shanghai, Shenzhen. hkex.com.hk/
http://www.sp-china.com/
CHINA SUPPLY CHAIN & LOGISTICS STRATEGY -
information, news, advice.
** + ECONOMY & TRADE. Embassy of the PRC in the
US. us2.mofcom.gov.cn/
Guide to China's Automotive Market. Annual, 2004-current. Company profiles,
Sales/Production, Joint ventures, Global suppliers
In AUTOMOTIVE NEWS DATA CENTER.(Available in Lippincott Library only -
Ask at reference desk.)
Harvard China Review. Quarterly, 1998-current. Investment, economy, trade, industry, finance.
DS 701 H378
(Lippincott Periodicals)
+ INTERNATIONAL FINANCE CORPORATION (World
Bank) Step by Step: Corporate Governance Models in China.
ifc.org/ifcext/home.nsf/Content/Corporate_Governance/
INTERNATIONAL TAX and BUSINESS GUIDE. Deloitte.
China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macau. deloittetaxguides.com/
OPTIONS FOR RESISTANCE
STRATEGIES OF LOCAL CHINESE COMPANIES AGAINST FOREIGN COMPETITION IN THE CHINESE CONSUMER GOODS
MARKET a 300+ page dissertation with an extensive and very useful bibliography.
PRICEWATERHOUSECOOPERS. China Updates on Taxes, Industry Investment, M and A /
Private Equity, Customs, IPOs, Economic Regulations + more. pwccn.com/
SMART CHINA SOURCING Practical, step-by-step
guidelines for US importers by current practitioners. smartchinasourcing.com/
** + STATE INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY OFFICE OF THE PRC.
Patent search database and regulations. sipo.gov.cn/sipo_English/
US CHINA COMMISSION. Includes Annual Report to
Congress. Economic, Trade, Security. 405 Pages.
uscc.gov/
STATISTICS -- Top Resources
ALMANAC OF CHINA'S FINANCE AND BANKING. 2001-2003, 2005 . (2007 ed. on order 8-08)
HG 3331 C49 (Lippincott Reference Stacks)
CEIC. Macro-economic, Industrial, Population and Financial time-
series data.CEIC Search Aid.
China Consumer Survey Annual.
Mckinsey & co. mckinsey.com/ideas/infocus/china/
** + CHINA .ORG. 2000 - current; Industry
Updates; FDI; Real Estate market: HK, Macao and Shanghai; (+many more useful
statistics) Select Business -> Statistics china.org.cn/
+ CHINA DATA / STATISTICS. World
Bank. worldbank.org/china
+CHINA MARKETS YEARBOOK HC426 .C4845 (RD)
** + NATIONAL BUREAU of STATISTICS of CHINA. Includes
Social Statistics Yearbook Content similar to US Statistical Abstract, Economic census and National Accounts
Statistics.
Print: With CD. 1988 - current. HA 4631 S728
(Lippincott Reference Desk) Also at Van Pelt Reference.
ASIAN HISTORICAL STATISTICS PROJECT.
Hitotsubashi University.
National Accounts. Peoples's Republic of China,1952-1995.
Taiwan 1910 - 1990
+ THE DOW JONES CHINA INDEXES (Left Frame)
djindexes.com/
** +PEOPLE'S BANK OF CHINA. Monetary policy, currency/stock statistics + much
more. Industry / Financial Performance Some data in Chinese language
only. pbc.gov.cn/english/
Statistics -- Continued
BANK OF FINLAND. Macroeconomic, | Fiscal, Monetary indicators. |Forecast:
2008 - 2010
Annual, with monthly update. Bank of Finland. suomenpankki.fi/bofit/
CHINA AGRICULTURAL & ECONOMIC STATISTICS. USDA. Economic
Research Bureau.
** CHINA TOURISM STATISTICS. National Tourist Office. cnto.org/
IEA International Energy Admistration China Page.
** +MACAO CENSUS & STATISTICS SERVICE.
dsec.gov.mo/
Hong Kong Statistics
** + BUSINESS-STAT ONLINE. Hong Kong Trade Development Council.
Trade, service, employment and more. stat.tdctrade.com/
** + HONG KONG CENSUS & STATISTICS DEPT. | censtatd.gov.hk/
** + HONG KONG MONETARY AUTHORITY. Monthly Statistical
Bulletin. From 2003-current.
Economic / Financial data. info.gov.hk/hkma/eng/statistics/index.htm/
** + HONG KONG MORTGAGE CORP., LTD. Bi-monthly or monthly from 1998. Activities and
rates. hkmc.com.hk/
Taiwan (Republic of China) Statistics
ASIAN HISTORICAL STATISTICS PROJECT.
Hitotsubashi University.
National Accounts. Taiwan 1910 - 1990
** + Financial Statistics Monthly > Taiwan District. Republic of China.
Central Bank of China
1981 - current. HG 187 T28 F56 (Lippincott Periodicals)
** + STATISTICAL YEARBOOK OF THE REPUBLIC OF CHINA 1975,1977- 1984,1986-
2004. Central Bank of China. HA1710.5 .S828 (Van Pelt Reference Stacks)
Monthly
Bulletin of Statistics - Republic of China Update to Yearbook above. HA1710.5 .S8281
(Van Pelt Reference Stacks)
** + TAIWAN MINISTRY of ECONOMIC AFFAIRS. Dep't of
Investment Services. Daily News, Economic Indicators, Links to Industry Statistics, Case
Studies, Business Expenses, Laws. w2kdmz1.moea.gov.tw/english/
** + TAIWAN MINISTRY OF TRANSPORTATION & COMMUNICATIONS. Monthly, from
2004. Annual, from 1996. motc.gov.tw/
** +TAIWAN (Republic of China) NATIONAL STATISTICS Bi-monthly or monthly from 1998 -
current. stat.gov.tw/
DIRECTORIES
AMERICAN BUSINESS IN CHINA. Annual. HF 3128 A6 (Lippincott Reference Stacks)
CATALOGS: Export / Import. Products, specs, illustrations, contacts. These do not duplicate one
another:
ALIBABA alibaba.com/
ASIAN SOURCES.
globalsources.com/ + MADE-IN-CHINA Search on product, company, sector.
+TDC TRADE
Hong Kong Trade Development Council. Hong Kong suppliers. tdctrade.com
** +CHINA COMMODITY NET. | Illustrated product catalog. | Also: Industry market research
reports. | ccne.mofcom.gov.cn/
+ CHINA PHARMACEUTICAL / CHEMICAL NETWORK.
chinapharm-chemnet.com/
KIDON MEDIA LINK. Newspapers and TV stations,
by province. China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao. kidon.com/media-link/index.shtml/
MAPS OF CHINA. Open World Ltd. Chinese cities, provinces and regions.
maps-of-china.com/
US - CHINA BUSINESS DIRECTORY.
US - China Business Council. Company supplied descriptions.
chinabusinessreview.com/directory/
NEWS / JOBS
+ABI/INFORM PROQUEST. Business articles database.
Chinese language Search Interface and article translation.
AdAgeCHINA. 1992 - current.
+ AUTOMOTIVE NEWS CHINA Register for free
weekly newsletter. autonewschina.com/
+ BBC NEWS. Business, Market data, E-commerce, Media, Economy.
news.bbc.co.uk/topics/
BEIJING ECONOMY. World News Network. Daily. Current news.
Includes many
regional and international publications. Links to useful sites. Searchable. beijingeconomy.com/"
** + BIZCHINA China Daily business
news.
** + CCTV . China Central Television Network english.cctv.com/
+ CHINA ACADEMIC JOURNALS A searchable collection of hundreds of
ejournals managed by the Tsing Hwa University in Taiwan. Penn subscribes to Series F (Literature, History, and Philosophy), G
(Economics, Politics, Law), and H (Education, Social Science).
+ CHINA JOBS | 51.job.com/
Chinese Language Publications:
** + Beijing Review. Weekly, 2004-
current. bjreview.com.cn/
+ China Times. Taiwan.
Daily. chinatimes.com/
** + CHINA VIEW / Business
chinaview.cn/business/
+ United Daily News.
Taiwan. udn.com.tw/
+ XINHUA NEWS AGENCY
xinhuanet.com
** + Highlights of major Chinese Newspapers
xinhuanet.org/
+ Yazhou Zhaukon/"> yzzk.com/
+ DOW JONES FACTIVA
Dow Jones Chinese
Financial Wire. [ rst=DJCFWE] IRASIA.
;Investor Relations Asia Pacific. (includes biographical information);
Asia Pulse, AsiaMoney, Wall Street
Journal Asia, The Economist and many regional publications, including South China Morning Post.
Wall Street Journal - Chinese language edition. Search on Source Code:
sc=wsjcn
Gateway Service Center of Chinese Academic
Journal Publications
Researchers can download articles from Chinese university periodical collections free of charge via the U
of Pittsburgh.
library.pitt.edu/libraries/eal/Gateway-Form.htm
JOBS IN CHINA. info.jobchina.net/
PRICEWATERHOUSECOOPERS CHINA. Careers With Us.
nbsp; pwccn.com/
Find Substantial China Information in: