Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Commodities, Futures and Options - Research Guide

Prepared by Linda Eichler
Lippincott Library

HANDBOOKS, MANUALS and GUIDES DIRECTORIES BOOKS
JOURNALS and NEWSPAPERS ANNUAL REPORTS WEBSITES
FUTURES, OPTIONS AND OPTIONS ON FUTURES TRADING STATISTICS LOCATION CODES

WEBSITES

FUTURES, OPTIONS AND COMMODITIES.

HANDBOOKS, MANUALS and GUIDES

BRIDGE HANDBOOK OF WORLD STOCK & COMMODITY EXHANGES.
HG 4551 H32 (RD)

COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING: BIBLIOGRAPHY. 1967/76-1995.
HG 6046 C5476 (RS)

COMMODITY PRICES.
HB 235 U6 C65 (RD)

COMPLETE GUIDE TO OPTION PRICING FORMULAS.
HG 6024 A3 H38 (RS)

CRB COMMODITY YEARBOOK. Knight-Ridder. 1939-
HF 1041 C56 (RD)

HANDBOOK OF DERIVATIVES INSTRUMENTS.
HG 6024.3 H37 (RS)

HANDBOOK OF MANAGED FUTURES.
HG 6024 A3 H362 (RS)

DIRECTORIES

COMPLETE COMMODITY FUTURES DIRECTORY. [Loose-leaf]
HG 4907 C65 (RD)

DIRECTORY OF LISTED DERIVATIVES CONTRACTS.
HG 6024 A3 R628 (RD)

FUTURES AND OPTIONS WORLD DIRECTORY & REVIEW. 1995.
HG 6024 A3 F9832 (RD)

FUTURES SOURCEBOOK.
HG 6046 C5775 (RD)

GUIDE TO WORLD COMMODITY MARKETS - PHYSICAL, FUTURES & OPTIONS TRADING.
HG 6046 G84 (RS)

MSCI HANDBOOK OF WORLD STOCK AND COMMODITY EXCHANGES.
HG 4551 H32 (RD)


STATISTICS AND EXCHANGES

DATASTREAM. [Commodities, futures, options; real-time and time series; financial and commodity futures market data from major international markets. (ON)

CHICAGO BOARD OF TRADE. STATISTICAL ANNUAL.
HG 6049 S7a and HG 6049 S7b (Latest-RS; Others-ST) 1979- HG 6049 S7 (ST) 1969-1978

CHICAGO BOARD OF TRADE. STATISTICAL ANNUAL SUPPLEMENT. 1986-1987; 1989-1993.
HG 6049 S72 (RS; Also:) www.cbot.com

CHICAGO BOARD OPTIONS EXCHANGE. MARKET STATISTICS. 1984-1991.
HG 5131 C4 C45a (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Also:) www.cboe.com

CHICAGO MERCANTILE EXCHANGE.
www.cme.com

CHICAGO MERCANTILE EXCHANGE. STATISTICAL YEARBOOK. 1984-1989.
HG 6046 C5542 (Latest-RS; Others-ST) [Not currently received. Formed by the merger of:]
INTERNATIONAL MONETARY MARKET YEARBOOK. HG 3881 I6459 (ST) 1973/74-1983;
YEARBOOK-CHICAGO MERCANTILE EXCHANGE. HG 6046 C57 (ST) 1954/55-1983;
YEARBOOK/INDEX AND OPTION MARKET. HG 6049 Y4 (ST) 1982-1983.

COFFEE, SUGAR & COCOA EXCHANGE. STATISTICAL ANNUAL. 1980/82-1995-
HG 6047 C57 S7 (Latest-RS; Others-ST) www.csce.com

COMMODITY EXCHANGE. COMEX STATISTICAL YEARBOOK. 1977-87, 1989.
HG 6046 C633a (RS)

COMMODITY PERSPECTIVES ENCYCLOPEDIA OF HISTORICAL CHARTS.
FINANCIAL PRODUCTS. HG 6024.3 C664 (RS)
AGRICULTURAL PRODUCTS. HG 6024.3 C66 (RS)

KANSAS CITY (MO.) BOARD OF TRADE.
www.kcbt.com

KANSAS CITY (MO.) BOARD OF TRADE. ANNUAL STATISTICAL REPORT. 1925-1994.
HD 9008 K2 K3 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

MINNEAPOLIS GRAIN EXCHANGE.
www.mgex.com

MINNEAPOLIS GRAIN EXCHANGE. STATISTICAL ANNUAL. 1981-1998.
HD 9038 M5 M53 (Latest-RS, Others-ST)

NEW YORK MERCANTILE EXCHANGE. (NYMEX/COMEX)
www.nymex.com


ANNUAL REPORTS

CHICAGO MERCANTILE EXCHANGE. ANNUAL REPORT. 1985-1988; 1990-1993; 1995.
HG 6046 C553 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

COFFEE, SUGAR & COCOA EXCHANGE. ANNUAL REPORT.
HD 9199 A2 C645 (Latest-RS; Others-ST) 1979-

COMMODITY EXCHANGE. COMEX ANNUAL REPORT. 1979-83; 1986-1987.
HG 6046 C632 (Latest-RS; Others-PC)

COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING COMMISSION.
www.cftc.gov

UNITED STATES. COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING COMMISSION (CTFC.) ANNUAL REPORT. 1975/76-
HG 6046 U625a (ST)


JOURNALS AND NEWSPAPERS

(Current-PER; Others-Consult PER)

BARRON'S. NATIONAL BUSINESS AND FINANCIAL WEEKLY.
HG 1 B3 and Microfilm 1921- Also on FACTIVA.

FACTIVA.

FUTURES.
HG 6046 C57 1983-

INVESTOR'S BUSINESS DAILY.
Latest 3 months only retained.

JOURNAL OF FUTURES MARKETS.
HG 6001 J68 1981- (Also Library E-Journal)

RISK.
HG 4502 R575 1996-

WALL STREET JOURNAL. 1959-1984.
(MT); also 1979- on FACTIVA.

BOOKS

Search FRANKLIN under author, title, subject, or keyword. Suggested LC headings:

commodity exchanges stock options
futures markets foreign exchange funds
options interest rate futures
hedging (finance)

SELECTED EXAMPLES OF FUTURES, OPTIONS, and OPTIONS ON FUTURES TRADING

I. FUTURES

A. FUTURES ON STOCK INDEXES

  1. S&P 500 Index. Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME)
  2. NYSE Composite Index. New York Futures Exchange (NYFE)
  3. Major Market Index. Chicago Board of Trade (CBOT)
  4. Financial Times Stock Exchange 100 Index (FTSE 100) London
  5. International Financial Futures Exchange (LIFFE)

B. FUTURES ON CURRENCIES

  1. Japanese Yen, British Pound, Canadian Dollar etc.
    International Monetary Market (IMM=Part of the CME)

C. FUTURES ON INTEREST RATE INSTRUMENTS

  1. U.S. Treasury Bonds, Notes and Bills. (CBOT & IMM)
  2. Eurodollar. (IMM and LIFFE)

D. COMMODITY FUTURES

  1. Gold, Silver, Copper Commodity Exchange. (COMEX)
  2. Corn, Soybeans, Wheat. (CBOT)
  3. Crude Oil, Heating Oil. New York Mercantile Exchange (NYME)

II. OPTIONS (Puts and Calls)

A. OPTIONS ON INDEXES

  1. S&P 100 Index Options and S&P 500 Index Options. Chicago Board of Options Exchange (CBOE)
  2. Financial Times Stock Exchange 100 Index Options. London Stock Exchange
  3. Major Market Index Options. American Exchange
  4. NYSE Index Options. New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)
  5. Value Line Index Options. Philadelphia Exchange

B. OPTIONS ON CURRENCIES

  1. British Pound, German Mark, Japanese Yen, etc. Philadelphia Exchange

C. OPTIONS ON INTEREST RATE INSTRUMENTS

  1. Short Term and Long Term Interest Rates. CBOE

D. OPTIONS ON INDIVIDUAL STOCKS

  1. IBM, UAL, GE etc., CBOE, American, NYSE, Philadelphia, Pacific

III. OPTIONS ON FUTURES (Futures Options)

A. FUTURES OPTIONS ON INDEXES

  1. S&P 500 Index Futures Option. CME
  2. New York Futures Exchange Composite Futures Option. NYFE

B. FUTURES OPTIONS ON CURRENCIES

  1. Japanese Yen, German Mark, Swiss Franc etc. IMM

C. FUTURES OPTIONS ON INTEREST RATE INSTRUMENTS

  1. T Bond Futures Options and T Note Futures Options. CBOT
  2. Eurodollar Futures Option. IMM and LIFFE

D. FUTURES OPTIONS ON COMMODITIES

  1. Agricultural. CBOT
  2. Metals. COMEX

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*