Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Company Information

Contact: Mia Wells
Lippincott Library

COMPANY DIRECTORIES & PROFILES COMPANY FINANCIALS ANALYST REPORTS
ARTICLES COMPANY HISTORIES LOCATION CODES


Company Directories & Profiles

Corporate Affiliations. A directory of corporate structure information, with contact information and subsidiary listings, of more than 170,000 parent companies (both public and private).

Datamonitor. Company profiles, sometimes including SWOT analyses, key employee biographies, competitor information, and more.

Sample Search   To use Datamonitor via Business Source Complete, scroll over More in the green toolbar at the top of the page, then click on Company Profiles. Search by company name in the Browse for: box.

Sample Search   To use Datamonitor via Osiris, click on Expert Search in the left toolbar. Click on the orange chevron symbol, tabbed at the top of the page. Choose the Companies tab and search by company name.

Hoover's Online (International Company Directory) . Hoover's provides company profiles, key employee profiles, industry information, financial data, and strategic information on more than 12 million companies worldwide.

Sample Search   Search by company name on the default main page, or use the Build A List function to search/screen for companies by industry classification, geography, sales, etc.

The following print titles are also available from Hoover's:
Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
HF3000 .H668 (PC) 1997-1998, 2000-2007

Hoover's Handbook of American Business
HG4057 .A28617 (PC) 1995, 1997-2001, 2003-2007

Orbis. Search for company profiles, financial ratios, and more in this database, which covers 10 million public and private companies worldwide.

Sample Search   First use the drop-down menus to choose the library's country (United States) and state (Pennsylvania), then click OK. When you've entered the database, enter the company's name or some other identifying characteristic, then click OK. Finally, choose Company Report in the blue toolbar at the top of the screen.

ReferenceUSA. Search for company profiles, financial data, general expenditures, and in-depth geographical information for each company (including nearby businesses and latitude/longitude).

Sample Search   Choose U.S. Businesses in the lefthand menu. Select the blue Guided Search tab. Choose criteria from one or each of the steps that follow. Once you've entered all your screening characteristics, click on View Results.



Company Financials

Compustat. Key financial data, annual and quarterly income statements & balance sheets, etc. Public companies only.

Sample Search   To use Compustat via Market Insight, click on Company from the top toolbar once you've entered the database. Search for your company by ticker, then click on the Excel Analytics link to find annual and quarterly balance sheets, income statements, and ratios.

Sample Search   Note: This option is only available to members of the Wharton community.
To use Compustat within WRDS, click Members Login. Sign in using your Wharton username and password (not your PennKey). Choose COMPUSTAT North America. Use the lefthand menu to then navigate to the statements you are interested in (e.g. Financial Statements - Annually Updated).

Hoover's Online (International Company Directory) .

Sample Search   Search by company name or ticker on the default main page. Once you have located your company's profile, click on Financial Data in the lefthand menu for detailed company financials and market data.

Osiris. Use this database to find financial information and filings data from over 31,000 companies listed in 125 countries worldwide.

Sample Search   Click on Expert Search in lefthand menu, then search by Company Name. Once you've selected your company of choice, click on Financials & Ratios in the lefthand menu to find balance sheets, income statements, and financial ratios.

Thomson ONE. Financial fundamentals, corporate filings, and more, as well as research and earnings estimates.

Sample Search   Search by company name or ticker. Once the Company Overview appears, click on Fundamentals in the lefthand menu, then choose Financial Reports or Reuters Fundamentals.
Note: this resource only works using Internet Explorer; the page will not load correctly in Firefox, Safari, Chrome, etc.



Analyst Reports

Thomson ONE. Enter a company's ticker in the top left corner, then click on Research, under the Company Views menu, to find the latest published analyst reports on that company. Or, use the Screening & Analysis menu to click on Research then choose Research Search to conduct an Advanced Search for reports by company, industry, region, contributor, date, etc.

Note: this resource only works using Internet Explorer; the page will not load correctly in Firefox, Safari, Chrome, etc.



Articles

ABI/Inform. Business literature database covering thousands of scholarly and trade publications.

Sample Search   Enter your company's name in the search box and choose Company/Org from the drop-down menu. Include any related keywords of interest in the additional search boxes, then click Search.

Business Source Complete. Similar to ABI/Inform, this business literature database searches for scholarly and trade articles, as well as industry, market, and country profiles.

Sample Search   Enter your company's name in the search box and choose CO Company Entity from the drop-down menu, then include any additional keywords of interest to your search. Click Search.

Dow Jones Factiva. News articles from over 9,000 publications, updated daily.

Sample Search   Start by clicking on Search in the green toolbar at the top of the page. Click on Company then perform a Find a Company search in the box that appears. When you see its name, click on it (it will highlight in pink). Add any additional keywords of interest in the Free Text search box. When you're finished, click on the Run Search button at the bottom of the screen.

Business and Industry. Articles from trade publications, with special focuses on advertising and marketing.

Sample Search   Input your company's name in the Company: search box. Choose other search criteria, such as Concept Terms or Marketing Terms that you would like the articles to mention. Check off the Must Contain Table box if the article must include a data chart or table.



Company Histories

Please see the Lippincott Library research guide on this topic, Business History Resources.


Location Codes

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*