Sidebar
Main Content
Market Research / Consumer Behavior / Demographics
Prepared by Terese TerryLippincott Library
Franklin Card Catalog Subject Headings:
CONSUMER BEHAVIOR CONSUMERS' PREFERENCES MARKET SHARE MARKET SURVEYS MARKETING MARKETING RESEARCH
See also Lippincott Research Guides:
INFORMATION / COMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY & New Media MARKET INTELLIGENCE MARKETING - the SMART INTERVIEW RETAIL TRADE
For Industry Market Research: See INDUSTRY STUDIES Research Guide
Penn Market Research Databases. All have global coverage, except where noted.
Type the database name in the FindIt box onLippincott Library home page.- BizMiner. US. Company, Industry
- Business Source Premier. Datamonitor Company Profiles.
- Business Monitor International. Industry focused.
- EMarketer. Consumer, Information Technology, General.
- Euromonitor. Consumer focused. Global demographics.
- Faulkner. IT.
- Forrester. IT
- Gartner. IT
- Global Markets Direct. In Lexis Academic database. Company. Includes key biographies.
- ISI Emerging Markets.Company, Industry, Country. Includes EIU Industry Wire and Access Asia (China Market research)
- MRI+. Media, Consumer Products
- MarketResearch.com. General
- Mergent Horizon. US. Industry.
- Mergent Web. Industry.
- Mintel. Consumer
- Business Insight. Health, Consumer, Tech.
- See also: EXPORT.GOV. non-US markets. Industry (Free registration required)
- See also: SIMMONS Markets and Media -Choices III and other Lippincott CD/Roms with demographic data.
PENN RESOURCES
New Strategist Publications, located througout the Penn libraries' reference areas, provide tabular American demographic and lifestyle data. Below is a partial list. New NS titles are added regularly.
To identify others, search on Author: new strategist in Franklin, the online card catalog.
- American Incomes : Demographics of Who has Money HC110.I5 A59 (RD)
- Who's Buying by Age HF5415.33.U6 W45 (Lippincott RD)
- Racial and ethnic diversity : Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, & whites. E184.A1 R317 (Van Pelt RS)
- Millennials : Americans born 1977 to 1994. HQ796 .M4797 (Van Pelt RS)
- Baby boom : Americans born 1946 to 1964 . HN60 .R84 (Van Pelt)
- American women : who they are & how they live . HQ1421 .A486 (Van Pelt RS)
- Who we are : Hispanics E184.S75 W48 (Van Pelt Reference Stacks)
- The American Marketplace. Demographics & Spending Patterns. HA214 .A6 (RD)
BUSINESS & INDUSTRY. Trade journals and newsletters. Select consumer behavior in "Marketing Term" box.
BUSINESS INSIGHTS. Case Studies, Consumer Surveys and Market Research Reports.
Also
includes reports by TNS, IMS Health, Ecofys (Green Energy), Verdict Research + others.
BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER.
Type: surveys in Subject AND Type a term such as banking or
boomers in Default.
Check to make sure boxes are connected with the AND command.
COMMUNITY SOURCEBOOK- AMERICA with ArcReader. 2004 - 2007. ESRI. Current edition is loaded in Lippincott Library Synder Computer Area.
DATAPEDIA of the UNITED STATES: American history in numbers. 1790-2005. | HA202 .K87 2007 | Van Pelt Library Reference DeskDMEF. Direct Marketing Educational Foundation. in (WRDS) Buying history for 100,000 + customers of major catalog and non-profit businesses.
E-MARKETER "Digital Intelligence" Internet / Electronic consumer demographics
EDITOR & PUBLISHER MARKET GUIDE. Annual, 1991-1996, 1998, 2000-current U.S. & Canada market rankings. population, ages, and ethnicity estimates. HF5905 .E38 (Annenberg Library Circulation Desk)
EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION. Market size, economic indicators, consumer data tables. Also in-depth market research reports.
FOOD INDUSTRY REVIEW US. Annual, 2005 - current. The Food Institute.
Demographics of consumer food spending and consumption; item sales; restaurant and market trends. HD 9004 F665 (RS)
in: BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER , 1997 - 2007. in: DOW JONES FACTIVA 2002 - current
Print: 1972, 1975-1980, 1983 - 1997 HD69.I7 B814 (RS); 1993 - 1998 HD69.I7 B829 (3rd Flr Lippincott Stacks)
Journal of Consumer Research 1974-current. (Also BUSINESS PERIODICALS ON DISC and Microtext -- Lippincott 2nd flr) Print: HF 5415.3 J687 (Lippincott Periodicals)
LEXIS STATISTICAL aka Statistical Universe. Global. Index to statistical reports by private and government associations and organizations.
LIFESTYLE MARKET ANALYST. US. in SRDS as Local Market Audience Analyst. Print: 1990 - 2008. HF 5415.33 U6 L54 (RD)
MRI+ . MediaMark.
Part I -- Magazine, Cable and Web statistics.
Part II -- Detailed consumer product and media preferences statistics.
One-time registration required.
How to Read an MRI Report
MARKET-RESEARCH-COM US Focus. Reports by Kalorama, Packaged Facts, SBI and Icon Group.
MINTEL REPORTS. Market research. European and US consumer markets. Trends, Forecasts and Major players.
PROMT Important database for consumer research findings news.
PSYCHINFO. Professional/scholarly articles, book chapters and dissertation citations.
SIMMONS MARKETS AND MEDIA--CHOICES III. Consumer profiles for products and media. (CD) Simmons Choices III--Help Guide.
SPORTS BUSINESS RESEARCH NETWORK. Sports attendance, apparel, participation, equipment, expenditures, consumption, by type and specific product.
STATISTICAL FACT BOOK. with CD. Direct Marketing Association. Annual, 2002-current. Buying habits, costs, trends, fulfillment trends and international
marketing.
HF 5410 S738 (RD)
SURVEY OF BUYING POWER AND MEDIA MARKETS. by Sales & Marketing Management magazine. Annual. 1975 - 2005. HF 5438 A34 Suppl. (Lippincott 3rd Flr Stacks)
WORLD DEVELOPMENT INDICATORS World Bank. Statistical tables cover 1960 - current.
US GOVERNMENT GENERATED DATA
AMERICAN TIME USE SURVEY. Bureau of Labor Statistics . Average hours spent in primary, weekend, leisure and sport activities. bls.gov/tus
BUREAU OF ECONOMIC ANALYSIS. State and regional personal income, from 1948. bea.gov/
CONSUMER EXPENDITURES. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 10 years of annual data. stats.bls.gov/cex/
COUNTY & CITY DATA BOOK . US Census. "The most comprehensive source of information about the
individual counties and cities in the US" Type this title in Google
Print: 1949 - 2000 HA202 .A36 (RD)
COUNTY & CITY DATA BOOK 1944 - 2000. fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/ccdb/
COUNTY & CITY EXTRA. Annual, from 1992. Metro, City & County Data . Includes Congressional districts. HA202 .A365 (RD)
CURRENT POPULATION SURVEYS. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Select Publications
Covers many
variables including race and ethnicity, school enrollment, computer ownership, fertility, income and health. bls.census.gov/cps
FACTFINDER . Demographic reports by street address, zip, metro, etc. factfinder.census.gov
DIGEST OF EDUCATION STATISTICS. Dept. of Education. .Annual, 1990 - current.
/nces.ed.gov/programs/digest
NATIONAL CENTER FOR EDUCATION STATISTICS nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/
PROJECTIONS of EDUCATION STATISTICS to 2014. nces.ed.gov/programs/projections
HEALTH BEHAVIOR. Centers for Disease Control. Medical coverage, obesity, alcohol use, expenditures, etc. cdc.gov/nchs
INTERNATIONAL DATABASE. Census. Demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. census.gov/ipc/www/idb/
PLACES TOWNS & TOWNSHIPS. population and housing data for all places, regardless of size. HA202 .A366 2007( RD)
REPORT ON THE AMERICAN WORKFORCE. Historical statistics, e.g. Consumer expenditures from 1936; CPI from 1950; PPI from 1947. bls.gov/opub/rtaw/rtawhome.htm/
SOURCE BOOK AMERICA. (CD) Includes all data from:
COMMUNITY SOURCE BOOK OF ZIP CODE DEMOGRAPHICS. Income /spending potential indices.
SOURCE BOOK OF COUNTY DEMOGRAPHICS. Income and buying power.
STATE AND COUNTY DEMOGRAPHIC AND ECONOMIC PROFILES. quickfacts.census.gov/
STATE & METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. Census. Print: HA 202 S727 (RD)
STATE DATA CENTERS US. census.gov/sdc/www/
STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. Annual, from 1995.
census.gov/statab/www/smadb.html/
Print: HA 202, from 1901. (RD, RS and Lippincott Stacks, 3rd flr)
SURVEY OF CONSUMER FINANCES. Triennial. US Federal Reserve. What US families own -- from cars to stocks, and how much they borrow. 2007 will be released in early 2009. federalreserve.gov/boarddocs/surveys/
WWW
AMERICAN CONSUMER SATISFACTION INDEX U of Michigan. Search on: company or industry. theacsi.org/
AMERICAN DIATETIC ASS'N. Public Opinion Survey. Nutition & You. | Trends 2008.
AUDIT BUREAU OF CIRCULATIONS US Newspaper Reader Profiles
BEHAVIORAL INSIDER. Media Post reporters. News, Trends, Case Studies. blogs.mediapost.com/behavioral_insider/
CITY-DATA Near-to-exhaustive information for US cities. city-data.com/
CITYMELT US. Even more detailed demographics, by Zipcode. citymelt.com/
CLICKZSTATS. Internet metrics, demographics. Case Studies, Essays on Marketing, Rankings, Ad Technology and more. clickz.com/
CONSUMER PANEL SURVEY. Annual. National Grocers Association Select B@B tab --> Scroll down to Resources in right frame
CONSUMER SENTIMENT Reports. Statistics. 100's of tables. U of Michigan. sca.isr.umich.edu/
DIRECT MARKETING ASS'N. Statistical studies, such as Customer Prospecting /Rentention; Response Rate. the-dma.org/research/
ERSYS. Uses GIS to create detailed U.S. cities reports. ersys.com
FOOD MARKETING INSTITUTE. Facts and Figures. Statistics on consumer shopping behavior. Supermarket Facts. fmi.org/
GMA - Association of Food, Beverage & Consumer Products Companies Shopper Marketing: Capture a Shopper's Mind, Heart and Wallet. Deloite. Also on this site: Overview of Industry Financial Performance & Trends. PriceWaterhouseCoopers. 66 pages. gmaonline.org/
GETTING CURRENT Recent Demographic Trends in Metropolitan America. Brookings Institute. Type: getting current in Keyword Search box. brookings.edu/
GLOBAL PURCHASING POWER PARITIES & REAL EXPENDITURES: 2005. International Comparison. worldbank.org/data/icp
HISPANICS: A PEOPLE IN MOTION. Pew Hispanic Center. 24 pages. Includes statistics & analysis. pewhispanic.org/files/reports/40.pdf
INFORMATION RESOURCES, INC(IRI) Times & Trends: A Snapshot of Trends Shaping the Consumer Packaged Goods and Retail Industries. Hispanic Consumers. New Product Pacesetters. infores.com/
MPA MARKET PROFILES.
Magazine Publishers of America.
Hispanic/Latino; African-American/Black; Asian-American, Teen; Consumer Pharmaceuticals.
MEDIA POST RESEARCH BRIEFS Various topics -- car buying, fitness, ad revenue,e.g. Free registration required.
The MULTICULTURAL ECONOMY . America's Buying Power -- 1990-2013 by race, state. U of Georgia. selig.uga.edu
NATIONAL RESTAURANT ASSOCIATION. Spending, state data, forecasts and articles. restaurant.org/
NATIONAL SPORTING GOODS ASSOCIATION. Statistics:; Sports Participation Reports. Consumer Purchases/ Sporting Goods Market Report "Members Only" reports are usuallly found in Sports Business Research Network database (above in Penn Resources) nsga.org/
PEW INTERNET AND AMERICAN LIFE PROJECT. Online Shopping. 2-13-08 31 pages. Other reports cover the role in Internet use of age, gender, race, marital status, education, income and more. pewinternet.org/
PEW RESEARCH CENTER. Trends, attitudes, opinions, surveys. /pewresearch.org/
POPULATION REFERENCE BUREAU. Global. Focus is health and family. Anaylsis and statistics.
Extensive links to demographic
resources. World Population Data Sheet, prb.org/
SOCIAL SCIENCE RESEARCH NETWORK Scholarly consumer research papers. Global ssrn.com/
YOUNG ADULTS & MONEY SURVEY. Charles Schwab. | schwabmoneywise.com/LOCATION CODES
| CD = CD-ROM database. In Lippincott Library. | RD = Reference Desk | RS = Reference Stacks | |



