Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

This Page No Longer Maintained - Datastream DS Windows - Economic Indicators and Forecasts

Questions? Email Lippincott Library

Datastream provides a substantial number of economic indicators for most countries. Sources of data include OECD, IMF, National Accounts and the Economic Intelligence Unit. Historical data as well as forecasts are available.

Several different Datastream programs may be used to access the data. Some provide codes and background information which can then be used for time series in report or spreadsheet formats while others provide historical data for up to twelve indicators in one report.

To review or use available programs, click on Reports in the Type of Request box and select Economics in the Type of Data box. A list of programs will appear in the Programs available box.

Remember! Datastream is CASE SENSITIVE. Use only UPPER CASE LETTERS.


1. PROGRAMS THAT DO NOT REQUIRE CODES

In some programs, selections of countries and codes are chosen from a menu. Data is provided for varying time periods.

A. 150F. Economic Indicators by Country

This program can be used to obtain information on several indicators for one country or to compare one indicator for several countries.

  1. Click on Economic Indicators by Country (no codes required) in the Programs Available box. Press Enter.
  2. At the first prompt select the appropriate indicator(s) by typing in the correct abbreviations, separated by commas. For example, KEY for key economic indicators or GDP for GDP/GNP.
  3. Click on the second prompt line to select desired country(ies). Type in the correct abbreviations, separated by commas. For example, AG for Argentina or MX for Mexico. Press Enter.
    • Remember: Choose only ONE indicator if you are interested in comparing data between several countries. Or, select only ONE country if you are interested in obtaining several types of data for a single country.
  4. Respective mnemonics will appear at the bottom of the screen which can then be used in other programs.

B. 150G. Global Economic Indicator Comparisons

This program can be used to obtain various economic indicators, including forecasts, for pre-selected countries. Data will appear for varying times depending on the indicator.

  1. Click on Global Economic Indicator Comparisons (no codes required) in the Programs Available box. Press Enter.
  2. Select a maximum of 15 indicators from the menu by typing in the corresponding numbers, separated by commas. For example, type 4 for consumer prices.
  3. Press Enter.
  4. Data will appear for varying times for pre-selected countries.
  5. Mnemonics are also provided which could then be used for obtaining a time series.

2. PROGRAMS GIVING ECONOMIC SERIES CODES FOR USE IN TIME-SERIES and OTHER PROGRAMS

A.) 150Z. Economic Series Codes

Provides mnemonics to be used in other programs.

  1. Click on Economic series codes in the Programs available box. Press Enter or double-click.
  2. At the Select Country required prompt, type in the correct number for the country or data type required. Press Enter. For example, type 7 for Canada or 97 for IMF codes.
  3. At the Select sector required prompt type in the correct number to the sector required.
    Press Enter.
    1. For example, after selecting Canada as your country, at the sector prompt type 1 for key indicators.
    2. Some data types selected in step 2 above do not have sector options and this step would be skipped.
    3. Other sectors may require that you select sub-sectors.
  4. A list of codes and descriptions will appear on the screen.

B.) Code lookup

The online lookup can also be used to locate economic series codes.

  1. Click on the Code button at the top of the screen.
  2. In the Set Required Code Type box click on Key Economic Indicators.
  3. Click on OK.
  4. After putting the cursor in the Find box, type in name of the desired indicator; for example, Unemployment. The mnemonic will appear in the last column on the right.
  5. The Search function can also be used to extract mnemonics by currency or other categories. Consult Lippincott Database Search Aid #7.

3. PROGRAMS PROVIDING BACKGROUND and SOURCES OF DATA

150A. Latest Values, Backround Information and Source

This program is used to identify the source of a specific series, the start date of coverage by Datastream, the most current date, frequency of the data and the latest six values. Before you begin you must have the series mnemonic which can be obtained through Online Code Lookup or Program 150Z.

  1. From the Programs Available box click on: Latest values, background information, source.... Press Enter.
  2. At the prompt, type in the correct mnemonic(s) for the series. Up to twelve series may be requested at one time. When using more than one code, separate mnemonics by a comma.
  3. A one-page screen of data will be provided for each series.
  4. Press Enter to page through series.

4. PROGRAMS FOR HISTORIC DATA FOR UP TO 12 INDICATORS

Certain programs will provide historical data for up to twelve indicators. Data is available on a monthly, quarterly, or annual basis. A maximum of 20 years of data can be retrieved. It is presented in a report format (text file). Mnemonics must be used. Programs 301V or 900B should be used for daily or weekly series, or for spreadsheets.

A.) 150C. Values over time for up to 12 series

This program displays a time series for a requested period of time, for a maximum of 12 series. Codes may be obtained in the 150Z program or by clicking on the Code icon and selecting Key Economic Indicators.

  1. Click on Values over time for up to 12 series in the Programs available box.
  2. At the Series prompt enter mnemonics, separated by commas. For example, GMI60 for the discount rate in Gambia.
  3. Tab cursor to Display frequency. Type in M, Q, or A.
  4. Select Starting period by typing in the month and year (mmyy). For example, 1290 for December, 1990.
  5. Click on Ending period and type in date as above or press Enter for most current data.
  6. If you have selected a specific end date, press Enter.
  7. Data will display.
  8. Press Enter to page through the data.

B.) 150D. Values over time and % change for up to 12 series

This program displays a time series and calculates the percentage of change between time periods for up to 12 series. You can specify the number of periods between which change is to be calculated.

  1. Select Values over time and % change for up to 12 series for the Programs available box.
  2. Enter series mnemonics at the Series prompt. Separate the codes with commas, as illustrated below.
  3. Click on Display frequency. Type in M, Q, or A.
  4. Select Starting period by typing in the month and year (mmyy), e.g.: 0190 for January, 1990.
  5. Click cursor on Ending period. Select as for start date or press Enter for most recent.
  6. Click on Number of periods... select a number and press Enter. For example, 20 for 5 years of quarterly data.
  7. Press Enter to page through data or click on the Autopage icon to scroll through (useful for downloading).

C.) 150S. Seasonal adjustment and % change for up to 12 series

This program will seasonally adjust data for up to 12 economic series. A minimum of 5 years of data is required. Data may requested on a monthly or quarterly basis.

  1. Click on Seasonal adjustment and % change for up to 12 series in the Programs available box. Press Enter or double click to begin program.
  2. At the Series prompt, type in the mnemonics for up to 12 series, separated by a comma. Series data must be available in monthly or quarterly increments. Check this in the Frequency column in the online lookup.
    1. For example, FNOCUNE%F is the mnemonic for unemployment as a percentage of the civilian labor force in Finland. It is available monthly.
  3. Click on Display frequency. Type in M or Q.
  4. Select Starting period by typing in the month and year (mmyy), for example, 0680, for June, 1980.
  5. Click on Ending period. Select date, as in Starting period above, or press Enter for most current.
  6. If no starting or ending period is selected and pressed after selecting a frequency, data will appear on the screen, beginning with the start of coverage by Datastream and continue to the most current date.
    1. For example, data for the Japanese Discount Rate (JPDISCRT) begins in 1968. Data will continue to the most current date.

5. DOWNLOADING TO DISK

Data from any of these programs may be downloaded in a text format.

This is VERY IMPORTANT -> Make sure to OPEN YOUR FILE BEFORE ANY DATA
APPEARS ON THE SCREEN !!

It is best to open the file after you have selected the Starting period.

  1. Click on File.
  2. Click on Capture to plain text.
  3. A screen will appear for download instructions.

Downloading Data

Files are automatically saved to C:\User unless otherwise specified. Later, files can be FTPd or transferred to the A drive using the user file transfer function. Files can be saved directly to the A drive by clicking on the drop-down menu for drives and selecting A:.

  1. Type in file name. Be sure to delete any asterisks (*) and include a .txt file name extension.
  2. Finish typing in program requirements (ending period, etc.) and press Enter.
  3. Page through by pressing Enter or using the Autopage icon until no more data appears on the screen.
    *If you do not do this, YOU WILL NOT GET YOUR DATA !!
  4. Click on File.
  5. Click on Stop capture.
  6. Refer to Lippincott's instructions on how to FTP; from our hompepage click on Research Guides, then Downloading/FTP.

6. USING "USER FILES" TO TRANSFER FILES FROM C:\USER TO DRIVE A

This is a utility which will transfer your files from the C:\User directory in Lippincott's public stations to your own disk. You can also format a disk here.

  1. From the desktop, click on the yellow file cabinet icon called User Files.
  2. Click on Read C Drive.
  3. Highlight your file(s) and click on Copy to A. (Hold down the shift key to select multiple files; use CTRL to select files not listed next to each other.)
  4. You will see the file name(s) appear in the A drive directory.
  5. You can then delete your files from the C:\User directory.
*