Energy Industry
Contact: Cynthia Cronin-Kardon |
| INDUSTRY INFORMATION | TRADE PUBLICATIONS |
| STATISTICS | WEBSITES |
| NEWS | ASSOCIATIONS |
Our Research Guide on Environment and Business.
Business Monitor International - Find the Oil and Gas Industry Forecast Quarterly, Industry Indicators, Company Profiles and News & Analysis. This is a Penn restricted database.
Business Source Premier - Search: energy. On the results screen, select Industry Profiles; or Market Research Reports. This is a Penn restricted database.
CCH Internet Research Network - Use the Federal Energy Guidelines tab for Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Statutes & Regulations and Reports.
Edison Electric Institute - Select: Industry Issues for a U.S. Industry Overview and Statistics.
Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database - Select a region and commodity. This is a Penn restricted database.
Factiva - Restrict the source to "Mergent" and limit your search to Mergent Industry Reports. Find detailed Global reports on Electricity, Oil and Gas, and more. This is a Penn restricted database.
Investext - Find analyst reports on energy industries worldwide. Sample search oil and industry. This is a Penn restricted database.
ISI Emerging Markets - Select an oil producing country and explore the topical tabs. This is a Penn restricted database.
SourceOECD. Use the dropdown menu to choose IEA databases.
Standard & Poor's Market Insight - Select the Industry tab, then select Coal & Consumable Fuels, Electric Utilities, Gas Utilities, or Oil & Gas from the dropdown menu. Here you will find Constituent Profiles, Revenue Share, Edgar filings, Excel Analytics, News and more. This is a Penn restricted database.
American Gas - American Gas Assoc. Monthly, 2000-current. Find the print editions from 1927- present in Lippincott Library Periodicals TP700 .A28.
Coal Age - Monthly, 1920-current. Found in Lippincott Periodicals TN 802 C654.
The Economist. Search for Economist surveys - Search oil and survey.
The Energy Journal - From the International Association of Energy Economists. Quarterly, 1998-current.
Print from 1980-1997 can be found in the Lippincott Library Stacks HD9502.A1 E536.
International Petroleum Encyclopedia. 1974-current. Found at the Lippincott Library Reference Desk HD9560.5 .I59. This contains the Worldwide petroleum industry outlook.
Oil & Gas Journal - Note: there is a 30 day embargo on this publication online. Weekly, 1978-current. Print can be found from 1941- most recent in the Engineering Library Periodicals. 665.5 Oi52.
Oil & Gas Journal Data Book - 1986, 1989-1995, 2001-current. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD9560.1 .O34.
OPEC Bulletin - Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries. - Bi-monthly, 1980-current. Found in Lippincott Periodicals HD9560.1 O64.
Petroleum Economist - Monthly, 1998-current. Also available in print from 1974 - present in Lippincott Library Periodicals HD 9560.1 P63.
Public Utilities Fortnightly - North America. 1929-current. 22 issues per year. Found in Lippincott Library Periodicals HD 2763.A2 P813.
American Petroleum Institute - Industry Statistics, Monthly.
Annual Bulletin of Coal Statistics for Europe and North America - From the United Nations. Found in Lippincott Library Periodicals HD 9555 A1 U525.
Bloomberg - terminals are available in the Lippincott Library and Huntsman Hall. Try the following commands:
CMDX
ENST
DOE
CRUD
NRGN
BP Stastical Review of World Energy - Includes annual historical data. Select Reports & Publications.
Basic Petroleum Data Book - Domestic & World Statistics. Historical data. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference StacksHD9564 B 385.Some earlier editions (starting from 1939) can be located in Franklin.
Daily Fuel Gauge Report - AAA. National & Metro areas.
Digest of United Kingdom Energy Statistics - 1976-2001, 2003-2005. UK Department of Energy. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD 9551.4 A34.
Earthtrends Searchable Database - Collection of statistics from top international resources. Find economic indicators as well as environmental statistics. Select Research Topics under Quick Links.
Edison Electric Institute - U.S. Industry Overviews, Statistics and History. Select: Industry Issues.
Energy Information Administration.
International country Energy Profiles.
Energy Statistics Yearbook - From the United Nations, - 1982-current. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD 9540.4 Y932.
Energy, Yearly Statistics - Statistical Office of the European Communities - 1993-2003. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD 9555 E8 S738.
European Commission on Energy -Statistics.
Gas Facts: a Statistical Record of the Gas Utility Industry. - American Gas Association. Find editions from 1945 - current in Lippincott Library Reference Stacks TP722 .A59.
Independent Petroleum Association of America - Extensive historical data for exploration, prices and more.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics- From the United Nations, - 1947 - current. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HC 57 U66.
Natural Gas Information - An IEA Statistical Publication, published annually. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD9581 A1 N388.
Natural Gas Supply Association - Find supply & demand statistics. Select Facts & Studies.
OPEC Annual Report. - 1977-current. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD9560.1 .O613. Also find the most recent edition online.
PriceWaterhhouseCoopers' 2006 Fuel Cell Industry Survey. Years 2003-current.
Statistical Yearbook of the Electric Utility Industry - Edison Electric Institute (EEI). Disk included. Historical data coverage varies by topic. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD 9685 U4 E33.
The Oil & Gas Producing Industry In Your State - 1994-current. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD9564 .I552.
The Renewable Fuels Association. Select the Resource Center tab for information on the Renewable Fuels Standard and valuable ethanol facts.
World Energy Book - for Africa and Asia. Statistics and analysis. World Energy Council information.
World Energy Outlook - The International Energy Agency's periodical on the energy industry. The most recent year found in the Lippincott Reference Stacks HD9502.A2 W6694. Older editions found on the 3rd floor in the Lippincott Stacks.
Worldwide Rig Counts - Monthly, 1975-current.
BERA - the Business & Economics Research Advisor's research guide on the International Oil & Gas Industry. The guide is a product of the Library of Congress' Business Reference Services, and contains direct links to materials but also contains references to publications that may not be held in our library. To find a particular print resource named in the guide, do a title search in Franklin.
Canada Office of Energy Efficiency. - Energy Use. Statistics & Analysis.
United States Department of Energy - and the Energy Information Administration (EIA). Here you can find U.S. energy information for utilities, generation, wholesale trade, consumption, stocks, receipts, costs, revenues, sales, and forecasts and more. Summary statistics at national, regional and state levels. Historical data.
Also find here the DOE's annual Residential Energy Consumption Survey - This gives national level data on U.S. households.
To locate EIA print publications in Penn libraries, search on keyword: energy information administration in Franklin, the online card catalog.
International Energy Agency (IEA) - Comprehensive statistical database comparable to the US EIA.
IEA is a division of the Organization for Economic Cooperation & Development (OECD). Includes Key World Energy Statistics -- 80 pages.
The complete library of IEA reports is available in the Penn-restricted SourceOECD database.
To locate IEA print publications in Penn libraries, search on Publisher name: IEA in Franklin, Penn Library's online card catalog.
The Environment in Your Pocket 2006. Published by the UK's Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.
New York Mercantile Exchange - Futures Contracts. Price quotes + explanations of contracts.
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries. Under publications find the OPEC Bulletin and use the Reports tab to find Market Indicators and the Monthly Oil Market Report. Under Special Features, you can also find links to graphs on OPEC oil reserves.
SustainLane Government Knowledge Base is a database of sustainable development. You can access full text documents submitted by urban planners and sustainability managers detailing what cities, counties, and states are doing to improve their sustainability efforts. Free registration is required. Be sure to visit the Energy / Energy Efficiency page.
Energy User News - U.S. BSP Media. Monthly, 2000-current. Select Statistics, Trends + Energy Data.
Factiva. Type [rst=nrg] in the search box, or select: Industry in blue frame for all energy industry categories.This is a Penn restricted database.
Fuel Oil News - Find their annual Industry Study and more.
LexisNexis Academic Universe - Business-> Industry & Market-> Energy & Utility News. This is a Penn restricted database.
National Petroleum News Web. Find News and their Annual Station Counts and Convenience Store Data - Select Research Data. Monthly publication from 1991 - present.
NPN Market Facts. National Petroleum News. Annual. Find Facts, Figures, Trends for the U.S., with limited global statistics. Found in the Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HD 9560.1 N 312 2005.
Petroworld Global News Service - Daily news. Supplier Directory with brief profiles. No financials.
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission - (FERC). Among other things, find Electric industry mergers filed since 1/1/95.
Independent Petroleum Association of America
Latin American Energy Organization - Available in Spanish only. Industry Reports. Statistics.
Natural Gas Supply Association
The Renewable Fuels Association
Solar Energy Industries Association



