Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Entrepreneurship and Small Business - Research Guide

Contact: Cathy Ogur
Lippincott Library

Getting Started Popular Publications Business Plans
Marketing Company Information Industry Information
Financing Franchising Legal Issues


Getting Started

U.S. Small Business Administration. Click on Starting & Managing a Business. Also provides access to the Office of Women's Business Ownership.

Starting a Business in Pennsylvania. From the State of Pennsylvania, including The Entrepreneur's Guide, a e-book.

Wicked Start. A free online resource to guide you through the start-up process.

Entrepreneur's Reference Guide to Small Business Information via the Library of Congress.

NASE - National Association for the Self Employed.

StartupJournal from the Wall Street Journal. Find articles about starting and operating your small business.

Trade Publications

Encyclopedia of Associations. Find industry associations by name, or by industry keyword.

National Trade and Professional Associations. Lippincott Library References Desk. HD 2425 D53

In Business

Inc.

Entrepreneur

Family Business Review

Academic Journals

Entrepreneurial Business Law Journal

Entrepreneurship Theory and Practice

Entrepreneurship and Regional Development

Frontiers of Entrepreneurial Research. From the Babson College Center for Entrepreneurial Stidues. Find a list of conference proceedings and papers from their annual conference.

Journal of Business Venturing

Journal of Developmental Entrepreneurship

Journal of International Entrepreneurship

Journal of Small Business Management

Small Business Economics

Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal

Business Plans

BPlans.com has a section called How to write your business plan.

The SBA's Business Plan Basics.

ANATOMY OF A BUSINESS PLAN.
HD 30.28 P5 (Lippincott Library Reference Desk)

BUSINESS PLANS HANDBOOK. This 13 volume set contains sample plans that can be searched by type of business.
HD 62.7 B865 (Lippincott Library Reference Desk)

CRAFTING THE SUCCESSFUL BUSINESS PLAN.
HD 62.7 H99 (Lippincott Library Reference Stacks)

ERNST & YOUNG BUSINESS PLAN GUIDE.
HD 62.5 S556 (Lippincott Library Reference Desk)

INC. MAGAZINE PRESENTS HOW TO REALLY CREATE A SUCCESSFUL BUSINESS PLAN.
HG 4027.6 G86 (Lippincott Library Reference Stacks)

For additional resources: Search the FRANKLIN online catalog under Subject: Business Planning.

Marketing / Market Research

Business & Industry.

Business Insights Interactive. International market research reports on the subjects of consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, technology, telecoms, ecommerce and human relations.

MarketResearch.com Academic. Find "qualitative industry analysis and quantitative research on market trends including data on market segmentation, size and growth."

Mintel Reports. Mintel requires that all users set up a personal profile with a login and password in addition to the Penn proxy.

Simmons Markets & Media, Choices III (CD-ROM)

See also our research guide on Advertising & Marketing for tips on finding ad expenditures, ad rates, information on brands and the advertising industry.

Company / Competitor and Supplier Information
Hoover's Online (International Company Director). Search by company name, build a list of competitors, or search by industry.

Reference USA. Search by company, industry, executive name and more. Discover neighboring business and competitors.

CorpTech. Find company and product information for 50,000+ US high tech manufacturers, developers and services.

THOMAS REGISTER.
T 12 T6 (RS)

Industry Information

Bizminer. "BIZMINER provides detailed financial and marketing data on U.S. industries. It covers 17,000 lines of business in 300 U.S. markets. Types of reports include Industry Financial Profiles, Market Research Reports, Area Demographic Profiles, Sole Proprietorship/Startups, and Local Market Profiles."

Business Source Complete. Search by Industry name, then use the Publication Type limiters on the left to select Datamonitor Industry Reports.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Use the Industry tab and select a broad industry from the dropdown menu.

ALMANAC OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL FINANCIAL RATIOS. Lippincott Library Reference Desk. HF 5681 R25 T68

FINANCIAL STUDIES OF THE SMALL BUSINESS. Lippincott Library Reference Desk. HD 2346 U5 F55a

INDUSTRY NORMS AND KEY BUSINESS RATIOS. Dun & Bradstreet. Lippincott Library Reference Desk. HA 214 D815

RMA ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES. Robert Morris Associates. Lippincott Library Reference Desk.HA 214 R54

See also our research guide on conducting Industry Research.

Sources of Financing

VentureXpert. Accessed via Thomson One Banker: Analytics. Select Private Equity on the left.

Angel Capital Association. Directory of angel groups.

BUSINESS CAPITAL SOURCES. [More than 1500 lenders of money....]. Lippincott Library Reference Stacks. HG 181 A1 B84

BUSINESS LOANS: A GUIDE TO MONEY SOURCES AND HOW TO APPROACH THEM. Lippincott Library Reference Stacks. HG 3751.4 U6 H39

ENTREPRENEURS GUIDE TO PREPARING A WINNING BUSINESS PLAN AND RAISING VENTURE CAPITAL. Lippincott Library Reference Stacks HG 4027.6 S35

ERNST AND YOUNG GUIDE TO RAISING CAPITAL. Lippincott Library Reference Stacks. HG 4061 G37

GALANTE'S VENTURE CAPITAL & PRIVATE EQUITY DIRECTORY. Lippincott Library Reference Desk. HG 4961 V36

Inc. Magazine's Financing a Small Business, including information on Angel Investors.

Journal of Business Venturing

Venture Capital Journal

Franchising

Franchising.com. Find franchise opportunities as well as news and upcoming conference information.

FRANCHISE OPPORTUNITIES GUIDE. Lippincott Library Reference Desk. HF5429.3.A46

Franchising World.

Family Business Review.

American Association of Franchisers and Dealers.

Buying a Franchise: A Consumer Guide from the Federal Trade Commission.

THE COMPLETE FRANCHISE BOOK. Lippincott Library. HF5429.23 .F67 1988

THE FRANCHISE ANNUAL. Lippincott Library Reference Desk. HF5429.3 .F69

Legal Issues for Entrepreneurs

THE ENTREPRENEUR'S GUIDE TO BUSINESS LAW. Lippincott Library. KF390.B84 B34.2008. This is a great overview of many legal issues faced by entrepreneurs, yet it also provides many common problems faced and the ways in which they can be solved.

TAXES AND BUSINESS STRATEGY: A PLANNING APPROACH. Lippincott Library. KF6450 .S33 2002.

Entrepreneur.com's Small Business Legal Center.

Additional Resources
Going Global

A BASIC GUIDE TO EXPORTING.
HF 1009.5 B38 1992 (RD)

EIU Country Commerce. [Investing, Licensing and Trading.]

ERNST & YOUNG GUIDE TO EXPANDING IN THE GLOBAL MARKET.
HD 62.4 V354 (RS)

Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database. Choose Menu from the search tab at the top to choose a Consumer Product or Industry, then a country of interest.

NTDB - NATIONAL TRADE DATA BANK. [Information for exporters.] (On STAT-USA / INTERNET).

ULTIMATE OVERSEAS BUSINESS GUIDE FOR GROWING COMPANIES.
HD 70 E86 R64 (RS)

WHO'S WHO IN SMALL BUSINESS & ENTREPRENEURSHIP WORLDWIDE.
HD 62.7 W444 (RS)

Search FRANKLIN using Keyword: export marketing

Foundations and Groups at Wharton

Entrepreneurship at Wharton. Including a link to the Sol C. Snider Entrepreneurial Research Center (WEP).

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation at Entrepreneurship.org.

The Arthur Rock Center for Entrepreneurship. Harvard Business School.

Edward Lowe Foundation.

Frontiers of Entrepreneurial Research. From the Babson College Center for Entrepreneurial Stidues. Find a list of conference proceedings and papers from their annual conference.

Global Entrepreneurship Monitor. Here you'll find data and reports on 42 countries.

*