European Union - Research Guide
Contact: Marcella Barnhart |
| DIRECTORIES and GUIDES | STATISTICAL SOURCES | DATABASES | |
| PERIODICALS and NEWS SOURCES | WEBSITES | FRANKLIN | |
| RELATED LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES | |||
GATEWAY TO THE EUROPEAN UNION:
EUROPA http://europa.eu
- Activities--Competition, enlargement, etc.
- Institutions--European Parliament, European Commission, etc.
- Documents--European law, documents common to all institutions, documents of individual institutions
- Services--Statistics (Links to Eurostat), opinion polls.
DIRECTORIES and GUIDES
AMADEUS. Database containing detailed financial information on over 5 million public and private companies in 34 European countries.
BANKSCOPE. Directory and financial reporting service on 13,000 banks worldwide.
BUSINESS GUIDE TO EU INITIATIVES. EU Committee of the American Chamber of Commerce. Some information available on the Web at http://www.eucommittee.be
HC 241.2 B874 2003 (Latest issue only retained-RS)
D & B MILLION DOLLAR DATABASE. International MMDI covers 1,600,000 international companies.
EUROCHAMBRES (Association of European Chambers of Commerce and Industry).
http://www.eurochambres.be/index.shtml
EUROGUIDE. Guide to European information on the Internet.
http://www.euroguide.org/euroguide/subject-listing
EUROPAGES. The European Business Directory. 555,000 companies in 35 European countries.
http://www.europages.com
EUROPEAN UNION IN THE U.S. Includes tools for research on the EU, and also The European Union: A Guide for Americans.
http://www.eurunion.org/infores/home.htm
EXPORTERS ENCYCLOPAEDIA. Includes profiles of EU countries--key contacts, trade regulations, marketing data, business travel etc.
HF 3011 E9 2004/05 (Latest issue only retained-RD)
HOOVER'S ONLINE (International Company Directory). Provides company profiles for approximately 12 million international companies.
STATISTICAL SOURCES
EROPEAN BUSINESS FACTS AND FIGURES. Eurostat. 2002-
HC 240 E91 P17 (Latest-RD; Others-RS)
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat Do a Quick Search on the title
EUROPEAN CENTRAL BANK. Central bank for the Euro; maintains price stability in the Euro area.
http://www.ecb.int/home/html/index.en.html
EUROPEAN ECONOMY. European Commission. Website links to current and archival information.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/economy_finance/publications/europeaneconomy_en.htm
Some information in print: HC 241.2 E857 1978- (Current-PER; Others-ST)
EUROPEAN INVESTMENT BANK. The EU's long-term financing institution.
http://www.eib.org
EUROPEAN UNION FOREIGN DIRECT INVESTMENT YEARBOOK. Covers 1992-2000.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat Under Themes-Economy and Finance, do a Quick Search on the title.
Also in print: HA 1107.5 A145 (RS)
EUROSTAT. Site of the Statistical Office of the European Union.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat
EUROSTAT YEARBOOK. Annual. 1995-
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat Click on Site Map (under Services) and arrow down to Special Topics and Themes.
Also in print: HA 1107.5 E877 (RS)
MINI-GUIDE--EUROSTAT PUBLICATIONS AND DATABASES.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat Do a Quick Search on the title
QUARTERLY PANORAMA OF EUROPEAN BUSINESS STATISTICS.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat Do a Quick Search on the title.
Also in print: HC 240 E91 P174 (Latest 3 years only retained-RD)
REGIONS, STATISTICAL YEARBOOK/EUROSTAT.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat Do a Quick Search on the title.
Also in print: HA 1107.5 R45 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
TRADE POLICY REVIEW: EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES. World Trade Organization. 2004.
http://www.wto.org Click on A-Z List-> Trade Policy Reviews-> by Country-> European Communities
DATABASES
ABI/INFORM - PROQUEST. Articles from more than 1800 business publications. Full-text coverage of the Economist from 1992, EIU ViewsWire from 2003 and Euromoney from 1991.
BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER. Includes nearly 3300 full-text scholarly publications; EIU Country Reports and Profiles; and Datamonitor Company Profiles. Click on Company Profiles on top toolbar.
FACTIVA. Full-text international coverage from 8000 business and general publications in 22 languages. Includes the Financial Times and Wall Street Journal Europe. For a list of Economist Intelligence Unit publications, click on +Source and type: economist intelligence
LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC. Full-text worldwide coverage of periodicals, newspapers, including the New York Times etc. Click on Sources at top to search titles, beginning with Europe, European.
DATABASES--COUNTRIES, MARKETS
BUSINESS & INDUSTRY. International coverage of companies, industries, markets and products. Search by Geographic Region-> European Union and Individual Countries.
BUSINESS INSIGHTS. International market research reports focusing on energy, consumer goods, finance, healthcare and technology.
BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL. Country risk, industry forecasts and company information covering EU countries and other global markets.
EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE. Key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers.
ISI EMERGING MARKETS. News, company, industry, financial and economic data from more than 60 emerging markets including the EU accession countries of Central and Eastern Europe.
MARKET ACCESS DATABASE. DG Trade European Commission. Includes a statistical database showing trade flows between EU and non-EU countries using HS code or product description.
http://mkaccdb.eu.int
MINTEL REPORTS. Global market research reports; includes coverage of UK and other European markets.
OSIRIS BvD (Bureau van Dijk) SUITE. Includes Datamonitor Industry and Company reports. Use Expert Search and click on the red chevron on the toolbar.
SOURCEOECD. Full-text publications and statistical information for OECD countries on a wide range of topics. Includes country reports and tables; OECD economic surveys for the Euro area and by individual country.
STAT-USA / INTERNET. U.S. Department of Commerce. Globus and NTDB section includes international country and market information.
DATABASES--STATISTICS
BLOOMBERG. For EU information, type European Union and press the green Help Key for a menu. For economic statistics, type ECST, then press Go. For international financial statistics, type IMF->Go.
Available in Lippincott Library.
DATASTREAM. Comprehensive international economic and financial data. Includes time series from the IMF and OECD.
Available in Lippincott Library. See Lippincott's Database Search Aids for these guides:
- DATASTREAM
- DATASTREAM ECONOMIC INDICATORS
- DATASTREAM TIME SERIES
INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL STATISTICS ONLINE. International Monetary Fund time series data covering more than 200 countries; can be downloaded to Excel.
PERIODICALS and NEWS SOURCES
BBC NEWS.
http://news.bbc.co.uk Type inside europe in Search Box at top.
BULLETIN OF THE EUROPEAN UNION/COMMISSION.
europa.eu.int/abc/doc/off/bull/en/welcome.htm From 1996-
Also in print: HC 241.2 A34 1994- (Current issues-PER; Bound Volumes-ST)
ECONOMIC SURVEY OF EUROPE. U.N. Economic Commission for Europe. 1998-
Current: http://www.unece.org/ead/survey.htm
THE ECONOMIST. London. Weekly.
1981-current: FACTIVA. Click on Search tab; Use Source Code SC=EC; Search in Full Article
Also in print: (Current-PER; Others-MT)
EUBUSINESS.COM. Independent online business information service, daily updated news and information about EU policy, legislation, economic data and business opportunities. Free registration required.
http://www.eubusiness.com
EUROPEAN BUSINESS JOURNAL.
1989-current: BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER.
EUROPEAN POLICY ANALYST: KEY ISSUES AND DEVELOPMENTS FOR BUSINESS. Economist Intelligence Unit. Quarterly.
HC 241.2 E887 1996- (Current-PER; Bound Volumes-ST)
EUROPEAN VOICE. Economist. Weekly.
1997-current: FACTIVA. Click on Search tab; use Source Code SC=evoice; Search in Full Article.
FINANCIAL TIMES. London. Daily.
1980-current: FACTIVA. Click on Search tab; use Source Code SC=ftft; Search in Full Article
Also in print: (Current-PER; Others-MT)
JOURNAL OF COMMON MARKET STUDIES. 1962-1997; 2001-
HC 241 J6 (Current-PER; Bound Volumes-ST)
WALL STREET JOURNAL EUROPE.
1991-current: FACTIVA. Click on Search tab; use Source Code SC=wsje; Search in Full Article.
WEBSITES
THE EURO HOMEPAGE. Comprehensive site of economics Professor Giancarlo Corsetti; includes scholarly research, news, history etc.
http://www.iue.it/RSCAS Click on Research-> Browse A-Z-> Euro Homepage.
EUROPEAN UNION INTERNET RESOURCES. Compiled by University of California at Berkeley's Doe and Moffitt Libraries.
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/doemoff/gov_eu.html
MULTINATIONAL BUSINESS. Websites compiled by Lippincott staff.
FRANKLIN
Search FRANKLIN, Penn Libraries' online catalog. Suggested LC headings:
- European Union
- European Union Countries-Economic Policy
- European Union Countries-Commercial Policy
- European Economic Community
- European Federation
- Euro
- Europe-Economic Integration
RELATED LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES
MULTINATIONAL BUSINESS PERIODICALS
LOCATION CODES
| CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center. | ||
| ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk. | ||
| RD = Reference Desk | ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor | WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services |
| RS = Reference Stacks | PER = Periodicals | MT = Microtext |
| SS = Service Shelves | PC = Peck Collection | |
| *Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only. | ||



