Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Exporting and Importing

Contact: Marcella Barnhart
Lippincott Library

WEBSITES DIRECTORIES GUIDES
INTERNATIONAL TRADE INDUSTRY DATA MARKETS
COUNTRY INFORMATION RELATED LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES LOCATION CODES
Websites

Trade Websites OR Multinational Business Websites

Commercial News USA. [Print and website advertising for U.S. exporters.]
www.thinkglobal.us

Export-Import Bank of the United States [U.S. Official Export Credit Agency.]
www.exim.gov

Federation of International Trade Associations. [Links to international trade Web resources annotated and indexed; trade leads; world trade news, etc.]
http://fita.org/index.html

Global Edge. [International business Web portal. Categories include country information, trade law, portals, leads, trade shows, etc.]
http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp

U.S. International Trade Administration. [Comprehensive site links to U.S. government export portal, export.gov; Trade Information Center includes industry information; U.S. & Foreign Commerical Service; Import Administration; etc.]
www.trade.gov

Directories

Amadeus. [Detailed information on over 200,000 public and private companies in 34 European countries.]

D&B Million Dollar Database. [Directory information on 1.6 million U.S. and international companies.]

Europages -- The European Business Directory. [Business-to-Business directory of 550,000 European companies in over 35 countries.]
www.europages.com

The FITA Directory of Export Management Companies. [Trade intermediaries that represent U.S. manufacturers.]
http://fita.org/emc.html

Hoover's Online [International Company Directory. Profiles for approximately 40,000 U.S. and international companies.]

International Chamber of Commerce. (ICC) [Includes information about Incoterms 2000.]

Thomas Global Register. http://www.tgrnet.com

Thomas Register of American Manufacturers.
www.thomasnet.com/index.html

WAND. [Global Internet trade directory for buyers and sellers.]
www.wand.com

World Chamber of Commerce Directory. HF294 W66 (RS - Latest edition only; Also Web) http://www.chamberofcommerce.com

World Trade Centers Association Online .
world.wtca.org/portal/site/wtcaonline

Guides

Acuff, Frank L. How to Negotiate Anything with Anyone Anywhere in the World.
HD 58.6 A27 1997 (RS)

Axtell, Roger E. The Do's and Taboos of International Trade: A Small Business Primer.
HF 1379 A96 1994 (RS)

A Basic Guide to Exporting.
HF 1416.5 B37 2000 (RD)

Exporters' Encyclopaedia. [Sections: Export Documentation, Country Chapters, Shipping, Communications, Information Sources, Transportation Data.]
HF3011 E9 (RD)

Hinkleman, Edward G. Dictionary of International Trade.
HF1373 .H55 2002 (RD)

Importers Manual USA
HF3035 I45 (RS)

ISO-International Organization for Standardization
www.iso.ch/iso/en/isoonline.frontpage

International Trade Statistics

American Association of Exporters and Importers. [Represent the American trade community on international trade issues.]
www.aaei.org/index.asp

Annual Report/World Trade Organization. 1996- HF 1721 W675 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Also Web:)
www.wto.org Click on The WTO --> WTO Annual Reports

Bridges Weekly Trade News Digest
www.ictsd.org/weekly/index.htm

Direction of Trade Statistics. IMF [Quarterly]
HF91 D537a (Unbound - PER; Bound - ST)

Export Administration Regulations. U.S. Bureau of Export Administration.
www.bxa.doc.gov Click on Site Map -> Regulations

Foreign Trade Statistics. U.S. Census Bureau
www.census.gov/foreign-trade/www

Global Trade Atlas. [Current historical import/export statistics: 45 reporting countries, 170 partner countries]

Guide to Foreign Trade Statistics. U.S. Census Bureau
www.census.gov/foreign-trade/guide/index.html

International Trade Centre. [UNCTAD/WTO site; supports trade development in developing and transition economies.]
www.intracen.org

International Trade Statistics. World Trade Organization. [International trade flow for goods and services, including trade by sector and region.]
HF 1721 W676 (RS; also on Web:)
www.wto.org Click on Resource -> Statistics

International Trade Statistics Yearbook. UN 1950-
HF 91 U473 (10 years - RS; Others - ST)

ITC Trade Dataweb. [U.S. International Trade Commission's Interactive Tariff and Trade Data System, included Commodity Translation Wizard -- translates between HTS and SITC or NAICS cods.]
http://dataweb.usitc.gov

Journal of Commerce. 2002- [Continues JOC Week.]

MAC. Market Access and Compliance. [U.S. ITA site - promotes foreign market access and trade compliance for U.S. firms, featuring regional pages.]
www.mac.doc.gov

Monthly Statistics on International Trade. OECD. 1983-
HF 91 O65 (Unbound-PER; Bound-ST; Also SourceOECD

National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers.
HF 1456 U53a (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Also Web:) www.ustr.gov/reports

STAT-USA/Internet National Trade Databank. U.S. Department of Commerce. [Contains numerous files of trade-related information.]

Trade and Development Report. UNCTAD
HF 1410 T722 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Some data on the Web:)
www.unctad.org/ Click on Digital Library

Trade Policy Review.
[Use online catalog Keyword Search - "Trade Policy Review" to review a list of countries and call numbers.] (RS; Additional information/updates - Web:)
www.wto.org/ Click on On this Site, then scroll down to the alphabetical directory and click on Trade Policy Review

UN COMTRADE [Annual detailed import/export commodity and trading partner statistics for 130 countries]

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics.
HF91 U422 (RS; Also Web:)
www.unctad.org Click on Statistics -> Statistical Databases

U.S. Customs Service. [Includes importing/exporting infomration, regulations etc.]
www.customs.ustreas.gov

U.S. Merchandise Trade Statistics: 1948 - 2000
http://cine.org/nle/crsreports/economics/econ-54.cfm

World Trade Annual.
HF53 W6 (Latest 5 years - RS; Others - ST)

World Trade Atlas. [Current U.S. exports/imports and balance of trade with 234 countries.] (CD)

Industry Data

Business & Industry. [International coverage from more than 1000 business journals, newspapers and newsletters in 190 countries.]

Business Insights. [International market research reports covering consumer goods, energy, finance, health care and technology.]

Business Monitor International. [Covers political risk, finance, macroeconomic performance, outlook and forecast, industry sectors and the business operating environment in emerging markets.]

Competia Express. [Brief description and links to industry Websites; includes international coverage.]
www.competia.com/express/index.html

Encyclopedia of Associations
HS 61 A 3 E6 (RD-Latest edition only) [U.S.]
HS 61 A 3 E62 (RD-Latest edition only) [International]
HS 61 A 3 E63 (RD-Latest edition only) [Regional, State, Local - Northeastern States]

Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database. [Consumer market information, analysis and forecasts worldwide.]

Industry Week's IW 1000 [World's largest publicly held manufacturing companies.]
www.industryweek.com/iwinprint/iw1000

European Business Facts and Figures, Eurostat.
HC 240 E91 P17 (Latest - RD; Others - RS; Also Web) europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat>

STAT-USA/Internet National Trade Databank. U.S. Department of Commerce. [Includes international marketing and industry sector analysis reports.]

Trade Development. [Portal to U.S. International Trade Administration industry data and staff contacts by industry speciality.]
www.ita.doc.gov Click on Trade Information Center

U.S. Industry Sector Data. [Trend tables covering industry by NAICS codes, prepared from statistics in the Census Bureau's annual Survey of Manufacturers.]
www.ita.doc.gov/td/industry/otea Click on U.S. Industry Sector Data

Markets

BISNIS (Bureau Information Service for the Newly Independent States.)
www.bisnis.doc.gov

Business Monitor International

CEEBICNET [Central and Easern Europe Business Information Center]
www.mac.doc.gov/ceebic

EBusinessForum. Economist Intelligence Unit. [Covers E-commerce in 60 countries.]

EIU Country Commerce Economist Intelligence Unit. [Investing, licensing and trading. Covers 60 countries.]

Export America. 1999-
HF 1 E976 (Current - PER, Others - ST)

Inter-American Development Bank
www.iadb.org Click on Sectors and Topics.

ISI Emerging Markets. [News, financial, economic, company and industry information in English and 15 additional languages from 35 worldwide emerging markets.]

Lanic - Latin American Network Information Center
www.lanic.utexas.edu

LATINFOCUS [Economic and Financial information.]
www.latin-focus.com

Latin Trade. [Monthly.] 1996 - present
HF 3230.5 a35 (Current - PER; Others - ST; Also Web:)
www.latintrade.com [Free services include current issue of Latin Trade, news, country trade information, lists - top 100 companies, etc.)

STAT-USA/Internet. National Trade data bank (NTDB). [Comprehensive database includes international marketing and industry sector analysis reports, trade leads, country backgournd notes, etc.]

Strategic.GC.CA [Canada's business and consumer site.]
www.strategis.ic.gc.ca Click on Trade, Investment, Economic Analysis, Statistics

Trade Shows Worldwide
T 394 T717 (RD - Latest edition only)

World Market Share Reporter
HF 5410 W675 (Latest - RD; Others - ST)

Country Information

ARABDATANET. [National U.S.-Arab Chamber of Commerce.]
www.arabdatanet.com

Background Notes. U.S. Department of State. [Includes history, political, economic and trade overviews.]
www.state.gov Click on Country Background Notes

Business - In - Asia.
www.business-in-asia.com

Business Source Premier (EBSCO). [Includes Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles.]

Country Commercial Guides.
www.export.gov/marketresearch.html

Exporters' Encyclopaedia
HF 3011 E9 (RD - Latest Edition only)

Foreign Governments / Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOS)
www.library.northwestern.edu./govpub Click on International Information

International Statistical Agencies. U.S. Census Bureau.
www.census.gov/main/www/stat_int.html

MBENDI - Information for Africa
www.mbendi.co.za/

Dun and Bradstreet's Guide to Doing Business Around the World.
HF 1416 M78 2001 (RD)

Morrison, Terri. Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: How to do Business in Sixty Countries
HF 5389 M67 1994

The Handbook of Country Risk.
HD 61 R545 (Latest - RD; Others - RS)

UNSTATS [Time series statistical information for countries.]

The World Factbook. CIA.
G 122 U56a (Latest - RS; Others - ST; Also Web:)
www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html

Woronoff, Jon. The "No Nonsense" Approach to Doing Business in Japan.
HF 3826.5 W67 2001

Related Lippincott Research Guides

China

European Union

Latin America

Multinational Business

Location Codes
CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*