Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Green Business

Contact: Cynthia L. Cronin-Kardon
Lippincott Library

NEWS/JOURNAL ARTICLES GREEN INVESTING RESEARCH/ACADEMICS/JOBS
GREEN CONSUMERS RESOURCES FOR BUSINESSES INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

See also Lippincott Research Guide:
Business Ethics

Socially Responsible Investing

See also Lippincott Database Search Aid:
Corporate Responsibility Databases

Databases / Websites: Journal & News Articles

Library Databases

Business Insights Interactive. Market Research Reports.

Sample Search   Search Green or renewable in the Energy Market.

Mintel. Consumer surveys. Are consumers will to buy "green" products? How big is the market?

ABI Inform. Articles from periodicals.

Sample Search   Keyword Search: green marketing. Look at "Suggested Topics" to refine search.

Business Source Premier. Similar to ABI. Also includes Industry Surveys and Company Reports.

Sample Search   Keyword Search: green product*. Look at index terms to redirect search.

Factiva. Thousands of publications. Major business publications and newspapers. International.

Sample Search   Keyword Search: (eco-friendly or renewable) and profit*

Business & Industry. Trade publications. International. Use drop down menus to focus search.

Sample Search   Keyword Search: (green product* Or eco-friendly) And (trends Or outlook)

BuildingGreen Suite.
timely information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance, and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings.

GreenFile. Articles on all aspect of Green.

Web Sources

Clear Profit. Subscription based.
Since July 2002 Clear Profit has provided independent coverage of efforts to align investment decisions with social, environmental and ethical concerns

ENN: Environmental News Network Provides a global perspective on environmental issues.
ENN's editorial team selects news stories from a variety of sources, including major wire services (Reuters, Associated Press, Knight Ridder/Tribune), and also features content from partner publishers, freelance journalists, and on-going research.

GreenBiz.com. International information resource on how to align environmental responsibility with business success, provides tools, resources, and breaking news on the topic of eco-business.

Inside Green Business. Innovative online, print and e-mail news service on the greening revolution transforming the energy and manufacturing sectors.

CSRwire - The Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire Service
Seeks to promote the growth of corporate responsibility and sustainability through solutions-based information and positive examples of corporate practices.

Eco-Business Channel. Rueters news service.

Green Money Journal. Weekly news on Socially Responsible Investing: Transparency, Accountability, and Profitability.

LOHAS Lifestyles of Health and Sustainability. Articles, business directory and more.

Green Investing

Corporate Social Responsibility Company Reports

CorporateRegister.com is the world's largest free online directory of corporate non-financial reports. These include Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR), sustainability, environmental and social reports. The aim to include every relevant published corporate report, without limitations of country or company size and across all sectors, public and private.

Global Reporting InitiativeThe Sustainability Reporting Framework facilitates transparency and accountability by organizations. Developed the G-3 Guidelines to promote consistent reporting standards. GRI is fast becoming the global de-facto standard in sustainability reporting.
Reports are available through the GRI Register via theCorporate Register.com. Registration is free.

Investment Sites

Morningstar (Mutual Funds). CD-Rom. Lippincott Library Only. Includes Green Funds

Social Investment Forum. A national trade association of asset managers interested in social or environmental responsibility. Provides a bi-annual Trends in Responsible Investing report as well as other research. The Forum has good basic information on retail socially responsible investing; however, at present it has little information on separate account management and other alternatives to high cost mutual funds that make up the bulk of the environmentally responsible investment universe.

SocialFunds.com Features over 10,000 pages of information on SRI mutual funds, community investments, corporate research, shareowner actions, and daily social investment news.

UK Social Investment Forum (UKSIF). UK's membership network for socially responsible investment (SRI).

Company Rankings

Business Ethics 100 Best. Annual list of the 100 best corporate citizens. Includes environmentally concious companies.

Green-Fifty. A list of the 50 best companies practising green business. Inc.com

Indexes

Business in the Community. The Environment Index.
The Environment Index is the UK's leading self-assessed corporate environmental benchmark and is a stand-alone module of Business in the Communitys broader CR Index.Business in the Community's CR Index is the UK's leading benchmark of responsible business, helping companies to integrate and improve responsible business across their business, and providing a systematic approach to managing, measuring and reporting their impacts on society and the environment. Older reports are free.

Dow Jones Sustainability Indexes. Launched in 1999, the Dow Jones Sustainability Indexes are the first global indexes tracking the financial performance of the leading sustainability-driven companies worldwide.

FTSE4GOOD Indes

Research/Academic/Job Resources

University Resources

Beyond Grey Pinstripes. Biennial survey and ranking of business schools. Created by the Aspen Institute and the World Resources Institute to spotlight innovative full-time MBA programs that are integrating issues of social and environmental stewardship into curricula and research.

Case Wetherhead School of Management: Center For Business as an Agent of World Benefit. "Global forum uniting the best in business with the call of our times".

Stanford Social Innovation Review. Subscription based, but includes free articles and an opinion blog.

University of Nottingham. International Centre for Corporate Social Responsibility Research Paper Series. The series includes papers presented at symposiums and seminars, first drafts of papers intended for submission in journals and other reports on ongoing or completed research projects. Research papers are free to download from the ICCSR web site

SRIStudies.org. Studies of Socially Responsible Investing. A resource for investment professionals, academics, and other people interested in the quantitative aspects of socially responsible investing (SRI). UC Berkeley's Haas School of Business, in partnership with the Social Investment Forum, awards the Moskowitz Prize - the only global award recognizing outstanding quantitative work on socially responsible investing.

Business Cases

CasePlace.org Online service of social impact management, corporate social responsibility, and business ethics cases, references, and commentary.

Eco-Advantage list of case studies in Green Business. Cases are from Harvard, London School of Business and other sources.

Job Resources

Career Workbook -- Working in CSR: What's is really like?.
Compiled by UK career coaches, Holly Crane and Satu Kreula, this workbook is for individual interested in pursuing careers in CSR. (Download from website) Recommended by the Haas School of Business (Berkeley) Center for Responsible Business.

Green Dream Jobs. Connects people with business skills with environmentally conscious nonprofits and businesses. Includes a resource directory of associations and organization for various industries.

Competitions

International Finance Corporation: Private Sector Development Research Competition
Sponsored by the International Finance Corporation of the World Bank Group and the Financial Times (FT), the competition seeks to promote the best thinking on the role of business in development. Annual essay competition.

Global Citizenship Challenge. Thunderbird School of Global Management and Net Impact
The annual Global Citizenship Challenge is a global case competition focusing on corporate citizenship, sustainability and international development.

Leeds School of Business/Net Impact International Case Competition. The annual Leeds School of Business/Net Impact Case Competition brings together teams from across North America to formulate sustainable and profitable solutions to a current company's business issue.

Duke University. List of addition competitions.

Green Consumers

Coop America

EcoBusinessLinks: Environmental Directory

Fairtrade.net UK focus.
The FAIRTRADE Mark is an independent consumer label which appears on products as an independent guarantee that disadvantaged producers in the developing world are getting a better deal. For a product to display the FAIRTRADE Mark it must meet international Fairtrade standards.

Green Seal. Green Seal provides science-based environmental certification standards that are credible, transparent, and essential in an increasingly educated and competitive marketplace. Includes standards and directory of products which meet these standards.

Resources for Businesses

Web Sites

Accountability Central. This Web site was designed to be the central resource for news, information, perspective, opinion, counsel and advice, and sharing on these and many other developments that promote accountability. Resource is free, but requires registration.

Clean Washington Center develops markets, technologies, and beneficial end uses for recycled materials. Began as a government agency, but now a non-profit based in Seattle.

Eco-Advantage. An online blog discussing all aspects of eco-friendly business.

The Future 500 organization. A leader in stakeholder engagement. Created the Global Citizenship 360 and Stakeholder Mapping tools.

Green Building Council. United States. Resources for the construction industry.

Green Business. Online forum about growing a "green" business.

Green Globe Green Globe is the worldwide benchmarking and certification program for the travel and tourism industry.

RMI. Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI) is an independent, entrepreneurial, nonprofit organization. We foster the efficient and restorative use of resources

Sustainable Business. Promotes businesses that integrate economic, and social and environmental concerns into their core strategy. Includes a Resource Directory of associations and organizations for various industries.

SPINS has provided the only source of quantifiable information on Natural Product Industry sales across retail channels, and on the consumer and market dynamics underlying the industry's rapid growth.

Government Sites

EPA

Europa Environment

Eionet Factsheets. European Topic Centre on Sustainable Consumption and Production. By topic and country.

International Organizations

Business for Social Responsibility (BSR) Global organization that helps member companies achieve success in ways that respect ethical values, people, communities and the environment. BSR offers a large collection of online tools, many are free, and guidelines on responsible business practices.

Coalition for Environmentally Responsible Economies (Ceres). A national network of investors, environmental organizations and other public interest groups working with companies and investors to address sustainability challenges such as global climate change.

Corporate Social Responisibility for SMEs. (EU) European Comission CSR Campaign for SMEs.

Millennium Development Goals Report 2006
United Nations. Business and the Millennium Development Goals: A framework for Action. This is a joint effort of the Prince of Wales International Business Leaders forum and the United Nations Development Program. It provides practical advice for businesses seeking engagement with each goal.

World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD). The World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) is a CEO-led, global association of some 190 companies dealing exclusively with business and sustainable development.
Publication of the WBCSD in support of the UN Millennium Development Goals.Business for Development: Business Solutions in Support of the Millennium Development Goals

The Business, Competitiveness, and Development Program of the World Bank Institute Seeks to address the need for a better understanding of the role business can play in development issues, through multi-sectoral partnerships.

*