Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Health Care Industry - Research Guide

Contact Marcella Barnhart
Lippincott Library

Industry Analysis & Market Research Academic & Trade Journals Articles & News
Statistics Directories Associations Additional Resources
Industry Analysis and Market Research

BCC Research. Market research reports covering health care, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology.

Datamonitor 360. Market research reports on health care, drug discovery, and pharmaceutical outsourcing, ranging from analysis about the market for particular indications (e.g. The Vaccines Market Outlook to 2014) to broader strategic perspectives (e.g. Optimizing Lifecycle Management).

IBISWorld Industry Reports. U.S.-focused Market research report on a wide range of health care and social assistance industries, emphasizing specific types of providers, services and facilities, for example Home Care Providers and Nursing Care Facilities.

MarketResearch.com Academic. Qualitative industry analysis (e.g. The Market for Wellness Programs and Their Impact on Pharmaceutical, Diagnostic and Device Product Markets) and quantitative research on market trends including data on market segmentation, size, and growth (e.g. Healthcare Computer System Markets and Trends In HIT Buying).

Thomson One. Analyst reports from brokers and independent research firms. Select Screening& Analysis --> Research --> Research Search. (Note: For best results, use Internet Explorer for Thomson products).

S&P Net Advantage. Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys are excellent resources for major industry overviews. Click the Industries tab, then select Healthcare: Facilities or Healthcare: Managed Care from the drop-down list.

Academic and Trade Journals

Cost Effectiveness and Resource Allocation

Health Affairs.

Health Care Management Review.

Health Economics.

Health Management Technology.

Health Policy.

Health Policy and Planning.

Healthcare Executive.

Healthcare Financial Management.

HealthLeaders.

In Vivo.

Inquiry.

International Journal of Health Care Finance and Economics.

Journal of Health and Human Services Administration.

Journal of Health Administration Education.

Journal of Health Economics.

Journal of Healthcare Management.

Journal of Medical Systems.

Leadership in Health Services.

Managed Healthcare Executive.

Marketing Health Services.

Medical Economics.

Medicare and Medicaid Research Review.

Modern Healthcare.

Articles and News

To search for articles and news about the healthcare industry try the following sources:

ABI/Inform. For business-oriented academic journals, trade publications, and magazines. Helpful subject terms include health care industry, health care delivery, and hospitals.

Business Source Complete. For business-oriented academic journals, trade publications and magazines. Helpful subject terms include health care industry, hospitals, and health facilities.

Dow Jones Factiva. Global business news, including the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and New York Times. To view recent news about the industry from the News Pages tab, click Factiva pages and choose Health Care from the drop-down box. Run your own keyword search by clicking the Search tab.

FierceHealthcare. Healthcare management news.

Health Business Full-text. Provides full-text coverage of more than 130 well-known health and life sciences business journals such as Bioworld Week, H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Health Management Technology, Modern Healthcare, and many others. Covers staffing, health care regulation, health care facilities management, marketing, finance, etc.

The Health Care Blog. Discussion of healthcare developments.

Health Workforce Information Center. Sponsored by the Bureau of Health Professions, Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Provides free access to the most recent resources on the nations health workforce. Aggregates reports and data from a wide range of organizations, including salary surveys, distribution of healthcare workers, etc.

LexisNexis. National and international newspapers.

Medline. Premier source for clinical research, as well as coverage of health economics and policy. Content is also available via PubMed.

Statistical Sources

Almanac of Hospital Financial and Operating Indicators. Benchmarking resource with comparative data on key financial indicators. Available in CD-ROM (ask at the Lippincott Reference Desk) or in the Reference Stacks (RA981.A2 A582).

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Research, Statistics, Data site. See also the Health Resources and Services AdministrationData Warehouse, which uses CMS data to provide detailed reports.

Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care. Medical resource distribution data.

Center for Studying Health System Change. Nonpartisan policy research organization the producing research and statistics on insurance costs and coverage, access to care, quality and care delivery and health care markets.

HCUP.net (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project). Federal and selected state statistics and trends on hospital stays including procedures, diagnoses, etc.

Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA). HMCA preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation,including information on health care providers and health care costs. Other reports and data from RWJF can be found from their publications and research page.

Health, United States. Annual publication that presents detailed tables and charts on health status and its determinants, health care resources, health care utilization, and health insurance and expenditures. Also available in print in the Lippincott Reference Stacks, RA 407.3 U57a.

Health plan facts, trends, and data.
RA 413.5 U5 M358 (Latest-Reference Desk; Others-3rd Floor Stacks)

Hospital Statistics. Produced by the American Hospital Association. Current and historical data on utilization, personnel, revenue, expenses, managed care contracts, community health indicators, physician models. RA 981 A2 A6234 (Latest-Reference Stacks; Others-3rd Floor Stacks)

Kaiser Family Foundation. Non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Includes data on insurance coverage, utilization, Medicare/Medicaid, etc.

LexisNexis Statistical. Use this source to identify statistical data published in federal, state, and selected privately published titles (includes abstracts only, not data)

Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). Data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

National Center for Health Statistics. Principal health statistics agency in the United States.

Penn's Biomedical Library - Data Sets & Statistics

OECD iLibrary. The OECD's online library of statistical databases, books, and periodicals. To get to their health data, select Statistics, then scroll down the list of databases on the left-hand side of the page to find OECD Health Statistics

World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS). WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. The WHOSIS database containing core health statistics for WHO Member States.

Directories

AHA Guide to the Health Care Field. Hospital profiles featuring information on the number of beds and admissions, services offered, personnel data and key contacts. RA 977 A1 A46 (Reference Stacks).

American Hospital Directory. Includes summaries of clinical services, utilization and financial statistics.

International Classification of Diseases (ICD). ICD, maintained by the World Health Organization, is the international standard diagnostic classification for all general epidemiological, many health management purposes and clinical use.

National Directory of Managed Care Organizations. RA 413 5 U5 N334 (Reference Desk)

ReferenceUSA. Use the US Healthcare database to search for doctors or dentists by geography and type of practice.

TheStreet.com Ratings' guide to health insurers. HG9395 .S774 (Reference Stacks)

U.S. News & World Report Health Section. Includes guides to best hospitals, best health plans and best nursing homes.

Associations

America's Health Insurance Plans. Association representing companies that provide health insurance coverage.

American College of Healthcare Executives. International professional society of executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations. The Research area contains helpful statistical information and studies.

American Health Care Association. Association of long term and post-acute care providers.

American Hospital Association. National organization that represents types of hospitals and health care networks.

Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA).

Healthcare Information & Management Systems Society (HIMSS). Healthcare industry's membership organization focused on healthcare information technology (IT) and management systems.

Medical Group Management Association. Association for professional administrators and leaders of medical group practices.

Additional Resources

Biomedical Library. The University of Pennsylvania library serving Medical School and Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. The Biomedical Library has many additional dictionaries, handbooks and directories, as well as health care periodicals not found at Lippincott.

Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics (LDI). University of Pennsylvania's center for health services research, health policy analysis, and health care management executive education.

Pharmaceutical Industry Research Guide.

*