Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Industry Studies

Prepared by Cynthia Kardon
Lippincott Library

WEBSITES
INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS AND MARKET RESEARCH REPORTS
FINDING GUIDES FOR INDUSTRY INFORMATION
DATABASE SOURCES for PERIODICALS, AND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES
STATISTICAL INFORMATION
RATIOS and FINANCIAL DATA
INDUSTRY - SPECIFIC
COMPANIES

For FAQs on COMPANY & INDUSTRY

Check the bottom of the screen for location codes.

WEBSITES

Industries Website provides links to websites focussing on industry information.

INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS AND MARKET RESEARCH REPORTS

Bizminer. It covers 17,000 lines of business in 300 U.S. markets. Types of reports include Industry Financial Profiles, Market Research Reports, Area Demographic Profiles, Sole Proprietorship/Startups, and Local Market Profiles.

Business Insights Interactive. International Market Research Reports.

Business Monitor International. Emerging Markets. Selected Industries include Automotives, Commercial Banking, Defense and Security, Transportation, Infrastructure, Pharmaceuticals, Tourism, Oil & Gas. SWOT Analysis.

Business Source Premier. Includes Industry Profiles for a range of different industries. In the search box type: industry profile AND industry (ie. mining). Reports are international.

DATAMONITOR INDUSTRY REPORTS. These industry reports are available through ORBIS. Covers U.S. and international industries. Click on the red arrow at the top of the screen. Search by region and/or industry.

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF AMERICAN INDUSTRIES. [Analyses and statistics.]
HC 102 E53 (RD [See Location Codes])

EMarketer. includes industry reports, market projections and commentary from eAdvertising to wireless.

Euromonitor Global Market Information. Covers over 350 Markets and 207 countries. Includes statistics, in-depth market analysis reports, and company profiles.

Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies.

First Research Industry Profiles are available in Hoovers Online. Brief industry overviews.

Forrester. Tracks technology change relevant to business.

Gartner Intraweb. Market Research Reports. Specializes in IT industries.

ISI Emerging Markets. Emerging Economies. Coverage includes idustry profiles, industry research reports, and news.

MarketResearch.com. Industry coverage includes: service, consumer products, food & beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, and technology & media. The primary geographical coverage is the United States.

MANUFACTURING USA. Industry analyses, statistics and leading companies.
HD 9724 M368 (RD)

U.S. MARKET SEGMENT SPECIALIZATION PROGRAM. [Internal Revenue Service.] Intended for IRS examiners, but also good for industry overviews, issues and structure. This link brings you to an index of pdf files.

MERGENT INDUSTRY REPORTS. Detailed reports on industries in North America, Europe and Asia-Pacific. Industries include Automotive, Electricity, Construction, Oil & Gas.
Available through FACTIVA. Find reports by typing: sn=mergent and construction (or any other industry). Change the date range to: in the last year (or all dates or some other time frame longer than one week).

MERGENT INDUSTRY REVIEW. Key financials, operating data and ratios for over 6,000 companies. Arranged by Industry, covering 137 industry groups.
HD 4961 M68 (latest at RD)

RECAP. Available only in Lippincott Library. Focusses on biotechnology.

STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS. Industry overviews, U.S. and International.

STAT-USA. U.S. Department of Commerce. Includes Market Research Library on business opportunities in other countries. Go to Globus. Select Market Research Library.

VALUE LINE INVESTMENT SURVEY. [Quarterly reports; weekly index.]
(Current paper-across from RD; Also CD; Also 1980-MT, 1969-1979 -MT)

COMPANIES

You may want to screen for companies in a particular industry to locate competitors and leaders.

Business Rankings Annual. International. Rankings by subject category. Sources listed.
HG4061. B89 (Latest RD). 1989-2006.

Business Valuations by Industry. Detailed studies of actual businesses sold. Arranged by industry.
HG 4028. V3 B78 (Latest RD)

D&B International Million Dollar Database. Search by industrial classification. Sort by Sales.

D&B Business Rankings. U.S. Public and Private Businesses Ranked within Industry Category and State.
HG4057.A237 (RD).

Hoover's Online. Search by Industries.

Osiris. Search by industry. Click on "Operating Rev./Turnover" to sort by sales.

FINDING GUIDES for INDUSTRY INFORMATION

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS.
HS 61 A3 E6 (RD or in GALE'S READY REFERENCE SHELF).

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF BUSINESS INFORMATION SOURCES. 2003 ed.
HF 5353 E9 (RD)

GUIDE TO SPECIAL ISSUES AND INDEXES OF PERIODICALS.
Z 7164 C81 G85 1999 (RD)

NORTH AMERICAN INDUSTRY CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM (NAICS). [Replacement for SIC system.]
HF 1042 N677 1997 (RD)

STANDARD INDUSTRIAL CLASSIFICATION MANUAL (SIC CODE MANUAL).
HA 40 I6 U63 (RD)

DATABASE SOURCES for PERIODICALS, AND NEWSPAPER ARTICLES

All available from Lippincott's Homepage-> Just type the database name into the Findit! search box at the top of the screen.

ABI/INFORM - PROQUEST. [Abstracts and full-text of articles from over 1000 business periodicals.]

Business Source Premier. Articles, Swot Analysis, Market Research.

BUSINESS & INDUSTRY. [Includes full-text, U.S. and international.] Trade publications. Tables.

FACTIVA.

LEXIS/NEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE. [Online system containing fulltext trade publications, magazines, newspapers and SEC filings.]

PROMT. Trade Publications.

SPORTS BUSINESS RESEARCH NETWORK. [Contains sports marketing information.]

STATISTICAL INFORMATION

BUSINESS STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES.
HC 101 A13122 (Latest - RD; others RS)

COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS. United States. [Annual.]
HC 101 A184 (RS or CD)

CURRENT INDUSTRIAL REPORTS. [U.S. Dept. of Commerce statistical reports on about 5000 products.]
www.census.gov/cir/www/

InfoTech Trends. Market Data on computers, internet and communications equipment.

Manufacturing and Distribution USA. Industry Analyses, statistics and leading companies.
HD9724. M683 (Latest-RD)

MARKET SHARE REPORTER. Annual compilation of reported market share data on companies products and services.
HF 5415 M375 (Latest-RD)

STATISTICAL UNIVERSE.
HA 202 (Latest-RD; others-RS)

Economic Census of the United States. This census is done every 5 five years. 1997 is also available in cd format at the Lippincott Library Reference Desk.

Older additions available in print at the Lippincott Library. ANNUAL SURVEY OF MANUFACTURES. HD 9724 A211
CENSUS OF CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES HD 9715 U52 A57352
CENSUS OF FINANCIAL, INSURANCE AND REAL ESTATE INDUSTRIES. HG 2493 C39
CENSUS OF MANUFACTURES. HD 9724 A4
CENSUS OF MINERAL INDUSTRIES. HD 9506 U62 A36
CENSUS OF RETAIL TRADE. HF 5429.3 U522
CENSUS OF SERVICE INDUSTRIES. HD 9981.4 A522
CENSUS OF WHOLESALE TRADE. HF 5421 U485

Other censuses available are:

U.S. National Argricultural Statistics Service
U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Check Euromonitor Global Market Information for statistical sources for foreign countries.

PERIODICALS

INDUSTRIAL PRODUCTION AND CAPACITY UTILIZATION. [Published by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.] [Monthly.]
HC 106.5 A165 (Current-PER; Bound-ST)

SURVEY OF CURRENT BUSINESS. [Monthly.]
HC 101 A13 (Current-PER; last 10 years bound-RS; others-ST)

RATIOS and FINANCIAL DATA. United States.

ALMANAC OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL FINANCIAL RATIOS. [Troy's.]
HF 5681 R25 T68 (Latest-RD; others-RS)

ASM STATISTICS FOR INDUSTRY GROUPS AND INDUSTRIES.
HD 9721 A56 (RS)

BUSINESS PROFITABILITY DATA. [Published every 5 years.]
HD 2346 U5 W35 (Latest-RD; others-RS)

BUSINESS RANKINGS ANNUAL.
HG 4061 B89 (Latest-RD; others-ST)

D&B KEY BUSINESS RATIOS.

FINANCIAL STUDIES OF THE SMALL BUSINESS.
HD 2346 U5 F55a (Latest only-RD)

INDUSTRY NORMS AND KEY BUSINESS RATIOS.
HA 214 D815 (Latest-RD; others-RS or CD)

ROBERT MORRIS ASSOCIATES. ANNUAL STATEMENT STUDIES.
HA 214 R54 (Latest-RD; others-RS)

INDUSTRY - SPECIFIC

There are other Lippincott Research Guides that focus on specific industries such as transportation, marketing, financial services, etc.

There are many books and serials on specific industries. To find library materials on individual industries, consult FRANKLIN, the online library catalog. Use keywords such as:
computer industry AND statistics
or
tobacco industry AND united states

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*