Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Information Technology Industry

Prepared by Terese Terry, Lippincott Library

OVERVIEWS DIRECTORIES MARKET RESEARCH
ADVERTISING and MARKETING STATISTICS FINANCE
SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT SELECTED PERIODICALS LOCATION CODES

See also Lippincott TELECOMMUNICATIONS RESEARCH GUIDE

See also Lippincott SELECTED BUSINESS WEBSITES-> INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

For materials in the Penn libraries, search in FRANKLIN on subjects:
Computer Industry; Electronic Commerce; Information Networks; Information Technology;
Internet; World Wide Web

OVERVIEWS

SOURCEOECD. Information Technology Outlook.

STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS. Semi-annual, from 1998. Biotechnology; Communications Equipment; Computers: Commercial Services; Computers: Consumer Services and the Internet; Computers: Hardware; Computers: Networking; Computers: Software; Semiconductor Equipment; Semiconductors. The best single source for major industry overviews.
Accessed through Market Insight. Click on Industry. Select an industry from the drop-down menu and click on Go. Scroll to S&P Industry Survey.

EBUSINESSFORUM. EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit). "Doing E-Business In. . ." analyzes country "E-Readiness."

E-COMMERCE AND DEVELOPMENT REPORT. 2001. U.N. Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). Developing countries.
HF 5548.325 D44 E26 (RS)

EECA. European countries: overview and statistics.
www.eeca.org/

FAULKNER'S ADVISORY FOR IT STUDIES. Comprehensive. Industry Sector overviews (tutorials), directories. Extensive company profiles.

INTERNATIONAL DIRECTORY OF COMPANY HISTORIES. 58+ volumes. See latest volume for Cumulative Index to companies and histories.
HD 2721 I58 (RS)

DIRECTORIES

THE AD STOP. Profiles of Websites; ad rates, metrics, demographics, subject focus and more.
www.theadstop.com/Search.asp

BUSINESS WEEK ONLINE INFO TECH 100 SCOREBOARD OF TOP IT FIRMS. Revenues, growth, return on equity, total shareholder return and profits, company profiles, rankings.
http://bwnt.businessweek.com/it100/1

CORPTECH DIRECTORY OF HIGH TECH COMPANIES. Updated quarterly. (CD) Print version (discontinued) 1986-2000.
HD 9696 A1 C67 (3rd floor)

Dealerscope Top 50 Electronic Consumer Dealers. Annual.
www.dealerscope.com

INFORMATIONWEEK U.S. 500. Largest and most innovative users of information technology.
www.informationweek.com/907/splash.htm
Previous lists, from 1991 are at http://www.informationweek.com/iw500/

IQ INTERACTIVE RESOURCES DIRECTORY. Annual. (CD)

MARKET RESEARCH

EMARKETER. Aggregates e-business data from 1500+ sources worldwide.

EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION.

FORRESTER. Available via:
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS).

FAULKNER'S ADVISORY FOR IT STUDIES. Includes directories, company profiles, market studies and more.

GARTNER INTRAWEB.

OSIRIS. Global Consumer Electronics. Datamonitor report.
Select in Tool Bar-> Select Industry-> Check Alphabetical-> Select CSE (Consumer Electronics).

U.S. COMMERCIAL SERVICE. Reports for 11 IT sectors under "Information & Communication Industry." For non-U.S. markets.
www.buyusainfo.net/adsearch.cfm

ADVERTISING and MARKETING

CYBERATLAS. Global Internet usage, marketing/advertising statistics.
www.cyberatlas.com

B to B. Top 100 advertisers. Top 50 media venues. Website development costs.
http://BtoBOnline.com

STATISTICS

AD RESOURCE. Internet traffic. Glossary. Sample Internet ad rates.
http://adres.internet.com/

DEALERSCOPE. Annual Statistical Survey and Report. Consumer Electronics. Includes Brand Share (Industry Stats).
www.dealerscope.com

E-STATS. Measuring the Electronic Economy. Includes manufacturers' use of e-commerce. U.S. Census.
www.census.gov/eos/www/ebusiness614.htm

EUROPEAN E-BUSINESS--INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION TECHOLOGIES, INDUSTRIES AND SERVICES. Annual. 100-page report + country statistics.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/enterprise/ict/statistics/e-commerce.htm

EUROSTAT. Information Society statistics, Europe.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat/

INFOTECH TRENDS. Quarterly, from 1995. Sales, market share, forecasts.

MEASURING THE INFORMATION ECONOMY. SOURCEOECD.

WORLD BANK ICT AT A GLANCE TABLES. Includes expenditures.
www.worldbank.org/data/countrydata/countrydata.html

FINANCE

INTERNET STOCK REPORT.
http://stocks.internetnews.com

TECHWATCH. Daily. Most active IT stocks, by sector.
http://money.cnn.com/technology/techwatch

THE U.S. ECONOMIC CENSUS includes Consumer Electronics in "Current Industrial Reports;." tabulates annual shipment statistics from 1997, covering value, volume, exports, imports and consumption.
www.census.gov/cir/www/alpha.html

SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT

100 TOP SUPPLY CHAIN COMPANIES. Nominated by customers. The list links to company Websites.
www.supplychainbrain.com/archives/08.03.100partners.htm

EUROSTAT.
http://europa.eu.int/comm/eurostat/

JOURNAL OF BUSINESS LOGISTICS. Industrial marketing management. From 1978,
HD 38.5 J68 (PER & CD) Also HF 5415.13 I53 (PER)

SELECTED PERIODICALS

BUSINESS 2.0. Monthly, from 1998. Also available in print edition from 2001.
HF 5548.32 B872 (PER) http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/1193

ELECTRONIC MARKETS. Quarterly.
www.electronicmarkets.org/

EUROPEMEDIA. From 2000-.
www.europemedia

INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL OF ELECTRONIC COMMERCE: IJEC. Quarterly, from 2000.
HF 5548.32 I58. (PER)

JOURNAL OF INTERNET BANKING AND COMMERCE (JIBC).

THE QUARTERLY JOURNAL OF ELECTRONIC COMMERCE. Quarterly, from 2001.
HF 5548.32 Q378 (PER)

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*