Sidebar
Main Content
Information Technology / Telecommunications / New Media Industry
Prepared by Terese
Terry |
| ICT INDUSTRY | TELECOM | |
| NEWS | NEW MEDIA | |
These resources offer global coverage, except where noted
See also INDUSTRY STUDIES Research Guide; . ADVERTISING & MARKETING INDUSTRIES. COMPANY INFORMATION. SELECTED BUSINESS WEBSITES.
For books and other Penn Libraries materials, search in FRANKLIN on these subjects:
Computer Industry Cyberspace Electronic Commerce Information Networks Information Technology Internet Telecommunication World Wide Web
ICT INDUSTRY
5 TECHNOLOGY TRENDS TO WATCH Annual, 2004 - current. 34pages. Consumer Electronics Association. Search on the title. ce.org
BUSINESS INSIGHTS Market Research
CORPTECH DIRECTORY OF TECHNOLOGY COMPANIES. US-located public, private and subsidiary company profiles, executives. Manufacturers, developers and services. Includes foreign owned subsidiaries.
DIGITAL BUSINESS IT GLOSSARY. Financial Times. | ft.com/dbglossary
Electronics Company Directory . Global ( in top tab) | techonline.com/
FAULKNER'S ADVISORY for IT STUDIES
FORRESTER. Market analysis and surveys cover ITC in virtually every industry.Global coverage, with North America focus.
NOTE: Forrester requires a no-charge, one-time individual registration that can be initiated only on the Penn campus, after which you can access Forrester from anywhere at FORRESTER.COM/.
Not on campus? A librarian will register you. 215-898-5924 or lippinco@wharton.upenn.edu/
GARTNER Market Research.
INFORMATION / TELECOMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGIES. US Dept. of Commerce. Global. Foreign market research. US InfoTech statistics. Information Technology, Telecommunications, E-Commerce, Microelectronics, Instrumentation. export.gov/infotech/
INFORMATION WEEK 500 Annual. Most tech-innovative corporations. informationweek.com/iw500/
INFOTECH 100 Annual. Global BusinessWeek. Company profiles, financials. Interactive table. bwnt.businessweek.com/interactive_reports/it100_2009/
LEDS. Light Emitting Diodes. Technology and Applications. By LEDs magazine. Buyers Guide, Tech Notes (Market News) Company Profiles. (Company supplied profiles) | ledsmagazine.com/
MARKETRESEARCH.COM | Technology & Media Market Research
OFFICE OF COMMUNICATIONS-UK Research and market data. | ofcom.org/uk/research
PHOTOVOLTAICS INTERNATIONAL. News, Product Briefings | pv-tech.org/
RED HERRING 100 Annual. The top new tech companies. Global, Europe, Asia, N. America. | redherring.com/topcompanies/
S&P INDUSTRY SURVEYS . Comprehensive; Includes statistics and comparative company analysis.
Industry Surveys (US): Semi-annual, from 1998. Global Industry Surveys: Covers 12 ICT industry sectors in Asia & Europe. Telecom Wireless in Latin America.
SOURCEOECD.
(Search these titles using quotes.)
- "Communications Outlook." Biennial. Employment, Productivity. Market/Industry Structure. Company financial tables. 300+ pages.
- "Information Technology Outlook." Biennial, 1990--current. International. Graphs, statistical tables, charts and maps.
TECHNOLOGY PREDICTIONS. Annual. Deloitte. 28 pages. | Global; no country focus. deloitte.com/us/2009tmtpredictions/
"Ten Emerging Technologies" Annual. MIT Technology Review | technologyreview.com/special/emerging
US INTERNATIONAL
TRADE ADMINISTRATION. Office of Technology and Electronic Commerce (OTEC)
Global IT, Telecom, E-Commerce, Market Research. Trade
& Industry Statistics, Country specific Market Research.
VALUE LINE INVESTMENT
SURVEY. US industry surveys and detailed company reports.
CD, print & microform. Also Web version in Lippincott library Value Line Database Search
Aid
VAR BUSINESS "State of the Market." " VAR 500. Select Research> varbusiness.com/
WIRELINE COMPETITION BUREAU
STATISTICAL REPORTS. FCC.1988-current.
Industry Analysis High Speed Services ; Statistical
Trends in Telephony. Statistics of Communications Common Carriers;
International Telecommunications Industry;
Historical Rates ; Local/Long Distance Companies and many
more titles. fcc.gov/ccb/statsfcc.gov/wcb/iatd/stats.html/
ICT INDUSTRY -- Statistics
ComputerWorld ANNUAL SALARY SURVEY |
IT Industry Competitiveness. EIU. Global. 31 pages. EIU
Information and Communication for Development 2009 World Bank E-Library Includes country tables.
INDUSTRY TRENDS. Printed Circuit Board Industry statistics. ipc.org/
INFORMATION & COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY.. Annual, 2003 - 2006. (released 3-08) US Census. ICT expenditures by major industry sector. census.gov/csd/ict/
IT FACTS. Data extracted from premium IT research company reports. Monthly.
RESEARCH BRIEF.
;Media Post. Daily posting of a summary and extracted data from
various metric services.
(ComScore, Scarborough, Nat'l Newspaper Ass'n, etc.)
Searchable archives from 2006. | blogs.mediapost.com/research_brief
SEMICONDUCTOR ASSOC. | sia-online.org/
ICT-- HISTORICAL RESOURCES
ANNUAL SURVEY OF COMMUNICATION SERVICES.1994-98. US Census. | census.gov/ftp/pub/svsd/www/ascs.html/
Communications Outlook. OECD. Employment, Productivity. Market/Industry Structure. Company financial tables. 300+ pages. 1990 -- 2007 HE 7645 C656 (RS)
CORPTECH DIRECTORY OF TECHNOLOGY COMPANIES. 1986 - 2005/06. HD9696.A1 C67 (ST) [continued online by CORPTECH DIRECTORY OF TECHNOLOGY COMPANIES.]
ELECTRONIC MARKET DATA BOOK. Electronic Industries Ass'n. Annual. 1970-2003.
US. Economic / Industry overviews, statistics.  : Equipment data. HD 9696 A1 E4 (RS)
Electronic Market Trends. Electronic Industries Assoc. Monthly, 1995-2002. HD 9696 A3 U5394 (ST)
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY INDUSTRY DATA BOOK . 1960-2008. CBEMA. (Computer & Business Equipment Manufacturers) Global.
HD 9696 C62 I535 1990 (RS)
INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY OUTLOOK Biennial, 1990--2007. International. Graphs, statistical tables, charts and maps. HC 79 I55 I5396 (RS)
SOURCE-OECD TELECOMMUNICATIONS DATABASE. BROADBAND PORTAL. Go to: OECD Databases.
STATISTICS OF THE COMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY IN THE US. FCC. Annual, 1939-2003. | HE 7761 A382 (RS)
TELEGEOGRAPHY. Annual. 1995-2003. Global telecommunications traffic. HE 7601 T467 (ST)
Telephony. Magazine. Print: 1905-1909; (Storage)
1997 - 2004; 2006 - 2007. TK 1 A 67
Microfilm: Cont 81,1978 - 2001 (Lippincott Library) Business
Periodicals on Disc (BPOD) In Lippincott Library. 1990 - 2002
US INDUSTRIAL OUTLOOK. 1960-2000. HC 106.5.A24 A542 (RS)
US INDUSTRY & TRADE OUTLOOK '98. HC 106.82 U16 (Van Pelt)
TELECOM
BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL.
Global Telecoms Business Monthly
TELECOM PREDICTIONS Annual. Deloitte. 7 pages. deloitte.com/us/2009tmtpredictions/
ITU WORLD TELECOMMUNICATION INDICATORS. International Telecommunications Union. Statistical time series from 1960 - current. 200+
countries.
Includes mobile, broadband and Internet data . Available in Lippincott Library.
List of the Indicators appearing in the World Telecommunication Indicators/ICT Indicators database
ITU Selected Telecom Statistics. Country Case Studies. | itu.int/ITU-D/ict/statistics/
NIKKEI ELECTRONICS ASIA Views on Telecommunications Industry Trends News (5-09)
STATISTICS OF LOCAL EXCHANGE CARRIERS. US Telephone Association. Financial data/rankings for industry and companies. HE 8815 U553 (RS)
TELECOM PREDICTIONS. Annual. Deloitte. 45 pages. deloitte.com/us/2009tmtpredictions/
TELECOMMUNICATIONS DIRECTORY. Gale Research. Biennial. 2 volumes: N. America, International. HE 7621 T445 (RS)
TELECOMMUNICATIONS MARKET REVIEW AND FORECAST. Telecommunications Industry Association. Annual, 2002 - Current HD 9696 T443 U57193 (RS) 1998 and 2001 editions are in the Annenberg Library
THE WIRELESS ASSOCIATION Wireless Industry Facts & Figures. Industry Directory (Select Business Resources for the latter.
WORLD TELECOMMUNICATIONS DEVELOPMENT. ITU. Annual. HE 7601 W67 (RS)
YEARBOOK OF STATISTICS. International Telecommunication Union. Time series from 1986. 1997-2001. HE 7601 Y437 (RS) The data are available in the ITU CD, see above.
NEW MEDIA
CENTRIS Collects US household information on the choice and use of voice, video, data and electronic products and services. | Monthly, 2001 - 2007. | on: WRDS
CLICKZSTATS Global Internet usage and ad statistics,
demographics, trends.
Searchable archives from 1998. Top 50 Internet Advertisers. |
Top 10 Search Terms., etc. Monthly. clickz.com/stats/
clickz.com/
COMMERCIAL MOBILE RADIO SERVICES COMPETITION REPORT. (in left frame) Federal Communications Commision. FCC http://wireless.fcc.gov/
COMSCORE WEB BEHAVIOR DATABASE.(on WRDS) U.S. Tracks consumer Internet browsing and buying activity. 2002 - 2008.
DOMAIN COUNTS & INTERNET STATISTICS domaintools.com/internet-statistics
ComScore Media Metrix Ranks Top 50 U.S. Web Properties. Monthly, 2004 - current. in: DOW JONES FACTIVA Search on: comscore media metrix ranks top
E-STATS.
Measuring the Electronic Economy. US Census. Industries' use of e-
commerce. Includes historical statistics.
| census.gov/eos/www/ebusiness614.htm
EUROPEAN E-BUSINESS REPORTS. Annual, 2003 - current. European Commission | ebusiness-watch.org/index2.htm
HITWISE US Data Center Monitors online usage and search behavior. Targets a different industry every month. Experian. hitwise.com/datacenter
New Media Use and Effectiveness: B-to-B and B-to-C companies.
PEW INTERNET & AMERICAN LIFE PROJECT
Extensive reports, trends on Internet use. | pewinternet.org/ THOMAS REGISTER.
Type ecommerce to see directory of manufacturing and service |
companies.thomasregister.com/
US Internet Advertising
Outlook, 2006-2010E 49 pages. Morgan Stanley Technology
Research. +other New Media reports, from 1995 - current. The USER REVOLUTION: The New
Advertising Ecosystem and the Rise of the Internet as a Mass Medium.
425 pages. Investment Research.
PiperJaffray. 2007 | http://tiny.cc/xMErm/
(2006 is final print edition) T12 T6 (RS)
NEWS
ELECTRONIC BUSINESS. Monthly, from 1995. Print: HD 9696 A3 U5394 (Lippincott Periodicals, 2nd flr.)
BUSINESS & INDUSTRY. Database of global trade journals.
DOW JONES FACTIVA.
10,000+ global newspapers and journals. including Wall St.
Journal.
+ about 130 telecom, more than 350 computers / electronics and about 180 online-internet
publications.
PROMT. Database of trade journals and press releases.
TECHNOLOGY REVIEW. MIT. Biotech, Infotech, Nanotech, Biztech.
TELEPHONY. Weekly, from 1987 - current.
LOCATION CODES
| ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor | RS = Lippincott Reference Stacks, 2nd flr. |




