Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides

Sidebar

Main Content

Japan Business

Contact Cynthia L. Cronin-Kardon
Lippincott Library

See also Lippincott Research Guides:

Statistics

JAPAN STATISTICS BUREAU. Comprehensive National statistics. Links to many International and Asian Statistical Agencies.

ANNUAL REPORT ON THE FAMILY INCOME AND EXPENDITURE SURVEY. Statistics Bureau, Japan. Annual.
Lippincott Reference Stacks HD 7057 A67. 1962 -current, w/ some years missing. Includes CD, 2002 - current.
Identify earlier editions (in storage) in Franklin, Library Catalog.

BANK OF JAPAN. Financial And Economic Statistics Monthly. Financial Markets Report. (quarterly). Also includes Bank of Japan Statistics.(Biannual)

CEIC . Global Database. Search by Country. Statistical time series. Company; Industry; Economic, demographic, national accounts and more.

ECONOMAGIC. Historical Bank of Japan economic, business statistics.

FINANCIAL STATISTICS OF JAPAN; MONTHLY FINANCIAL REVIEW. . Ministry of Finance.

JAPAN POPULATION STATISTICS. National Institute of Population and Social Security Research.

METI (Japan's Ministry of Economy Trade and Industry). Statistics.

Directories

BANKSCOPE Global. Search by geography. Detailed information for 1000 + Japan banks.

JADE BVD Suite. Company accounts, ratios, activities and management for the largest 390,000 Japanese private and public companies.

JAPAN COMPANY HANDBOOK. 2 vols.: 1st Section and 2nd Section firms.
Lippincott Peck Collection HC 461 J 3513. 1980-current. Online -- See LEXIS below.

LEXIS ACADEMIC Directories.
JAPAN COMPANY HANDBOOK. Public companies. Quarterly updates.
TEIKOKU JAPANESE COMPANIES. Public and private firms.
Start: Sources -> Find a Source - >Type in source name.

JAPAN TELEPHONE DIRECTORY.. Search on category, region or name.

JETRO (Japan External Trade Organization). Trade directory. Includes Market research, economy and trade statistics.

LIST of FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS. Scroll down to "Regulated Institutions."

Associations

JAMA. Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association (also covers motorcycles). Trends and Statistics.
Sales, Production, Import-Export. Includes cars, trucks, Buses, Special Purpose, 3-Wheelers).
See also Japan's Automobile Manufacturers in America (Annual, from 1998) and The Motor Industry in Japan (Annual, from 2000).

JAPAN ELECTRONICS & INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES ASSOC.. Trade & Production statistics . Monthly, 2000 - current.

JAPAN REAL ESTATE INSTITUTE Indices: Urban Land price, Marketa Value, Office & Apartment rent. Investor Survey.

RECORDING INDUSTRY ASS'N of JAPAN. Sales and production statistics for audio, video and music. Current month and historical.
Industry Yearbook. from 2000-current.

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS. INTERNATIONAL EDITION. Type in a keyword and then narrow by country: Japan

News/Market Research

JAPAN CORPORATE NEWS NETWORK (JCN) Daily. Search by Industry Sector.

JAPAN FACTSHEET. Comprehensive coverage.

MAGAZINEPLUS Contains citations of book and journal articles, not full text. Includes 9000+ Japanese language periodicals and 102 Western language journals published in Japan and held by the National Diet Library which are indexed in Zasshi kiji sakuin.
How To Use MagazinePlus (Duke U.)

DAIWA INSTITUTE OF RESEARCH. Quarterly Research Reports, Capital Market Indices, Equity Index Futures and Options;
Japan's Economic Outlook and Medium-Term Economic Forecast.

ECONOMIST.COM/JAPAN. The Economist magazine. Reports, News, Features.

Stock Exchange and Securities Regulation

EDINET (Electronic Disclosure for Investors' Network) Japanese language only. Mandatory for traded companies since 2004. Financial Services Agency of the Japanese Government.

TOKYO STOCK EXCHANGECurrent stock price and ratios. Futures Quotes.
Exchange Traded Funds, Real Estate Investment Trusts. Shareownership Survey.
Fact Book, Exchange statistics, Investment Trends, Indices.

International Sources
EIU Country Commerce. Select Japan. Reports back to 1996.

OECD i-Library Economic Survey of Japan Organization for Economic Cooperation & Development.

US COMMERCIAL SERVICE.. JAPAN Country Commercial Guide. Annual. Market Research. (Free registration required)

JETRO. Japan External Trade Organization. Started in 1958.

Japan Business Federation. Keidanren.

Doing Business inJapan. World Bank.

U.S. Japan Business Council

*