Sidebar
Main Content
Job Search Research Guide
Contact: Cathy Ogur |
| Creating Company Lists | Recruitment & Postings | Interviewing, Cases & Other Resources |
| Company Profiles, News & SEC Filings | Industry Analysis | Market & Product Research |
Also see:
Corporate Affiliations. "A directory of 850,000 parent and subsidiary businesses worldwide, with coverage including in-depth details on directors, executives and their professional interactions." Search by company name, industry classifications, geography, and other criteria.
Lexis Nexis Academic. Search 43 million public and private companies. Go to Companies => Dossier Create a Company List. Click Customize List to choose display criteria. Lists created from this database are downloadable.
Capital IQ. MBA students have access through Wharton MBA Career Management. Click on Students, log in with your Wharton username and password, and then click on Research in the left hand menu to find Capital IQ. Capital IQ can also be accessed, with a Wharton username and password, within Lippincott Library. Ask at the Lippincott Reference Desk for assistance. You can also search for people and their affiliations.
Hoover's Online (International Company Directory). Use "Build a List" to search by your criteria of choice. Click on View More Criteria to see additional search options.
ReferenceUSA. Select U.S. Businesses => Custom Search to generate a list of companies by business type, geography, business size, financial data, and other criteria.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage. Click on Industries and select an Industry Survey to view companies in the industry.
The Career Guide - The Employment Opportunities Directory. A print guide at the Lippincott Reference Desk (HF 5381 A1 D867 2011). Search for businesses by industry or geography, and find occupations for which these businesses hired.
UPenn Career Services. Click on Career Services Library and access the Online Subscriptions with your PennKey and password.
The Directory of Executive & Professional Recruiters 2009-2010. A print guide by Kennedy Information located at the Lippincott Reference Desk (HF 5549.5 R44 D58 2009). Search for recruiters by industry, specialty, and geography.
The Career Journal from the Wall Street Journal.
Search Franklin, the library catalog.
| Sample Search | Search for "Employment interviewing." Use the Subject Heading - Library of Congress option in the "Search by" box. |
Crack the case: how to conquer your case interviews. A book by David Ohrvall. Located at the Lippincott Reference Desk (HF 5549.5 I6 O347 2007).
Case in point : complete case interview preparation. A book by Marc P. Cosentino. Located at the Lippincott Reference Desk (HD69.C6 C645 2007).
WetFeet and Vault Career Insider Guides: Go to the UPenn Career Services Reference Library and access the Online Subscriptions with your PennKey and password. WetFeet contains Ace Your Case Insider Guides. Vault Career Insider has information regarding case interviews, as well. MBAs log in to Wet Feet and Vault through MBA Career Management. Click on Students => log in with your Wharton ID & password => Research.
Factiva. Click on Companies/Markets, and then select Company. Search by name to get general contact information, the latest news stories, plus key financials and stock price data.
Orbis. Search by company name for a profile, M&A deals, news and filings. Detailed company profiles including SWOT analyses by Datamonitor are available here.
Lexis Nexis Academic. Under Get Company Info, search by company name or ticker. The Company Snapshot includes a business description, current news and key financials.
Thomson One. Find tear sheets, annual reports (management discussion), SEC filings and more. Under Screening & Analysis, click Research => Research Search to find analyst reports.
Also see the Company Information Research Guide.
IBIS World Industry Reports. Reports for over 700 United States industries organized by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
Career Guide to Industries, by the U.S. Department of Labor. Find Industry Organization, Recent Developments, Working Conditions, and Employment Outlook by major industry.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage. Click on Industries and select a particular sector.
Thomson One. Under Screening & Analysis, click on Research => Research Search to search by industry for analyst reports.
Also see the Industry Studies Research Guide.
Business & Industry. Click on Advanced Search. This database contains information on public and private companies, industries, markets, and products. B&I provides Industry overviews, forecasts, trends, market size and more.
| Sample Search | Search by company or product name, then use the dropdown box to select "market share." |
Mintel Research Reports analyze trends, provide market forecasts and report on major players in an industry. Search by keyword, or browse reports by general product area. Users are required to create a free profile.
Euromonitor provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers. Use the Search tab at the top to generate a menu driven search based on consumer product area and geographic region.
Also see the Consumer Behavior and Demographics Research Guide.



