Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides

Sidebar

Main Content

Latin America /Caribbean: Business

Contact Cynthia L. Cronin-Kardon
Lippincott Library

TOP RESOURCES FINANCE / TRADE STATISTICS NEWS / MARKET RESEARCH
DICTIONARIES BRAZIL MEXICO LOCATION CODES

See also Lippincott Resource Guides: International Statistics; Company Information; Exporting & Importing

REGIONAL DESIGNATIONS
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia,Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala,Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela
  • Caribbean: Cuba, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago
  • Central America: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama
  • Comunidad Andina (CAN, the Andean Community): Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru
  • Latin America 12: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba,Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela
  • Mercado Comzn del Sur (Mercosur, the Southern Cone customs union): Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay.
  • Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS): Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines. Anguilla and the British Virgin Islands are associate members.
TOP RESOURCES
Company Information

BANKSCOPE. Detailed financial reports for more than 1600 banks in 39 Latin American / Caribean countries.

BLOOMBERG. (located in Lippincott library and Huntsman) | Bloomberg Search Aid

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER. Includes Datamonitor company profiles (which include SWOT Company Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats analyses for selected public companies).
Select Company Profiles, then search on: [country name] in Browse Bar.

CEIC. Select Sector Database Public companies in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia & Mexico. | CEI Search Aid

DATASTREAM. Global time series database for financial instruments, equities, commodities and economic indicators. (Available in Lippincott Library).
DataStream Search Aids

DOW JONES FACTIVA Select: Companies/Markets. Public company profiles. Daily stock prices, from 2 years back.

COMPUSTAT GLOBAL & EMERGING MARKETS DATABASE. (S&P). Financial & Market data. | WRDS

ISI EMERGING MARKETS. News, Listed and non-listed Companies, Financial markets, Economic and Investment analyses. Market research.
Countries covered include: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, Central America.

LEXIS NEXIS ACADEMIC. Select: Business --> Company Profiles (in left column). Search on company name or partial company name. Multiple global databases are searched .

MERGENT INTERNATIONAL MANUAL. (Formerly Moody's) Annual, 1981 - 2005. Government debt history. Major companies' financial reports. HG 4527 M6 (Peck Collection, Lippincott Library) Continued by MERGENT WEB

MERGENT WEB. Image version of Mergent International Manual. 1981 - current
MERGENT ONLINE NEWS/INDEX UPDATES / DIVIDEND RECORD & NEW LISTINGS. Select Downloads from top tool bar.
Includes Complete Corporate Indices, 2004 - current (Bottom of News Reports page).

ORBIS. (BVD) Company financials, news, mergers. Industry & Company market research for Central and South American firms. [Use IE Explorer]

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL. Includes industry analyses, Brief country profiles, Country risk, Foreign investment

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER. Type: [country name] in Geographic terms field. On the next screen, select from: Country Reports, Industry Profiles or Market Research Reports.

DOW JONES FACTIVA. 10,000 + publications, including Wall St.Journal ; >Financial Times; The Economist; Business Latin America (EIU).
Latin American publications include: Gazeta Mercantil. Daily, 1998 - current; Business News Americas Daily, 2000- current. Available in Spanish text.

EIU COUNTRY COMMERCE. Semi-annual, 1996 - current. Commercial indicators, regulatory information and more. Includes Corporate foreign investment.
Countries covered include: Argentina, Brazil, Central America, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala-Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, Venezuela.

EIU COUNTRY FORECAST. Quarterly 1996 - current.

EIU COUNTRY PROFILES. 180 countries 1986-1999. To locate the call number, search by Title in: Franklin, the online catalog, Example: country profile argentina
Continued in Business Source Premier. . [Ceased print and online publication w/ 2009 ed.]

ECONOMIC COMMISSION for LATIN AMERICA/CARRIBBEAN. (CEPAL). Statistical Yearbook includes research, analysis and FDI. See also CEPAL Review 1993 - current. Select Publications in left frame.

ECONOMIC SURVEY - OECD. Annual, 1948-current. Includes CD. HC 161 U525 (RS)
More country information in : SOURCEOECD. Select: Country Reports & Tables.

INTER-AMERICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK. Research & Data; Country Key Indicators.

LATIN AMERICA / CARRIBEAN IN THE WORLD ECONOMY. Annual, 1999-current. Includes CD.
| HF 1480.5 L38 (RS)

Statistical Bulletin-Latin America. United Nations. 1964-72. (Ceased publication). | HA751 .U5 (Lippincott Stacks, 3rd flr)

STATISTICAL YEARBOOK for LATIN AMERICA / CARIBBEAN. 1985-current. | HA 755 A68. (Van Pelt Reference Stacks)

FINANCE / TRADE

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER.    Search on title for these monthly (2002 - current) publications:
Latin America Monitor: Andean Group; Latin America Monitor: Brazil Monitor; Latin America Monitor: Mexico Monitor ; Latin America Monitor: Southern Cone Monitor.

INTERNATIONAL FINANCE CORPORATION. ( World Bank) . DOING BUSINESS REPORTS. Countries ranked by multiple criteria on the ease of doing business. | doingbusiness.org/DOWNLOADS/

LAVCA. Latin American Venture Capital Assoc. Research papers on VC in Latin American countries. Links to regional & international VC information. | lavca.org/

Also search these publications for finance / trade information.

NEWS / MARKET RESEARCH

BUSINESS & INDUSTRY.   Limit results to: GEO REGION - Latin America.

Economia .     Journal -Latin American / Caribbean Economic Ass'n LACEA). Semiannual, 2003 - current. | Print: HC 151 A1 E266 (PER)

ECONOMIST - Americas     Business, Finance, Economy News. | economist.com/world/americas/

EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION.     Demographics, consumption, media audience etc.

Latin Trade     Includes annual company / bank rankings, economic forecast. Covers 8 countries.
Search on: ratings & rankings | Print: HF 3230.5 A35 (PER)

LatinFinance Monthly. | HG 185.L3 L36 (PER; Also on LexisNexis)

Market Latin America     Monthly, 2003 - 2008. Ceased publication. Regional consumer market trends, covering macroeconomic, demographic, & sociopolitical factors.

US GOV'T EXPORT PORTAL.    Select Market Research --> Market Research Library | export.gov/

PROMT.    Market, industry, company and product news.

ZONALATINA.    Media and market research reports. Media directories. | zonalatina.com/

STATISTICS

(See also TOP RESOURCES)

CEIC     Country Financial, Industry, Government and Demographic statistics. | CEIC Search Aid

GLOBAL INSIGHT.     Time Series. Select DataInsight-Web

ENERGY INFORMATION ADMINISTRATION.     Select: Country Energy Profiles

INTERNATIONAL DATABASE. U.S. CENSUS. IDB SUMMARY DEMOGRAPHIC DATA.    From 1950, with projections to 2050. | census.gov/ipc/www/idb/

LATIN AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN ENVIRONMENT OUTLOOK    The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) | unep.org/pdf/GEOLAC_3_ENGLISH.pdf/

UN COMTRADE.    Trade Statistics.

UN INVESTMENT PROMOTION NETWORK.    Foreign direct finance, privatization, economic data. | fdi.net

DICTIONARIES

BUSINESS GLOSSARY: ENGLISH-PORTUGUESE/PORTUGUESE-ENGLISH. | HF 1002 B897 1998 (RS)

ELSEVIER'S DICTIONARY OF FINANCIAL AND ECONOMIC TERMS: SPANISH-ENGLISH AND ENGLISH-SPANISH. | HG 151 U75 1996 (RS)

ONLINE FOREIGN LANGUAGE DICTIONARIES.
1. DICTIONARY LINK | dictionarylink.com/
2. WORD2WORD | word2word.com/
3. TRAVLANG | travlang.com/

WILEYS ENGLISH-SPANISH, SPANISH-ENGLISH BUSINESS DICTIONARY. | 1996 HB 61 K323 (RS)

BRAZIL

BANCO CENTRO DO BRASIL     Economic Indicators, Monthly Statistical Bulletin, 1996 - current, Working Papers. | bcb.gov.br/

BOVESPA: SAO PAULO STOCK EXCHANGE    The only stock trade center in Brazil, and Latin America's largest stock exchange, accounting for nearly 70% of the region's trade volume. Listed Companies' financials. | bovespa.com.br/

BRAZIL TRADE NET.    Brazil Ministry of External Relations. | Use IE browser | braziltradenet.gov.br/

THE DEVELOPMENT BANK -- BRAZIL.     Select: Publications --> Economic Bulletin. (monthly) and International Bulletin (Biannual) | bndes.gov.br/english/

INSTITUTO BRAZILEIRO DE GEOGRAFIA E STATISTICA .    Brazil official population, industry and economy statistics | ibge.gov.br/

MEXICO

BANCO DE MEXICO

BOLSA MEXICANA de VALORES    Listed company profiles are in Spanish. | bmv.com.mx/

INEGI, the Mexican National System of Statistical and Geographical Information    in Spanish. | inegi.org.mx/inegi/

Latin America Monitor: Mexico Monthly, 2002 - current.

Mexican Newspapers | /mexico.usembassy.gov/eng/newspapers.html/

MEXICO -- BUSINESS DIRECTORY. | directorio-de-empresas.com.mx

PROMEXICO     Industry profiles: Chemical, Renewable Energy, Vacation Homes. + "Industrial Costs in Mexico." | promexico.gob.mx/wb/Promexico/idiomas/

LOCATION CODES

WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services RS = Lippincott Reference Stacks 2rd Flr. PER =Lippincott Periodicals 2nd Flr.
*