Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Marketing 221-003 - New Product Development

Prepared by Cynthia Kardon
Lippincott Library

For best results when printing, use Netscape 7.

This guide is an overview of sources of information (both electronic and print) available from Lippincott Library. The examples provided recommend search strategies for use in preparing your class project

Product Information

What is your idea? Who else is doing it? What other products do the same thing? What are the industry trends?

BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY
a database containing information on public and private companies, industries, markets, and products. It is international in scope. Provides Industry overviews, forecasts, trends, market size and more.

Sample Search:

Geographic Area:Must be U.S.A; Words and Phrases: gourmet coffee; Concept Term: Market share OR Market size

Sample Title:

Steam Heat: Kindle sales of hot beverages this year...
Source: Food Management 36(12):38(4) December 2001

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
This database includes journal articles as well as Industry Yearbooks from WEFA.

Sample Search:

Search by Publication. Select "Match any word" and type in: Yearbook.
A list of industry yearbooks will be listed in alphabetical order.

FACTIVA (Use Internet Explorer 5.1 or higher)
Full Text online service providing national and international news coverage.

Sample Search:

Click on Publications Library, Change Publications : add Health Care Industry and remove business wires. Click on Done. Select all dates. Limit to Headline or Lead Paragraph and display most recent first. Search "Lasik or Laser Vision.

Sample Title:

Laser Vision Correction Market Consolidates
Medical Laser Insight . September 2001

eMarketer
eMarketer reports combine original analysis with aggregated numbers from leading sources worldwide.

Sample Search:

Use EStat. Click on Communication Technology. Click on Wireless.
726 records found.

Gartner IntraWeb
a leading provider of market research reports specializing in information technology (IT) industries. Provides business technology research, consumer and market intelligence.

Sample Search:

Use Data Pro to evaluate competitors. Includes pricing information and competitors. Click on Datapro. From right frame select product type-Healthcare Application Software. Click on a company name.

Sample Company Listing:

3M Health Information Systems. Includes Summary, Overview, Analysis, Pricing, Competitors,Strengths, Limitations and Insights.

Sample Search:

Use Dataquest for research reports. Click on Dataquest. Click on All Dataquest Research. Subject listed alphabetically. Click on Hardware Marketplace Worldwide.

Sample Report Title:

Asia Pacific: Server and Storage Market. January 18, 2002.

Investext
Investment Research and Industry Analysis.

Sample Search (industry search):

Using the drop-down menu, select in=. Click on search. Click on Automotive for a list for reports on that industry.

PROMT
Topics indexed in PROMT include: new product development, market share, advertising strategy, mergers & acquisitions, use of materials, computer industry, federal regulation, consumer attitude, sales and consumption, and orders and contracts.

Sample Search:

candles and (trends or market)

Sample Title

Candles: What's Hot (Statistical Data Included)
DSN Retailing Today. Vol 4(1), January 7, 2002, p29.

Reuters Business Insight
International market research reports on the subjects of consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, technology,telecoms, ecommerce and human relations.

Sample Search:

Click: Consumer Goods. Click: Choose All. Search: Snacks.

Sample Title:

Snacks: Market Data Series.

Manufacturing and Distribution USA. (annual book)
Three volume set of industry overviews organized by SIC or NAIC. Includes leading players, product breakdown, forecasts,etc.
Lippincott Reference Desk HD9724.M683 2000

Market Share Reporter. (annual book)
Lippincott Reference Desk HF5410.M375.

Consumer Demographics

Business and Industry
Sample Search:

Geographic Area: Must be USA. Keyword: exercise or fitness. Concept: Demographics.

Sample Title:

Grandpa gets fit.
American Demographics. November, 2001.

eMarketer
Sample Search:

Click on "login to Estats. Choose Dempgraphics.

Sample Title:

The New Digital Divide: Broadband vs. Dial-up Users.
January 17, 2002.

Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database
Consumer Demographics.

Sample Search:

Select Consumer Market Size. Select United States as the country. Select Clothing and Footware.

Sample Results:

17 reports including: Footware: value of sales 1995-2000 and forecasts to 2005. Click on Information Sources to locate primary source(there are 15 sources for the USA clothing industry).

Lifestyle Market AnalystBook.
Demographic and lifestyle activities based on consumer questionnaires. Published by Standard Rate and Data Services (SRDS)
Lipp Ref Desk HF5415.33.U6.L54 2000

MRI. print or cd-rom.
Consumer surveys arranged by product. Media habits included.
Available in the Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.

Simmons Choices II. Cd-Rom
Consumer Survey arranged by product. More product coverage than MRI. Media habits included.
Available in the Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.

TableBase
contains tabular information dealing with companies, products, industries, brands, markets, demographics and countries from around the world.

Sample Search:

Treadmill*

Sample Title:

US Top 21 Sports or Fitness Activities...
Research Alert. June 21, 2001.

Costs and Profits

What are production costs? Advertising costs? What can you charge?
Most of the above databases can be used to answer these questions. Some print sources are also included that contain advertising costs and profitability or expenses

ABI/Inform - Proquest
Search: (Pricing or cost) and product

Sample Title:

Slack, Bill. "The Economics of Quality."
Industrial Distribution. 91(1): January, 2002, p.72.

Business and Industry
Sample Search:

Geographic Area: Must be USA. Keyword: Travel. Concept: Price or Trends. Ad Budget

Sample Title:

Stay put or Sieze the day.
USA Today December 28, 2001.

PROMT
Sample Search:

pric* and candles.

Sample Title:

Betty Crocker Country Orchard Collection Fruit Gel jar Candles
Product Alert. December, 2001.

The Standard Rate and Data Service Publications. Book
Has advertising costs for various media including consumer magazines, b 2 b magazines and radio.
Lipp Ref Desk HF5905.S723 2000

AD$SUMMARY: Book.
Advertising Costs by company and/or brand for 10 different media.
Lipp Ref Desk HF5802.N312 1999

Business Profitability Data. Book.
Lipp Ref Desk: HD2346.U5.W35 1998

Financial Studies of Small Businesses. Book

Includes advertising expenses and other operating costs
Lipp Ref Desk HD2346.U5.F55a 2000

RMA Annual Statement Studies. Book.
Lipp Ref Desk HA214.R54 2000/2001

Other Library Resources

FRANKLIN: Penn's Online Catalog http://www.franklin.library.upenn.edu/

Sample Searches:

Keyword Search: "advertising media planning": 34 Titles. (be sure to include quotations)
Keyword Search: "Marketing Management": 181 Titles

EJOURNALS: http://www.library.upenn.edu/webbin5/resources/ejspublic5.cgi

Select Community of Interest=Marketing. Select Community Cluster=Business
34 Marketing Journals, on-line and full text. Includes American Demographics.

WEBSITES

Several Websites are also helpful. From the Lippincott Homepage click on Selected Business Websites then select Marketing and Advertising as a subject. Good sites include:

MediaPost http://www.mediapost.com/
AdvertisingWorld (from the University of Texas)http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/

RESOURCE GUIDES
Additional resources compiled by Lippincott Library Reference Staff.

Marketing Resources

Advertising and Marketing Industries
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott/pubs/RG02adver.html

Sources for product development

Engineering Entrepreneurship
http://www.library.upenn.edu/lippincott/pubs/engentre.html
*