Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Media Industry

For more information, contact Mia Wells

Industry Information Directories Statistics News Media
Publishing Television Film Music

See also: Company Information and Industry Studies research guides.

Industry Information

Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database. Note: this database works best using Internet Explorer.

Sample Search Scroll over Countries & Consumers in the top toolbar, then choose Technology, Communications and Media.

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage. Global industry surveys.

Sample Search Click on the Industries tab, then choose Broadcasting & Cable, Movies & Home Entertainment, or Publishing from the Industry Surveys drop-down menu. For information on advertising in other parts of the world, select a region of interest from under Global Industry Surveys and look to see if any of the three aforementioned industry surveys is available for that region.

IBIS World Industry Reports. Industry reports for the United States, getting down to NAICS-level industries. Scroll down to the Information sub- heading to find media industries, like Movie & Video Production, Music Publishing, Book Publishing, etc.

Value Line Research Center. Industry overviews as well as company snapshots.

Sample Search Click Log on, then continue through the Subscribers Area. Click Plus Edition in the lefthand menu, then click on Lookup Industry, then browse through the list to find industries like Entertainment, Publishing, Newspaper, etc.

Global Entertainment and Media Outlook, by PricewaterhouseCoopers. 11th edition, covering 2010-2014, is available at Annenberg Library Reference at call number PN1561 .G463.

Kagan's MediaCast, by Paul Kagan Associates. 2010 edition, covering 7 years prior and 10 years forward, available at Annenberg Library Reference at call number HE7761 .K323.

Marketer's Guide to Media. Trends, demographics and ad costs by Mediaweek. Available at Annenberg Library Reference at call number HF5826.5 .M45.

Directories

Gale Directory of Publishing and Broadcast Media. Listings for radio, tv, and cable companies, as well as print media entities -- covering the US, Canada, and some international media.

Standard Rate and Data Service (SRDS). Directory, consumer demographics, and statistics for TV & cable, radio, newspapers, and more.

Who Owns What. From the Columbia Journalism Review's website, a directory of major media companies and the brands that they own.

MediaPost Directories. Free directory, representing all media types.

Kemps. "Search engine for international production services" for film, television, and commercial shoots.

Statistics

AdSpender . US media use and advertising expenditures by product/brand/parent company, industry, type of media used, etc. 5 years of historical data coverage.

Media InfoCenter. From the Media Management Center at Northwestern University, use the Data & News column to find statistics in all media types.

Variety - box office statistics, tv production schedules, and more.

Sample Search After logging in with the provided username information, browse using the tabs provided. These include Film, TV, Legit (aka Theater), Music, Tech, and International. The Hot Topics sub-heading for each category typically includes box office statistics and other data points.

MediaWeek. Look for the section with Search for articles within this publication, then type "geographic profiles" to view US city media market profiles.

News Media

State of the News Media. Detailed charts and tables for audience, economics and ownership in all formats - broadcast and print - from the Pew Project for Excellence in Journalism.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive. Comprehensive video archive of television news stories and broadcasts. Easily searchable by keyword, with borrowing privileges granted for DVD and VHS materials.

Benn's Media. Biennial directory of the press media. Available at the Van Pelt Reference Desk at call number P88.8 .B48

Reporters Without Borders. Publishes news and statistics regarding the freedom of the press worldwide. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to find an annual Press Freedom Index of countries worldwide, Country Files, and more.

Publishing

Ulrich's Periodical Directory Global directory of periodicals (academic/scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, newspapers, etc). Search by title, keyword, subject, or ISSN.

MRI+. Directory of magazine and print media information, including audience metrics and consumer demographic information.
Note: you'll need to create a free profile to log in and out of this resource.

Chronicling America. The Library of Congress's historical directory of American newspapers -- from 1690 to the present -- including page images of certain papers from 1860-1922.

Global Books in Print. Also known as Bowker's Global Books in Print, this directory allows you to search for in-print and out-of-print books by author, title, publisher, subject, and more. Including author biographies, publishing house information, and more.

Television

Broadcasting and Cable Top 25 Station Groups, ranked yearly according to the percentage of US TV homes that they reach. In the Search for articles within this publication box, enter "top 25 station groups".

International Television and Video Almanac. Directory of television and video products and industry statistics, including Nielsen ratings (for top rated shows with their rating/market share numbers). Available at Annenberg Library Reference at call number HE8698 .I55 going back to 1987.

Encyclopedia of Television, 2nd edition, from the Museum of Broadcast Communications. Available at Annenberg Library Reference at call number PN1992.18 .E5 2004. 1st edition available online at the Museum of Broadcast Communications listing of Publications.

Television Bureau of Advertising - Facts & Figures page of statistics related to TV advertising, audience metrics, market profiles, and more.

Study of Media & Health: Television/Video - from the Kaiser Family Foundation, a series of reports on how media consumption affects the health and health education of Americans.

Trade organizations can be a great place to retrieve industry-specific statistics and data. Try:
National Cable and Telecommunications Association (NCTA)
Satellite Broadcasting and Communications Association (SBCA)
Cable Europe
Ofcom - regulatory agency for UK communications industries

Film

American Film Institute Catalog. Directory of American films released going back to 1893, with comprehensive coverage of older films and selected coverage of major films since 1975.

International Film Guide. Annual guide to films released globally within a year. Available at Annenberg Library Reference Stacks at call number PN1993.3. I544.

International Motion Picture Almanac. Global directory, including statistics and market data. 1956-current with some missing volumes, Annenberg Library Reference and Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks at call number PN1993.3. I55.

Film Journal International. Industry guides to upcoming releases, studios and distributors, equipment and exhibitions, and more.

Box office, theater counts, production budget and other data can be found from several free websites, including:
BoxOffice.com
The Numbers
ShowBIZ Data
Box Office Guru
Box Office Mojo

Industry data from trade associations can be found at:
Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA)
National Association of Theatre Owners (NATO)
Cinema Advertising Council.
UK Cinema Exhibitors' Association
UK Film Council

Music

Billboard. Top trade association for music and radio play.

Billboard International Buyers Guide. Annual company directory for the music trade. Volumes from 1999 - current, with most recent issues available in the Van Pelt Library Marian Anderson Music Study Center at call number TS2301.P3 B455

Arbitron - market research firm focusing on radio. Click on the Free Studies & Reports link in the lefthand menu for many comprehensive market studies on radio listeners.

TicketNews. Rankings, statistics and more for the ticket and events industry.

Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). Key statistics on shipments and purchases of recorded music.

International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI). Statistics, data, and research from the international trade association for the recording industry.

*