Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Media Industry: Broadcast / Entertainment

Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library

-MEDIA OVERVIEWS/STATISTICS
MEDIA DIRECTORIES --
/center>
BROADCAST/ENTERTAINMENT
MEDIA NEWS
MEDIA JOBS
LOCATION CODES

See also: LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES:

SELECTED BUSINESS WEBSITES-> Media

FRANKLIN Online Catalog Subject Headings: Media; Mass Media--Economic Aspects

ANNENBERG LIBRARY. The Penn's Annenberg School for Communication Library is located at 3620 Walnut St.

ALL-MEDIA OVERVIEWS / STATISTICS -- PENN

DATAMONITOR Industry Reports on OSIRIS BvD (Bureau van Dijk) SUITE.
Expert Mode-> [red chevron symbol] in Tool Bar-> Industry. Check Alphabetical. Select Media.

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF EMERGING INDUSTRIES. Gale.
HD 2324 E 528 (RD)

EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE.
Entertainment Media--Audio Media. Global report.
The World Market for Books and Publishing. Includes country and company profiles.

GLOBAL ENTERTAINMENT & MEDIA OUTLOOK. PricewaterhouseCoopers.
PN 1561 G463 (Annenberg RS)

HOOVER'S ONLINE.
Select: Browse Industries 1. Leisure 2. Media

INVESTEXT.
Broadcast Television Fact Book. U.S. Semi-annual. Bear Stearns. Ownership. Station Transactions, From 1991. Advertising and Rating Statistics.
Cable/Media Review. U.S. Quarterly. Bear Stearns.
Find other industry reports in Investext Plus with keywords: Leisure and Recreation; Broadcasting/Cable TV; Media and Entertainment; Publishing. (Example Search: publishing and industry report)

KAGAN MEDIA MONEY WEEKLY. From 1990. Economic data, mergers for media, entertainment and communications sectors.
P92 U5 K282 (Annenberg PER)

STANDARD & POOR'S INDUSTRY SURVEYS. Broadcasting--Cable; Movies and Home Entertainment; Publishing.
Accessed through Market Insight. Select industry-> Go. Scroll to S&P Industry Surveys.    Also in print: RD and Reserve Stacks.

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. A convenient source of statistical tables for all types of media, with extensive references.
In STAT-USA / INTERNET.      Also in print, HA 202 (RD)

VERONIS SUHLER & ASSOCIATES COMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY FORECAST. Annual, from 1994. With CD/ROM.
P 96 E252 U633 (Annenberg Reserve)

ALL-MEDIA STATISTICS -- WWW

ARBITRON. Radio, Internet and outdoor media. Primarily fee-based, but provides 50+ current research reports free. Includes consumer target data. Select Free studies
http://www.arbitron.com/ad_agencies/

EUROSTAT. EU media and entertainment usage.
http://www.eu-datashop.de/service/EN/infos/kostenl/schl_ind.htm      Select Europeans' participation in cultural activities

MEDIA INFOCENTER. Northwestern University. Includes historical data.
http://www.mediainfocenter.org

MEDIAMARK RESEARCH. Database of ad rates, circulation and editorial/reader profiles. Includes CMR (now TNS/CMR Media Intelligence) data for total ad revenue, by type of media. Free registration required.
http://www.mriplus.com/

MENDELSOHN MEDIA RESEARCH. Annual. 1. Audience demographics for magazines, newspapers and cable TV; 2. Mendelsohn Affluent Survey.
http://www.mmrsurveys.com/

NCTA (National Cable and Telecommunications Association). Cable usage and industry statistics. Subscriber statistics, by network.
http://www.ncta.com/      Select Industry Overview

STATE OF THE MEDIA. Annual. Columbia University. Online; network, cable and local TV; magazines; radio; ethnic/alternative. Overviews, content analyses, audiences, economics, ownership, news, investments, public attitudes, charts and tables.
http://www.stateofthemedia.org/

U.S. ECONOMIC CENSUS. The Information Industry. The NAICS (North American Industry Classification Code System) for Information Industry (all media) is 51.
http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/guide.html

THE INFORMATION AGE. World Bank. Global media use.
http://www.worldbank.org/data/databytopic/itc.html/     Print: HC 59.15 W656 (RD)

UNESCO. Libraries, book production (1999); Films and cinemas (1999); Museums and related (1999); Broadcasting (1997).
http://www.uis.unesco.org

ALL-MEDIA DIRECTORIES -- PENN

Note: Media directories vary in coverage and descriptive details.

BENN'S MEDIA. Annual. International mass media.
P 88.8 B48 (Van Pelt RS)

DIRECTORY OF BUSINESS INFORMATION SOURCES. Directories, databases, magazine special issues, by topic.)
HF 54.52 U5 D567 (RD)

DIRECTORY OF PUBLISHING & BROADCAST MEDIA.
In GALE'S READY REFERENCE SHELF. International. Annual, with supplements. Includes advertising rates (except for broadcast media) and circulation. TIP: Use Extended Search (Organization).
Print,: Z 6951 A97 (Van Pelt Library RD)

100 LEADING MEDIA COMPANIES. Advertising Age. Annual. Rankings by revenue. An August issue. Not available online.
Current issues (PER-Oversize Shelves) Earlier issues on microfilm.

STANDARD RATE AND DATA SERVICE. SRDS. U.S. and Canada. (RD) BUSINESS PUBLICATION ADV. SOURCE. HF 5905 S723
CONSUMER MAGAZINE ADV. SOURCE. HF 5905 S725
INTERACTIVE ADV. SOURCE. HF 5905 S727
NEWSPAPER ADV. SOURCE. Includes market data. HF 5905 S73
RADIO ADV. SOURCE. Includes Arbitron rankings. HF 5905 S74
TV & CABLE SOURCE. Includes demographics, Nielsen, DMA data and market profiles. HF 5905 S745

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*