Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Media : Publishing

Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library

INDUSTRY SURVEYS DIRECTORIES STATISTICS
NEWS LOCATION CODES

Franklin  Penn library catalog. Subject headings: Book industries and trade; Publishers and publishing.

See also Lippincott Research Guides:
Advertising & Marketing      Information, Communications, Technology / New Media.     Media: Broadcast / Entertainment.

INDUSTRY SURVEYS

BOWKER ANNUAL LIBRARY AND BOOK TRADE ALMANAC.    News, analyses, trends.     1989 - current.     Z 731 A47 (Van Pelt RD)

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER    Global.    (EBSCO).     Type: publishing in TITLE.   On next page, Select Industry Profiles

HOOVER'S ONLINE US

STANDARD & POOR'S MARKET INSIGHT    Compustat Industry financials.     S&P Industry financials.

STANDARD & POOR'S NET ADVANTAGE     US Industry Surveys . 1999 - current.
Global Industry Surveys (Asia , Europe)     2004 - current
Print:   1993 - 2000. HG 4921 S652 (Peck Collection, Lippincott 2nd floor.)

STATE OF THE NEWS MEDIA   US    Columbia U.     Annual, 2004 - current. (Get earlier editions by changing date in the URL.)

THE COMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY FORECAST. Veronis Suhler.     Annual, 1999 - current.     P 96 E252 U633 (Annenberg Library RS)

DIRECTORIES -- COMPREHENSIVE

Note: Media directories vary in coverage and descriptive details.

"100 LEADING MEDIA COMPANIES."     Annual.      Advertising Age    (Data Center) US.      Includes circulation, linage & gross and ad revenue.         The Online Data Center is temporarily unavailable. 5-09 Advertising Age magazine is in Lippincott Periodicals, Oversize section.

BENN'S MEDIA. Annual. International mass media.       P 88.8 B48 (Van Pelt RS)

GALE DIRECTORY OF PUBLICATIONS & BROADCAST MEDIA   Global   Annual.
Database of Directories, Newsletters, Newspapers and Periodicals.
Extended Search -- > Publications        Includes circulation, contacts and ad rates (except for broadcast)    
Print: Z 6951 A97 (Van Pelt Library RD)

KIDON MEDIA LINK.     Global.   Pan media directory w/ links to publication Websites.

NEWS DIRECTORY. Global English language media.    Newspapers, magazines and television.
Search by country, medium, magazine subject or region.   No financials or advertising rates.

STANDARD RATE AND DATA SERVICE. SRDS    US and Canada       (Also in print at Reference Desk)  
      BUSINESS PUBLICATION ADV. SOURCE. HF 5905 S723
      CONSUMER MAGAZINE ADV. SOURCE. HF 5905 S725
      DIRECT MARKETING LIST SOURCE. HF 5861 D54
      INTERACTIVE ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S727
      NEWSPAPER ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S73 Includes market data.
      RADIO ADVERTISING SOURCE. HF 5905 S74 Includes Arbitron rankings.
      TV & CABLE SOURCE. HF 5905 S745 Includes demographics, Neilsen, DMA data and market profiles.

WHO OWNS WHAT Database.     Columbia Journalism Review.

ZONA LATINA. Media and marketing in Latin America. Includes research data.

DIRECTORIES: PUBLISHING

AMERICAN BOOK TRADE DIRECTORY.     Includes Industry Statistics.     1915 - current.      Z475 .A5 (Vqn Pelt Reference Desk)

BURRELLE'S MEDIA DIRECTORY. BROADCAST MEDIA.    US and Canada
Part 1, Radio; Part 2, TV and Cable.      Z 6941 B8774 (Annenberg Library Circulation Desk)

BURRELLE'S MEDIA DIRECTORY. MAGAZINES AND NEWSLETTERS. Annual.   US and Canada.
Z 6941 B8772 (Annenberg Library Circulation Desk)

BURRELLE'S MEDIA DIRECTORY. NEWSPAPERS AND RELATED MEDIA.      U.S. and Canada.      Z 6941 B877 (Annenberg Library Reference)

CHRONICLING AMERICA    US.    Directory & profiles of newspapers. 1690 - current.    + Newspaper pages images. 1900 - 1910.    Library of Congress / NEH.    loc.gov/chroniclingamerica

LITERARYMARKETPLACE    Bowker.    Global Directory of publishers, agents w/ contact information.   PN 161 L522 (Van Pelt Library RD)

MULTIMEDIA SOURCE BOOK.    US     Semiannual.   HD 9696 M843 U558 (Annenberg Library Reference Stacks)

THE PAPERBOY. Links to Websites of 4000 newspapers in 165 countries.
Most provide the current issue; some have archived articles. | thepaperboy.com

US NEWS VOYAGER. Newspaper Association of America. Local papers, by state.

ULRICH'S PERIODICALS DIRECTORY    Global.    Offers the most information, including indexing access.
Print: 4 Volumes. Z6941 U44 (RD)

WORLD PRESS   World Newspapers and Magazines, sorted by country, region, and political affiliation.

STATISTICS

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PUBLISHERS      Annual. Brief book industry statistics.

AUDIENCE FAX      Newspaper circulation, Website viewing, reader demographics.      Audit Bureau of Circulations | Newspaper Association of America | Scarborough Research.      Free registration required. | online.audiencefax.com/

AUDIT BUREAU OF CIRCULATIONS.    Database of US & Canada Newspapers, Consumer Magazines, Business Publications and Farm Publications circulation data and reader profiles.     Trends. Free registration required.     accessabc.com/products/freereports.htm

THE AMERICAN BOOK BUYERS STUDY. Publishers Weekly.    (No call #: Annenberg Library RS)

BURRELL'S TOP MEDIA OUTLETS.       Newspapers, Blogs, Consumer Magazines & Social Networks.      Annual, 2004 - current. | Free registration required.       burrellesluce.com/top100/

EDITOR & PUBLISHER INTERNATIONAL YEARBOOK.       Annual.       Newspaper directory, includes circulation.    PN 4700 E4 (Van Pelt RD)

FACTS ABOUT NEWSPAPERS.    Newspaper Assoc. of America    Demographics, readership.

MAGAZINE DIMENSIONS. Annual.       Demographic profiles, circulation, profits; by magazine.     HF 6105 U5 M23 (Annenberg Library RS)

MAGAZINE HANDBOOK. A Magazine Publishers of America-sponsored study of the magazine industry.
Includes readership, content focus and advertising data.

MAGAZINE TREND REPORT. Audit Bureau of Circulations. U.S. and Canada.
PN 4888 C59 M33 (Annenberg Library RS)

MIN MEDIA INDUSTRY NEWSLETTER. MIN's Weekly Box Scores; Monthly Box Scores.    The semiannual Ad-Page Review lists ad page count for publications, by parent company.     On DOW JONES FACTIVA.
Type: sn=min media and (boxscores or ad page review)

MEDIA INFOCENTER. Northwestern U.    US    Extensive statistics for revenue & audience analysis for all media.   Includes historical data.    See also readership.org on this page.

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES.     A convenient source of statistical tables for all types of media, with extensive references to original documents.      Print: HA 202 (RD)

US ECONOMIC CENSUS - INFORMATION INDUSTRY.    The major source of US Publishing Industry statistics.

WORLD DEVELOPMENT INDICATORS.    World Bank.    [Web version has data from 1998.]
CD version has data from 1960.     Also HC 59.15 W656 (RD)

NEWS

ASIA MEDIA.    The state of information and its practitioners in Asia.    UCLA.    asiamedia.ucla.edu/

FACTIVA and LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE has Trade journals and other publications which cover the media industry.

FOLIO: The Magazine for Magazine Management.     Monthly.     Abstracts 1993 - current.    Full Text, 2000 - current.

MEDIAWEEK. 1994 - current.    Print: HF 5801 M435 (PER)

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY.    Bowker.    Current book industry news and statistics.    Print: 15.73 P96 (Van Pelt PER)

REPORTERS WITHOUT BORDERS World press freedom.       News + Annual Reports, 2002 - current

SOURCE WATCH  the Center for Media & Democracy    "People, issues and groups shaping the public agenda.   " e.g. "Pinkwashing: Can Shopping Cure Breast Cancer? "   sourcewatch.org/

LOCATION CODES

The Annenberg School for Communication Library is located at 3620 Walnut St.
ON = Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk. RD = Reference Desk PER = Periodicals
*