Media Industry: Broadcast/Entertainment
Prepared by Terese Terry |
| TOP RESOURCES | INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS | DIRECTORIES | STATISTICS / AD RATES |
| FILM & TV | JOBS |
Franklin online card catalog subject headings:
Media; Mass Media-Economic Aspects; Motion Picture Industry; Motion Pictures; Music Trade; Sound Recording Industry Television Broadcasting
TOP RESOURCES
MediaWeek Type geographic profiles to view US city media market profiles. Includes Nielsen data and newspaper circulation.
The 2007 ENTERTAINMENT, MEDIA & ADVERTISING MARKET RESEARCH HANDBOOK Richard Miller & Associates. 239 pages. Print: GV174 .E58 (RD)
BUSINESS & INDUSTRY.
Includes trade publications : Advertising Age*, Amusement Business, Broadcasting & Cable*, Cable Fax, Campaign, Hollywood Reporter, Media Week*, Multichannel News, New Media Age, Screen Digest, Variety*, Video Business, Wireless News .
(* = Also available in print at the Lippincott Library.)
EUROMONITOR'S GLOBAL MARKET INFORMATION DATABASE
Keyword search recommended. Statistics and market research reports that include country and company profiles.
FACTIVA Includes the Wall Street Journal, New York Times and 160+ media publications.
The MENDELSOHN AFFLUENT SURVEY. Annual, 2005-current. Publication and Cable/TV "Pocketpieces" show audience/reader demographics for maganzines, newspapers and cable /TV. "Brochure" (39 pages) analyzes consumer behavior mmrsurveys.com/MendelsohnAffluentSurvey.htm/
STANDARD RATE & DATA SERVICE (SRDS) US/Canada. Advertising Rates.
Print:
Interactive Advertising Source. HF5905. S727
Radio Advertising Source. Includes Arbitron Ratings. HF5905. S74
TV/Cable Source. HF5905. S745
Lippincott Library Reference Desk.
STANDARD & POOR's MARKET INSIGHT Compustat Industry Profiles & Financials. S & P Industry Surveys. Semi-annual, 1999 - current. Current industry news.
Broadcasting & Cable TV; Movies & Entertainment; Home Entertainment Software
S&P Print Surveys 1941-2003: HG 4921 S672 (Lippincott Peck Collection, 2nd floor)
STATE OF THE NEWS MEDIA. Annual. Columbia University Network.
Covers all media including all print and Internet; Radio; Ethnic/Alternative. stateofthemedia.org
US ECONOMIC CENSUS. Type (NAICS Code): 51. census.gov/econ/census02/
VALUE LINE Entertainment  Entertainment Tech, Cable TV, Hotel / Gaming Industry Reports + Component companies analyses.
Value Line Database Search Aid
INDUSTRY OVERVIEWS
BROADCASTING MEDIA TERMS A Glossary.
CABLE & TELECOMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY REVIEW. National Cable and Telecom Association.
Includes information on jobs, industry history, statistics and glossary. ncta.com/
COMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY REPORT. Annual. U.S. industry, finance. CD-Rom (Annenberg Library)
ECONOMY OF THE EUROPEAN AUDIOVISUAL INDUSTRY.. Annual. HE8700.9.E8 S72 (Annenberg Library Reference Stacks)
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF RADIO. TK6544. M84 2004. (Annenberg Library. Ref. Stacks)
ENTERTAINMENT SOFTWARE ASSOCIATION. 1. Essential Facts: Sales, Demographics & Usage Data. 2. Video Games: Serious Business. Industry Economic Report. theESA.com
GLOBAL ENTERTAINMENT / MEDIA OUTLOOK 2006 - 2010.. 57 pages. PriceWaterhouseCoopers. PN1561. G463Annenberg Library Ref. Stacks and Lippincott Reference Desk)
KAGAN'S MEDIACAST 2008, 2010 Mass media --Economic aspects --US --Forecasting. Each study tracks the previous 7 years and 10 years forward HE7761 .K323 (Annenberg Library Reference)
MEDIAWEEK'S GUIDE TO MEDIA. Semi-annual. Trends, demographics and ad costs.. HF5826.5. M45. (Annenberg Library Ref.Desk)
MEDIA ECONOMICS: THEORY and PRACTICE. P96. E25 M4 2004. (Van Pelt Library.)
The SATELLITE BROADCASTING & COMMUNICATIONS ASSOC. OF AMERICA (SBCA) Industry overview, Facts & Figures, History. sbca.com/
SATELLITE RADIO USA. Brief profiles of Sirus and XM. satelliteradiousa.com/
THIS BUSINESS OF BROADCASTING. HE 8689.4 M65 2004. (Van Pelt Library.)
THIS BUSINESS OF MUSIC. ML3790. S5 2003.(RS)
THIS BUSINESS OF MUSIC MARKETING AND PROMOTION. ML3790.L37 2003. (Van Pelt Library)
UK DIGITAL ENTERTAINMENT SURVEY 2008 249 pages. entertainmentmediaresearch.com/
VERONIS SUHLER COMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY FORECAST. (With CD-Rom). Annual, 1994 - current. P96.E252 U633 ( Annenberg Library Reserve)
VIDEO BUSINESS ONLINE Industry Market Data, Market Research. videobusiness.com/
World Media in.... 25 countries or regions. Annual. Available in Business and Industry. Type: "world media" in Title Search bar.
DIRECTORIES
Directories vary in coverage and descriptive details.100 Leading Media Companies.Advertising Age. Annual, 1996 - current. adage.com/datacenter/
Print version: Usually published in last August issue. (Lippincott Library Oversized Periodicals.)
BENN'S MEDIA. Annual. International Mass Media. P88.8 B48 (Van Pelt Reference Stacks)
BILLBOARD INTERNATIONAL BUYERS GUIDE. Annual, 1999 - current. Sound Recording, video and music. TS2301. P3 B455. (Van Pelt Marian Anderson Music Study Center)
BROADCASTING & CABLE YEARBOOK From 1993 - current. HF 6146 R3 B72 (Annenberg Library Circulation Desk.)BURRELLES MEDIA DIRECTORY Broadcast Media. Part 1: Radio. ; Part 2: TV and Cable. Z6941. B8774. Annenberg Circulation Desk.
DIRECTORY OF PUBLISHING & BROADCAST MEDIA in Gale's Ready Reference Shelf. Global. Annual, with supplements. Includes circulation and ad rates (but not broadcast).TIP: Use: Extended Search (Organization).
Print: Z6951. A97 (Van Pelt Library Reference Desk)
KIDON MEDIA LINK. Global. Broadcast and Print.
MANDY'S INT'L FILM & TV PRODUCTION DIRECTORY. mandy.com/
MEDIAPOST. All Media Directory. Free Registration required. mediapost.com/
News Directory. Global. English Language media. Print and T.V. No financials or ad rates. newsd.com/
RECORDING INDUSTRY SOURCEBOOK. Annual. ML3790. R437. (Lippincott Library Reference Stacks.)
Who Owns What. US. Media Holding companies. Source: Columbia University. cjr.org/tools/
STATISTICS / AD RATES
Note: Nielsen Media Research reports are not found in public or academic libraries. Commercial clients contract for custom focused data. Limited Nielsen ratings are displayed in several resources on this guide. See also the New York Times weekly (Monday)"Popular Demand" media statistics.
SRDS. Standard Rate & Data Service
Ad rates for Business Publications, Consumer magazines,Newspapers, Radio, Interactive, Out of Home; Costs of Direct Mail Lists.
For TV & Cable rates, select a DMA (Designated Market Area) -- Amarillo, TX, for example . View
Market profiles for SQAD Cost-per-point levels for prime, prime access, late news and late fringe.
Adweek. Current weekly ratings for video, film, concerts, Eurocharts (music) and annual film gross leaders. Select: Culture Trends
ARBITRON. Radio ratings. + Free Studies: Market Studies for Cable TV, Media and Consumer research. Includes ethnic and gender reports. arbitron.com/
Billboard magazine Weekly, 1994 - current. Market Watch (sales charts), News. Print: PN2000 .B5 1986 - current. (Van Pelt PER)
BROADCASTING & CABLE YEARBOOK. HF6146. R3. B72. (Annenberg Library Circulation Desk)
ELECTRONIC MARKET DATA BOOK. 1970 -2003 HD9696.A1 E4 (Lippincott Stacks, 3rd flr)
ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY ECONOMICS. Vogel. PN1590 F55 V6 2004 (Van Pelt Library)
IFPI. Digital music report. World sales report. News. ifpi.org/
IRMA. International Recording Media Association. Optical/audio. recordingmedia.org/
Kagan Media Money Weekly Mergers. 1990 - 2007. P92. U5 K282. (Annenberg Periodicals.)
KATZ RADIO GROUP. Demographics by market, station, format, rep or owner. krgspec.com/
MEDIA INFOCENTER. Northwestern University. News & Metrics. Top 50 Media Co's (w/ financials). Audience & historical data. mediainfocenter.org
MRI+ MEDIAMARK REPORTER. US Demographics, by sector and media title. Newspapers, TV, Cable and DBS, Magazines and Books. Interactive, Film and Programming, Music and Radio.
Multimedia Source Book. Semiannual. HD9696. M843 U558 (Annenberg Reference Stacks)
Nielsen ratings data in in journal articles. in ABI/Inform Search on subjects: nielsen ratings AND statistical data
RECORDING INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA. Key Statistics. Consumer Trends. riaa.com/
Recording Entertainment Industry. Vogel. PN1590. F55 V6 2001 (Van Pelt Library)
REPORTERS WITHOUT BORDERSThe state of press freedom worldwide in 2006. rsf.org/
SRDS Media Solutions. Media Planning and Buying Calculators. Print and Broadcast.
TIP: Skip login. Select Subscription and Product Information ->Students and Educators. srds.com/
STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE US. Section 24 - Information & Communications.
FILM AND TELEVISION
AD $ SUMMARY. US. Books I & II. Media use and expenditure by film title. HF 5802 N312 (Lippincott Reference Desk)
AMERICAN FILM INSTITUTE CATALOG American film information for the years 1893-1972. + Top Ten Films 2000 - 2007. Includes commentary and links to periodical articles.IAMERICAN FILM INSITUTE DESK REFERENCE. Filmographies, references. PN1994 .A599 2002 (Van Pelt RS)
Asian Film Connections. Japan, Taiwan, Hong Kong, China, Korea. Lists / descriptions of films. 1998-present. asianfilms.orgBOX OFFICE GURUbox office data on films released 1989 - current. boxofficeguru.com/
Broadcasting & Cable International (Annenberg Periodicals) TK3540 .B853.
Broadcasting & Cable Top 25 Station Groups in B&C 's annual list (1997 - current) are ranked according to the percentage of U.S. TV homes they reach.
Search on: top 25 in Document title
CABLE TV AD BUREAU. Ad spending, by industry + other statistics. onetvworld.org
CENTER FOR PUBLIC INTEGRITY Research Tools ->Media Tracker Ownership of TV, cable, telecom. publicintegrity.org/
EV. Movie and News Media Industry. Monthly, from 2000. Annenberg Periodicals. PN1993. E95.
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF EXHIBITION. National Association of Theater Owners. Global. Directory and statistics. Historical box office and gross data from 1990. PN1993 .E539 (Lippincott Library Reference Desk)
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF TELEVISION. Museum of Broadcast Communications.
PN1992.18. E5 2004. (Annenberg Library Reference Desk)
1996 Edition is online. Museum of Broadcast Communications
HISTORICALLY SIGNIFICANT FILMS - TRAILERS. 1919-current.
INTERNATIONAL MOTION PICTURE ALMANAC. Directories, statistics, market data. Some volumes missing--1956-2004. . PN1993.3. I55 (Van Pelt Reference Stacks)
INTERNATIONAL TELEVISION & VIDEO ALMANAC. 1987-current. Directories and industry statistics, including Nielsen ratings (for top
rated shows with their rating/market share numbers.)
Ad spending and more.
HE8698. I55. (Annenberg Library Reference Stacks)
INTERNET MOVIE DATABASE. Historical business data for global firms (from 19th Century) and U.S. Video Rentals (from 1998).
INTERNET MOVING PICTURE ARCHIVE. Film clips dating back to the late 1800s. Documentaries, ephemera, TV commercials.
KAGAN'S ECONOMICS of PRIME-TIME TELEVISION. 2005. HE8700.8 .K343 (Annenberg Library Reference)
KEMPS FILM & TV PRODUCTION SERVICES HANDBOOK. Global Directory. kftv.com/
MOVIE BOX OFFICE. All time gross leaders. NY Times. TIP: Select: Box Office movies.nytimes.com
NCTA. National Cable and Telecommunications Association. Cable usage. Industry Statistics. Subscriber data, by network. http://www.ncta.com
TIP: Select: Industry Overview.
MOTION PICTURE ASSOCIATION. MPAA emails free reports.
Nielsen EDI. US / Canada. Box Office statistics for current week only. Movies, Studio Market Share, brief analysis.
entdata.com STATISTICAL YEARBOOK: Cinema, Television, Video and New Media in Europe. HE8700.9. E8 S72.
(Annenberg Library Reference Stacks) TV & CABLE SOURCE. Standard Rate & Data Service. SRDS. Demographics. Nielsen, DMA data and market profiles. Television & New Media. Quarterly, 2000 - current Print: PN1992.6. T454 (Annenberg Library Periodicals) TELEVISION BUREAU OF ADVERTISING 1.) Research Central
Annual statistical report on viewers, top programs, advertising, top markets and more.
HF5905. S745.
(Lippincott Library Reference Desk)
2.) TV Basics : A Report on the Growth and Scope of Television. Select: Search Type: "tv basics" Includes Neilsen and TNS data. tvb.org/
TV HISTORY Television Facts and Statistics - 1939 to 2000 www.tvhistory.tv/
Television International. London. 1998-current. HE8700. T363 (Annenberg LibraryPER)
TELEVISION NEWS ARCHIVE. 1968 - current. Vanderbilt U.
TV Week. TV show ratings for the past 15 months. tvweek.com
THIS BUSINESS OF TELEVISION. Industry Overviews. No statistics. HE8700.8 .B58 2006 (Annenberg Library Reserve)
THE NUMBERS US Movie Market Summary 1995 - current. Box office statistics, grosses. Weekly, 1980 - current. Theater Counts, Top grossing movies 1910 - current. the-numbers.com/UK FILM COUNCIL. Research and Statistics.
UNESCO. Cultural & Communication Statistics. Europe. Libraries, Book Production (1999); Museums and related (1999); Broadcasting (1997). uis.unesco.org
US CABLE NETWORKS. Company and viewer profiles. Glossary. | onetvworld.org
UNITED DRIVE-IN THEATRE OWNERS ASS'N. US Statistics. Directory. uditoa.orgVARIETY BOX OFFICE STATISTICS Revenue, Attendance. Weekly, from 1982. Find other film industry data here also.
VARIETY INTERNATIONAL FILM GUIDE. Annual. 1980-1998; 2000-current. Directories. PN1993.3. I544. (Annenberg Library Reference Stacks) ZAP2It TV ratings. Past Week and Seasonal.
JOBS
ACADEMY OF ARTS & SCIENCES. Internships. MEDIABIZJOBS MediaBizJobs.comMEDIAPOST. Free registration required. mediapost.com
SHOWBIZJOBS showbizjobs.com
TV BUREAU OF ADVERTISING Job Center tvb.org/



