Sidebar
Main Content
Middle East / North Africa (MENA) and Sub-Saharan Africa Business
Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library
MENA is made up of the Arab states of Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen, plus the Islamic State of Afghanistan, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Pakistan, the West Bank and Gaza.
Sub-Saharan Africa refers to the 46 countries not in North Africa.
See also LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES:
INTERNATIONAL STATISTICS; | EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) PUBLICATIONS LOCATOR
COMPANIES
ABU DHABI Business / Commercial Directory. abudhabionlineservices.ae/
BANKSCOPE. Detailed financials - more than 1700 Middle East and African banks.
COMPUSTAT GLOBAL and EMERGING MARKETS (WRDS)
- Bahrain, Botswana, Cote d'Ivoire, Ghana, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Mauritius , Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Tunisia, Zimbabwe.
- Market Performance, Indicators, Market Capitalization, Monthly Value Traded, Local Stock Market Price Indexes.
Daily (from 1995) or monthly (from 1975) stock data, updated annually.
DOW JONES FACTIVA.
1.)Select Companies/Markets for company financial profiles and recent news. Monthly and weekly stock quotes for past 5 years. Daily quotes for past 2 years. Covers M/E companies traded in Bahrain, Beirut, Cairo, Casablanca, Karachi and Kuwait. Covers African companies traded in Nairobi, Ghana, Johannesburg, and Zimbabwe.
2.) Select Companies/Markets -- > Company for detailed company reports.
GULFBASE. GCC countries. Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Oman and Qatar . Stock exchange members' profiles. IPOS. Local business news. gulfbase.com/
ISI EMERGING MARKETS. Company Profiles and Analysis. News, Industry, Financial Markets, Research, Macroeconomics.
Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, UAE. MENA other countries. Sub-Saharan Africa.
ISLAMIC FINANCE INFORMATION SERVICE. A major resource. Company annual reports. Investment analyst reports.
Detailed information about Islamic financial markets, including news, laws, rankings, bonds, deals.
LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC Select Business -> Company Profiles Searches in multiple global company databases, including WorldScope, Global Markets Direct, Hoovers and Int'l Directory of Advertisers.
ORBIS Public and private Company Financials, Ratios, Peer reports, Datamonitor Industry Reports, M & A for nearly 42,000 African and Middle East companies.
TOP 500 ISLAMIC FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS. in DOW JONES FACTIVA database The Banker (UK) Special Supplement Annual, 2007 - current
Select: Search -- > Search Builder Search on:sn=the banker and hd=top 500 islamic financial
MENA -- PENN
AFRICA DEVELOPMENT INDICATORS World Bank.African Economic Outlook. Annual, 2001-current. OECD Search on title. Print: HD 9502 A2 W6694 (RS)
BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL. Country, industry and economy analysis, risk, forecasts, deals.
Economist Intelligence Unit. EIU. Newsletters.1. BUSINESS AFRICA. 2. BUSINESS MIDDLE EAST. Fortnightly. Business intelligence for foreign managers.
In DOW JONES FACTIVA.Search on source name. [e.g.,sn=business africa]
EIU COUNTRY COMMERCE | EIU COUNTRY FORECAST. Economist Intelligence Unit. Annual, from 1996. Lengthy reports on operating conditions, regulations, competition, pricing and more.
Select: Client login / Enterprise client access Egypt, Iran, Israel, Kenya, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia and South Africa.
DOW JONES FACTIVA.
Select Search for news from 1969. Use region code for Middle East (re=meastz) or Africa (re=africaz) or look up country codes.
(Also see Lippincott's DOW JONES FACTIVA DATABASE SEARCH AID)
LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC. Many regional publications, including Middle East Economic Digest, Al-Bawaba, MENA Business Reports, Kuwait Times, and Gulf News.
S & P MARKET INSIGHT Overviews & Outlook for selected MENA countries. Quarterly, Start date varies. - current.
UN COMTRADE. UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database.
MENA -- WWW
ALJAZEERA "the world's first global English language news channel to be headquartered in the Middle East." /english.aljazeera.net/business/
ARAB FINANCE. Summaries of current industry and company research reports, along with MENA stock exchange indices. arabfinance.com"
CENTRAL BANK WEBSITES bis.org/
DOW JONES ISLAMIC MARKET INDEXSTATISTICS | djindexes.com/
INTERNATIONAL FINANCE CORPORATION (World Bank) Doing Business in the Arab World 2010. | doingbusiness.org/
FDINET Highly recommended. Includes Doing Business: MENA Profile ( 39 pages - World Bank & IBRD) and Benchmarking FDI Competitiveness in Sub-Saharan Africa. United Nations.
A portal for regional and country overviews, economic statistics, foreign direct investment and privatization information.
From a wide range of sources including the World Bank, U.S. State Dept and the Economist Intelligence Unit. | fdi.net
INTERNATIONAL FINANCE CORPORATION (World Bank) Doing Business: Middle East/North Africa Region. 38 pages. | doingbusiness.org/downloads/
ISLAMIC DEVELOPMENT BANK. Directory of Islamic banks and other financial organizations. | isdb.org/
ISRAEL - Multinational Enterprises. Rankings. FDI Vale Columbia Center on Sustainable International Investment. | cpii.columbia.edu/projects/
Middle East & N. Africa Business Information Center (MENABIC) US Gov't. Country Commercial Guides. Industry Reports. | export.gov/middleeast/
Tapping the Sun: Solar Energy in the Middle East AT Kearney Research Report.
TRUSTNET MIDDLE EAST Middle East and North Africa, India. Prices, performance and key facts coverage of the mutual fund and ETF market | trustnetmiddleeast.com
WORLD ECONOMIC FORUM Africa Competitiveness Report. Arab World Competitiveness Report | weforum.org/
Africa WWW
AGOA. US-Africa Trade profiles and statistics. | agoa.gov/
Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial and Technical Series
AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT INDICATORS . Annual, 2000 - current. Print: HC 800 A1 A356 (Van Pelt Reference Stacks)
AFRICAN ECONOMIC RESEARCH CONSORTIUM | aercafrica.org/
ALLAfrica.com Business / Tech News. | allafrica.com
BOND EXCHANGE SOUTH AFRICA. Regulations and statistics. | bondexchange.co.za/
Economic Report on Africa. UN Economic Commission for Africa. Annual, from 2002-current. Select Resources -> Publications. | uneca.org
INVESTOR'S GUIDE TO LIBERIA 07 (49 pages) Vale Columbia Center on Sustainable International Investment. cpii.columbia.edu/projects/
RESEARCH ICT AFRICA Information, Communications, Technology.
SOUTH AFRICA. Trade & Industry Dept. Export / Import. Industry Sectors. Economy + links to provincial gov't sites. dti.gov.za/
The South African Call Centre Industry U. of the Witwatersrand | link.wits.ac.za
SOUTHERN AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT COMMUNITY. Country Profiles | sadc.int/
SURVEY STATISTICS - SOUTH AFRICA.
WEST AFRICA TRADE HUB. Directory of Exporters. Links to other regional trade hubs.
WORLD BANK: AFRICA Data & Statistics, Reports.
Middle East WWW
AME Info. Middle East Business Resource. News, Company Directories, Extensive Country Profiles. ameinfo.com/
ARAB NEWS. Saudi Arabia Top 100 Saudi Companies. | arabnews.com
Kingdom of BAHRAIN MINSTRY OF COMMERCE. Industry Profiles. Company and Product Directories. commerce.gov.bh/
DUBAI CHRONICLE | dubaichronicle.com/
CAPITAL MARKETS GUIDE: MIDDLE EAST Grant Thornton (UK Accountancy) 28 pages. | gti.org/
ISLAMIC DEVELOPMENT BANK. Directory of Islamic banks and other financial organizations. | isdb.org/
Middle East and North Africa Business Information Center (MENABIC) US Gov't. Country Commercial Guides. Industry Reports. | export.gov/middleeast/
National US-Arab Chamber of Commerce. Arab Country Profiles, US state-by-state detailed trade statistics. nusacc.org
SAUDI ARABIAN INVESTMENT GENERAL AUTHORITY. Foreign & Joint Investment Statistics. 2001 - 2005-06/ | sagia.gov.sa/english/
TRADE ARABIA. Directories plus industry and trade news. Updated daily. | tradearabia.com
WORLD BANK MENA. Data & Statistics, Country Briefs (about 4 pages),
Business climate, projects, rules. Links to official country statistical offices. worldbank.org/mena




