Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Metropolitan Philadelphia Business Resources - Research Guide

Prepared by Linda Eichler
Lippincott Library

For best results when printing, use Netscape 7.

WEBSITES DIRECTORIES AREA ECONOMIC REPORTS ANNUAL REPORTS
STATISTICAL DATA CENSUS JOURNALS and NEWSPAPERS ATLASES and MAPS
LOCATION CODES

WEBSITES

LIPPINCOTT'S HOMEPAGE.
Click on Get Help/Ask Us-> Scroll down to Research Guides-> Business & Management-> Selected Business Websites-> Business Ready Reference-> Directories

DIRECTORIES

BOOK OF BUSINESS LISTS. Philadelphia Business Journal.
HC 108 P5 B665 (RD-Oversize)

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF GREATER PHILADELPHIA. MEMBERSHIP DIRECTORY & BUYER'S GUIDE.
HF 5041 C536 (RD)

COMPACT DSEC. Create a list of companies by geographic area. Obtain abstracts of annual reports of Philadelphia companies. (CD)

PHILADELPHIA METRO AREA WEBSITES. From Lippincott Library's Homepage-> Click on Get Help/Ask Us-> Scroll down to Research Guides-> Business & Management-> Selected Business Websites-> Business Ready Reference-> Philadelphia Metro Area

DALTON PHILADELPHIA METRO DIRECTORY.
HC 108 P5 D34 (RD)

DIRECTORY OF CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS "WHO OWNS WHOM." Geographical index to companies by state, city.
HG 4057 A219 (RD)

DIRECTORY OF UNITED STATES EXPORTERS.
HF 3010 U5583 (RS)

DIRECTORY OF UNITED STATES IMPORTERS.
HF 3010 U5582 (RS)

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ASSOCIATIONS. REGIONAL STATE AND LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS.
HS 61 A3 E63 (RD; Also in:) GALE'S READY REFERENCE SHELF.

GREATER DELAWARE VALLEY REGIONAL INDUSTRIAL BUYING GUIDE.
TS 191 G743 (RS)

GREATER PHILADELPHIA MEDIA GUIDE.
P 88.8 G73 (Van Pelt RD)

HARRIS NEW JERSEY MANUFACTURERS DIRECTORY.
HC 107 N5 N45 (RS)

MILLION DOLLAR DIRECTORY. Dun & Bradstreet. Cross-referenced by geography, state, city.
HF 5035 D86 (RD) Also

D & B MILLION DOLLAR DATABASE.

PENNSYLVANIA INDUSTRIAL DIRECTORY.
HC 107 P4 A28 (RD)

PHILADELPHIA STOCK EXCHANGE. MEMBERSHIP DIRECTORY.
HG 5131 P5 P55 (RD)

POLK'S BANK DIRECTORY. NORTH AMERICAN EDITION. By state, city.
HG 2431 P635 (RD)

REGIONAL INDUSTRIAL BUYING GUIDE. GREATER DELAWARE VALLEY.
HF 3151 G73 (RS)

SHELDON'S MAJOR STORES & CHAINS & RESIDENT BUYING OFFICES. By state, city.
HF 5429.3 S52 (RS)

STANDARD & POOR'S REGISTER OF CORPORATIONS, DIRECTORS AND EXECUTIVES.
HG 4057 A4 (RD) Geographical index by state, city.

STANDARD DIRECTORY OF ADVERTISERS. Geographical index by state, city.
HF 5805 S712 Index (RD)

AREA ECONOMIC REPORTS

INVESTING IN PHILADELPHIA.
HD 4606 P5 A313 (Van Pelt, latest in RS)

PHILADELPHIA: A NEW URBAN DIRECTION.
HT 168 P43 P553 (Van Pelt RS)

JOURNALS AND NEWSPAPERS

AVIATION ACTIVITY REPORT. Philadelphia International Airport.
[Current 2 yrs. only].

BUSINESS REVIEW. Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia.
HC 107 A12 A2

NEW JERSEY BUSINESS. Jan. 1960-
HC 107 N5 N38

PHILADELPHIA BUSINESS JOURNAL.
HC 108 P5 P445

PHILADELPHIA DAILY NEWS.
(Van Pelt PER); also on Dialog (ON) Latest 3 months.

PHILADELPHIA INQUIRER
(Van Pelt PER) also on Dialog (ON) and www.phillynews.com/inq/business

PHILADELPHIA MAGAZINE.
HC 108 P5 G7 (Van Pelt PER)

PHILADELPHIA REGIONAL OFFICE CPI ANNOUNCEMENT. Current 2 years.

STATISTICAL DATA

COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOK.
HA 202 A36 (RD)

COUNTY AND CITY EXTRA.
HA 202 A365 (RD)

COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS.
HC 101 A184 (RS; Also CD)

PENNSYLVANIA STATISTICAL ABSTRACT.
HA 607 P4 (RS)

PENNSYLVANIA VITAL STATISTICS. State Health Data Center.
HA 601 A296 (RS)

SOURCEBOOK OF COUNTY DEMOGRAPHICS. [CACI]
HA 203 S658 (RD) and (CD)

SOURCEBOOK OF ZIP CODE DEMOGRAPHICS. [CACI]
HA 203 S662 (RD) and (CD)

STATE AND METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK.
HA 202 S727 (RD)

TOP CITY RANKINGS. From City and County Data Book.
www.census.gov/statab/ccdb/cityrank.html

CENSUS

CENSUS OF MANUFACTURES. Geographical areas.
HD 9724 A4 (RS) and (CD)

CENSUS OF RETAIL TRADE. Geographical areas.
HF 5429.3 U522 (RS) and (CD)

CENSUS OF SERVICE INDUSTRIES. Geographical areas.
HD 9981.4 A522 (RS) and (CD)

CENSUS OF WHOLESALE TRADE. Geographical areas.
HF 5421 U485 (RS) and (CD)

1990 CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING. Mid-Atlantic Div.: NJ and PA only. (CD)

1992 ECONOMIC CENSUS. (CD)

ATLASES and MAPS

METRO PHILADELPHIA AND DELAWARE COUNTY.
G 1264 P5 A33 (Van Pelt RD)

RAND MCNALLY COMMERCIAL ATLAS & MARKETING GUIDE.
G 1229 C6 R345 (SS)

ANNUAL REPORTS

ANNUAL PLANNING INFORMATION REPORT FOR PHILADELPHIA PMSA AND THE FOLLOWING SERVICE DELIVERY AREAS: BUCKS, CHESTER, DELAWARE, MONTGOMERY, PHILADELPHIA COUNTIES. 1982-
HD 5726 P5 A668 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

ANNUAL REPORT OF THE PHILADELPHIA STOCK EXCHANGE.
HG 5131 P5 P53 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

PHILADELPHIA STOCK EXCHANGE WEBSITE.
www.phlx.com

COMPREHENSIVE ANNUAL FINANCIAL REPORT. PHILADELPHIA. . ..
HJ 9013 P6 B25 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

MARKET FACTS GUIDE. Philadelphia Business Journal.
HC 108 P5 P4452 (RD - Oversized)

THE MAYOR'S FISCAL...OPERATING BUDGET.
HJ 9013 P6 E52 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*