Sidebar
Main Content
Multinational Business - Research Guide
Contact: Marcella Barnhart |
| WEBSITES | ARTICLES and NEWS | DICTIONARIES and GUIDES |
| DIRECTORIES | COUNTRY INFORMATION | INDUSTRY INFORMATION |
| FINANCIAL, ECONOMIC and TRADE DATA | SELECTED SERIALS | RELATED LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES |
For FAQs on INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS
WEBSITES
MULTINATIONAL BUSINESS WEBSITES.
ARTICLES & NEWS
ABI/INFORM - PROQUEST. [Articles from more than 4000 worldwide business journals; includes the full-text of many articles.]
BUSINESS & INDUSTRY. [International coverage from more than 900 business journals, newspapers and newsletters in 190 countries.]
BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL. [Information on global emerging markets. Covers political risk, finance, macroeconomic performance, outlook and forecast, industry sectors and the business operating environment.]
BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER (EBSCO). [Comprehensive database of general business and academic journals including Harvard Business Review full-text from 1922-, and The Economist, from 1990. Also includes EIU Country Reports and Profiles and Datamonitor Company Profiles.]
FACTIVA. Full-text international coverage from 9000 business and general publications in 22 languages. Newspapers include the Wall Street Journal (U.S., European and Asian editions.), New York Times, Financial Times, etc.
PAIS INTERNATIONAL. [Abstracts of articles, books, etc.; includes international public policy issues relating to banking, finance and business.]
PROMT. [Covers international business information from nearly 1000 trade and business journals, international newspapers, newsletters, corporate news releases, etc.]
SOURCEOECD. [Full-text publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development.]
DICTIONARIES and GUIDES
THE BLACKWELL HANDBOOK OF CROSS-CULTURAL MANAGEMENT.
HD 62.4 B58 2002 (RS)
ECONOMIST GUIDE TO GLOBAL ECONOMIC INDICATORS.
HB 3711 E43 1994 (RD)
SHIM, JAE K. ENCYCLOPEDIC DICTIONARY OF INTERNATIONAL FINANCE AND BANKING.
HG 3880 S55 2001 (RD)
DIRECTORIES
CENTRAL BANK WEBSITES - BANK FOR INTERNATIONAL SETTLEMENTS.
www.bis.org/cbanks.htm
CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS[ International directory of corporate structure, with subsidiary listings.]
Also available as LEXISNEXIS CORPORATE AFFILIATIONS.
HG 4057 A2193 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)
DIRECTORY OF AMERICAN FIRMS OPERATING IN FOREIGN COUNTRIES.
HG 4538 A1 D5 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)
DIRECTORY OF FOREIGN FIRMS OPERATING IN THE UNITED STATES.
HG 4907 D54 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)
FORBES 2000.
www.forbes.com/lists Click on World's 2000 Largest Companies
FOREIGN GOVERNMENTS/INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS (IGOs).
www.library.northwestern.edu/govpub Click on International Information
HOOVER'S ONLINE [International Company Directory.]
Also available in HOOVER'S HANDBOOK OF WORLD BUSINESS.
HG 4009 H66 (Latest-RD; Others-PC) .
MOODY'S INTERNATIONAL MANUAL
HG 4527 M66 (PC)
ORBIS. [Covers over 10 million companies worldwide.]
WORLD INVESTMENT DIRECTORY. United Nations. 9 vols.
HG 5701 W67 (RS) [Updates Directory of Statistics of International Investment and Production.]
HG 4538 D817 1987 (RS)
COUNTRY INFORMATION
ARABNET.
www.arab.net
ASIA BUSINESSTODAY.
www.asiabusinesstoday.org
BBC NEWS.
news.bbc.co.uk
BISNIS. BUSINESS INFORMATION SERVICE FOR THE NEWLY INDEPENDENT STATES.
www.bisnis.doc.gov
BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL. Information on global emerging markets.
BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER (EBSCO). [Includes EIU Country Reports and Profiles for 65 countries.]
CEEBICNET. CENTRAL AND EASTERN EUROPE BUSINESS INFORMATION CENTER.
www.mac.doc.gov/ceebic
COUNTRY COMMERCIAL GUIDES.
www.export.gov/marketresearch.html
DIRECTORY OF OFFICIAL STATISTICAL AGENCIES. (International Statistical Institute.)
www.cbs.nl/isi/directory.htm
DOING BUSINESS WITH CHINA.
HC 427.95 D65 2003 (RS)
DUN & BRADSTREET'S GUIDE TO DOING BUSINESS AROUND THE WORLD.
HF 1416 M78 2001 (RD)
EIU COUNTRY COMMERCE.
Economist Intelligence Unit. [Investing, licensing and trading. Covers 60 countries.]
INTERNATIONAL STATISTICAL AGENCIES. (U.S. Census Bureau.)
www.census.gov/main/
ISI EMERGING MARKETS. [News, financial, economic, company and industry information in English and 15 additional languages from 35 worldwide emerging markets.]
LANIC. LATIN AMERICAN NETWORK INFORMATION CENTER.
www.lanic.utexas.edu
MAC. MARKET ACCESS AND COMPLIANCE. ITA.
www.mac.doc.gov
MBENDI--INFORMATION FOR AFRICA.
www.mbendi.co.za/
* POCKET WORLD IN FIGURES. The Economist.
HA 155 P635 (RD)
THE HANDBOOK OF COUNTRY RISK.
HD 61 R545 (Latest-RD; Others-RS)
UNSTATS. [Time series statistical information for countries.]
WORLD FACTBOOK CIA.
www.odci.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html
(Also print:) G 122 U56a (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
INDUSTRY INFORMATION
See Lippincott's Industry Studies Research Guide for key resources for industry overviews and market research.
FINANCIAL, ECONOMIC and TRADE DATA
BANKSCOPE. [Directory and financial reporting service on 11,000 world banks; includes ratings from Moody's, S&P and Fitch.]
BLOOMBERG. [Recent and historical financial data and news on companies, stocks, bonds, indices etc.] (ON)
DATASTREAM. [Comprehensive international economic and financial time series data.] (ON)
EMERGING STOCK MARKETS FACTBOOK.
HG 5993 E447 (Latest-RD; Others-PC)
FACTIVA. [Companies/Markets section includes detailed information on 23,000 publicly quoted companies in 72 countries.]
FOREIGN TRADE STATISTICS. U.S. Census Bureau.
www.census.gov/foreign-trade/www
GLOBAL DEVELOPMENT FINANCE. [World Bank--World debt tables.]
HG 4517 I594 (Latest-RD; Others-RS)
INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL STATISTICS.
INTERNATIONAL TRADE STATISTICS. World Trade Organization.
HF 1721 W676 (RS; Also Web:) www.wto.org
Click on Resources-> Statistics
LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC UNIVERSE. [Company financial information--international company reports, includes data from many international sources.]
SDC PLATINUM. [Securities Data Company's extensive global mergers and acquisition and other financial databases.] (ON)
THOMSON RESEARCH. Page images of U.S. and international company annual reports and other financial filings.
UNIDO INDUSTRIAL STATISTICS. [Time series country data arranged by 3- and 4-digit-level ISIC code.] (CD)
WORLD DEVELOPMENT INDICATORS. [World Bank statistical survey of world development.] WORLD TRADE ATLAS. [Export/import data for U.S.] (CD)
WORLDSCOPE. [Financial information on the world's leading companies.] (CD)
ZEPHYR. [M&A activity, IPOs, joint ventures and private equity deals with links to detailed financial company information.]
ANNUAL REPORT ON EXCHANGE ARRANGEMENTS AND EXCHANGE RESTRICTIONS. IMF. DIRECTION OF TRADE STATISTICS YEARBOOK. IMF. EUROPEAN BANK FOR RECONSTRUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT INTERNATIONAL CAPITAL MARKETS. IMF. INTERNATIONAL DIRECT INVESTMENT STATISTICS YEARBOOK. OECD. INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL STATISTICS YEARBOOK. IMF. INTERNATIONAL TRADE STATISTICS YEARBOOK. UN.
HF 91 U473 (Latest 10 years-RS; Others-ST)
INTERNATIONAL YEARBOOK OF INDUSTRIAL STATISTICS. UNIDO.
HC 10 I673 (RS)
MEASURING GLOBALISATION; THE ROLE OF MULTINATIONALS IN OECD ECONOMIES. OECD. PRICES AND EARNINGS AROUND THE GLOBE. TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT REPORT. UNCTAD. UNCTAD HANDBOOK OF STATISTICS. WORLD BANK ATLAS. WORLD COMPETITIVENESS YEARBOOK/IMD. WORLD DEVELOPMENT REPORT. World Bank. WORLD ECONOMIC OUTLOOK. IMF. WORLD EMPLOYMENT REPORT. International Labour Organisation. WORLD INVESTMENT REPORT. UNCTAD. WORLD TRADE ANNUAL. UN. WORLD TRADE ORGANIZATION. ANNUAL REPORT. WORLDWIDE TOTAL RENUMERATION. Towers Perrin. YEARBOOK OF LABOUR STATISTICS. ILO. Note: See also LIPPINCOTT'S INTERNATIONAL STATISTICS RESEARCH GUIDE.
(CD; Also in print: HC 59.15 W656 (Latest-RD; Others-ST))
SELECTED SERIALS
K 4440 A13 I57 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)
HF 91 D574 - (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
Transition Report. Information on developments in Eastern and Central Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States.
HG 3891 I563 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Some data on the Web:) www.imf.org/external/pubind.html
HG 5430.5 A2 I584 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Also online in:) SOURCEOECD.
HG 3881 I626a (Latest -RS; Others-ST)
HF 1371 M437 (RS; Also online in:) SOURCEOECD.
HD 6977 P753 (Latest-RD; Others-RS; 2000 ed. on the Web:) www.ubs.com Click on Search (at top), type: an international comparison
HF 1410 T722 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Also Web:) www.unctad.org/en/pub/
HF 91 U422 (RS; Also Web:) www.unctad.org/
Scroll down; in right column click on UNCTAD Handbook
G 1046 G1 I5 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)
HF 1414 W672 (Latest-RD; Others-RS; Some data on the Web:) www.imd.ch/wcy
HC 59.7 W659 (Latest-RD; Others-ST; Also Web:) www.worldbank.org/wdr
HC 59 W65 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Also Web:) www.imf.org/external/pubind.html
HD 5701 W57 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
HG 4538 W67 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Also Web:) www.unctad.org/Templates/Page.asp?intItemID=1485&lang=1
Covers the latest trends in foreign direct investment around the world and analyses in depth one selected topic related to foreign direct investment and development.
HF 53 W6 (Latest 5 yrs.-RS; Others-ST)
HF 1721 W675 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Also Web:) www.wto.org
Click on The WTO-> Annual Reports
www.towers.com
Click on More Publications-> 2001-2002 Worldwide Total Renumeration
HD 4826 I63 (Latest-RS; Others-ST; Selected tables on the Web:) http://laborsta.ilo.org
RELATED LIPPINCOTT RESEARCH GUIDES:
LOCATION CODES
CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk
ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor
WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks
PER = Periodicals
MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves
PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
![]()



