Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Non-Profit Sector - Research Guide

Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library
12/09/03

Overviews Directories News Statistics
Nonprofit Financial Management and Regulations Location Codes

Locate library materials on this subject in Franklin using the subject headings: Endowments; Nonprofit Organizations; Charitable Uses; Corporations, Nonprofit-Management; Associations, institutions, etc-Management

See also Nonprofit Organizations Websites part of Lippincott's Selected Business Websites.

Overviews

BOARD SOURCE Under Board Info, -- Board Essentials, Nonprofit essentials.
www.ncnb.org/

The Foundation Center Megasite with weekly Philanthropy News Digest. Overviews, Trends, Rankings, Analysis.
http://fdncenter.org

The Harvard Business School Guide to Careers in the Nonprofit Center. HD 2769.2 U6 L68 (RD)

How to Form a NonProfit Corporation. w/CD ROM
KF1388 Z9 M36/2001 (ST)

Independent Sector Business models, statistics. Career information. Research reports. (Some are fee-based.)
www.independentsector.org

Knowledge@Wharton Enter Nonprofit in Quick Search
[Free -- Registration Required]

Directories

American Association of Fund-Raising Counsel. Fund-raisers, specialties.
www.aafrc.org

Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance Financial Analysis of Charities
http://www.give.org

Charity Watchdog. Ameican Institute of Philanthropy. Monitors spending.

The Foundation Directory. The Foundation Center. Annual. Part 1 - AS911 .A2 F65 Part 2 - AS911 .A2 F563. Van Pelt Library Reference. Financial Aid area.

GuideStar. Searchable directory of nonprofits Includes financial information from the IRS.
www.guidestar.or.

IDEALIST Global resource
www.idealist.org

Integrity in Science Internet Database: Scientists & Nonprofts' ties to Industry
http://www.cspinet.org/integrity/database.html

Internal Revenue Service. Search for Charities, Online Version of Publication 78
www.irs.gov/charities/page/0,,id=15053,00.html

Money Market Directory of Tax Exempt Organizations. McGraw Hill. Annual.
HD2769.2 U6M664. 2000. (RS)

National Directory of Corporate Public Affairs. Annual. Corporate foundations and contributions.
HG 4028 .C6 N273 (RD)

The New Nonprofit Almanac & Desk Reference. Biennial
HD 2769.2 U6 D55 (Van Pelt)

Non Profit Manager's Resource Directory. Wiley
HD 62.6 L237 2002 (RD)

The Non Profit Times 100. Annual. Includes financial and segment data.
www.nptimes.com

Peter Drucker's Nonprofit Innovation Discovery Site. Nonprofit programs directory.
http://www.pfdf.org/innovation/index.html

News

The Chronicle of Philanthropy Council of Philanthropy.

Foundation News & Commentary. Bimonthly. The Council on Foundations. Practical information for grant making foundations and corporations.
www.cof.org

Statistics

By the Numbers: Nonprofit Organizations: a Statistical Guide. (Gale) HD2769.2 U6 B98 1998 (RS)

Giving USA. Annual. Indiana University.
www.philanthropy.iupui.edu/studies.htm

National Center for Charitable Statistics Urban Institute. National repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. State profiles.
http://nccs.urban.org

Nonprofit Times Reports -- America's Largest Nonprofits; Salary Survey; Top 50 Executives.
www.nptimes.com

Philanthropic Giving Index Bi-annual. Indiana U.
www.philanthropy.iupui.edu/studies.htm

Statistical Factbook. Direct Marketing Association All Media and Non Profit statistics.
HF 5410 S738 (RS)

Nonprofit Financial Management and Regulations

Financial and accounting guide for not-for-profit organizations, 4th edition. 1993 Supplement. Wiley
HF5686.N56G76 (RS)

Financial reporting by not-for-profit organizations: form and content of financial statements. Financial Accounting Standards Board.
HF5686.N56 F56 1989 (ST)

International Center for Not-For-Profit Law World Bank Country Laws, tax codes.
www.icnl.org/

Managing the Nonprofit Organization: Practices and Principles. Peter Drucker.
HD 62.6 D78 1990 (ST)

The Nonprofit Handbook. Wiley. (2 volumes.) Fundraising. HD62.6 .N662 1997 (1999 supplement); Management. HD62.6 N662 1997b. (RS)

Nonprofit Law Dictionary. Wiley. KF1388 .A68 H66 1994. (RS)

Nonprofit Management & Leadership. New Directions for Philanthropic Fund Raising. Journal in Business Source Premier

The Nonprofit Resource Center Nonprofit accounting standards.
www.1800net.com/nprc/index.html

Not-for-Profit GAAP. Wiley. Annual. (RS) HF 5686 N56 N684

Online Compendium Federal and State Refulation for US NonProfit Organizations
http://www.muridae.com/nporegulation/main.html

U.S. International Grantmakers [Free Registration Required]
Click on Country Information for detailed notes on the various countries your foundation may make grants to, with laws.
www.usig.org/countrycodes/index.cfm

Location Codes

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*