Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Lippincott Library On-Site Databases

These databases are available in Lippincott Library only. Because of vendor restrictions and other issues, they are not networked and consequently must be used on-site in the library.

These databases are for members of the Penn Community only.

For additional information please contact Cynthia Cronin-Kardon, Lippincott Library Electronic Resources Librarian.

On-Site Databases

Adweek Directories CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12C.
The directory of U.S. advertising agencies, public relations firms, media buying services and specialized marketing companies.

Automotive News Data Center. Lippincott Library Only. Please ask a Librarian to log you on. Includes sales, production, retail. Global Partnerships, Global Market, Europe, and Guide to China's Auto Market.

Barclay institutional report. Reference guide to hedge funds. Pre-loaded at Station 12A.

Best's Insurance Reports. CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
U.S. and Canada Life Health and Property Casualty.

BizComps CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Sales data on over 5,000 small business transactions from across the U.S. The database is searchable by SIC code, word search, sale size, price, date and geographical area.

Bloomberg
Available at Terminals 6A and 6B. Two terminals are also available in Huntsman Hall.
Bloomberg is the definitive source of information for real-time and historical security pricing, indicative and fundamental data, customized analytics and business news. This class covers basic database structure and commands with a focus on practical and useful examples. Please refer to our tutorial for more information.

Business Periodicals on Disc (BPOD). CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 5C.
Contains full text of articles from over 500 business journal. Laser printed page images are available for a fee.

COMPACT dSEC - DISCLOSURE 1987-2006. Updated monthly. (Ask for CDs at Reference Desk.) Preloaded at Station 12 A.
Current data available through Thomson Research and Lexis-Nexis Academic ( Select Business --> Company Financial Reports)
Abstracts of SEC filings from over 12,000 publicly traded companies. Access by company name or over 200 textual and financial variables.

ConvertBond.com. Available at Terminals 7A, 7B, and 7C. Terms, analysis, news, and pricing relating to 900 Convertible Securities that currently can be found on the U.S. Convertible Market.

County Business Patterns CD-Rom. Historical: 1995-2003. Ask at Reference Desk.
Current data available online.
U.S. and state data by S.I.C. codes. Annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. The series is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.

Datastream. Available at Terminals 6C and 6D.
Numerical data on stocks, bonds, indices, commodities and options. Also includes interest rates, and exchange rates and other economic indicators from a variety of sources. Times series. International coverage.

Directory of Alternative Investments. CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Provides access to over 600 institutional investors and their advisors. Gives in-depth profiles of active U.S. and international firms. Contains information on public and corporate pension funds, endowments and foundations, banks and insurance companies and others.

Economic Censuses CD-Rom holdings: 1987, 1992, 1997). Ask at Reference Desk.
Also available online at the U.S. Census Bureau.
Includes data from the censuses of retail trade, wholesale trade, manufactures, service industries, and transportation. Also has statistics at a zip code level.

Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory . Cd-Rom. Please ask for the CD at the Lippincott Reference Desk. Use at Station 12B.
Search over 1700 firms by firm name, person or investment criteria.

Global Development Finance. CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12A. Also available online]
Issued by the World Bank, this database provides more than 200 time series indicators for 138 countries plus regional and income groups. Country group aggregates data and summary tables run from 1970 to 1997 with estimates for 1998; country time-series from 1970 to 1997, plus "pipeline" projections from 1998 to 2007, for 138 World Bank borrowers. Also data on the external debt and international capital flows of developing countries.

ICSC Research International Council Of Shopping Centers. Ask at Reference Desk.
Includes:
Chain Store Sales Trends. (US) Monthly, 2004 _ current.
Research Review Quarterly. 1996 _ current.
Retail Real Estate Business Conditions. Weekly 2004 _ current.
Shopping Center Executive Survey. Monthly, 2003 _ current.
US Mall Report. Monthly, 1996 _ current. Sales and Square footage.
ICSC - US Economic News Release Schedule. Annual.
Global Shopping Center Directory.

ITU World Telecommunication Indicators. Preloaded at Station 7C.
Contains time series data for the years 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975-current for around 80 sets of telecommunication statistics (updated) covering telephone network size and dimension, mobile services, quality of service, traffic, staff, tariffs, revenue and investment. Selected demographic, macro-economic, broadcasting and information technology statistics are also included. Data for more than 200 economies are available.

LaserD (Global Access). CD-Rom. Available at Station 5C.
Historical U.S. SEC filings. Annual reports for U.S. and foreign companies, Dates included: 1990-1993.

Morningstar Direct. Ask at Reference Desk.
Includes investment data on U.S. open-end mutual funds, separate accounts, and variable annuity investments. Data is also available on approximately 25,000 European mutual funds, including 10,000 offshore funds. In addition, data is provided on hedge funds and hedge funds of funds.

Nelson's Directory of Investment Managers. CD-Rom. Ask at the Reference Desk. Use at Station 12C.
Provides performance data on over 2000 investment management firm profiles with searching and ranking capabilities.

Pennsylvania County Industry Trends. Ask at Reference Desk. Annual.

Pensions & Investments Online Ask at Reference Desk. Directories, Lipper Research Center (Funds), ETFs, Industry Statistics, Rankings.

REIS (Regional Economic Information System). CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12A.
The REIS database provides local area economic data for states, counties, and metropolitan areas for 1969-2005. Statistics in the database include: personal income and earning variables, full and part employment variables, transfer payments variables, and farm income and expenses variables.

SDC Platinum. Available at Terminals 7A, 7B, and 7C. Data on mergers and acquisitions including joint ventures and strategic alliances; global new issues; corporate restructuring (bankruptcies); corporate governance (poison pills and proxy fights); global public finance and Venturexpert. Portions of this database are also available in Thomson One Banker Analytics.

Sourcebook America (Zip Code and County Demographics) (CACI). CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12C.
Includes demographics for Zip Codes and Counties, offering more than 150 characteristics.

Simmons Markets and Media -Choices IIICD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12C.
Choices III is a consumer survey produced by the Simmons Market Research Bureau. It is used to develop profiles of consumer buying habits and usage of various products, and to detail consumer media preferences. It includes U.S. adults age 18 years and older.

UNIDO Industrial Statistics. CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Global industrial statistics compiled by the United Nations.

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics. CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Also available online UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics provides a comprehensive collection of statistical data relevant to the analysis of world trade, investment and development, for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings. The time series cover periods that are as long as figures obtainable permit (going back to 1950 when data available).

Value Line. CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12C.
Designed for investors, it is possible to analyze of over 1700 companies. Allows for sorting, screening, graphing and reporting on individual and groups of stocks. Access to the web version of Valueline is also available at this machine. Also available online.

VentureXpert. Available at terminals 7A and 7B. Directory of Venture Capital Firms. Includes preferred industries, stages of investment and investment size as well as information on the portfolio companies.
Also available online VentureXpert Web.

World Development Indicators. CD-Rom. Pre-loaded at Station 12B.
Also available online.
From the World Bank, this database contains 500 time series indicators, covering 1960 to present, reflecting most of the content of the print versions of World Bank Atlas and World Development Indicators. Country tables cover key indicators, social indicators, economic time series, and population projections and growth rates. Latest disc only retained.

Worldscope Global .CD-Rom. 1989-2006. Pre-loaded at Station 12A. Ask Librarian for older discs. Current data available through Thomson One Banker Analytics and Lexis-Nexis Academic ( Company Profiles -- International.)
International version of Compact dSEC, this database offers financial information on nearly 9,000 international corporations in 25 countries and 24 industries.

ZipCode Business Patterns. Ask at Reference Desk.
For retail trade, service industries and manufactures, this database offers counts of establishments by zip code, by SIC code, by sales size and by employment size. There are also summary statistics by zip code.


Use FRANKLIN , the online library catalog, to search by title.

*