Sidebar
Main Content
Pharmaceutical Industry
Contact Marcella Barnhart |
| Industry Analysis and Market Research | Academic and Trade Journals | Articles and News | |
| Pipeline, Clinical Trials, and Drug Regulation | Patents, Deals, and Licensing | Associations | Books |
BCC Research. Market research reports covering pharmaceuticals, healthcare and biotechnology.
Datamonitor 360. Market research reports on healthcare, drug discovery, and pharmaceutical outsourcing, ranging from analysis about the market for particular indications (e.g. The Vaccines Market Outlook to 2014) to broader strategic perspectives (e.g. Evolving Trends in Biopharmaceutical Licensing).
MarketResearch.com Academic. Qualitative industry analysis (e.g. Early Toxicology: Markets and Approaches) and quantitative research on market trends including data on market segmentation, size, and growth (e.g. Anesthesia Drugs: Worldwide Markets).
Thomson One. (Note: This resource only works with Internet Explorer). Analyst reports from brokers and independent research firms. Select Screening & Analysis --> Research --> Research Search. Many firms include some IMS data (IMS is a leading provider of market intelligence data for the pharmaceutical industry) in their reports.
S&P Net Advantage. Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys are excellent resources for major industry overviews. Click the Industries tab, then select Healthcare: Pharmaceuticals from the drop-down list.
In Vivo. Older issues bound and available at call number HD9665.1 .W563.
Med Ad News. Abstracts available in Business & Industry. Click the Lookup button in the From a Selected Source area to search just this title.
Pharma MarketLetter. Available in Business & Industry. Click the Lookup button in the From a Selected Source area to search just this title.
Pharmaceuticals Policy and LawNote: the publisher does not provide full-text content for articles that are less than six months old.
PharmacoEconomics. Note: the publisher does not provide full-text content for articles that are less than six months old.
R&D Management. Note: this title covers other industries in addition to the pharmaceutical industry.
To search for articles and news about the pharmaceutical industry try the following sources:
ABI/Inform. For business-oriented academic journals, trade publications, and magazines. Helpful subject terms include pharmaceutical industry, drug development, and drugs.
Business Source Complete. Filter results by category, including academic journals, trade publications, industry profiles, and market research reports. Helpful subject terms include pharmaceutical industry, R&D, and prescription drugs.
Dow Jones Factiva. Global business news, including the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and New York Times. To view recent news about the industry from the News Pages tab, click Factiva pages and choose Pharmaceuticals from the drop-down box. Run your own keyword search by clicking the Search tab.
FiercePharma and FierceBiotech. Part of the FierceMarket family of blogs, these provide daily updates top industry news.
The Haystack. Drug discovery-oriented news from editors at Chemical & Engineering News.
Health Business Full-text. Similar to Business Source Complete, but covering a very focused set of health-related journals.
LexisNexis. National and international newspapers.
Pharmalot. Maintained by Ed Silverman, editor-at-large for Med Ad News and R&D Directions.
Bioworld publications. Available in Health Business Full-text, there are a number of publication from Bioworld, including Bioworld Insight, Bioworld International, Bioworld Week and Bioworld Today that provide news and analysis about drug development and regulation.
Datamonitor 360. Their Pipeline Reports, produced by Business Insights with data from Life Science Analytics, are spreadsheets of drugs in development by indication which can be further filtered by company. These reports also contain deal summaries by indication.
Clinicaltrials.gov. Listing of clinical studies sponsored by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other federal agencies, private industry, and nonprofit organizations.
Dow Jones Factiva. R&D Focus Drug News (published by IMS) and BioWorld are two sources for IND and NDA announcements. To search for these items, try the following:
rst=(rdfn or biow) and ((ind or investigational or nda or new drug) near10 (filed or filing) near10 (submi* or appli*))
European Medicines Agency (EMEA). European drug regulatory agency.
FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER). U.S. Agency involved in new drug development and review, generic drug review, over-the-counter drug review, and post drug approval activities. For an overview of these areas, see the CDER Handbook (currently undergoing revision).
- Drug and Biologic Approval Reports. Listing of approved New Drug Applications (NDAs), Biological Licensing Applications (BLAs), New Molecular Entity Drugs (NMEs), and New Biologics. Also includes statistics on approval times and approval rates. See What's New at CDER? for the most recent approvals.
- Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations Orange Book. Lists all FDA approved prescription drugs, including new and generic drugs. Includes patent expiry information. Search by active ingredient, applicant holder (i.e. company), proprietary name, application number, or patent.
- Drugs@FDA. Search by drug name, active ingredient, or application number to receive a drug details report including therapeutic equivalents and approval history.
Inteleos. Drug pipeline database produced by Elsevier Business Inteliigence (formerly NDA Pipeline from FDC Reports) allows for screening by indication, company, clinical phase, etc.
International Clinical Trials Registry Platform. Sponsored by the World Health Organization. This aggregator site pulls trial information from other registries, e.g metaRegister of Controlled Trials, Chinese Clinical Trials Register, etc.
LexisNexis. Covers several publications that track news about drug approvals. To search these items, do the following:
- Click the Sources tab.
- Select the Scientific Materials folder.
- Select Drug Industry Daily, Drug Week, FDANews Drug Daily Bulletin, and FDANews Marketing & Sales Bulletin.
- Click the OK Continue button to add the sources to your search.
Life Science Analytics Detailed Product Pipeline Reports, available in Thomson One . Select Screening & Analysis--> Research --> Research Search. Search by life science as a contributor to locate these reports. (Note: This resource only works with Internet Explorer).
metaRegister of Controlled Trials. Search across UK-sponsored trials, as well as US-sponsored trials pulled from Clinicaltrials.gov.
Derwent Innovations Index. Includes records from 40+ patent issuing authorities, often with links to full-text patent documents. Search options include assignee (company) and subject area/classification.
Life Science Analytics Deals and Alliances Reports, available in Thomson One. Select Screening & Analysis--> Research --> Research Search. Search by life science as a contributor to locate these reports. (Note: This resource only works with Internet Explorer).
Westlaw Business/LIVEDGAR. Full-text searchable database of SEC filings. To run a preset search for license agreements:
- Select Browse Topical Research Library from the Topical Quick Search menu on the left-hand side of the page.
- Enter a free text search for license.
- Relevant strategies include Development & License Agreement, IP License Agreement, and several iterations of patent licensing agreements
- Click the Load Search link next to the desired item
- Add any additional information into the search box (e.g. company name, lab code, etc.)
SDC Platinum (available in Lippincott Library). Includes information on strategic alliances and joint ventures, often including general deal terms.
Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI). Trade association for more than 75 companies in the UK producing prescription medicines.
Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA). Represents the leading manufacturers and distributors of nonprescription, over-the-counter (OTC) medicines and nutritional supplements. Select Press Room, then Statistics to view OTC-related statistics and information about drugs that have switched from prescription to OTC status.
Drug Information Association (DIA). Professional association for those involved in the discovery, development, regulation, surveillance, or marketing of pharmaceuticals or related products. Site includes a contract services organization (CSO) directory of American and Canadian CSOs by service (e.g. clinical R&D, efficacy studies).
European Federation of Pharmaceutical Industries and Associations (EFPIA). Represents the research-based pharmaceutical industry operating in Europe. Membership includes 30 national pharmaceutical associations and 46 pharma companies. Publications section includes Pharma Industry in Figures back to 1998, as well as topical reports.
International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers & Associations (IFPMA). Represents national industry associations and companies from both developed and developing countries. Member companies of the IFPMA are research-based pharmaceutical, biotech, and vaccine companies.
Pharmaceutical Management Science Association (PMSA). Site includes slides from past conference presentations.
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA). Represents the leading U.S. pharmaceutical research and biotechnology companies. Publishes regular profiles and reports about the state of the industry.
Franklin, Penn Libraries' Online Catalog
Type "pharmaceutical industry" (use quotes to search for phrases). Select Keyword Expert from the "Search by" list.
Sample title: Drug discovery : from bedside to Wall Street . By Tamas Bartfai, Graham V. Lees. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Academic, 2006.Type pharmaceutical industry. Select Subject Heading Library of Congress from the "Search by" list.
Sample title: Industrialization of drug discovery : from target selection through lead optimization. Edited by Jeffrey S. Handen. Boca Raton, FL : Taylor & Francis/CRC Press, 2005.Type drug development. Select Subject Heading Library of Congress from the "Search by" list.
Sample title: Biochips as pathways to drug discovery. Edited by Andrew Carmen, Gary Hardiman. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, 2007.
If Penn does not own a particular title or if a book that you want is checked out, search the BorrowDirect or E-ZBorrow catalogs. Books requested from one of our partner institutions generally arrive within 3-5 business days.



