Sidebar
Main Content
Marketing 221: Information Resources for Product Development - Course Guide
Prepared by Cynthia Kardon
Lippincott Library
For best results when printing, use Netscape 7.
This guide is an overview of sources of information (both electronic and print) available from Lippincott Library. The examples provided recommend search strategies.
First you need an idea. You then need to research the product and the current market. Finally, you need to know who and where your consumers might be as well as their habits.
How to get Ideas
The first thing you need is an idea for a product. There are many ways to find ideas including observation, discovery or trend data.
Surveys
Surveys and polls provide excellent sources for finding trends and consumer needs.
The first several sources are public. Restricted databases are labelled.
AARP Research Center: Consumer Needs.
American Consumer Satisfaction Index
Consumer Psychologist.
Website from the University of California, Riverside. Many good links regarding consumer behavior and marketing.
Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Compilation of studies by different organizations, academic research, and other sites.
Gallup Poll.
This is a subscription site, but some information is free.
Trendwatching.com.
Free newsletter highlighting global consumer interests and trends.
***Databases are restricted to the Penn Community ONLY***
American Demographics.
This monthly journal tracks trends in the U.S.
Business Source Premier.
Database of business journals.
Sample Search:
Do a Keyword search
Use terms such as "statistical data and consumer behavior" or "(polls and surveys) and consumer behavior"
(Use parens where indicated)
iPOLL.
Roper Public Opinion Poll. Includes polls and surveys on a variety of topics. Information is free to Penn community.You will need to enter your Penn email address in order to access the site.
Sample Search:
Type leisure in the search box or use the subject index.
Select Dates
PsycINFO.
Database indexing publications targeted to psychology and related fields.
How to get Product and Industry Information
Market Research Reports
Market research reports are excellent sources of information compiled by various researchers and analysts. They include trend data, market share and forecast data. Resources are international in scope.
***Databases are restricted to the Penn Community ONLY***
Business Insights.
International market research reports on: consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, technology, telecoms, e-commerce and human resources.
Sample Search:
Click: Consumer Goods
Click: Choose All
Search: Snacks
Sample Title:
Snacks: Market Data Series.
Sample Search:
Use Click on Database on the left hand side of the screen
At the bottom of the screen, click on Subjects
Subjects listed alphabetically.
Click on Handheld Devices
Charts, reports and articles are retrieved.
Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database.
In addition to providing international statistics on consumer demographics, this database also provides market research reports on a variety of topics.
Sample Search:
From Category select Leisure and Lifestyle.
From Leisure and Lifestyle select Travel and Tourism.
From Geography select North America; then select USA.
Gartner IntraWeb. Log in with PennKey information.
A leading provider of market research reports specializing in information technology (IT) industries. Provides business technology research, consumer and market intelligence.
Sample Search:
Select categories from Research such as Focus Areas.
Or, use the search box at the bottom of the left frame to do a keyword search.
Blue Book: Research Services Directory. [Book.]
Directory of market research companies. Indexes by specialty. U.S. firms.
HF 5415.2 M119 (Lippincott Reference Desk)
Green Book. Worldwide Directory of Marketing Research Companies and Services. [Book.]
HF 5415.2 I539 (Lippincott Reference Desk)
Industry News
Who else makes a similar product? What other products do the same thing? What are the industry trends?
***The following databases are restricted to the Penn Community ONLY***
Business & Industry. Use the menu options.
Database containing information on public and private companies, industries, markets and products. It is international in scope. Provides industry overviews, forecasts, trends, market size and more.
Sample Search:
Geographic Area: Must be U.S.A.
Words and Phrases: gourmet coffee
Concept Term: Market share OR Market size
Business Source Premier.
Database includes journal articles as well as Industry Yearbooks from WEFA and Industry Research Reports from Datamonitor.
Sample Search:
Search by Publication
Select Match any word and type in: Yearbook
A list of Industry Yearbooks will appear in alphabetical order. The first year of coverage is noted.
eMarketer.
eMarketer reports combine original analysis with aggregated numbers from leading sources worldwide.
Sample Search:
Use EStat
Click on Search/Browse
Click on Select a subject area.
Investext.
Investment research and industry analysis.
Sample Search (industry search):
Using the drop-down menu, select in=
Click on Search
Click on Automotive for a list for reports on that industry
PROMT.
Topics indexed in PROMT include: new product development, market share, advertising strategy, mergers and acquisitions, use of materials, computer industry, federal regulation, consumer attitude, sales and consumption, and orders and contracts.
Sample Search:
pda and (trends or market)
Manufacturing and Distribution USA. [Annual book.]
Three-volume set of industry overviews organized by SIC or NAICS. Includes leading players, product breakdown, forecasts, etc.
HD 9724 M683 2000 (Lippincott Reference Desk)
Market Share Reporter. [Annual book.]
HF 5410 M375 (Lippincott Reference Desk)
How to Research Costs and Profits
What are production costs? What can you charge?
Many of the databases listed above can also be used to answer these questions.
***Databases restricted to the Penn Community ONLY***
Business Source Premier.
Journal articles.
Sample Search:
(Pricing or prices) and retail
Business & Industry. Use the menu options.
Sample Search:
Geographic Area: Must be USA
Keyword: Travel
Concept Terms (select more than one): Price Trends; Ad Budget
PROMT.
Business newswires, trade publications.
Sample Search:
pric* and pda
Financial Studies of the Small Business. [Book.]
Includes advertising expenses and other operating costs.
HD 2346 U5 F55a 2000 (Lippincott Reference Desk)
How to find Consumer Demographics
Who will use your product? Where are they? How will you reach them?
***Databases are restricted to Penn Community ONLY***
Public Websites are listed first. Print materials are listed at the bottom of the section.
Population Reference Bureau.
Source for international demographic information.
The Right Site.
Free and subscription demographic reports. Ring studies, maps and more.
U.S. Census. Country and City Databooks.
County and City Data Book. [Book.]
HA 202 A365 (Lippincott Reference Desk)
***The following Websites are restricted to Penn community ONLY***
Sample Search:
Geographic Area: Must be USA
Keyword: exercise or fitness
Concept: Demographics
Sample Search:
Click on Use Estats
Choose Search/Browse. Select Demographics
Euromonitor's Global Market Information Database
Consumer demographics.
Sample Search:
From Catagory, select Consumer Market
From Consumer Market, select Clothing and Footwear
From Geography, select North Americaand USA
TableBase.
Database contains tabular information dealing with companies, products, industries, brands, markets, demographics and countries from around the world.
Sample Search:
In keyword search box type in Treadmill*
MRI. [Print or CD-ROM.]
Consumer surveys arranged by product. Media habits included.
Available in the Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
Simmons Choices III. [CD-ROM.]
Consumer surveys arranged by product. More product coverage than MRI. Media habits included.
Available in the Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
Lifestyle Market Analyst. [Book.]
Demographic and lifestyle activities based on consumer questionnaires. Published by Standard Rate and Data Services (SRDS)
HF 5415.33 U6 L54 2000 (Lippincott Reference Desk)
Survey of Buying Power and Media Markets.
Also available in print copy at the Lippincott Reference Desk.
HF 5438. A4 Suppl. (Lippincott Reference Desk)
Additional Resources
Associations, Foundations and Trade Shows
Associations on the Net. Included as part of the Internet Public Library.
Science Nuggets. National Science Foundation: Social and Economic Sciences.
Each issue collects the most exciting findings, discoveries and breakthroughs from the cutting edge of science.
Includes articles ranging from "Babies' Capacity to Learn" to "New Product Development: Do Best Practices Make Perfect?"
Product Development and Management Association.
Trade Shows Worldwide. [Book.] Directory of trade shows with contact information.
T394. T717. Lippincott Library Reference Desk.
Library Resources
Franklin: The Online Catalog
Sample Searches:
Keyword Search: "advertising media planning": (be sure to include quotations)
34 Titles.
Keyword Search: "marketing management":
181 Titles
E-Journals
The Penn Library collection of full-text online journals.
Select Community of Interest=Marketing
Select Community Cluster=Business
34 Marketing Journals, online and full-text. Includes American Demographics.
Websites
Several Websites are also helpful.
J. Scott Armstrong: Educational Materials
Lippincott Library: Selected Business Websites.
Select Marketing and Advertising or Market Research as a subject.
Resource Guides
Additional resources compiled by Lippincott Library Reference Staff.
Research Guides
Advertising and Marketing Industries
Market Intelligence: Secondary Sources.




