Real Estate - Research Guide
Prepared by Cynthia Cronin-Kardon |
| GENERAL WORKS | MARKET PROFILES | COST / EXPENSE GUIDES | GOVERNMENT REPORTS |
| TAXATION / REGULATION | DIRECTORIES | PERIODICALS | WEBSITES |
| FINANCE AND SECURITIZATION | JOB OPPORTUNITIES | LOCATION CODES |
WEBSITES
FINANCE AND SECURITIZATION
Commercial Mortgage Alert. The CMBS Database captures the initial terms of all rated securities collateralized by commercial and multi-family properties.
Bloomberg. Available at Lippincott Library. Type MCAL and hit GO. Type IABS and hit GO.
GENERAL WORKS
BARRON''S REAL ESTATE HANDBOOK.
HD 1375 H349 2005 (RS [See Location Codes])
COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE ANALYSIS AND INVESTMENTS / David M. Geltner ... [et al.]..
HD1393.55 .G45 2007(Lippincott Reserve Desk)
INVESTORS GUIDE TO PUBLICLY TRADED REITS.
HG 5095 I584 (RS)
REAL ESTATE VALUATION: PRINCIPLES AND APPLICATIONS.
HD1387 .L87 1997
SHOPPING CENTERS DEVELOPMENT HANDBOOK.
HF5430 .B48 1999 (Fine Arts Library)
ULI DEVELOPMENT HANDBOOK SERIES.
Series of books on development. Includes Mixed-Use, Office, Multi-Family and Resorts and others.
Search Strategy. Use Franklin, Penn's online catalogue. Search ULI Development Handbook Series as a Title to find all titles in this series.
URBAN LAND INSTITUTE COLLECTION. A collection of books from the Urban Land Institute.
Subjects vary from Senior Housing, Density, Retail Development, Golf Courses and many other Real Estate Development topics.
Located in the Lippincott Library Reserve Section.
Search Strategy. Use Franklin, Penn's online catalogue. Search for Urban Land Institute as an author to find all titles.
MARKET PROFILES
Market Research Reports
Analyst Reports. Investment banks research industries as well as companies. These reports are available through Firstcall, Investext, and Reuters Research On-Demand .Sample Search: Use Investext. From the 'Select an Index' Search Box choose industry. Then type real estate after the 'in' in the Search box. Click on the Search button. American FactFinder. Detailed community statistics by County, Town or City, and Zip Code. Includes Median housing value and median monthly housing expenses among other statistics.
Colliers International. Provides online Market reports at no charge.
Cushman and Wakefield. Reports available free or for fee. for free reports search by country or region.
Business Monitor International . This database is a good source of information on Real Estate Trends for different countries. Detailed forecasts for the construction industry are included in this sector, discussing residential and commercial development.
Sample Search:From the Select Service drop down menu, select Infrastructure. Next select a geography. Click on the arrow to activate the search.
From the Results page, select Industry Forecasts.
Global Insights. Contains housing and construction statistics on a sub-national level for the United States.
ISI Emerging Markets. Includes market research reports, news and statistics on the Real Estate industry. Includes Colliers Market Reports, CB Ellis as well as Datamonitor Reports. Coverage varies by country.
Sample Search:
Select a Country from the groupings on the right side of the screen. Next select an Industry from the Industry tab located below the Select Country drop-down box. Then choose the By Industry tab. Scroll down to Real Estate. Select Research to access Market Research Reports.
Datamonitor Industry Surveys. Accessed via Osiris. Includes reports on Homebuilding, Construction and Real Estate and REITs. International. Click on the Red Arrow at the top of the screen. This is the company logo for Datamonitor. Click the Industry Tab. Change the search field to Alphabetical. Type in a keyword or scroll the list to find topics. You can also limit by Geography or Company.
Global Real Estate Forecast. Grubb & Ellis/Knight Frank, published annually.Mergent Industry Surveys. Accessed via Factiva. Type mergent in the Source search box and select to limit your search by source. Type real estate in the search box. Trends are included in the Property & Development Industry reports as well as reports on the Construction Industry. International.
National Association of Homebuilders. National and local level data.
National Association of Realtors. Research. Includes quarterly statistics on home sales, affordability, etc. by region and metro area.
ReutersRealEstate.com. Register for free membership which includes: News headlines and summaries, fundamental data from leading providers (including city level data, U.S. and International) and access to all free Research Reports from these providers.
Studley Reports. Commerical Rental information for several U.S. Markets.
Sourcebook America. Annual cd-rom from the CACI Marketing Systems. Provides demographic and housing data (among more than 70 variables) down to the zip code level.
Available in Lippincott Library at Station 12C.
Urban Land Institute(ULI). International reports and articles. The library is a member. If you find articles or other materials but they are locked, please email <Cynthia Cronin-Kardon. We will email the article(s).
EMERGING TRENDS IN REAL ESTATE.
HD 251 E47 (RS)
Market Trends
National Multi-Housing Council. Multi-housing/Apartments/RentalsLots of free statistics, reports and articles.
Joint Center for Housing. Harvard University. Includes State of the Nation's Housing and the Leading Indicator of Housing Remodeling.
Market Trends: Articles
ABI Inform.
Sample Search. Do a keyword search: real estate and (trends or outlook). Check out the subject listing at the top of the results screen. You might want to choose one of those suggestions to refine your search.
Use the Drop Down menus to limit your search by various criteria and then add keywords. Sample Search. To really focus your search use Industry orProduct Codes. The Product Code for Real Estate is: 650000. Locate Product Codes by using the drop down menu provided or look at the bottom of any article you retrieve to find the codes assigned to that article. Select the product code and then add any city or other location in the keyword box and run the search.
Factiva. Includes over 9000 publications, U.S. and International.
Sample Search: Use the Intelligent Indexing Tools. Click on Subject and/or Industry. Type real estate in the search box. Click on the option that you want. It will appear in pink on the screen.
You can also limit by geography or publication.
Change the date option (the default is one week) and type keywords in the search box.
Promt. Similar to Business and Industry, but includes other sources as well.
Sample Search: Use the Indexes. Select Subject. SU will appear in the search box. Type real* and click search. A list of subject headings will appear. Select the one that you want.
Now, go back to a blank search page. You will see your search listed below the search box. Note that it is labeled as R1 (or R2, etc, depending on the search.). Type R1 (or the appropriate number for the search you want) and Keyword (Thailand, for instance).
Newsbank. Search all major national newspapers. Limit by region or newspaper. Do keyword searches such as (housing and prices).
COST / EXPENSE GUIDES
BOMA EXPERIENCE EXCHANGE REPORT: INCOME/EXPENSE ANALYSIS FOR OFFICE BUILDINGS.
TX 980 N33 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
CALCULATOR VALUATION GUIDE. [Loose-leaf service. Building cost calculator.]
TH 435 C247 (RD)
DOLLARS AND CENTS OF SHOPPING CENTERS. [Triennial study of receipts and expenses in shopping center operations.]
HF 5429 U68 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
EXPENSE ANALYSIS: CONDOMINIUMS, COOPERATIVES AND PLANNED UNIT DEVELOPMENTS. [Annual.]
HD 1394 I5612 (RS)
INCOME/EXPENSE ANALYSIS: CONVENTIONAL APARTMENTS. [Annual.]
HD 1394 I5613 (RS)
INCOME/EXPENSE ANALYSIS: FEDERALLY-ASSISTED APARTMENTS. [Annual.]
HD 1394 I5614 (RS)
INCOME/EXPENSE ANALYSIS: OFFICE BUILDINGS. [Annual.]
HD 1394 I53a (RS)
REIT INDUSTRY STATISTICS.
HE 5095 N2455 (RS)
GOVERNMENT REPORTS
CEIC. International. Statistics on the Real Estate Industry including rents, building.
CENSUS OF HOUSING [Detailed housing characteristics.]
COMPARATIVE STATISTICS OF INDUSTRIAL AND OFFICE REAL ESTATE MARKETS.
HD 1361 C667
ENERGY INFORMATION ADMINISTRATION . Energy Consumption Surveys. Includes regional, total floor space by use. Commercial, residential, regional.
PUBLIC LAND STATISTICS. [Annual.]
HD 183 L3 A53 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
HOUSING
CURRENT HOUSING REPORTS. H-170
AMERICAN HOUSING SURVEY; HOUSING CHARACTERISTICS FOR SELECTED METROPOLITAN AREAS.
Also available in print. HD 7293 A49 C32 (Latest-RS; Others-ST and CD)
CURRENT HOUSING REPORTS. H-131
CHARACTERISTICS OF APARTMENTS COMPLETED.
Also available in print. HD 7287.6 U5 U54a (RS)
CURRENT HOUSING REPORTS. H-111
AMERICAN HOUSING SURVEY: HOUSING VACANCIES AND HOME OWNERSHIP.
Also in print. HD 7293 A3 U525 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
CURRENT HOUSING REPORTS. H-130
MARKET ABSORPTION OF APARTMENTS.
Also available in print. HD 7287.6 U5 A3 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
RESIDENTIAL IMPROVEMENTS AND REPAIR STATISTICS - CURRENT CONSTRUCTION REPORTS. .
HD 9715 U52 A516 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
Terms on Conventional Home Morgage Federal Reserve Board.
Mortgage Caculator. Federal Reserve Bank.
Trulia - Real Estate. Residential real estate. Housing data by area. Includes prices on sold homes. Maps area by average sale price. Lots of other features.
CONSTRUCTION
CURRENT CONSTRUCTION REPORTS. U.S. Census Bureau. This site links to many construction reports. The C20, C21, C22, C25 and C40 reports have been discontinued.
Also available in print.HD 9715 U52 A472 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
CURRENT CONSTRUCTION REPORTS. C-22 HOUSING COMPLETIONS.
HD 9715 U52 A4722 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
CURRENT CONSTRUCTION REPORTS. C-25 NEW ONE-FAMILY HOUSES SOLD AND FOR SALE.
HD 9715 U52 A512 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
CURRENT CONSTRUCTION REPORTS. C-40 HOUSING UNITS AUTHORIZED BY BUILDING PERMITS.
HD 9715 U52 A4725 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
CURRENT CONSTRUCTION REPORTS. RESIDENTIAL IMPROVEMENTS AND REPAIR STATISTICS.
HD 9715 U52 A516 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
TAXATION / REGULATION
FEDERAL INCOME TAXATION OF REAL ESTATE: TEXT, FORMS AND TAX PLANNING IDEAS.
KF 6535 R6 (ST) [With current supplements.]
FEDERAL REGULATION OF REAL ESTATE AND MORTGAGE LENDING. 1998.
KF 681 B3 (RS)
FEDERAL TAXES AFFECTING REAL ESTATE. [Loose-leaf service.]
KF 6540 M3 (RS)
REAL ESTATE LAW.
KF 665 J27 1998 (ST)
REAL ESTATE TAX DIGEST: FEDERAL INCOME, ESTATE AND GIFT TAXES.
KF 6535 A59 R28 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
JOBS
Vault Guides. for access, go to Wharton MBA Career Management.
Log in to Students - Resources for career management. Enter your Wharton Username and Password.
Choose: VAULT Online Career Library
Undergrads can access VAULT through UPenn Career Services. Sign in using your Pennkey ID and Password.
DIRECTORIES
APPRAISAL INSTITUTE. DIRECTORY OF MEMBERS.
HD 251 A455 (RS)
CRE MEMBER DIRECTORY.
HD 251 A53 (RS)
GOLDBOOK. [Directory: Commercial Real Estate.]
HD 1393.25 C663 (Latest-RD)
INVESTORS GUIDE TO PUBLICLY TRADED REITS.
HG 5095 I584 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
NATIONAL REFERRAL ROSTER.
HD 253 N34 (RS)
REIT HANDBOOK.
HG 5095 N2454 (RS)
U.S. REAL ESTATE REGISTER. PROPERTY DIGEST AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT.
HD 1394 I45 (RD)
PERIODICALS
COMMERCIAL PROPERTY NEWS. (Latest 2 years only-PER)
NATIONAL REAL ESTATE INVESTOR. (PER)
HD 251 N36 www.nreionline.com
JOURNAL OF HOUSING ECONOMICS. (PER)
HD 7293 Z9 J68 www.idealibrary.com/cgi-bin/links/toc/he
INVESTMENT PROPERTY & REAL ESTATE CAPITAL MARKET REPORT. (Latest 2 years only-PER)
JOURNAL OF REAL ESTATE FINANCE AND ECONOMICS.
HG 2040 J66
JOURNAL OF REAL ESTATE RESEARCH.
HD 1381.5 U5 J873
JOURNAL OF SHOPPING CENTER RESEARCH.
HF 5430.3 J68 (Latest-PER; Others-ST)
REAL ESTATE ECONOMICS.
HD 251 A493a (Current-PER)
REAL ESTATE FINANCE.
HD 1361 R423
REAL ESTATE FORUM. (Latest only-PER)
REAL ESTATE OUTLOOK, MARKET TRENDS AND INSIGHTS.
HD 251 R277 (Current-PER)
URBAN LAND. ULI. (Latest 2 years only-PER)
WHARTON REAL ESTATE REVIEW.
HD 1361 W537 (Current-PER)
LOCATION CODES
| CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center. | ||
| ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk. | ||
| RD = Reference Desk | ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor | WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services |
| RS = Reference Stacks | PER = Periodicals | MT = Microtext |
| SS = Service Shelves | PC = Peck Collection | |
| *Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only. | ||



