Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Click here to IM, text, or chat
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

Retail

Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library

See also Lippincott's Research Guides: ADVERTISING AND MARKETING ; COMPANY INFORMATION; MARKET RESEARCH -- CONSUMER BEHAVIOR ; INDUSTRY STUDIES

FRANKLIN, the online catalog Subject Headings: Retail Trade.    Retail Trade Periodicals   Retail Trade Statistics.

PENN RESOURCES

ANNUAL INDUSTRY REPORT. -- RETAILING TODAY. (Formerly DSN Retailing Today) Top 150.    Special Issue.    Search in citation/abstract on "top 150"

BIZ MINER Detailed Industry Financial and Market Research

BUSINESS & INDUSTRY    Includes Trade Journals: Drug Store News,   FN,  HFN,   In-Store,    Retailing Today,    WWD + more.

CHAIN STORE AGE. Monthly, from 1992. Print: HF 5001 J65 (PER)

DOLLARS & CENTS OF SHOPPING CENTERS. Urban Land Institute. "A study of receipts and expenses"    Triennial, Currently Biennial, 1961 - current.   HF 5429 U68 (RS)

DOW JONES FACTIVA. 10,000 + publications, including Wall St. Journal and 90+ Retail titles.

Editor & Publisher Market Guide.    Annual. US, Canada.     Retail sales, demographics, forecasts, by newspaper market area.     Metro area rankings.    Lists Shopping Centers, Retail Outlets.
HF 5905 E38    1963-current (Annenberg Circulation); 1969-1974 (Van Pelt Microform); Incomplete run, 1991-current. (Lippincott RD)

Food Industry Review    US.     The Food Institute.
Demographics of consumer food spending and consumption; item sales; restaurant and market trends.   HD 9004 F665 (RS)

Food Retailing Industry Speaks. Food Marketing Institute. Food Retail Industry Report.
1997-2000, 2002-current.     HD 9321.1 S8615 (RS)
1949-1976    HD9321.1 .S8614 (ST)

FORRESTER Online Retail Report.   Market analysis and surveys cover ITC in virtually every industry.Global coverage, with North America focus.
NOTE: Forrester requires a no-charge, one-time individual registration that can be initiated only on the Penn campus, after which you can access Forrester from anywhere at FORRESTER.COM/.

INFOSCAN. Scanned grocery store purchases. MARKETING FACTBOOK.   1982-1997. | HF 5413.33 U6 M375 (ST)

INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL OF SHOPPING CENTERS Access in Lippincott Library.      Librarian will log you in.    Global Shopping Center Directory.
US Weekly, Monthly sales tracking | Retail Real Estate Business Conditions | Weekly Chain Store Sales Snapshot | Canadian Mall Report.            ICSC's U.S. Mall Report (monthly, 1996 - current) provides sales and square footage tracking for non-anchor stores at more than 500 regional and super-regional malls.  Historical data are available through ICSC's e-Data facility.

JOURNAL OF RETAILING. Quarterly, 1993 - current.
Also available in print, from 1940: HF 5001 J65 (PER)

Manufacturing & Distribution Gale. Biennial, from 2000. "Industry analyses, statistics, and leading companies."
HD 9724 M683 (RD)

MARKET SCOPE. The desktop guide to supermarket share.      1998, 1990, 1992, 1994, 1997 - 2003.    HD9321.2 .M37 (RS)

MINTEL.    Global Market Research Reports. Example Search: retail and music See also Databases in toolbar for additional retail statistics.

NATIONAL REAL ESTATE INVESTOR. Monthly, from 1987. News, analysis.
Print -- from 1966-current: HD 251 N36 (PER)

NATIONS RESTAURANT NEWS   US. Top 100 chains, by sales.   Annual.   (June final issue )   Also (PER)

Progressive Grocer. 1. Report of the Grocery Industry. Annual, from 1992. (Search on: annual report)    2. Product Preference Study.    3. Consumer Expenditures Study.    4. TDLINX Snapshot (DMA profiles)

RAND MCNALLY COMMERCIAL ATLAS AND MARKETING GUIDE.Annual. US
Statistics for population, income, retail sales by category, location + more.     G 1229 C6 R354. 2 volumes. (Across from Lippincott Reserve Desk, on bookcase top)

STANDARD & POOR'S MARKET INSIGHT    US. Industry Surveys for Retail:
Apparel, Automotive, Catalog, Department Stores, Drug, Food, Home Furnishings, Internet, Restaurants and Specialty Stores.

STANDARD & POOR'S NET ADVANTAGE        Global Industry Surveys. Specialty Retailing; Super Markets & Drug Stores (Europe and Asia)

Stores National Retail Merchants Assoc. Monthly, from 1928. HD 9951 N36 (PER)

SURVEY OF BUYING POWER and MEDIA MARKETS. Annual, 1976 -2005.   by Sales & Marketing Management magazine     Retail sales by state, metro market, city, county.      HF 5438 A34 Suppl. (RS)

VALUE LINE Industry and Company investment analyses for Restaurant, Retail (Special Lines). Retail Automotive, Retail Building Supply and Retail Store sectors.
Also available on CD and in microform.
See also Lippincott's Value Line Database Search Aid.

WWW

DIRECTORIES / RANKINGS

STORES Magazine  Top 100 US Retailers;  Hot US 100 Retailers.    Top 250 Global Retailers | stores.org

HOUSEHOLD PRODUCTS DATABASE Search by manufacturer, product or ingredient. | hpd.nlm.nih.gov/

INDUSTRY REPORTS

AMERICAN APPAREL & FOOTWEAR ASSOC.. Select Statistics 1. Apparel Trends. 2000-2004; 2. ShoeStats. 2001-current year.     apparelandfootwear.org/

CHAIN STORE GUIDE     Free Downloads.      Retail & Restaurant Industry reports, rankings.     Free registration required. http://www.csgis.com/csgis-frontend/

CONSUMER PACKAGED GOODS
Grocery Manufacturers Ass'n and Food Products Ass'n.     Overview of Industry Financial Performance & Trends
Times and Trends (w /IRI data).         gmabrands.com/publications/

ELECTRONIC RETAILING ASSOCIATION     Knowledge Center.     retailing.org/

GLOBAL RETAIL DEVELOPMENT INDEX. A.T. Kearney. Annual. Industry analysis.     .atkearney.com/

INFORMATION RESOURCES, INC(IRI)     Times & Trends: A Snapshot of Trends Shaping the CPG and Retail Industries.     Hispanic Consumers.     New Product Pacesetters. | infores.com/

LICENSE INDUSTRY REPORT. Global. Annual, from 2002 by License! Magazine. 31 pages. based upon estimated retail sales of licensed products. Also rankings, directories. Select Industry Statistics.     .licensemag.com/

NATIONAL ASSOC. of CHAIN DRUG STORES     Industry Facts & Resources. Industry profile, statistics, sales.
Select Publications -> Press Room. | www.nacds.org/wmspage.cfm?parm1=6

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION of CONVENIENCE & PETROLEUM RETAILING STORES nacsonline.com/

NATIONAL RETAIL RESEARCH REPORT. Marcus & Millichap. National Retail Index and Local Market Overviews. Free registration required.
marcusmillichap.com/Research/Reports/NRR.asp

Retail Traffic MagazineRetail & Real Estate. Market profiles, Case studies , Financial Analysis.     retailtrafficmag.com

STAGNITO COMMUNICATIONS    Portal to 15 retail food and beverage trade journals.
Dairy, Bakery, Private Label, Frozen, Latin American, Packaging, Snack, Meat, Deli.      Searchable archives back to 2005. Includes product sales statistics.      stagnito.com/

TOY INDUSTRY ASSOC. Comprehensive. Industry Overview. Statistics. Trends. Select: The Toy Biz tab.      .toy-tia.org

STATISTICS

BUSINESS WIRE RETAIL REPORTS. Monthly, from 2003. Sales data for individual retailers.      businesswire.com/retail

FOOD MARKETING INSTITUTE. Industry facts and figures.      fmi.org/

NATIONAL RESTAURANT ASSOCIATION. Spending, state data, forecasts and articles. | restaurant.org/

NIELSEN     Retail Sales Data.

PHILADELPHIA RETAIL.     Demographics, Report.     Center City District/Central Philadelphia Development Corporation,     philadelphiaretail.com

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE U.S. Data from government and other sources. Example: "Food sales by Nontraditional Retailers."      census.gov/compendia/statab/

US ECONOMIC CENSUS.

ANNUAL RETAIL TRADE DATA. Includes Food Service and Accomodation Industries. 1992 - Feb. of current year      census.gov/retail
Print -- Census of Retail Trade. 1972, 1977, 1982, 1987, 1992. HF5429.3 .U522 (3rd Flr.)

QUARTERLY RETAIL TRADE FINANCIAL REPORT.   2001 - current. | census.gov/econ/qfr

ADVANCE MONTHLY SALES for RETAIL & FOOD SERVICES. 1952 - current;     MONTHLY RETAIL TRADE & FOOD SERVICES SALES.    1992 - current;      QUARTERLY RETAIL E-COMMERCE SALES.    2005 - current      census.gov/BHS/RTFS/Index.html

LOCATION CODES

RD = Lippincott Reference Desk, 2nd floor ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor
RS = Lippincott Reference Stacks, 2nd floor PER = Lippincott Periodicals, 2nd floor
*