Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Transport Industry - Research Guide

Prepared by Terese Terry
Lippincott Library

WORLD TRANSPORTATION U.S TRANSPORTATION LOCATION CODES
Franklin card catalog subject headings: Aeronautics, Commercial; Aircraft Industry; Airlines; Freight; Railroads; Shipping; Transportation; Water Transportation.

See also Lippincott Research Guide: Industry Studies

WORLD TRANSPORTATION Top Resources

BUSINESS MONITOR INTERNATIONAL      FREIGHT TRANSPORT.   Forecasts, Brief Company Profiles, Projects.

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER. Type: transportation in the Subject field.     Search     On next screen, select Industry Profiles     Database Search Aid

EUROPEAN COMMISSION - TRANSPORT.

SOURCEOECD         Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development.        Trends in the Transport Sector: Annual, 1970 -- current.         (Search on title)

TRADE LOGISTICS IN THE GLOBAL ECONOMY       World Bank.       Analysis & Statistics. Includes Logistics Performance Index for 150 countries. 50 pages.

TRANSPORTATION, COMMERCIAL.       Industry Surveys. US, Asia, Europe       Standard & Poor's Net Advantage

World Transport -- Continued

CEIC       Statistical time series.       Select Sector Datbase -> Shipping & Ports. Includes all modes. Asian countries + "Other"

COUNCIL of SUPPLY CHAIN MANAGEMENT PROFESSIONALS      US based w/ Global Perspectives.      Case Studies.     Directories      "Access CSCMP's 18th Annual "State of Logistics Report." for $395 US. Or, join CSCMP and access the report as one of your benefits."      ( Student membership is $25.)      cscmp.org/

ESTABLISH. United Logistics Group        N. America, Europe and China logistics.        supplychain.establishinc.com/

FACTIVA       a database of 10,000 global journals, newspapers and newswires,including more than 100 transport publications.

MAPS. WORLD SUBWAY, TRANSIT SYSTSEM AND CITY MAPS.

NBER. (Nat'l Bureau of Economic Research.) Historical Statistics. Transportation and Public Utilities--U.S., U.K. Some data extends back to 19th century. Select the "dat" output format.

NORTHWESTERN U. TRANSPORTATION LIBRARY.    Many useful links and references.

PANORAMA of TRANSPORT EU      Statistical Overview.      1970 - current

REVIEW OF MARITIME TRANSPORT   UN Council on Trade & Development (UNCTAD)     Annual, 1997 - current.
Print version: Annual, from1968-current        HE 563 A3 U48 (RS)

ROAD TRANSPORT INDICES.       Europe. Int'l Road Transport Union.       Country estimates of economic growth, truck registration and transport volumes. Fuel prices.

TRANSPORT STATISTICS. Great Britain.    Annual, 2003. - current.     Includes many updated statistical tables for specific modes.    dft.gov.uk/pgr/statistics/
Print:     1974 - current.   HE 58 D46a (RS)

Transportation Research. Quarterly.        U168 L6 (PER)

US FOREIGN WATERBORNE TRANSPORTATION STATISTICS   US Maritime Admin.
Fleet Statistics (US & Global);     U.S. Waterborne Foreign Trade Statistics;     Economic Analysis.

WORLD BANK.     Rail, Port, Road, Rural/Urban Transport, Economics and Policy.        Select: Topics

WORLD FLEET STATISTICS    Maritime.     Annual (with gaps), from 1956-current. Lloyds; UN.
HE 565 A3 L469;      HE 565 A3 U4;     HE 565 A3 U5. (RS)

WORLD LEASING YEARBOOK. From 1997- current.      HD 9999 L436 W67 (RS)

WORLD PORTS       Industry reports, Statistics, Rankings & links to world ports and global associations.

WORLD TRANSPORTATION: AIR

A-Z WORLD AIRPORTS.     Directory, with brief descriptions.

AEROSPACE SOURCE BOOK.     Annual.    by Aviation Week & Space Technology. Technical information and aircraft operator profiles.   TL 501 A465 (RS)

AIR TRANSPORT PORTAL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION.     Annual, Quarterly Reports, 2001 - current.

AIR TRANSPORT WORLD

AIRLINES. S&P GLOBAL INDUSTRY SURVEYS.       Asia, Europe, Latin America, US.      S&P Net Advantage.

ASSOCIATION OF EUROPEAN AIRLINES      Yearbook, 1997 - current.       Comprehensive report (97 pages)      statistics, analysis, airline profiles.     aea.be/

Aviation Week & Space Technology.      Weekly. 1996- current.      Print: (PER - Oversize)

CURRENT MARKET OUTLOOK.     Annual.     Market research.    40 pages. Boeing.

EUROPEAN AEROSPACE INDUSTRY. | European Commission.

FACTIVA. Mergent Industry Reports.    Type: sn=mergent and hd=aviation

OUTLOOK FOR COMMERCIAL AIRCRAFT. 1995/2014.   McDonnell Douglas.   Forecasting data.     HE 9761.1 0974 (RS)

WORLD AIR TRANSPORT STATISTICS. International Air Transport Association.     Annual, from 1956-current. Company and industry statistics.      TL 500 I58 (RS)

WORLD AVIATION DIRECTORY & AEROSPACE SOURCEBOOK      TL 512 A63 (RD)

WORLD AVIATION INDUSTRY. Forecast & Trends.     18 pages.     Aviation Week

UNITED STATES TRANSPORTATION     Top Resources

2002 ECONOMIC CENSUS OF TRANSPORTATION Primary source of statistics for US transportation industry.      http://www.census.gov/econ/census02/guide/SUBSUMM.HTM/

BTS.   US BUREAU OF TRANSPORTATION STATISTICS.     Covers all modes of N. American transport.     Passenger , Freight, Safety and Energy use.    
BTS includes the following major resources:

  1. NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION STATISTICS. Comprehensive list of statistical dabases.
  2. POCKET GUIDE TO TRANSPORTATION.      Annual, 1999-current,
  3. TRANSPORTATION RESEARCH INFORMATION SERVICES. TRIS. From 1968. International coverage. Mostly abstracts of research from government and commercial sources.
  4. TRANSPORTATION STATISTICS ANNUAL REPORT. Infrastructure, economy, finances.
  5. TRANSTATS. A searchable index of 100+ transportation-related databases across every mode -- with many social and demographic data sets.

THE CHANGING FACE OF TRANSPORTATION.    Lengthy historical analysis of US Transport Industry. Many statistical tables.

MERGENT PUBLIC UTILITIES & TRANSPORTATION MANUAL. Annual, from 1954 - 2006.    Includes Monthly Update.    HG 4961 M 724 453 (PC)
Continued by MERGENT WEB REPORTS 1909 - current.      Online Weekly Update (News Reports) and Online Monthly Updated Index.

NORTH AMERICAN TRANSPORTATION STATISTICS.   data from NAFTA transport departments.

US Transport -- Continued

AMERICAN PUBLIC TRANSIT ASS'N Statistics

ASS'N OF AMERICAN RAILROADS.     Annual. Statistics. Industry freight data.      Print: HE 2713 Y4 (RS)

Journal of Business Logistics.

MERGENT INDUSTRY REVIEW.     Quarterly. Comparative company financials.     HG 4961 M68 (RD)

NATIONAL HOUSEHOLD TRAVEL SURVEY. Local, daily travel.

NATIONAL TRANSIT LIBRARY. Characteristics of Urban Transportation Systems. Select: Transit Data & Info

PORT DIRECTORY. Maritime Exchange for Delaware River. Biennial, from 1995-current.      HE 554 P5 P485 (RS)

Railway Age.      Monthly, from 1988.
Print: 1896-1899; 1900-1908; 1924-2002.      TF 1 R2 (ST)

STANDARD & POOR'S U.S. STATISTICAL SERVICE. Current and historic transport statistics.    HG 4921 S 74c (RD)

Transportation Journal. Quarterly. From 1961-current.     Logistics-focused.    HE 1 T 8 (PER)

TRANSPORTATION IN AMERICA. ENO.     1972, 74-78, 80, 1983-2008.     Historical Compendium 1939-1999 included in 18th ed. (2000).     Statistics.     HE1 .T8182 (RS)

US WATERWAY DATA. Annual. Traffic and commodities. National summaries.<     HE 563 U5 A375 (RS)

US TRANSPORTATION: AIR

AEROSPACE FACTS & FIGURES.     Aerospace Industries Ass'n.      www.aia-aerospace.org/stats/stats.cfm/     Print: TL 501 A818 (RD)     Annual, from 1953-current.      aia-aerospace.org/stats/stats.cfm

AIR CARRIER FINANCIAL REPORTS. More detailed financials for individual airlines than in OAI site.     transtats.bts.gov

AIR CARRIER FINANCIAL STATISTICS. Quarterly. 1956-1997.     Major carriers, revenue, expenses, profit.     HE 9803 A1 A234 (ST)    Continued online at OAI site as Airline Financial Statistics.

AIR TRANSPORT ASSOC. of AMERICA. (ATA).     Industry overview and outlook.    US Airline Industry Economic Report.    Annual, 1937- current.     World Airline Operational and Financial Results +more.

AIR TRAVEL CONSUMER REPORT   US Dept. of Transportation   Annual, 1998-current.     http://airconsumer.ost.dot.gov/reports/
Print: Monthly, from 1987- 1999.     TL 725.3 P3 A47 (ST)

AIRPORTS and CARRIERS "SNAPSHOTS."     Detailed statistical profiles, including market share.   BTS - TRANSTATS.

FAA AIR TRAFFIC ACTIVITY. Annual. 1956-94.     TL 726.2 A4472 (RS, ST)     Continued online at OAI site.

FAA FORECASTS.      HE 9803 A1 U52 1996/2007 (RS)

FAA STATISTICAL HANDBOOK OF AVIATION. 1959-94.     TL 521 A416 (ST)     Continued online at OAI site.

FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION. Forecasts, economic analysis, statistical reports and overviews.   faa.gov

OFFICE OF AIRLINE INFORMATION. (OAI.) US Bureau of Transportation Statistics. Comprehensive gateway to industry, passenger and freight statistics.

U.S. TRANSPORTATION: ROAD

AMERICAN TRUCKING TRENDS. ATA.      American Trucking Ass'n.    Annual, 1947 - current (with gaps)   HE 5626 A1 A65 (RS)

Commercial Carrier Journal "Top 100".        Annual, from 1997.     (Reports are in BUSINESS & INDUSTRY Database.)

FLEET-CENTRAL.      Scroll down to: 100 Commercial Carriers.      50 Top 50 Executive Fleets.

FLEET OWNER 500.     America's Top Private Carriers.

HIGHWAY STATISTICS.    Annual, 1992-current.     US Bureau of Public Roads.    fhwa.dot.gov/policy/ohpi/
Print: 1945-current.      HE 355 A3 A25 (RS)

TTS BLUE BOOK OF TRUCKING COMPANIES. Annual, 1993-2001. Company financial data.       HE 5623 A227 (RS)

Transport Topics. Weekly. (PER-Oversize)

TRANSPORT TOPICS TOP 100 PRIVATE CARRIERS.      TRANSPORT TOPICS TOP 100 FOR-HIRE CARRIERS.     Annual 2006 - current;Operating & financial data for US and Canada firms.      ttnews.com/

TRUCK TRANSPORTATION, MESSENGER SERVICES & WHAREHOUSING      US Census.    Service Annual Survey. NAICS 48 / 49.      http://www.census.gov/econ/www/servmenu.html

Location Codes

Lippincott Library
RD = Lippincott Reference Desk, 2nd floor ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor
RS = Lippincott Reference Stacks, 2nd floor PER =Lippincott Periodicals, 2nd floor

*