Navigation Aids

 
 
 
 
 
Business Research Guides
FindIt:

Sidebar

Main Content

United States Economic Statistics - Research Guide

Prepared by Linda Eichler
Lippincott Library

UNITED STATES ECONOMIC STATISTICS WEBSITES
UNITED STATES CENSUSES CD-ROMs LOCATION CODES

For FAQs on STATISTICS

WEBSITES

FEDSTATS

STAT-USA / INTERNET.

STATISTICAL UNIVERSE.

THE DISMAL SCIENTIST.

See also ECONOMIC CONDITIONS AND STATISTICS WEBSITES.

UNITED STATES ECONOMIC STATISTICS

AGRICULTURAL STATISTICS U.S. Dept. of Agriculture. 1936-
HD 1751 A43 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

ANNUAL SURVEY OF MANUFACTURES U.S. Bureau of the Census. 1949/50-
HD 9724 A211 (1974-Current--RS; Others-ST)

BUDGET OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT.
HJ 2051 A59 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

BUSINESS STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES.
HC 101 A13122 (RD)

COMMUNITY SOURCEBOOK OF COUNTY DEMOGRAPHICS. ESRI
HA 203 S658 (RD)
CD 2000; 2002-2005

COMMUNITY SOURCEBOOK OF ZIP CODE DEMOGRAPHICS. ESRI.
HA 203 S66 (RD)
CD 2000; 2002-2005

CONSTRUCTION STATISTICS.

COUNTY AND CITY DATA BOOK. 1992-
HA 202 A365 (Latest-RD; Others-RS)

COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS. U.S. Bureau of the Census 1946-1997
HC 101 A184 (Latest 10 yrs-RS; Others-ST)
CD, 1986/1987 -

CPI DETAILED REPORT. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Monthly. Aug. 1974-
HD 6983 A239 (Current-PER; Others-ST)

CURRENT BUSINESS REPORTS. U.S. Bureau of the Census.
Check FRANKLIN for holdings and call numbers.

CURRENT CONSTRUCTION REPORTS. U.S. Bureau of the Census.
Check FRANKLIN for holdings and call numbers.

CURRENT HOUSING REPORTS. U.S. Bureau of the Census.
Check FRANKLIN for holdings and call numbers.
Also HOUSING ESTIMATES.

CURRENT INDUSTRIAL REPORTS.
Check FRANKLIN for holdings and call numbers.

CURRENT POPULATION REPORTS.. U.S. Bureau of the Census
Check FRANKLIN for holdings and call numbers.
Also POPULATION AND HOUSING ECONOMIC TOPICS.

ECONOMIC INDICATORS. Council of Economic Advisers. Monthly. April 1948-
HC 101 A186 (Current-PER; Others-ST)
Also ECONOMIC INDICATOR TIME SERIES

ECONOMIC INDICATORS HANDBOOK.
HC 103 E26 (RD)

ECONOMIC REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT. 1947-
HC 106.5 A272 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)

EMPLOYMENT AND EARNINGS. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Monthly. July 1954-
HD 5723 A4532 (Current-PER; Others-ST)

EMPLOYMENT AND WAGES, ANNUAL AVERAGES U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
HD 5723 E45 (RS)

EMPLOYMENT, HOURS, AND EARNINGS. STATES AND AREAS U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
HD 5723 E38 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)

FEDERAL RESERVE BULLETIN. Monthly. May 1915-
HG 2401 A5 (ST)
Also FEDERAL RESERVE BOARD STATISTICS.

HANDBOOK OF LABOR STATISTICS. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 1924-1976
HD 8064 A3

HANDBOOK OF U.S. LABOR STATISTICS. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 1997-
HD 8064 A32 (Latest-RD; Others-ST)
Also U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

HISTORICAL STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES: COLONIAL TIMES TO 1970. U.S. Bureau of the Census.
HA 202 H57 1989 (RD)

LOCAL AREA PERSONAL INCOME U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis. 1969/74-
HC 110 I5 L586 (RS)

MONTHLY LABOR REVIEW. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. [Monthly] July 1915-
HD 8051 A78 (Current-PER; Others-ST)

NATIONAL INCOME AND PRODUCT ACCOUNTS OF THE U.S. U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis.
HC 110 I5 A3 (RD)

NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION STATISTICS: ANNUAL REPORT. U.S. Dept. of Transportation. 1977-
HE 203 T735 (Latest-RS; Others-ST)
Also TRANSTATS

PPI DETAILED REPORT. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. 1996- [Supersedes PRODUCER PRICE INDEXES 1985-96, PRODUCER PRICES AND PRICE INDEXES 1978-1984 and WHOLESALE PRICES AND PRICE INDEXES 1952-1977.]
HB 235 U6 A472 (Current-PER; Others-ST)

QUARTERLY FINANCIAL REPORT FOR MANUFACTURING, MINING AND TRADE CORPORATIONS (QFR). U.S. Bureau of the Census. 4th quarter, 1974- [Continues QUARTERLY FINANCIAL REPORT: U.S. MANUFACTURING CORPORATIONS 1947-1974.]
HD 9724 A213 (Current-PER; Others-ST)

SOCIAL SECURITY BULLETIN. U.S. Social Security Administration. Quarterly. March 1938-
HD 7123 S56 (Current-PER; Others-ST)

STANDARD & POOR'S STATISTICAL SERVICE. (Loose-leaf at RD)
BASIC STATISTICS. HG 4921 S74c
CURRENT STATISTICS. HG 4921 S74a
SECURITY PRICE INDEX RECORD. HG 4921 S74b

STATE AND METROPOLITAN AREA DATA BOOK. U.S. Bureau of the Census.
HA 202 S727 (Latest-RD; Others-RS)

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES. U.S. Bureau of the Census. 1901-
HA 202 (Latest-RD; Previous 20 yrs-RS; Others-ST)
Also on STATISTICAL UNIVERSE.

STATISTICAL DIGEST. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. 1970-
HG 181 A1 U55a (Latest-RS)
Also Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)

STATISTICS OF INCOME. U.S. Internal Revenue Service.
CORPORATION INCOME TAX RETURNS. 1954- HJ 4652 A2415 (Latest 10 yrs-RS; Others-ST)
INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RETURNS. 1954- HJ 4652 A2418 (Latest 10 yrs-RS; Others-ST)
PARTNERSHIP RETURNS. 1977- HJ 4652 A2414 (RS)
PRIVATE FOUNDATIONS. 1974/78- HJ 4653 F59 S727 (RS)

STATISTICS OF INCOME. SOI BULLETIN U.S. Internal Revenue Service. Quarterly. Summer 1981-
HJ 4653 S7 S73 (Current-PER; Others-ST and MT)

STATISTICS ON BANKING. Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. 1981-2002
HG 1662 U5 A272 ( Bound-ST & MT)

SURVEY OF CURRENT BUSINESS. U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis. Monthly. Aug. 1921-
HC 101 A13 (Current-PER; Latest 10 yrs-RS; Others-ST)

TREASURY BULLETIN. Monthly. Jan 1939- ;Quarterly from 1983-
HJ 10 A45 (Current-PER; Others-ST)

VITAL STATISTICS OF THE UNITED STATES. U.S. Bureau of the Census. 1937-1991
HA 203 A22 (RS & ST)

CD-ROMs

All are (CD). For a list of CD-ROMs in Lippincott: Lippincott Library CD-ROM Databases

CENSUS OF AGRICULTURE. 1987, 1992, 1997
ECONOMIC CENSUSES. 1987, 1992, 1997
AMERICAN HOUSING SURVEY. 1985-2003
COUNTY BUSINESS PATTERNS. 1986-2001/2002.
NATIONAL TRADE DATA BANK. 1998-2000
SOURCEBOOK OF ZIP CODE DEMOGRAPHICS (CACI). 2000, 2002-2005
U.S. EXPORTS HISTORY. 1998-2004
U.S. IMPORTS HISTORY. 1998-2004
WORLD TRADE ATLAS - U.S.
WORLD TRADE ATLAS - U.S. ANNUAL SUMMARY. 1989-2000
ZIP CODE BUSINESS PATTERNS. 1995, 1997-2001

UNITED STATES CENSUSES

Recent volumes-RS; Others-ST [See also CD-ROMs.]

ECONOMIC CENSUSES. [Every 5 years in years ending in "2" and "7".]
CENSUS OF CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRIES. HD 9715 U5 A51352
CENSUS OF MANUFACTURES. HD 9724 A4
CENSUS OF MINERAL INDUSTRIES. HD 9506 U62 A36
CENSUS OF RETAIL TRADE. HF 5429.3 U522
CENSUS OF SERVICE INDUSTRIES. HD 9981.4 A522
CENSUS OF TRANSPORTATION, COMMUNICATION AND UTILITIES HE 18 A527
CENSUS OF WHOLESALE TRADE. HF 5421 U485
ECONOMIC CENSUSES OF ISLAND AREAS.
ECONOMIC CENSUSES OF OUTLYING AREAS HF 3341 U5

Other U.S. Censuses:
CENSUS OF AGRICULTURE. HD 1753 (date)
CENSUS OF GOVERNMENTS. JS 3 C46

CENSUS OF POPULATION AND HOUSING 2000
(Van Pelt RD; Also DVD)

LOCATION CODES

CD = CD-ROM database. Located in Snyder Electronic Reference Center.
ON = Commercial online service. Access only in Lippincott Library. Ask at Reference Desk.
RD = Reference Desk ST = Lippincott Stacks on the 3rd Floor WRDS = Wharton Research Data Services
RS = Reference Stacks PER = Periodicals MT = Microtext
SS = Service Shelves PC = Peck Collection
*Library keeps latest edition only; **Library keeps latest two only.
*